Citibank Graduate Executive, GE Program

TSDavidFua
post Apr 25 2010, 08:57 AM, updated 16y ago

36 posts

anyone go through the interview ? how is it ? i heard after probation the title is assistant manager, it is true ? anyone working in Citibank ? any comment ?
Grimm
post Apr 25 2010, 12:03 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

What's teh pay like?
underpressure
post Apr 25 2010, 12:03 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(DavidFua @ Apr 25 2010, 08:57 AM)
anyone go through the interview ? how is it ? i heard after probation the title is assistant manager, it is true ? anyone working in Citibank ? any comment ?
Only thing I can confirm is the title, as I seen it on my friend's business card.
But Citibank working culture is well known for being very competitive and demanding.
TSDavidFua
post Apr 25 2010, 07:23 PM

36 posts

i heard the starting pay is RM 3500 for citi GE program... i just want to know how the working environment, after the program, we choose our own department or they will arrange for us ?
segaraga
post Apr 25 2010, 09:05 PM

281 posts

of course they will arrange it for you
TSDavidFua
post Apr 25 2010, 09:24 PM

36 posts

how if i dun like it ? u work in Citibank ?
Jinx-Z
post Apr 25 2010, 09:53 PM

116 posts

izzit a must to study finance course if want to work at bank ??
underpressure
post Apr 25 2010, 09:58 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(DavidFua @ Apr 25 2010, 09:24 PM)
how if i dun like it ? u work in Citibank ?
Not to sure how it works for Citibank, but in most cases programme like these don't give you the option to change. Unless you're really outstanding or you can justify your reason. A simple "I prefer that" doesn't work any more these days.

QUOTE(Jinx-Z @ Apr 25 2010, 09:53 PM)
izzit a must to study finance course if want to work at bank ??
Not really. These banks accept a variety of degree holder into their bank. Basically they look for people who fit their profile. However unless you're dealing with very specific jobs in the bank, then yes you may require or they would prefer people with finance back ground.
mamet
post Apr 25 2010, 11:51 PM

1/3 Sone
592 posts

from the description, i think this is a sales position ..
TSDavidFua
post Apr 26 2010, 01:13 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(mamet @ Apr 25 2010, 11:51 PM)
wut description?
mamet
post Apr 26 2010, 03:48 PM

1/3 Sone
592 posts

QUOTE(DavidFua @ Apr 26 2010, 01:13 AM)
wut description?
its in jobstreet ..
go search for it .. smile.gif
underpressure
post Apr 27 2010, 12:13 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(mamet @ Apr 25 2010, 11:51 PM)
Hm... the one on their website says otherwise(that look pretty promising). Anyway if you're looking for a good starting platform with a bank. Citibank pretty good on top of that the GE programme don't just hire any tom d*** and harry.
ggburne
post Oct 17 2010, 02:04 AM

26 posts

Citi Malaysia Graduate Executive Program for Fresh Graduate.

Starting Salary = RM3500

6 months probation period and after that you can assume your title as assistant manager level Q
kycha
post Oct 17 2010, 09:35 PM

15 posts

Let me guess....you got hired from Graduan Australia...me too!
bucharestophere
post Oct 17 2010, 09:38 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(kycha @ Oct 17 2010, 10:35 PM)
Let me guess....you got hired from Graduan Australia...me too!
Melbourne or Sydney? tongue.gif
kycha
post Oct 18 2010, 05:55 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(bucharestophere @ Oct 17 2010, 09:38 PM)
Melbourne or Sydney? tongue.gif
Melbourne...got interviewed by the young guy
omnyomnyom
post Feb 19 2011, 04:35 PM

Anyone who got the job wants to share?hee. rclxms.gif
izzi_guy
post Feb 19 2011, 06:12 PM

444 posts

im looking in working in this company as well..i gonna graduate on this april..do they really observe into the academic parts only?or cocuricular activities as well?
squal7
post Feb 19 2011, 06:56 PM

From what I know, Citibank only hired for overseas graduate for graduate executive position
summer01
post Feb 19 2011, 07:11 PM

QUOTE(squal7 @ Feb 19 2011, 06:56 PM)
From what I know, Citibank only hired for overseas graduate for graduate executive position
really? if that so,all local grads cant dream of applying la...ayoo...

wakaka66
post Mar 10 2011, 02:43 PM

Anyone go thru the Graduate Executive Programme interview before?Is it

very hard for the interview? Got any asessment and how many stages of the

interview?When wil this programme start this year?Is it they only choose

oversea graduate for this programme?Hope to get reply soon. Thanks!!
jac999
post Mar 14 2011, 08:41 PM

anyone from the MA program? is there any difference between the GE and MA program besides than the qualification required by both programs?
wiswar
post Mar 15 2011, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(kycha @ Oct 18 2010, 05:55 PM)
Melbourne...got interviewed by the young guy
Hello!

Quick question, when you guys applied for the program did you address your application to a specific person or just to the general HR department?

Thanks a lot!
lurvdesignersbag
post Mar 21 2011, 11:56 PM

20 posts

I applied for this position like late Dec/ early jan
And only today i got the call from citibank...

the lady who called me very friendly indeed
as i told her 'well im actly accepted job offer from some other company for like 2 months alrd'
Guess what she replies?
'yea i expected that as well! it would be abnormal if you hvnt got yourself a job yet! anyway............'

i was like wow that is not what i expected to hear from her!
i tot she would be like 'in that case happy working' blablabla kinda shit
instead, she asked me to reconsider their offer and gv them a call back and make arrangement for interview some of these days!

i must say that im really impressed of the feedback, maybe that's the citi culture or spirit?

to all jobseekers, just send over your resume thru citi website or jobstreet, that's fine enough. but yall might need wait for more than 2 weeks, so dont put much hope in the beginning. like in my case, i was really caught in surprise! smile.gif

goodluck yall!

Carrick87
post Mar 22 2011, 11:10 AM

59 posts

hi ppl..i am just wondering, whether the GE programme only take in applicants who graduated from overseas?
guitar8888
post Mar 22 2011, 01:07 PM

100 posts

I applied in November, they called today. sleep.gif
bookstore
post Mar 22 2011, 05:44 PM

76 posts

I would say both local and oversea. Be confident. Send in your resume even if you're local graduate. You won't loss anything if they don't hire you
Carrick87
post Mar 22 2011, 09:14 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(bookstore @ Mar 22 2011, 05:44 PM)
I would say both local and oversea. Be confident. Send in your resume even if you're local graduate. You won't loss anything if they don't hire you
orite thx for the advice! appreciate it alot
hamsterr88
post Mar 22 2011, 10:41 PM

224 posts

arrghh.. you applied in nov only got called today..
sigh i applied in feb.. i'll be called june? ahaha
k89
post Mar 22 2011, 11:08 PM

17 posts

i had a miscall and a voice mail from citibank hr, darn it, i dun wan to miss it!
hamsterr88
post Mar 22 2011, 11:19 PM

224 posts

k89
when you applied??
you from local uni or overseas?
k89
post Mar 22 2011, 11:37 PM

17 posts

i applied it on the 29 of jan, and i am from local uni.
hamsterr88
post Mar 23 2011, 12:13 AM

224 posts

gawhhh...
i applied after cny.. damn...
i didnt get a call.. haih..
andrew_toh33
post Mar 23 2011, 01:04 AM

I've got a call from Citibank this week as well. I'm thinking why not give it a shot even though I already have offer from another bank for the same program. No harm trying. smile.gif

This post has been edited by andrew_toh33: Mar 23 2011, 01:04 AM
27tees
post Mar 23 2011, 02:23 AM

I got a call from Citibank as well. I told them ive already signed on with Microsoft and they asked what position and everything. Then they told me they paid 3.5k and asked me to come in for an interview. I said Im more interestd to work in Microsoft and she asked me to just come in and speak with the interviewer to just check out the job a little. They were very persistent, but in a good way.

I applied 3 weeks ago, btw and i got the call today. I guess this is all based on luck, aye? Also, I'm a local graduate from Taylor's
hamsterr88
post Mar 23 2011, 02:31 AM

224 posts

nice..
you applied from the website rite..
gawhh.. issit because i got only 2nd upper
haih..
can you pass me the hr mail?

k89
post Mar 23 2011, 10:55 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(hamsterr88 @ Mar 23 2011, 02:31 AM)
nice..
you applied from the website rite..
gawhh.. issit because i got only 2nd upper
haih..
can you pass me the hr mail?
hi hamsterr88, i am also onli a second upper graduate from local uni. Juz be positive, who knows they will call u in the afternoon? ^^
hamsterr88
post Mar 23 2011, 04:30 PM

224 posts

haha.. i guess mine is not coming in anymore lolx..
good luck to everyone else =)
jasperng
post Mar 23 2011, 04:35 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

i applied yesterday night. Citibank just called me for interview next week.
hamsterr88
post Mar 23 2011, 04:40 PM

224 posts

omg...
serious..
whoa.. cool..
lurvdesignersbag
post Mar 23 2011, 04:49 PM

20 posts

seems like their 'new intake' just re-open! XD
ck23
post Mar 23 2011, 08:09 PM

717 posts

what major are you guys in?
I have got 9 papers exemptions in ACCA plus passed 4/5 Professional Papers. Can I apply?
SUSMightySmiter
post Mar 23 2011, 08:26 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(wakaka66 @ Mar 10 2011, 02:43 PM)
Anyone go thru the Graduate Executive Programme interview before?Is it

very hard for the interview? Got any asessment and how many stages of the

interview?When wil this programme start this year?Is it they only choose

oversea graduate for this programme?Hope to get reply soon. Thanks!!
Yea I would also like to ask the same question, is there a difference? Salary wise? Career scope wise? Any insight would be helpful
Carrick87
post Mar 23 2011, 08:42 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 23 2011, 04:35 PM)
i applied yesterday night. Citibank just called me for interview next week.
wow so fast? mind to tell us whats ur qualifications?
dryll
post Mar 23 2011, 10:39 PM

171 posts

I just got back from the interview today. (In the previous page, i have posted my initial story as 27tees)

It was difficult. They ask you tough questions and are quick to catch small mistakes. So, if you were to lie, you WILL get caught, although i didnt. Im sure its normal because they must get alot of BS coming from interviewees' mouths.

All in all, it was a tough interview, tough questions asked about my previous experiences, about what i like about citibank, about the banking industry and so on. But as long as you dont fabricate any information in your CV, youll be fine or you WILL get caught out.

The interview lasted 1 and a half hours and i he told me that it went good and told me a salary that is different from 3.5k (dont knw if he tells everyone that). Hope this helps some of you prepare for your upcoming interviews. Good luck!
baltic
post Mar 23 2011, 10:47 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(dryll @ Mar 23 2011, 10:39 PM)
I just got back from the interview today. (In the previous page, i have posted my initial story as 27tees)

It was difficult. They ask you tough questions and are quick to catch small mistakes. So, if you were to lie, you WILL get caught, although i didnt. Im sure its normal because they must get alot of BS coming from interviewees' mouths.

All in all, it was a tough interview, tough questions asked about my previous experiences, about what i like about citibank, about the banking industry and so on. But as long as you dont fabricate any information in your CV, youll be fine or you WILL get caught out.

The interview lasted 1 and a half hours and i he told me that it went good and told me a salary that is different from 3.5k (dont knw if he tells everyone that). Hope this helps some of you prepare for your upcoming interviews. Good luck!
What do you mean by tough questions about your previous experiences? Care to give an example?

Just curious, would you leave Microsoft if Citibank offers you this position?

hamsterr88
post Mar 23 2011, 11:03 PM

224 posts

hahah.. how is the salary different wise.. better or worst =)
what qualifications do you guys possess.. mind to share..
i hold a bachelor of business and my fren's a masters in risk management.. but we didnt get any call back =(
kycha
post Mar 23 2011, 11:33 PM

15 posts

hi guys

i am a GE in Citibank...I can tell you that Citibank Marketing is planning to expand the program so we're definitely hiring more GEs

To answer the main question...You do not have to be a foreign grad to be a GE but I can say that 90% of my fellow GEs are foreign grads (ALL have 2nd upper and above results).

They are looking for dynamic fresh grads who MUST speak good English and MUST be able to do presentations well.

You are expected to be a fast learner and work through tight deadlines

If you enjoy marketing, I recommend it but be prepared for long hours if the project u are working on demands it.

k89
post Mar 24 2011, 09:06 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(kycha @ Mar 23 2011, 11:33 PM)
hi guys

i am a GE in Citibank...I can tell you that Citibank Marketing is planning to expand the program so we're definitely hiring more GEs

To answer the main question...You do not have to be a foreign grad to be a GE but I can say that 90% of my fellow GEs are foreign grads (ALL have 2nd upper and above results).

They are looking for dynamic fresh grads who MUST speak good English and MUST be able to do presentations well.

You are expected to be a fast learner and work through tight deadlines

If you enjoy marketing, I recommend it but be prepared for long hours if the project u are working on demands it.
Hi kycha, I am having my interview next tuesday. I juz wanna ask if the GE program is a rotational program or we have to choose a department to work in? Thx ^^
kycha
post Mar 24 2011, 02:35 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(k89 @ Mar 24 2011, 09:06 AM)
Hi kycha, I am having my interview next tuesday. I juz wanna ask if the GE program is a rotational program or we have to choose a department to work in? Thx ^^
Its a rotational program within a department

For example if you are placed in Cards department, you'll have 2 rotations in either Usage, Retention, Strategy, Merchant, Creative, Rewards, Portfolio

You'll definitely have one rotation in Sales to learn what the man on the ground faces

a final rotation in backroom ops - risk, legal, IT

should be about 16-17 months all in all

jieyao
post Mar 24 2011, 02:48 PM

I got a call today morning too! But I can't remember the HR lady's name. Was it May or Amy? I'm really poor at remembering names.

=(

Added on March 24, 2011, 2:58 pm
QUOTE(kycha @ Mar 24 2011, 02:35 PM)

For example if you are placed in Cards department, you'll have 2 rotations in either Usage, Retention, Strategy, Merchant, Creative, Rewards, Portfolio

You'll definitely have one rotation in Sales to learn what the man on the ground faces

Dear Kycha,

I'm guessing the GE program doesn't rotate you to corporate banking yeah or any other divisions within CitiGroup?

Considering that CitiBank is a consumer bank and this GE program is structured around personal banking etc.

Which means by the end of the program, you will have a full insight in Retail banking.

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks Kycha!

This post has been edited by jieyao: Mar 24 2011, 02:58 PM
guitar8888
post Mar 24 2011, 03:12 PM

100 posts

^ her name should be Mae Leong. She's the learning and organizational development coordinator
jieyao
post Mar 24 2011, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(guitar8888 @ Mar 24 2011, 03:12 PM)
^ her name should be Mae Leong. She's the learning and organizational development coordinator
Thanks mate! Btw, I'm a super huge guitar fan. I have a guitar signed by all Metallica members. =) Met them in Melbourne last year. =p
applefreak
post Mar 24 2011, 04:31 PM

86 posts

Hello all, I have received a call for the interview as well but I have not received the particulars through email yet. May I know if those of you attending the interview next week have already received the email? Thank you in advance!
k89
post Mar 24 2011, 04:57 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(kycha @ Mar 24 2011, 02:35 PM)

Noted. Thx again Mae Leong ^^
guitar8888
post Mar 24 2011, 05:03 PM

100 posts

If I am not mistaken, this GE intake is for the Cards department only.
jieyao
post Mar 24 2011, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(applefreak @ Mar 24 2011, 04:31 PM)
Hello all, I have received a call for the interview as well but I have not received the particulars through email yet. May I know if those of you attending the interview next week have already received the email? Thank you in advance!
Nope, I have not received mine either. =S
haze
post Mar 25 2011, 05:00 PM

383 posts

ive read the this thread and it seems that the GE program is more towards sales & marketing? can anyone clarify this? becoz i too got the invitation for the interview and would like to know more
jasperng
post Mar 25 2011, 10:44 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(applefreak @ Mar 24 2011, 04:31 PM)
+_+ my interview is on monday ... i have yet receive email -.- ... low efficiency T.T ...
k89
post Mar 26 2011, 08:55 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 25 2011, 10:44 PM)
+_+ my interview is on monday ... i have yet receive email -.- ... low efficiency T.T ...
haha, mine is on tuesday, neither did I get any info from them. Mayb they juz wanna test wat have we prepared in advance withour any info, juz be there on time will do, gud luck! Cheers!
applefreak
post Mar 26 2011, 04:32 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(k89 @ Mar 26 2011, 08:55 AM)
haha, mine is on tuesday, neither did I get any info from them. Mayb they juz wanna test wat have we prepared in advance withour any info, juz be there on time will do, gud luck! Cheers!
hey there, just letting you all know that i've received the email already. yes, just be there on time and that will do. if you're still worried, you could give them a call/send them an email? all the best!
kycha
post Mar 28 2011, 06:01 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(jieyao @ Mar 24 2011, 02:48 PM)
I got a call today morning too! But I can't remember the HR lady's name. Was it May or Amy? I'm really poor at remembering names.

=(

Dear Kycha,

I'm guessing the GE program doesn't rotate you to corporate banking yeah or any other divisions within CitiGroup?

Considering that CitiBank is a consumer bank and this GE program is structured around personal banking etc.

Which means by the end of the program, you will have a full insight in Retail banking.

Thanks Kycha!
Sorry for the late reply

The GE program is quite new so currently there's no rotation in Corporate Banking......I don't think there will be for awhile

There's GE programs for Retail, Cards Marketing & Finance Dept (by special request)

I think the bulk of u who are interviewing are studying in the UK right?

Good Luck

jasperng
post Mar 28 2011, 09:09 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

I just had interview today ..

GE focuses on consumer banking . As mentioned, there are 4 main departments that you can join. Retail, Card, Operation and technology and Risk management.

Please note that there is always potential that you might be chosen to join MA program if they deem you have potential. MA program involves more towards corporate banking and investment.

richmond89
post Mar 29 2011, 12:26 AM

22 posts

Any tips for the interview?
Will be having mine nxt week... Though i need to brush up my interview skills
Nightengale
post Mar 29 2011, 09:05 AM

90 posts

Are there any of you still waiting?

I sent my application 2 weeks ago, but aside from the confirmation of receiving my resume/cover letter, nothing else yet be it rejection or proceedings to the next stage.
k89
post Mar 29 2011, 11:13 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 28 2011, 09:09 PM)
I just had interview today ..

GE focuses on consumer banking . As mentioned, there are 4 main departments that you can join. Retail, Card, Operation and technology and Risk management.

Please note that there is always potential that you might be chosen to join MA program if they deem you have potential. MA program involves more towards corporate banking and investment.
So jasperng, did u get the job on the spot? or there is a 2nd interview or smth like tat?
richmond89
post Mar 31 2011, 12:32 PM

22 posts

Can we request for MA program during our GE interview?
Would that be alright? In any case, we do not know our potential yet during our interview...
zoey111
post Mar 31 2011, 09:15 PM

I wonder if people apply for both GE and MA at the same time :S
jasperng
post Mar 31 2011, 09:17 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(richmond89 @ Mar 31 2011, 12:32 PM)
Can we request for MA program during our GE interview?
Would that be alright? In any case, we do not know our potential yet during our interview...
You can voice your request. But be sure back it with reason and confidence. =)

QUOTE(zoey111 @ Mar 31 2011, 09:15 PM)
I wonder if people apply for both GE and MA at the same time :S
dont think so lol
kycha
post Mar 31 2011, 09:19 PM

15 posts

Every single MA i know has a Masters degree

zoey111
post Mar 31 2011, 09:21 PM

i have masters too but just lack of experience. lol
Carrick87
post Apr 1 2011, 11:32 PM

59 posts

hi guys! so is there any reply from the hr after your 1st interview?
mercury8400
post Apr 2 2011, 12:10 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(jieyao @ Mar 24 2011, 02:48 PM)

=(

Dear Kycha,

Thanks Kycha!
Does Citi still have a Corporate Banking team? the last time I heard they fired the entire corporate banking team in Malaysia (which was small to begin with) because of the Memory Tech fraud issue. Apprently Senior Mgmt from HK came down to Malaysia and was very upset during the restructuring meeting banging fist and all.....
dryll
post Apr 5 2011, 07:10 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Carrick87 @ Apr 1 2011, 11:32 PM)
hi guys! so is there any reply from the hr after your 1st interview?
I got a callback, but i was in a meeting at that time. Im kinda afraid to call the HR back coz i still dont know if i wanna switch jobs or not. Im working in Microsoft now and the working culture is great
Carrick87
post Apr 5 2011, 08:39 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(dryll @ Apr 5 2011, 07:10 PM)
I got a callback, but i was in a meeting at that time. Im kinda afraid to call the HR back coz i still dont know if i wanna switch jobs or not. Im working in Microsoft now and the working culture is great
hmm how long was that after your 1st interview? how long they took to contact u back?
dryll
post Apr 8 2011, 11:43 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(Carrick87 @ Apr 5 2011, 08:39 PM)
hmm how long was that after your 1st interview? how long they took to contact u back?
Less than a week only. Really quick
Carrick87
post Apr 8 2011, 02:27 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(dryll @ Apr 8 2011, 11:43 AM)
Less than a week only. Really quick
so have u contact them back and inform whats ur decision?

Added on April 11, 2011, 12:34 amguys, any news after your 1st interview? anyone???

This post has been edited by Carrick87: Apr 11 2011, 12:34 AM
boonbee
post Apr 6 2012, 11:45 AM

17 posts

Has anyone being offered a job already in the programme? I am but i am not inform of the pay. If in year 2010 is RM3500, in 2012? Thanks
fawwaztp
post Apr 22 2012, 05:42 PM

What's the interview process like? how many stages do you have to go through?
bcw
post May 11 2012, 03:43 PM

Hello,

How is the interview like? How many stages? Please share..
LuisaLui
post Aug 17 2012, 04:12 PM

50 posts

I have submitted my application last two weeks. I am unable to call up the HR for CITIBANK.
NR88
post Oct 20 2012, 04:18 PM

Hey guys, just got a callback after my first interview, gonna be meeting the head of a business function this coming week. Anyone with any idea of what to expect during the interview? As in would they be focusing on personality/interpersonal qualities or would it be more industry based questions, testing your knowledge on the market share, industry trends etc?

Any info would be greatly appreciated, all the best to you all. smile.gif
peishan1201
post Oct 30 2012, 09:00 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(NR88 @ Oct 20 2012, 05:18 PM)
Hey guys, just got a callback after my first interview, gonna be meeting the head of a business function this coming week. Anyone with any idea of what to expect during the interview? As in would they be focusing on personality/interpersonal qualities or would it be more industry based questions, testing your knowledge on the market share, industry trends etc?

Any info would be greatly appreciated, all the best to you all. smile.gif
can you share with us how was your first interview with citi??
and how long you get reply after send in the resume
thanks!!!
ChipZ
post Nov 2 2012, 12:17 AM

1,330 posts

Just wanted to ask if they hire a Masters Degree Holder from Engineering background for any of the positions?

0.0433sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:33 PM