Games Serious REPLAY Value, Games you can play again and again!

TSgizmoduck
post Apr 27 2010, 09:55 AM, updated 16y ago

323 posts

rclxms.gif Calling all gamers!

Let's talk about games that you have bought which have great replay value; games that you could keep playing again and again without feeling bored. This extends to previous versions of the Playstation as well!

flex.gif
gundamalpha
post Apr 27 2010, 09:58 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Monster Hunter comes to mind
geekster129
post Apr 27 2010, 09:58 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

PS3

Uncharted 2, GTAIV, LBP, FFXIII, MGS4

PS2

MGS2, MGS3, FFX, FFX-2, FFXII
DWExia
post Apr 27 2010, 09:59 AM

140 posts

fifa 10.

soon to be fifa world cup
blinky_w
post Apr 27 2010, 10:01 AM

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Apr 27 2010, 09:58 AM)
Monster Hunter comes to mind
MH + 100

FF12 also
RE4 and 5
Uncharted
disgaea series
fallout 2 and 3 and brotherhood of steel

TSgizmoduck
post Apr 27 2010, 10:05 AM

323 posts

Monster Hunter seems to be a popular choice! Can you guys elaborate further? What makes each great to play again?

Honestly, I think having the trophy system is a pathetic attempt by game designers to promote replay values. So they can be lazy and not focus on game development as much.
D.Sync
post Apr 27 2010, 10:06 AM

777 posts

If by playing again and again consecutively without getting bored then I would say:

GTA4 (PS3) - Well what more can I say, the Liberty City is essentially your playground. The effort to get the Multiplayer trophy will keep you playing it over and over again.

Resident Evil 5 (PS3) - The merceneries mode is trully addiction once you get used to it. Added even more replay value for the Versus mode and the newly added DLC.

If by re-playing it after a certain duration of neglection (in months/year):

All FF series (FF1-8 & FFX, FFX-2, FF13 (still due to complete, couldn't tell the replay value yet))

All Harvest Moon title starting back from SNES!

Little Big Planet (PS3) - Nice replay value, but feel bored once you get all the trophies needed. Online play is sometimes laggy, which is true in my condition.

Metal Gear Solid 4 - If only it features trophy support, hmm...
nakata101
post Apr 27 2010, 10:13 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

Uncharted 2 and Winning Eleven !!!
Mgsrulz
post Apr 27 2010, 10:23 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

GTA 4

boring story aside, it's just so much fun to spawn an attack chopper and just go shooting the crap out of everything and then jumping off to kill the character laugh.gif

or stealing a car and ramming the police for no reason.

pointless jerking around aside, the game's pretty boring.lol

Uncharted 2
train sequence thumbup.gif
rooftop chase(helicopter) thumbup.gif

Resident Evil 5
wrestle with the controls,most of the time laugh.gif
co op with a human partner= FTW
co op with the AI partner= FML! laugh.gif

MGS 4
boss based bullets=win
boss fights=win
rex v ray=epic win
stalking the resistance member and taking enemies out otw..his reaction=priceless tongue.gif

K-End
post Apr 27 2010, 10:24 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

Hustle Kings thumbup.gif

you wont be bored playing Snooker game laugh.gif
blinky_w
post Apr 27 2010, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(K-End @ Apr 27 2010, 10:24 AM)
Hustle Kings thumbup.gif
you wont be bored playing Snooker game laugh.gif
AC series also have replay value... to unlock different planes, part, enemy, thorphy, and colors....

Added on April 27, 2010, 10:30 am
QUOTE(gizmoduck @ Apr 27 2010, 10:05 AM)
Monster Hunter seems to be a popular choice! Can you guys elaborate further? What makes each great to play again?

Honestly, I think having the trophy system is a pathetic attempt by game designers to promote replay values. So they can be lazy and not focus on game development as much.
MH is alway a popular choice...coz once u finish a monster you can replay with the mission with your fren, and help your fren with the mission to unlock better armor and weapon, a skill hunter may take 100 hrs to finish.... with fren helping the replay value add more....

This post has been edited by blinky_w: Apr 27 2010, 10:30 AM
shindenv
post Apr 27 2010, 10:31 AM

135 posts

Rock Band Series + MW2 icon_rolleyes.gif
ik3da
post Apr 27 2010, 10:38 AM

Poisoned, broken, and definitely poorer.
545 posts

Disgaea series (as mentioned) often clocks more than hundred of hours for those who get caught up with it. I am still playing Disgaea 2 for PSP and Disgaea 3 for PS3 at the moment.

Armored Core offers great replay value (parts etc) too but I oft have to stop after a while. The headaches that I get from moving around in the AC really can kill. Haven't try the ones for PS3 yet though, wonder if getting the mouse will make it better or not.
blinky_w
post Apr 27 2010, 10:46 AM

QUOTE(ik3da @ Apr 27 2010, 10:38 AM)
Disgaea series (as mentioned) often clocks more than hundred of hours for those who get caught up with it. I am still playing Disgaea 2 for PSP and Disgaea 3 for PS3 at the moment.

Armored Core offers great replay value (parts etc) too but I oft have to stop after a while. The headaches that I get from moving around in the AC really can kill. Haven't try the ones for PS3 yet though, wonder if getting the mouse will make it better or not.
same for disgaea 2 and 3... i just bought 3 on ps3.. the story is not that interesting compare to the disgaea 2 in PSP....
even i didn't finish the game i still manage to clock over 100 hrs...
K-End
post Apr 27 2010, 10:48 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(blinky_w @ Apr 27 2010, 10:26 AM)
AC series also have replay value... to unlock different planes, part, enemy, thorphy, and colors....

AC is great..but most of time i replay Zero just to get the feel that im the badass "Demon Lord of the Round Table" especially during Aces Dogfight thumbup.gif

other AC especially 5 is 'meh'..no motivation to replay back the darn game. yup...AC5 got alot of mission comapre to Zero but most of them is "Get XXXXX point to complete the mission" i dunno why anyone would enjoyed playing that kind of mission over & over again. but then again , it's just my opinion tongue.gif
DWExia
post Apr 27 2010, 10:50 AM

140 posts

what game is AC?

assassins creed?
Sora
post Apr 27 2010, 10:53 AM

:D
2,574 posts

^I think he meant Ace Combat tongue.gif

Anyway, for mine it'll definitely be Blazblue.
The one and only fighting game that really keeps me going on playing for god knows how long; such as learning new combos and fighting against different people which will give me a whole new experience.

No other game comes to mind currently... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Sora: Apr 27 2010, 10:54 AM
K-End
post Apr 27 2010, 10:54 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(DWExia @ Apr 27 2010, 10:50 AM)
what game is AC?

assassins creed?
Ace Combat
Mgsrulz
post Apr 27 2010, 10:54 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(DWExia @ Apr 27 2010, 10:50 AM)
what game is AC?

assassins creed?
Ace Combat.

know your history,dude!! tongue.gif
Kyoyagami
post Apr 27 2010, 10:56 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I'd go with fighting games. But if you love something a whole lot, you may see yourself doing everything you want with it.

Take my example of Yakuza 3. Its the longest game I have been playing on the PS3. All time, still FFXII though. tongue.gif
heavyarm
post Apr 27 2010, 10:58 AM

648 posts

hmm..personally think is Demon soul..hardcore gamers' caup of tea..

wink.gif
blinky_w
post Apr 27 2010, 11:02 AM

QUOTE(K-End @ Apr 27 2010, 10:48 AM)
AC is great..but most of time i replay Zero just to get the feel that im the badass "Demon Lord of the Round Table" especially during Aces Dogfight thumbup.gif

other AC especially 5 is 'meh'..no motivation to replay back the darn game. yup...AC5 got alot of mission comapre to Zero but most of them is "Get XXXXX point to complete the mission" i dunno why anyone would enjoyed playing that kind of mission over & over again. but then again , it's just my opinion tongue.gif
yeah.... still Zero is the best.... AC5 nothing much to reply just to unlock new plane and easter egg inside....

the sortie in AC zero really got the feel..... like 1 mission you have to fly under the radar thru the valley to destroy some lorry that carries bio weapon..... after destroy there was a whole lot of army chasing you....

is that in AC zero or AC5 can't remember... but that was really a good fight...

Zero is still the best... once u get the solo wing pixy's plane... what is it called??
AC5 the last boss plane also very good... especially the special weapon...

damn u make me wan to play back...

boss fight is fun also... when taking down a very huge mother ship....
jasonbourne222
post Apr 27 2010, 11:08 AM

242 posts

winning 11
ik3da
post Apr 27 2010, 11:16 AM

Poisoned, broken, and definitely poorer.
545 posts

LoL - actually when I said AC, I was talking about Armored Core. Forgot bout Ace Combat =d
Mgsrulz
post Apr 27 2010, 11:20 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Apr 27 2010, 11:16 AM)
LoL - actually when I said AC, I was talking about Armored Core. Forgot bout Ace Combat =d
we were referring to kei end/blinky's ACs laugh.gif
ramz
post Apr 27 2010, 11:24 AM

21,304 posts

mario kart wii
blinky_w
post Apr 27 2010, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(ik3da @ Apr 27 2010, 11:16 AM)
LOL... i never play amored core be4...but i really like the AC4:for answer white mecha... Look so cool...hard to find the model in KL...

Added on April 27, 2010, 11:26 am
QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Apr 27 2010, 11:20 AM)
we were referring to kei end/blinky's ACs laugh.gif
talking bout that... serious replay value = peace walker!!!!!! LOL rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by blinky_w: Apr 27 2010, 11:26 AM
Sauron76
post Apr 27 2010, 11:27 AM

32 posts

MGS Series, GTA Series, Gran Turismo Series, Lego Series, Winning Eleven Series
K-End
post Apr 27 2010, 11:28 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(blinky_w @ Apr 27 2010, 11:02 AM)
yeah.... still Zero is the best.... AC5 nothing much to reply just to unlock new plane and easter egg inside....

the sortie in AC zero really got the feel..... like 1 mission you have to fly under the radar thru the valley to destroy some lorry that carries bio weapon..... after destroy there was a whole lot of army chasing you....
is that in AC zero or AC5 can't remember... but that was really a good fight...

Zero is still the best... once u get the solo wing pixy's plane... what is it called??
AC5 the last boss plane also very good... especially the special weapon...

damn u make me wan to play back...

boss fight is fun also... when taking down a very huge mother ship....
you mixed up with other AC laugh.gif

the Ace Battle itself is satisfying. you defeat them, watch the FMV on how they retold the battle from their perspective & the best part, how their life has change after the fateful encounter
blinky_w
post Apr 27 2010, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(K-End @ Apr 27 2010, 11:28 AM)
you mixed up with other AC laugh.gif

the Ace Battle itself is satisfying. you defeat them, watch the FMV on how they retold the battle from their perspective & the best part, how their life has change after the fateful encounter
oh oh ... i mix that all up...aiyo... that y must replay...
yup i really like the FMV.....
i was moved when i saw ohh... that was solo wing and still pass a message to the demon lord...
a truly brother in arm...

ajis
post Apr 27 2010, 12:51 PM

plastic love
3,554 posts

virtua fighter 5
spax
post Apr 27 2010, 01:09 PM

57 posts

if you care more about a game thats freaking fun and takes long time to finish main missions and side missions (hundreds of things to blow up) then do try;

The Saboteur
melt
post Apr 27 2010, 02:09 PM

974 posts

Suikoden 1 & 2
FF 6 (US)/ 3 (Japan)
Resident Evil 1,2,3

heatblast
post Apr 27 2010, 02:12 PM

Amore senza fine
4,734 posts

Chrono Cross.
Tales Of Destiny.

ph34r.gif
kyaz87
post Apr 27 2010, 02:23 PM

23 posts

SOTC for PS2...epic win... smile.gif
Frostlord
post Apr 27 2010, 02:26 PM

1,723 posts

Evil Genius for PC

each time try different theme
use different evil genius
use different henchman
complete the game in different way
MODs
jiidaineko
post Apr 27 2010, 02:28 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Apr 27 2010, 11:24 AM)
mario kart wii
modnation racer cool2.gif
jenniferjen
post Apr 27 2010, 02:34 PM

410 posts

Sacred 2, that my humble opinion.
I like building character, finding random loots and large map to venture with so many bosses encounter, platinumed it and still playing occasionally smile.gif
C_Sagi
post Apr 27 2010, 02:36 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

Rock Band series and MAG. tongue.gif
Scavengers
post Apr 27 2010, 02:40 PM

380 posts

Warhawk for me, been playing for more than a year
Global Time: 767.83 hours

Fallout 3 is good too

xanax
post Apr 27 2010, 02:51 PM

15 posts

killzone 2, able to unlock different trophies, and test your skills in elite. and the online will get addicted once your hooked. u will spend hours and hours at a time jus for the online.
qudeenz360
post Apr 27 2010, 02:51 PM

5,761 posts

LBP

motoGP

lilko
post Apr 27 2010, 03:06 PM

95 posts

Metal slug series.. The only game I never get bored of.. Duno y... XD
Rpg is normally a no replay for me.. Cuz i dislike the start all over again feeling.. even u can play frm the save data.. but no.. Unless i wan see clear cutscenes but i youtube anyway.. Too many games to play nowadays also... lol..
ffrulz
post Apr 27 2010, 03:35 PM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

Resonance of Fate. Has 10 different difficulties with the hardest difficulty being 5x harder than the normal one. You need to play 11 times to get the 10th difficulty including the first playthrough.
qudeenz360
post Apr 27 2010, 04:24 PM

5,761 posts

owh.. lupa..

Dinner dash~
Zuma...

tak boring layan game nih...
D.Sync
post Apr 27 2010, 04:32 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(qudeenz360 @ Apr 27 2010, 04:24 PM)
owh.. lupa..

Dinner dash~
Zuma...

tak boring layan game nih...
shocking.gif Never thought this will come in mind, until now.
TSgizmoduck
post Apr 27 2010, 04:47 PM

323 posts

How about games with the least replay value?
blinky_w
post Apr 27 2010, 04:55 PM

GOW of war series
darksider
red alert 3

raymond62
post Apr 27 2010, 05:02 PM

503 posts

Fallout 3 , Fallout 3 & Fallout 3 , this is the ONLY game i've ever completed multiple times on both PS3 & Xbox. Played thru good , bad , neutral karma both as a guy & a girl character rclxms.gif

Still keeping the PS3 version & reluctant to sell.
xanax
post Apr 27 2010, 05:08 PM

15 posts

heavy rain has a good amount of replay value
Lakum
post Apr 27 2010, 05:33 PM

Slave New World
690 posts

QUOTE(xanax @ Apr 27 2010, 05:08 PM)
heavy rain has a good amount of replay value
Yes until u platinum i guess. After that, dont feel like playing it anymore.
pakcikkantin
post Apr 27 2010, 05:51 PM

pakcik replyed MGS4, and now i feel the game... be in the game, enjoy the view and characters
sin_n1984
post Apr 27 2010, 06:04 PM

the Tales of series. (Tales of Graces, Tales of Vesperia, Tales of the Abyss ...etc) .

I'll spent 100+hours on my first round gameplay. And I'll restart and play all over again and again. Most of them I had already played for at least 3 rounds. (Except for Tales of Tempest and Tales of Symphonia Knight of Ratatosk.)

For Tales of Vesperia, I had played 10 rounds(Xbox360+PS3), without skipping any dialog. And I'll still play some more rounds in the future.

If not because of the longgggg loading time for Tales of the Abyss, It will definitely be my longest record. (Currently 8 rounds)

Added on April 27, 2010, 6:09 pm
QUOTE(gizmoduck @ Apr 27 2010, 04:47 PM)
How about games with the least replay value?
Final Fantasy XIII. After getting my platinum trophy, I swear that I won't put my hands on it , again.

This post has been edited by sin_n1984: Apr 27 2010, 06:10 PM
shamrawk
post Apr 27 2010, 06:38 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(Lakum @ Apr 27 2010, 05:33 PM)
Yes until u platinum i guess. After that, dont feel like playing it anymore.
I think not for Heavy Rain only,, others games also if you unlock platinum feeling to replay again is no more...

for me -> MGS4, dont know why but is got aura to get me playing again and again.. maybe this game dont have "trophy" support, thats why laugh.gif
tashfinsheikh
post Apr 27 2010, 07:36 PM

Maxis Dealer
646 posts

Uncharted 2
MW2
RE5
and
Dunno any other haven't tried any other yet........
choontoy
post Apr 27 2010, 08:10 PM

837 posts

1.MW2
2.COD4
3.COD WAW
4.MGS4
5.WE2010
finger_waverz
post Apr 27 2010, 08:54 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(heatblast @ Apr 27 2010, 02:12 PM)
Chrono Cross.
Tales Of Destiny.

ph34r.gif
o0o0o0o0o0o I LOVE CHRONO CROSS.... too bad they are not making the newer version for ps3...

Added on April 27, 2010, 8:55 pmdragon age series.... but i played in pc

This post has been edited by finger_waverz: Apr 27 2010, 08:55 PM
SUSihavenoavatar
post Apr 27 2010, 09:21 PM

72 posts

just cause 2 and red faction ...
blowing stuffs up just so much fun ...
dark_heart07
post Apr 27 2010, 09:25 PM

77 posts

PS1
-MGS
-FF7 & 8
-Metal Slug
-Ace Combat 2 & 3/Electrosphere

PS2
-Ace Combat 4 & 5 (6 is for xbox 360)
-MGS 2 & 3
-FF12
-Persona 3 & 4
-Socom

PS3
-MGS 4
-FF13
-Uncharted 2 (i'm addicted to MP)
-Dragon Age
-CoD 4/5 & 6

PSP
-Ace Combat X
lilko
post Apr 27 2010, 10:41 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(ffrulz @ Apr 27 2010, 03:35 PM)
Resonance of Fate. Has 10 different difficulties with the hardest difficulty being 5x harder than the normal one. You need to play 11 times to get the 10th difficulty including the first playthrough.
U have such bravery to go thru so many times... With the steep difficulty i takut i will give up halfway and spoil the good memory also destroy my mood for being incaple to finish the enemy off fast.. I salute u....With all respect! flex.gif
vearn27
post Apr 27 2010, 11:34 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

The number of seasons I went through with Master League on Winning Eleven series is uncountable... been playing since WE 5 or 6 until the latest one smile.gif
iDontCare
post Apr 28 2010, 09:54 AM

196 posts

R&Cs, R&Cs, R&Cs
Owned every single collection since PS2 to PSP and PS3.

Rynos'
Platinumed R&C:TOD and also QOB but still playing it. Currently working on CIT. Averagely i R&Cs' i played 5 rounds
TSgizmoduck
post Apr 28 2010, 09:59 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Apr 27 2010, 11:34 PM)
The number of seasons I went through with Master League on Winning Eleven series is uncountable... been playing since WE 5 or 6 until the latest one smile.gif
Master League was the best PS2 WE option ever!!! I loved training up random youth players who turn out to be great after a few seasons. Too bad I stopped playing WE after FIFA09 biggrin.gif Here's wishing WE can catch up! Props to the little guy!

Anybody here plays Fight Night and love it? I must have created like a ton of boxers for Legacy mode.
K-End
post Apr 28 2010, 10:02 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

well..i never get tired playing Civilization over & over again laugh.gif

who can resist "one more click"?
blinky_w
post Apr 28 2010, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(K-End @ Apr 28 2010, 10:02 AM)
well..i never get tired playing Civilization over & over again laugh.gif

who can resist "one more click"?
wahahaha.... me no 1 more click... me 1 more platoon to surround the country that im invading...

civilization is also very addicting.... having a good relationship then BANG!!! right in to his ass....ahahah
nakata101
post Apr 28 2010, 10:17 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Apr 27 2010, 11:34 PM)
Me just finish my 3rd season master league in WE2010...... never get bored, thinking to play it until all my player get old, a team which average age in 40 years old. brows.gif I hope FIFA really can catch up WE. whistling.gif
TSgizmoduck
post Apr 28 2010, 10:23 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Apr 28 2010, 10:17 AM)
Me just finish my 3rd season master league in WE2010...... never get bored, thinking to play it until all my player get old, a team which average age in 40 years old.  brows.gif  I hope FIFA really can catch up WE.  whistling.gif
Oouuhh wind up biggrin.gif you WUM you! LOL

I miss Roberto Larcos.

0.0259sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:53 PM