Training, Pictures and Progress Thread V3, If you have it, flaunt it baby

shiloong7081
post May 10 2011, 11:37 AM

928 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 10 2011, 11:20 AM)
i think thats stiff leg DL right?
noted. as for the RDL probably was wearing the loose tracksuit, but i do bend my knees, but not as much to accommodate my left knee =/
They are similiar, with subtle differences, i think of SLDL as a pure lower back movement, with the hips and knees remaining static throughout the movement, whereas in rdl there's more hip involved.
gtoforce
post May 10 2011, 05:01 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 10 2011, 11:20 AM)
i think thats stiff leg DL right?
noted. as for the RDL probably was wearing the loose tracksuit, but i do bend my knees, but not as much to accommodate my left knee =/
i think from my observation (not that im a pro and not that i like doing deads), its not ur knees, its ur lower back
ur arch is a little bit too straight to call it RDL IMO
it shud resemble the posture u took when u begin the set

This post has been edited by gtoforce: May 10 2011, 05:06 PM
theCrab
post May 10 2011, 05:37 PM

1,093 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ May 10 2011, 11:37 AM)
They are similiar, with subtle differences, i think of SLDL as a pure lower back movement, with the hips and knees remaining static throughout the movement, whereas in rdl there's more hip involved.
SLDL isolates the hamstring

shiloong7081
post May 10 2011, 06:58 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(theCrab @ May 10 2011, 05:37 PM)
SLDL isolates the hamstring
How can SLDL isolate the hamstrings when there's no hip movement involved ? If you can isolate the hamstrings that means you are doing RDL. I remember seeing this argument quite some time ago.
gtoforce
post May 10 2011, 07:21 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ May 10 2011, 06:58 PM)
How can SLDL isolate the hamstrings when there's no hip movement involved ? If you can isolate the hamstrings that means you are doing RDL. I remember seeing this argument quite some time ago.
err...bro actually SLDL is for hamstrings
ur form when doing the RDL was almost correct actually but no one can tell if its wrong (unless its blatant)
if u can feel it, then there u go

u can just have a look here

Stiff Leg Deadlift

Straight Leg Deadlift

and

Romanian Deadlift

This post has been edited by gtoforce: May 10 2011, 07:22 PM
theCrab
post May 10 2011, 09:11 PM

1,093 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ May 10 2011, 06:58 PM)
slightly bend you knees...
when your legs are stiff,you get more stretches hamstring muscle from that,hences more muscle contraction
you dont involve hip when you doing leg curl ya?
try it then tell me how you feel smile.gif
shiloong7081
post May 15 2011, 12:55 PM

928 posts

Comments on form ?

Personally i think it's bad, first time checking my own form. Might need to reduce the weight and adjust
f a N z i
post May 15 2011, 01:38 PM

33 posts

Hi, I'm new here.
Just a question, any supplement recommendation for an ectomorph here?

gtoforce
post May 15 2011, 03:09 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ May 15 2011, 12:55 PM)

Comments on form ?

Personally i think it's bad, first time checking my own form. Might need to reduce the weight and adjust
dont u guys fear bad knee in long term when turun 100%?
i dunno but i rarely go parallel and let the bar closely touch the rack because the last i did that even with puny weights, right knee gone bad
so now i squat heavy but 60-70% ROM je and for me it works
if it works for you for full ROM, hell punch it through
but i wudnt recommend u locking your knees on your way up though like in the vid
janson_kaniaz
post May 15 2011, 03:31 PM

6,955 posts

have to agree on knee locking part.
looks like there's alot of pressure on the knee.
shiloong7081
post May 15 2011, 04:41 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 15 2011, 03:09 PM)
dont u guys fear bad knee in long term when turun 100%?
i dunno but i rarely go parallel and let the bar closely touch the rack because the last i did that even with puny weights, right knee gone bad
so now i squat heavy but 60-70% ROM je and for me it works
if it works for you for full ROM, hell punch it through
but i wudnt recommend u locking your knees on your way up though like in the vid
Oh i just realised about the knee locking, yeah i probably shouldn't.

Anyway, i feel that when you go till the bottom, the glutes and hams take over, compared as when you squat less than parallel, it's more on the quads , and can feel the force pressing on your knees.
I don't know if any of you watched Rippetoe's vids, but he really emphasises on driving with the hip when coming up.
mikehuan
post May 15 2011, 09:03 PM

6,160 posts

theres a few articles floating around online stating doing partial ROM for squats actually stresses the knee more. form looks good to me, dont really have any bad comments about it heh but then again im also still learning to squat properly. whats the weight anyways?
Vbs
post May 15 2011, 09:57 PM

234 posts

Honestly, I think it's a myth that going to lockout can cause injuries (unless with really, really poor form). Powerlifters and weightlifters lift a hell ton more weight and they all lift to lock out, more so for weightlifters - elite weightlifters clean and jerk more than 200kg and yet they are fine. And I agree with Mike Huan on the partial ROM issue. I've read an article on that topic before - http://www.rangeofmotion.net.au/blog/half-squats-are-bad-you

As you get stronger, your joints also get stronger by adapting to the new weight. If you can deadlift 100kg @ 5RM with good form, I believe you might also be able to deadlift 105kg x 5, but as with most cases, with sub-par form instead. Some people think that because they've achieved a certain weight for a certain rep, they should move on to a new weight immediately without first working on their form. It's an injury prone mistake that too many people make.

Added on May 15, 2011, 10:08 pm
QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ May 15 2011, 12:55 PM)

Comments on form ?

Like what you said, you could use some hip drive. I'll try to give you an explanation on how I work on the hip drive with the low-bar squat:

1.) chest up, lower back tight and arched, move just your hips out and backwards as much as possible (without straining yourself),

2.) lower your hips while attempting to keep your knees as close and as parallel to your toes (keep your lower back and legs tight); it's okay even if you have your knees just slightly forward, just so as long as you're not thrown off balance - the idea of keeping the knees as far back as you can while keeping the balance is to engage as much of the hamstrings,

3.) With all muscles tight, move only the hips upwards - you'll go back to the "move just your hips out and backwards as much as possible" stated in "1.)". You'll notice that the lower back is more prominently used on the way up,

4.) Drive your hips forward until you're back to the original position. You should probably try this without a bar to get the idea of it, and then proceeding to the bar as things will change somewhat under the weight.

You'll notice that the hip does a lot of the work - on the way back, down, up and front (back to original position). I've got a friend who describes it as the 'in the p*ssy, out the p*ssy' movement. But I guess that sort of description won't appeal to everyone.. tongue.gif

Also, your feet - notice how you tend to press forward with your toes and lifting your heels up a little? Try not to do that. You get the most of your leg power and stability by driving with your heels. Keep your heels firmly planted to the ground on and use it to drive you upwards.

I hope that helps smile.gif

This post has been edited by Vbs: May 15 2011, 10:14 PM
shiloong7081
post May 15 2011, 11:20 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ May 15 2011, 09:03 PM)
theres a few articles floating around online stating doing partial ROM for squats actually stresses the knee more. form looks good to me, dont really have any bad comments about it heh but then again im also still learning to squat properly. whats the weight anyways?
210lbs

@Vbs
ah, that article perfectly described what i just said earlier.

Is it possible to hip drive with the high bar squat ? I can see how it would work with a low bar squat as you are leaning bit more forward. Is it kinda like the starting motion of a deadlift ?
MelForC3
post May 16 2011, 12:28 AM

957 posts

Some progress pic.. Still a lot of fat.. trying to get rid of fat.. Any idea how to get rid of the strech mark? sad.gif

My back not showing any sign of growing sigh..

Added on May 16, 2011, 12:38 amNot able to add the attachment @@" shall try again ltr...

This post has been edited by MelForC3: May 16 2011, 12:38 AM
gtoforce
post May 16 2011, 12:58 AM

2,967 posts

but if too much technicalities involved, macam quite difficult also to focus on the thing that matters - pushing / pulling the weights
i dunno, just me

but whatever it is, articles can say what they want, i can say what i want
the important thing is, u get the feel out of what ur doing
i got injured due to full ROM and knee lockouts while others dont
do what works for you

This post has been edited by gtoforce: May 16 2011, 12:59 AM
theCrab
post May 16 2011, 01:06 AM

1,093 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 16 2011, 12:58 AM)
but if too much technicalities involved, macam quite difficult also to focus on the thing that matters - pushing / pulling the weights
i dunno, just me

do what works for you
smile.gif agree
too much technicalities involved makes things more complicated

mikehuan
post May 16 2011, 01:29 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 16 2011, 12:58 AM)
i dunno, just me

do what works for you
i wasnt implying that partial ROM squats are bad. i totally agree with you, do what is best for you.
Vbs
post May 16 2011, 01:50 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ May 15 2011, 11:20 PM)
210lbs

@Vbs
ah, that article perfectly described what i just said earlier.

Is it possible to hip drive with the high bar squat ? I can see how it would work with a low bar squat as you are leaning bit more forward. Is it kinda like the starting motion of a deadlift ?
Honestly, I have limited knowledge of the high bar squat and I don't high bar squat because it doesn't quite make sense to me. I feel that it's quite a mash-up of a leg exercises which lines are not drawn clear enough for me to understand. The low bar squat's more of a posterior chain exercise due to its bar placement and one never squats way below below parallel because that can lead to a pelvic tilt and a rounded back. For that, the hamstrings (and back) are mainly used, unless of course your knees go way past forward your toes which engage more quad muscles, like what the high bar squat does. For anterior chain exercise, I go with ATG front squats. I personally think that anterior and posterior chain exercises should be separated, and that's why I stay away from high-bar squats.

When I first started high-bar squatting, which only lasted for like 3 weeks before I shifted to low-bar, I could only feel that my quads were being worked on. Hamstrings? None. Glutes? None, because it was reaaallyyy light. Lower back? None at all. Probably it's because I didn't use any hip-drive that the back and the hams were hardly used.

I explained how I use the hips for low bar because I thought you would figure it out from a high bar stand point. Well anyway, try to dissect the issue bit by bit and work on it step by step. If you want hip drive, look at the hips first, and then change how you'd like to squat accordingly - depth, knees and toes, etc.
mikehuan
post May 16 2011, 01:59 AM

6,160 posts

i think it differs for everyone. vbs might get different muscles worked for high bar squats than other individuals. for me glutes, quads and hams all get worked. sure as hell feel them the next day. IMHO height is definitely a factor here.

This post has been edited by mikehuan: May 16 2011, 02:00 AM

131 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:21 PM