Nokia N900 Thread V2, Firmware FR 1.2 is FINALLY OUT

porselinaheart
post May 17 2010, 11:14 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 17 2010, 11:01 AM)
Mine is warm but okay doesnt feel its too hot. OC @ 900mhz
+1 on that for me too, OC at 900mhz now, very happy with the speed, and heating is minor only.
porselinaheart
post May 18 2010, 09:38 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(bizness @ May 17 2010, 03:43 PM)
After flashing,i just realize my Version : (Unknown).. sad.gif

Why is this happening?? cry.gif  cry.gif
its because u overclocked yer phone mate, wink.gif No worries, there's a fix that resets ur info without affecting the oc. Saw it on talk.maemo.org, lemme see if i can find the link for you.

edit: found some simplified instructions for you, :

As flashing the kernel erases firmware version information (in the Settings/About window “unknown” is shown instead of platform and software version), you will need to do some additional steps to bring it back so that you can still normally use automatic firmware updates in the future:

- launch X Terminal
- type sudo gainroot (you need the rootsh package installed)
- type apt-get install –reinstall mp-fremantle-generic-pr
- if asked for confirmation press Y and Enter
- when done reboot the N900

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: May 18 2010, 09:41 AM
porselinaheart
post May 18 2010, 10:05 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

hey guys , does anyone have any updated links for the sygic SE Asia maps. I'm in thailand right now, so i could use the extra maps!
porselinaheart
post May 18 2010, 11:57 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 18 2010, 11:48 AM)
i already reupload MeLI sygic asian maps to the guide section
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=33493475

please refer above thanks
aiks, so sorry aspire, didn't notice that the asian maps were in dere too, blush.gif sweat.gif thanks!
porselinaheart
post May 18 2010, 09:48 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

ahhhhhh, took only 5 mins to install sygic, hehe. Map is so-so detailed for chiang mai, gott wait till i 'm back in kl to check ou the msia map. thanks aspire!

Eiraku, any chance of some font changing tuts??

Edit: Anybody know if its due to firmware update that rootsh has been depreciated, or because i need ver 1.5 of rootsh. ( running pr 1.1 )

Added on May 18, 2010, 9:53 pmwah... with sygic i can get a gps lock in my apt, and outside is only 10 seconds. reminds of garmin on my n82, so much faster of a signal lock than ovi.....

Added on May 18, 2010, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(dkliew @ May 18 2010, 09:01 PM)
Something happen on my Pc-suit.... N900 cant be detected and cant sync now.
only can doing USB mass storage mode.

anyone encounter this issues b4?  it happen i installed easy debian biggrin.gif
after installed ovi suite, i had the same problem, then when i installed nokia map loader, suddenly no problem again. Its the nokia device drivers i think.

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: May 18 2010, 09:57 PM
porselinaheart
post May 26 2010, 04:36 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(Josh_M @ May 26 2010, 04:21 PM)
Firstly i flashed the fiasco Image with the latest PR i also omited the -R command so that my N900 wont boot up

after fin flash i type in command for the eMMC flash it start to load and then the error comes  suitable USB device not found.
hmmm, does it just hang at that point in definately? I had a to wait for a while then it found and rebooted my device and flashed the eMMC. Also what is the bin file you're using to flash? I had a similiar problem then realised i was flasshing the wrong file from tablet.dev, tongue.gif

My initial installation slow/long due to my one stupidity, but after figuring out where i went wrong, managed to do the whole process in 5 mins. OC at 900mhz, everything seems fine.

Does anyone know if potrait can be enabled for the desktop?? any idea how to do it??

porselinaheart
post May 26 2010, 04:39 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

@Andy214, I agree, FOTA too unsafe sometimes. Flashing isn't that complicated anyway, just need to use the correct bin file.
porselinaheart
post May 26 2010, 04:42 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(acat @ May 26 2010, 04:38 PM)
how about updating via NSU? will it cause reboot loop?
it shouldn't unless the update process ( not downloading the files by NSU ) is interrupted. however since its the first day pr 1.2 has been released, got a couple of reports that the download part fails cos too many downloaders atm.
porselinaheart
post May 26 2010, 04:48 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 26 2010, 04:40 PM)
Logically, Desktop is not possible, unless they have applied fixed positioning for the icons and widget.

The beauty of Maemo desktop is you can arrange widget and icons as you like, flexible! No restrictions like other Smartphone OS "Home Screen".

If you have other smartphone OS, take notice how the icons/widgets are placed. They're place inside a container or fixed position; So when you switch to portrait/landscape mode, these containers are re-arrange according to the orientation.
Well said, I totally get your point, its just that i heard some rumours that 1.2 supported desktop rotation as well, and that they managed to get around the fixed positioning issue, heh. No biggie tho, already gotten used to having a landscape device, hehe, just that one-handed input for certain things all sideways lar, lol
porselinaheart
post May 26 2010, 04:51 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(acat @ May 26 2010, 04:49 PM)
but for me, as flashing using flasher give me really headache,till now i've reflashed over ten times but nothing success, so it seems updating via NSU is last resort for me  smile.gif
acat u sure u tried using the correct bin file?? whats ur n900 product code?? maybe installing the regional version might work better?
porselinaheart
post May 26 2010, 05:23 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(acat @ May 26 2010, 04:56 PM)
for pr 1.1, i'm using RX-51_2009SE_3.2010.02-8_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin which is global release. so, for pr 1.2 i'm also download global version, which is RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.19-1_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin (rootfs) and RX-51_2009SE_10.2010.13-2.VANILLA_PR_EMMC_MR0_ARM.bin (eMMC image). here is my product code 356938032104458.
hmmm, the bin file you're using seems to be correct. Your product code is under the battery bro, maybe can check ur region for u, and a region specific firmware might work, if not, only thing i can think of is what andy suggested, that is to try and redownload the bin file and flash again.
porselinaheart
post May 27 2010, 10:28 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(fai79ruz @ May 27 2010, 06:34 AM)
ok the option r at the phone menu-contact-all contact-setting-u can c there is an option (display video calling option) and it already tick..

Added on May 27, 2010, 6:52 amOk , i did my research and found out that the front camera is a VGA web camera, u guys we right so its my mistake assuming this is for 3g video call because i did check from other forum and youtube and there said it for video calling. Aiya y lar now only it show me this spec not before when i buy tis HP, feel a bit dispointed because i bought tis hp want to upgrade my E71 which i already have install GPS now even GPS is gone.In my point of view tis hp i only upgrade the browsing but lost every thing else. Anyway any of u guys know if it can make video calling??

http://www.nokia.com.my/find-product/all-p.../specifications
alittle confused about what you mean gps is gone?? Sygic is growing on me day by day, plus it locks in 10-15 seconds for me, biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
porselinaheart
post Jun 4 2010, 11:35 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 2 2010, 10:44 AM)
thanks for great explaination guys! really appreciate it..

however fygi, i'm not n i wont letting go the nexus one.. by far it's the best & convenient device i ever have, after desire & bold2. iPhone is great, but not convenient with it's heavy dependence with iTunes.

and no offence, but Desire just available few weeks ago via ap company.. i know since i'm among the first to own it in malaysia.. and it's very new in our market. so cant compare the thread they have with N900 here...

but guess what, i just got the N900 last night. and where it stands out now? i dunno, but yes i'm excited to explore lots of things coz it's been a long time since android, i've a device that makes me like noob again. and i'm excited! haha.

now i hope to learn many things from u guys to ensure i've a great experience with this device..and thanks in advance ! biggrin.gif
like dis must be come our official comparison tester with android lerrr, brows.gif

Added on June 4, 2010, 11:35 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 4 2010, 08:32 PM)
so fast going to be V3 already.

I will prepare the TOP 10 application, widget and games on V3. Be ready
got voting arr aspire??

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Jun 4 2010, 11:35 PM
porselinaheart
post Jun 5 2010, 02:09 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Jun 5 2010, 11:03 AM)
wish that some1 will make it and upload to database :/

Added on June 5, 2010, 11:06 amanyone has any apps or know any way which can use n900 as a webcam? :/
i think there's a webcam app in one of the repositories i think., also @ aspire : If i'm not mistaken there's 2 ir remote apps right??

Added on June 5, 2010, 2:35 pmaiseh..... since pr 1.2 pdf viewer isn't working on my magazines anymore, sad.gif

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Jun 5 2010, 02:35 PM

0.0457sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:58 AM