Nokia N900 Thread V2, Firmware FR 1.2 is FINALLY OUT

one1002
post May 8 2010, 01:44 AM

617 posts

FINALLY!!!JUST GOT MY N900!!!!PUT ME UP INTO THE OWNER'S LIST.. =)
one1002
post May 8 2010, 11:14 AM

617 posts

hi all..i got a problem..i can't seem to detect wifi connection..when i press the status for internet connection,the "select connection doesnt detect any wifi,and even GPRS/3G even i have the 3G/GPRS signal.

what could be the problem here?when i got my device,it can detect..then,cannot..

any help?
one1002
post May 8 2010, 04:47 PM

617 posts

ish..the battery suddenly drained so fast???now cannot turn on...need to charge summore...not even a day lah..huhuhu...charged until green light,unplug the charger at 7am...just playing it a lil bit,slept around 1pm,woke up at 4pm,the phone is already dead...

applied evything from changing to GSM,lowered brightness to level 2..disable GPS positioning..and the phone is still stock standard..

one1002
post May 9 2010, 12:30 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 8 2010, 04:57 PM)
did u disconnect the internet connection? Sometimes when u connected to the internet it wont disconnect itself.
QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 8 2010, 06:45 PM)
Were you using the WIFI before? There's a supposed bug that causes the WIFI drivers to continue draining huge amounts of battery even when it's disconnected.

Like i said earlier, the only way to resolve it is by rebooting/shutting down.

But then again, my N900 eats through its batteries like crazy to begin with anyhow, lol.

I concur with RiVN, 5-6 hours are what you should be expecting with heavy-ish use.
i didnt turn on wifi as what i posted earlier...about the wifi connection error..even the 3G connection wasnt listed in the "select connections"...nvm,the prob suddenly dissapear..can connect now..about battery,will monitor for or 2 days..
one1002
post May 9 2010, 09:38 AM

617 posts

cool!!posted on maemo.org..thx jloi..i also mentioned ur nickname there..credit to u!! can't wait for it to release..
one1002
post May 9 2010, 11:11 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ May 9 2010, 10:21 AM)
can i have a simple tutorial of this?
its in the extra-repo..just go to app.manager -> download -> find system info widget..(do remember to enable your extra catalogue)

QUOTE(jordan86 @ May 9 2010, 10:28 AM)
Ok i will try it after finished install the apps.
I tried use my old maxis simcard, it also cannot work. Haiz...
Hopefully it can work well after that.
y dont u try replacing your simcard with a new one?try if it's working..i guess it should be working with the newer sim card..
one1002
post May 9 2010, 11:18 AM

617 posts

disabling "location" in setting does improve the battery life significantly..facebook widget also drains the battery aswell as the weather widget..because these widgets need to refresh to update..especially facebook..so,these refreshes consumes battery like mad..
one1002
post May 9 2010, 09:59 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 9 2010, 09:22 PM)
refer to frontpage
u have choice of Mugen screen protector or epikcase or even zagg shield.

I am thinking to get zagg shield
i tot zagg shield reduced the screen sensitivity especially when using the stylus.... =/ rclxub.gif
one1002
post May 9 2010, 10:11 PM

617 posts

how's the the zagg shield for the body if compared with casing?

looking for comfort and safety...

and where to get it?hehehe...
one1002
post May 9 2010, 10:20 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ May 9 2010, 10:15 PM)
Aye got the zagg also but I only using it for the body, the screen is just too rubbery for my liking. Best use normal screen protector. I am using mugen matter one now and it feels good.
how's the quality of the body shield?where did u buy it,and how much? icon_question.gif drool.gif
one1002
post May 10 2010, 06:42 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 10 2010, 06:35 PM)
I'm on Celcom. In my case, it's like "no network connections" in 2 seconds after a restart. No packet data connections can be made after that period. Calls work fine though, somehow, and the network settings are all in order. A restart returns me back where I started -> autoconnect right after restart, then connection lost, then nothing. No 3G/EDGE/GPRS/WIFI.

Just bluetooth, lol.

Reflashing right now, waiting for CuteFM to finish transferring my easydeb image to the mem card first (it's a pain to download).
yup..this is what i posted few pages ago..i dont know what happen..the phone is still fresh new..with no apps installed...sometimes i do get to connect..but sometimes..it wont..

but,what i noticed....if the battery level is below half..the problem started to occur..but if fully charge and above half level,wifi works flawlessly..i dont know if this is true or not..but this is what i noticed..couldnt find any other causes rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
one1002
post May 10 2010, 07:33 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(eluna @ May 10 2010, 07:21 PM)
yes, this case may happen... if low battey you play avi file format it will pop up a message show "this format not supported"
after recharge its back to normal

the ambient light sensor got problem / power saving bugs
hopefully PR1.2 will fix this...

did it happen to u too?
one1002
post May 10 2010, 11:27 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(sinic999 @ May 10 2010, 11:08 PM)
ermmm if apply screen protector on the n900 will the oily problem be settle??? cause its sometime kind of annoying after im done with my call and my n900 felt oily due to sweats and grease from my face????
matte screen protector might solve it..

ps:totally off topic..does anyone knows what is the date for FIGHT SCIENCE in astro?i tot i saw the ad on 10-21 may?and what channel..i forgot d..lol.. tongue.gif
one1002
post May 12 2010, 03:24 AM

617 posts

the tool to hack wifi is aircrack-ng..search for it..i've tried...lol

Added on May 12, 2010, 3:53 amANYONE CAN DOWNLOAD NOKIA SOFTWARE UPDATER AND PC SUITE FOR NOKIA N900 FROM NOKIA.COM.MY?

i can't seem to find the device for N900....hmmm..now where should i download the NSU and PC SUITE?

This post has been edited by one1002: May 12 2010, 03:53 AM
one1002
post May 13 2010, 05:28 PM

617 posts

hey guys..can someone teach me how to hide files and view the hidden files?

i went to Maemo.org,but can't seem to understand what they're talking about..

all i know is to put "."(dot) infront of the filename..
but,is it done via the N900 or windows?
how to do it via N900?

then,if i have hide those files,how do i manage to view it from my device?
one1002
post May 13 2010, 05:47 PM

617 posts

how to use it from xterminal?
one1002
post May 13 2010, 11:09 PM

617 posts

guys..anyone can play movies on their N900?i can play it,but its out of sync..the audio doesnt match the video...the movie is AVATAR (torrented)

the file itself is 2.2GB

anyone knows what's the best setting for movies to be played on N900?

eg:which format? (avi or xvid or divx or mp4)
eg:what bitrate?(=1500 or >1000 or <1000)

any other hints/tips?

This post has been edited by one1002: May 13 2010, 11:10 PM
one1002
post May 13 2010, 11:33 PM

617 posts

what software u use to convert it?
one1002
post May 14 2010, 02:06 PM

617 posts

man..i've converted to avi..but still..no luck..out of sync..the video and audio...video is lagging behind...
one1002
post May 14 2010, 02:24 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ May 14 2010, 02:09 PM)
try super converter and use iphone setting. works like a charm for newbies. google for superconverter...
iphone setting uses AVI or MP4 format?

0.0347sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:07 PM