Asus N82jv

astria
post Apr 28 2010, 08:49 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

well, but it's not as big a killer as it's predecessors though...

N80V - T9400 + 9650M GT
N81V - T9600+ HD4650/HD4670

both using the same GPU as the 15" in the market at their time... + the using top of the line CPU as well...

i was expecting i7 620M + HD5730 for N82Jv...

This post has been edited by astria: Apr 28 2010, 08:54 AM
astria
post Apr 28 2010, 08:57 AM

22,158 posts

y not a Asus N series thread instead??? they have always been good performance laptops... laugh.gif

Added on April 28, 2010, 8:59 amoh, and 1 more thing, in Asus website, N82 is classified under "Multimedia Entertainment" instead of "Versatile Performance"...

This post has been edited by astria: Apr 28 2010, 08:59 AM
astria
post May 16 2010, 10:19 PM

22,158 posts

yup... interested to see load temp, and how it stacks against my N81Vp... brows.gif
astria
post May 17 2010, 07:33 AM

22,158 posts

most, if not all, of the sellers in garage sales are selling at rm3999 or even less...
astria
post May 17 2010, 09:39 PM

22,158 posts

wondering... should i do a small N81Vp vs N82jv comparison here??? laugh.gif
astria
post May 17 2010, 09:41 PM

22,158 posts

nah... N81Vp is the predecessor of N82Jv...

juz want to create some fun here... tongue.gif
astria
post May 17 2010, 10:05 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(liverpool2020 @ May 17 2010, 09:43 PM)
tongue.gif what test u want ? i am newbie leh...

The street fighter if u put highest setting and AA in C16XQAA will lag, not that smooth
probably not benchmarks, since it's obvious that N82Jv has better hardware than N81Vp...

i was thinking perhaps a comparison on temperature, both idle and full load...
astria
post May 17 2010, 10:09 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(haoz @ May 17 2010, 09:47 PM)
huh?? are there any serious problem in this lappy? n r u satisfied with it? how many scores will u give if total is 10??hehe biggrin.gif
depends on how u see, from the POV of a N81Vp owner, N82Jv is good, but some of the small small things that may prove irritating...

1) mainstream CPU, N81Vp has the top of the line dual core CPU of the time (namely Core 2 Duo T9550/T9600, equivalent to Core i7 620M now bas on class)
2) only 3 USB ports, while N81 and N80 have 5
3) no fingerprint scanners (subjective, but it's fun to ve one tongue.gif)
4) choice of GPU (expecting HD5650 since it has DX11, but not GT 335M)
astria
post May 17 2010, 10:17 PM

22,158 posts

take a screenshot when idle, CPU full load, and GPU full load...

at any time needs CPU-Z, GPU-Z and Hwmonitor shown...

for stressing apps, u can try StressCPU 2.0 or Orthos for CPU, and FurMark for GPU... these are the known most stressful tests on hardware...

i'll upload some pics soon...

now waiting for my laptop to cool down after some folding... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by astria: May 17 2010, 10:21 PM
astria
post May 17 2010, 10:58 PM

22,158 posts

Here we go, PK of Asus 14" N series...

Asus N81Vp - Intel Core 2 Duo T9550, ATi Mobility Radeon HD4650

Idle:

CPU full load (Orthos 10mins):

GPU full load (Furmark 10 mins):

granted, temperature in Australia over here is significantly lower than Malaysia, however the ambient environment of my test is my room, doors and windows closed, so it's still not that cold... u can simulate the environment easily with air con...

This post has been edited by astria: May 17 2010, 11:04 PM
astria
post May 18 2010, 08:51 AM

22,158 posts

juz edit, replace the words with "deleted" will do...

there's no delete function...
astria
post May 20 2010, 02:43 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ May 20 2010, 02:33 PM)
The distributor just deliver the N82JV to me.
Looks good but a bit heavy.
They included only a USB Optical mouse but not wireless mouse. Already complained and ask for a new wireless mouse.

Now put on charging. later will start migrate my emails and files.
sweat.gif

Asus standard is (cheap and small) wired mouse...

This post has been edited by astria: May 20 2010, 02:43 PM
astria
post May 25 2010, 02:02 PM

22,158 posts

well, if u ask me (i own N81Vp), N82Jv seems to be lacking in some of the small detail...

wat would u think if i tell u that N81 and N80 series ve a total of 5 USB ports??? and that these 2 series use C2D T9000 series, which are top of the line dual core of their time...

we dun ve Optimus, but with Asus P4GH, we can still squeeze out more than 3hrs of battery life with WiFi...
astria
post Jun 20 2010, 04:10 PM

22,158 posts

adjust sensitivity in game?
astria
post Jun 21 2010, 07:41 AM

22,158 posts

nah... it's still DX10.1, it's hardware limitation...

showing DX11 merely means u ve the DX files installed and Windows can make use of that if ur GPU supports that as well...

my Win7 has been showing DX11 since the days of beta, and i am using a HD4650...
astria
post Jun 22 2010, 08:04 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(CSYONG @ Jun 22 2010, 02:39 AM)
only found two... usb3.0 on closer left, and a usb2.0 on farthest right underneath the flappy thing.

just read your post on the a42jv's mic and speaker being from one port.. thats odd isn't it
they ve to separate the the 2 laptops from each other...

iirc, N82Jv has better webcam (2MP vs VGA), more software included, etc...

but still, the lack of USB ports is a real turn off for me...
astria
post Jun 22 2010, 10:57 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(kamaUshUsh @ Jun 22 2010, 09:25 AM)
3 usb ports lar. 2 of it is usb2.0, the other 1 is usb3.0

fyi, the usb3.0 can pakai for usb2.0 device also... no problem 1.

3 usb ports in 1 laptop not enuf? if at once, u need to pakai so many usb ports , just buy 1 usb hub lar. ez ...
well, wat if i tell u the predecessors (N81V and N80V) have 5 USB ports???

0.0267sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:01 AM