125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 Thread V2, Firmware FR 1.2 is FINALLY OUT

ahtiven
post May 13 2010, 10:11 AM

1,185 posts

guys, i installed fMMS and then removed it however, in the connection tab it always automatically reverts back to use connection MMS instead of my Diginet which doesn't transfer any packet data at all.

i went to settings and the Delete is greyed out;which means i can't delete it. may i know why and how to remove this manually?

p/s: my wireless SSID however, is able to be removed though.
kfthoo
post May 13 2010, 10:28 AM

410 posts

why play flash game while n900 can play pc games like doom, starcraft..warcraft...duke3d.... cool2.gif
Cannibal
post May 13 2010, 10:49 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(kfthoo @ May 13 2010, 10:28 AM)
why play flash game while n900 can play pc games like doom, starcraft..warcraft...duke3d.... cool2.gif
not user friendly enough. how do i simulate right click?
Eiraku
post May 13 2010, 11:03 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 13 2010, 09:48 AM)
this guy GOT a point thumbup.gif

flash enabled fon not necessary u play games wif it

u use flash to open web pages instead icon_idea.gif
I block flash for webpages (with the adblock flashblocker css), it just slows down web loading and I can always click it if I wanna view it. That doesn't make MicroB any less useful for me though, 800x480 + loads of screen real estate + java script = win.

I'm for one agreeing on Crazy Steve on the flash issue. Flash is quickly becoming the annoying midi music of today.

QUOTE(evanttc @ May 13 2010, 09:49 AM)
last time OC to 800, without a reason, it will back to 600 in 1 month + time

now i using OC to 900, without a reason, it back to default again.

is it anyone facing the same problem like mine?
If you're using Titan's kernel, there's a built in anti-crash mechanisme. If you reboot too often quickly after booting up, the kernel recognises this and resets the config to stock standard. Let the thing run a while and then reboot, this should clear the problem.

Or did you not reset the default kernel OC settings? Check the kernel-power wiki at maemo.org for info.

QUOTE(ahtiven @ May 13 2010, 10:11 AM)
guys, i installed fMMS and then removed it however, in the connection tab it always automatically reverts back to use connection MMS instead of my Diginet which doesn't transfer any packet data at all.

i went to settings and the Delete is greyed out;which means i can't delete it. may i know why and how to remove this manually?

You didn't rewrite the default 3G packet data APN using fAPN by any chance, did you? Because IINM, that one CANNOT be deleted.

If you did, just delete the current 3G settings file you're using and rewrite the 3G settings manually for the undeletable APN.

QUOTE(kfthoo @ May 13 2010, 10:28 AM)
And strain our eyes in the process lol. Though I have no qualms in running Q3/OpenArena on the N900, always good fun to frag idiots using the PC while playing from a freakin phone.

Plus I can't really run DXX-Rebirth, which pisses me off (Descent needs to run on ALL mobile platforms, screw Doom I always say!)

Seriously, people need to port more mobile friendly games and optimise them for the platform. OpenCiv comes to mind (already ported) but that one is crap unoptimised for the small screen. I mean, I squint and STILL have no idea what some of the text is saying. The OpenTTD devs had the right idea in allowing the use of half-resolution (400x220), might not look sharp but at least I know what's happening.

In this case, Maemo's relative obscurity makes it a problem. It's prolly just not economical to develop games for such a marginal platform, good enough as it is.

Though the promise of a maemo Homeworld port gives me the shivers, in a good way... drool.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: May 13 2010, 11:12 AM
TSaspire2oo6
post May 13 2010, 11:10 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ May 13 2010, 10:11 AM)

go to setting then sharing connections delete the digi net then request 3g setting then overwrite the old 1 wit default setting

ahtiven
post May 13 2010, 11:29 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 13 2010, 11:03 AM)
You didn't rewrite the default 3G packet data APN using fAPN by any chance, did you? Because IINM, that one CANNOT be deleted.

If you did, just delete the current 3G settings file you're using and rewrite the 3G settings manually for the undeletable APN.
i didnt rewrite it with fAPN. it shows Diginet and MMS and for some reason the MMS APN is prioritized. why don't you all have this problem with fMMS? lol.
did i install it wrongly?

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 13 2010, 11:10 AM)
go to setting then sharing connections delete the digi net then request 3g setting then overwrite the old 1 wit default setting
nope. Diginet cannot be deleted as well, it's greyed out. anyhow, i did a backup restore and everything's fixed now. but i would like to know a work-around for this in case it happens again in near future. sweat.gif

Added on May 13, 2010, 11:30 amp/s: and yah.. not a big fan of ported games on n900. casual games like angry chicks and brain party however, blow my mind. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ahtiven: May 13 2010, 11:31 AM
Andy214
post May 13 2010, 11:44 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 13 2010, 11:03 AM)
I block flash for webpages (with the adblock flashblocker css), it just slows down web loading and I can always click it if I wanna view it. That doesn't make MicroB any less useful for me though, 800x480 + loads of screen real estate + java script = win.

I'm for one agreeing on Crazy Steve on the flash issue. Flash is quickly becoming the annoying midi music of today.
If you're using Titan's kernel, there's a built in anti-crash mechanisme. If you reboot too often quickly after booting up, the kernel recognises this and resets the config to stock standard. Let the thing run a while and then reboot, this should clear the problem.

Nah, majority won't choose to disable flash and would actually prefer to have Flash, hence why all the fuss with no Flash. It's a feature NICE TO HAVE. providing extra is not a bad thing, but not being able to provide IS a weakness. Giving excuses is far worst. Steve argument is not valid, he's simply denying or covering up his own weakness, having his way around with words that only his fans would believe.

Skyfire browser will provide Flash experience for Symbian and Android, and it's also coming to N900.

Flash 10 will be officially available for N900 and Android OS. Not able to provide flash is a weakness, don't blame Flash when it's not supported. For those who doesn't want Flash, can choose to turn it off, or just go mobile version webpage.

QUOTE(ahtiven @ May 13 2010, 11:29 AM)
p/s: and yah.. not a big fan of ported games on n900. casual games like angry chicks and brain party however, blow my mind. biggrin.gif
What about Theme Hospital? rclxm9.gif
It's ported but the loading is super duper slow and not yet fully functional.

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 13 2010, 12:29 PM
ahtiven
post May 13 2010, 11:56 AM

1,185 posts

i'm with Andy.

Adobe Flash is the main reason why people are going to N900(maemo) or Milestone(android). (they both fall in the same category yes?) since both will be getting 10.1 sooner or later so they are practically heading to the same destination. only Android is regarded being a Apple AppStore in disguise while n900 stays to its main selling point, the openness of "open". ya know what i mean. wink.gif and these are the sole reasons the market is segregated into different users/communities.

and why do you think Opera guys made Opera mobile for n900 as a hobby project on Maemo but not Android? and imagine what happens when 1.2 gets released with latest QT DSK, and with MeeGo (confirmed on n900), things are looking so bright in the future that i prolly need to get a pair of shades to cover me eyes. tongue.gif

btw, Apple and Adobe business feud/rivalry has been there since long ago. did you know they used to be partners at some point last time? the reason of the break-up was unknown but anyone could've guessed it was due to disagreement on profitability/financial unjust issues.

p/s: Andy why edited your post?? invalid facts ah?

This post has been edited by ahtiven: May 13 2010, 12:03 PM
x132755
post May 13 2010, 12:27 PM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

another lowest price until today, now is 1650 for ap set... n900 fans' great news!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by x132755: May 13 2010, 12:27 PM
Andy214
post May 13 2010, 12:31 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ May 13 2010, 11:56 AM)
p/s: Andy why edited your post?? invalid facts ah?
I didn't remove it. Not sure what happen. I reply to another post, which is added to my previous post, that's why it shows edited.

Anyway, I use the history and add it back. Hmm...
Seaedge
post May 13 2010, 12:41 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

if ported games... i dun mind them porting diablo,.. tongue.gif
RViN
post May 13 2010, 12:53 PM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

so anyone notice tearing on the screen especially during switching of home screens?
juven69
post May 13 2010, 01:05 PM

93 posts

hi,,what is fm transmitter ??is it use to play radio??
how we can play radion on n900?
thank u
dkliew
post May 13 2010, 01:31 PM

156 posts

wondering if anyone here from Melaka?

would need some help for getting the Mypaint. and remote play for ps3.

Seaedge
post May 13 2010, 01:41 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

u cant install mypaint? its available in the extra-devel repository..
dkliew
post May 13 2010, 01:53 PM

156 posts

thats what i need help with smile.gif to get the Extra-develope Enable :3
Eiraku
post May 13 2010, 01:55 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 13 2010, 11:44 AM)
Nah, majority won't choose to disable flash and would actually prefer to have Flash, hence why all the fuss with no Flash. It's a feature NICE TO HAVE. providing extra is not a bad thing, but not being able to provide IS a weakness. Giving excuses is far worst. Steve argument is not valid, he's simply denying or covering up his own weakness, having his way around with words that only his fans would believe.

Skyfire browser will provide Flash experience for Symbian and Android, and it's also coming to N900.

Flash 10 will be officially available for N900 and Android OS. Not able to provide flash is a weakness, don't blame Flash when it's not supported. For those who doesn't want Flash, can choose to turn it off, or just go mobile version webpage.
What about Theme Hospital?  rclxm9.gif
It's ported but the loading is super duper slow and not yet fully functional.
Points taken, though I still personally think flash, at least right now with no GPU acceleration is a tad bloated, especially for mobile applications. I don't mind tastefully made snippets of flash to enhance a website, but loads of it (aka the Celcom website) are just an eyesore. Call me a Web 2.0 die hard, but I'm more an AJAX guy.

Plus I'm the kinda guy who always has 5-6 tabs/windows open at one time, minimum, on a mobile device (30 on the desktop). So flash is an un-needed overhead in that kind of multi tasking environment, unless it's an integral part of the site.

And most mobile sites are SOOOOO stripped bare that there aren't even pictures, so that's a problem in itself... sweat.gif

But all in all, yeah. I digress. Flash capability turned off is in the end far better than no flash at all and loads of excuses.

But the "fans would believe part", well that is so true and so lol. After all, he did manage to sell loads of HUGE iPhones by calling it a tablet. It's Crazy Steve and his hordes of zombies after all.

QUOTE(x132755 @ May 13 2010, 12:27 PM)
another lowest price until today, now is 1650 for ap set... n900 fans' great news!! rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Psst, can trade in a month old AP set for an ori set + top up? I'm starting to like the N900 wayyyy too much to depend on COMCAST ugh... COMSAT if something goes wrong.

QUOTE(Seaedge @ May 13 2010, 12:41 PM)
if ported games... i dun mind them porting diablo,.. tongue.gif
Yes please, but not in 800x480 please, for my eyesight's sake.

QUOTE(RViN @ May 13 2010, 12:53 PM)
so anyone notice tearing on the screen especially during switching of home screens?
Yep. It's even more prominent now that I've disabled blur completely for some speed increase (done through Transition Control).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: May 13 2010, 02:12 PM
Cannibal
post May 13 2010, 02:12 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(juven69 @ May 13 2010, 01:05 PM)
hi,,what is fm transmitter ??is it use to play radio??
how we can play radion on n900?
thank u
fm transmitter is use to send voice to fm receiver.

if u wan to play radio, plug in your headset and go menu > more > fm radio

Added on May 13, 2010, 2:29 pm
QUOTE(dkliew @ May 13 2010, 01:53 PM)
thats what i need help with smile.gif to get the Extra-develope Enable :3
here you go
http://thenokiablog.com/2009/10/27/maemo-e...0-applications/

This post has been edited by Cannibal: May 13 2010, 02:29 PM
weju
post May 13 2010, 03:11 PM

51 posts

hello) may i know

1. any experience/comment regarding VIDEO phone call
2. good seller/contact (recommended) on this new model

This post has been edited by weju: May 13 2010, 03:13 PM
super_evil_alien
post May 13 2010, 03:49 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Downloading Opera now.
Been using Opera for windows for years.Exited to see whether the mobile version will have same function as desktop version.

Too bad the Opera team don't want to confirm on whether there will be final version of Opera for Maemo.

Added on May 13, 2010, 3:52 pm
QUOTE(weju @ May 13 2010, 03:11 PM)
hello) may i know

1. any experience/comment regarding VIDEO phone call
2. good seller/contact (recommended) on this new model

1)3G call currently not supported in N900.Only skype video call supported(even that under unofficial PR 1.2).Also the front camera is slightly dark.Maybe need further update for it.
2)PM Clareen or x132755(Terry)

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: May 13 2010, 03:52 PM

125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:32 AM