Training, Pictures and Progress Thread V3, If you have it, flaunt it baby

Vbs
post May 16 2011, 02:01 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 16 2011, 12:58 AM)
but if too much technicalities involved, macam quite difficult also to focus on the thing that matters - pushing / pulling the weights
i dunno, just me

but whatever it is, articles can say what they want, i can say what i want
the important thing is, u get the feel out of what ur doing
i got injured due to full ROM and knee lockouts while others dont
do what works for you
Hey man, I don't disagree with you on your point. Though, that article points out the truth for 'normal' cases - there are certain school of thought and studies that are generally widely accepted for those in the 'normal' population category - people without pre-existing conditions with the 'normal' structure of the human anatomy (proportionate limbs and such), you know, all that stuff. I think it's a 50 technical/50 personal thing. You can have knowledge of the best squatting technique and yet squats are bad for you if you have pre-existing conditions that do not allow you to squat without getting injured. On the other hand, you may be fit to squat and yet you can get injured from poor squatting technique.

It's good to understand some technicalities to each lift as it can help you to understand, when the need arises, how and why you've gotten yourself an injury, if any, and then remedy the problem from a technical stand point. Well, most importantly fix the injury first before you lift again. But if you've tried everything and it still doesn't work, then listen to your body and do what's best for it.

Added on May 16, 2011, 2:04 am
QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 16 2011, 01:59 AM)
i think it differs for everyone. vbs might get different muscles worked for high bar squats than other individuals. for me glutes, quads and hams all get worked. sure as hell feel them the next day. IMHO height is definitely a factor here.
Ah, right. Differing human anatomies might be a factor here.

This post has been edited by Vbs: May 16 2011, 02:18 AM
gtoforce
post May 16 2011, 02:42 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(Vbs @ May 16 2011, 02:01 AM)
Hey man, I don't disagree with you on your point. Though, that article points out the truth for 'normal' cases - there are certain school of thought and studies that are generally widely accepted for those in the 'normal' population category - people without pre-existing conditions with the 'normal' structure of the human anatomy (proportionate limbs and such), you know, all that stuff. I think it's a 50 technical/50 personal thing. You can have knowledge of the best squatting technique and yet squats are bad for you if you have pre-existing conditions that do not allow you to squat without getting injured. On the other hand, you may be fit to squat and yet you can get injured from poor squatting technique.

It's good to understand some technicalities to each lift as it can help you to understand, when the need arises, how and why you've gotten yourself an injury, if any, and then remedy the problem from a technical stand point. Well, most importantly fix the injury first before you lift again. But if you've tried everything and it still doesn't work, then listen to your body and do what's best for it.

Added on May 16, 2011, 2:04 am

Ah, right. Differing human anatomies might be a factor here.
hey vbs
no problem man
i dont find your points wrong either
i was just saying for the one asking question to not only read but also listen to his body

darklight79
post May 16 2011, 03:36 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Guys, a lot of differing opinions. All I can say is, read up on the correct techniques, then modify in a safe way. Listen to your body.
gtoforce
post May 16 2011, 10:05 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 16 2011, 03:36 AM)
Guys, a lot of differing opinions. All I can say is, read up on the correct techniques, then modify in a safe way. Listen to your body.
i hold on to your words "there's no absolution in bodybuilding" like its the First Universal Law
HAHAHAHA
Vbs
post May 16 2011, 11:12 AM

234 posts

@Shiloong

Take a look at how these Chinese Olympic weightlifter perform the high bar squat:

There's certainly the hip drive (upwards) going with the black shirt fella. The white shirt fella not so obvious, but can see also. Tight forms.

(link if you can't view it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_jxTc2ITA8)

ps. they wear shoes with elevated heels though. they'd definitely get more stability out of the shoes. Maybe provide more hip drive as well. Gotta ask someone who has used them before to verify.

This post has been edited by Vbs: May 16 2011, 11:25 AM
mikehuan
post May 16 2011, 05:01 PM

6,160 posts

ah, ive seen some guys put 2.5kg plates at the heel area when doing squats. been wondering since forever why they did that.. dont see it anymore though since the guys who squatted like that left the gym or something.
bata
post May 16 2011, 05:31 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(MelForC3 @ May 9 2011, 01:22 PM)
Looks great... thumbs up...
QUOTE(Kaffatsum @ May 9 2011, 04:06 PM)
@bata: Looking great, thick looking set of forearms yawn.gif
Wheres the legs and back though tongue.gif

I'm close to a 315 x 5 deadlift. I think i can reach it by the end of the month. Gotta keep eating smile.gif
QUOTE(jamis @ May 9 2011, 09:13 PM)
Bata: U have put on quite a number of mass, good job bro!
thx but its illusion only lah....

QUOTE(Darah Harimau @ May 9 2011, 10:01 PM)
nice job bro, weight and height?
im short guy, 160cm, 60kg and 9% BF level

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ May 9 2011, 10:52 PM)
Hahahaha good thing that you spoiler-ed the legs pict.
saved your eyes tongue.gif

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 10 2011, 12:00 AM)
bata
kao buat ape beso kan kao punye forearms eh
QUOTE(theCrab @ May 9 2011, 05:57 PM)
nice forearm ! looks juicy
tips  tongue.gif
i do a circuit for forearms. start with wrist curl (50 reps), reverse curl (10-20) and lastly i dont know the name but you hold the dumbbell at the plates area and lift it with your fingers (like gripper motion). do it 50 times. All do it straight without rest.
You'll see your forearms burn tongue.gif

Chow

emino
post May 16 2011, 05:37 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(bata @ May 16 2011, 05:31 PM)
im short guy, 160cm, 60kg and 9% BF level
Berat sama aku tu. Tapi badan beza gile. Wakakakaka
bata
post May 16 2011, 05:39 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(emino @ May 16 2011, 05:37 PM)
Berat sama aku tu. Tapi badan beza gile. Wakakakaka
coz ko tinggi...

Chow
emino
post May 16 2011, 06:40 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

I sometimes envied my friend here:

He's 30, barely works out (once or twice every 2 weeks). But he have good genes.
gtoforce
post May 16 2011, 06:46 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(bata @ May 16 2011, 05:31 PM)
i do a circuit for forearms. start with wrist curl (50 reps), reverse curl (10-20) and lastly i dont know the name but you hold the dumbbell at the plates area and lift it with your fingers (like gripper motion). do it 50 times. All do it straight without rest.
You'll see your forearms burn tongue.gif
Chow
yang last tu diorang panggil plate pinch
ok
kira aku boleh la letak ni time untuk change of routine aku time poasa
skarang pakai routine sempoi (huge sets (7-8), high reps (12-15), low rest time (10-15sec))
main circuit eh
thanks ah bro
-Dan
post May 16 2011, 07:43 PM

4,382 posts

Since we're on the topic of squats here, I've got something on my mind. Where is the bar meant to go for the low bar setup for back-squats? Is there a kind of sweet spot to place the bar like with front squats? Did the low bar variant today and my back felt great (ie no pain afterwards) but my rear delts got bruised up. So my question is, is my positioning of the bar wrong, or it's correct and I should just suck it up? sweat.gif
Vbs
post May 16 2011, 10:03 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ May 16 2011, 07:43 PM)
Since we're on the topic of squats here, I've got something on my mind. Where is the bar meant to go for the low bar setup for back-squats? Is there a kind of sweet spot to place the bar like with front squats? Did the low bar variant today and my back felt great (ie no pain afterwards) but my rear delts got bruised up. So my question is, is my positioning of the bar wrong, or it's correct and I should just suck it up? sweat.gif
Bruised rear delts? That's a really odd case. I remember having sore rear delts when I first started and have no problems after awhile.

For the low bar setup, your rear delts act as a shelf when flexed - squeeze your shoulder blades back (not to the point of stressing it too much) and closer to one another, that would flex your rear delts and create an ideal spot for the bar to rest on. You should be holding onto the bar with a thumbless grip and leaning your torso forward slightly. For better stability, try bunching your traps up and keeping a closer grip ie. where the hands are placed on the bar. Keep them close, but again, not to the point of placing additional stress to them.

Not sure what went wrong as you didn't really explain where you place the bar in detail.
mikehuan
post May 16 2011, 10:26 PM

6,160 posts

video or it didnt happen.
hoxy
post May 16 2011, 10:31 PM

1,015 posts

vbs, it will be great if I can see your video... how much do you weigh and your height? How much can you squat and deadlift 1RM?

Will you please comment on wide stance vs narrow stance? I personally dont do wide stance by virtue that in real world, if I'm going to squat, it will always be narrow stance (taking a bath, using "gayung, taking water from baldi"). It seems that with wider stance, you get more weight, but sacrifice on hip mobility, hence difficulty on going parallel or beyond...

But still, I do narrow squat just to mimic how I will squat in real world application (picking a pen, etc2).

This post has been edited by hoxy: May 16 2011, 10:40 PM
-Dan
post May 16 2011, 10:34 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(Vbs @ May 16 2011, 10:03 PM)
Bruised rear delts? That's a really odd case. I remember having sore rear delts when I first started and have no problems after awhile.

For the low bar setup, your rear delts act as a shelf when flexed - squeeze your shoulder blades back (not to the point of stressing it too much) and closer to one another, that would flex your rear delts and create an ideal spot for the bar to rest on. You should be holding onto the bar with a thumbless grip and leaning your torso forward slightly. For better stability, try bunching your traps up and keeping a closer grip ie. where the hands are placed on the bar. Keep them close, but again, not to the point of placing additional stress to them.

Not sure what went wrong as you didn't really explain where you place the bar in detail.
Ah, yeah. My bad on the lack of detail. I did more or less everything you mentioned in the post, which is why it got me wondering. It could possibly just be a case of not being used to it as I've never done low bar squats before. Thanks for the reply, mate.

QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 16 2011, 10:26 PM)
video or it didnt happen.
Will do, man, will do. But next week. I'm probably not going to be very good at walking tomorrow, let alone do more squats. laugh.gif
MelForC3
post May 17 2011, 12:26 AM

957 posts

Some progress pic.. bf definitely very high.. Gonna go for cutting soon... Has lot of stretch mark due to last time super fat T.T

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
-Dan
post May 17 2011, 12:36 AM

4,382 posts

Looking good, man. Nice lats and quads.
MelForC3
post May 17 2011, 12:45 AM

957 posts

but i have tummy T.T i working hard on cardio and abs workout... trying to get rid of the fat... very disappointed when ppl in the gym ask me to lift up my shirt and show them some abs... I was very disappointed whenever a guy ask this favour sad.gif
theCrab
post May 17 2011, 12:48 AM

1,093 posts

QUOTE(MelForC3 @ May 17 2011, 12:26 AM)
Some progress pic.. bf definitely very high.. Gonna go for cutting soon... Has lot of stretch mark due to last time super fat T.T
hey man
i always wondering how you guys get the width....lats pull down?close grip pull down ?
can you share some tips on your back day?

btw your tapers is there,awesomness...how long you been training?

131 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:17 PM