Yes, the 30% ruling does certainly help. The thing is (this is not directed at you but just anyone reading this board), don't expect it to be some kind of utopia. Don't think like "Wah, Europe. Everyone's rich, I also rich etc.". Is my quality of life better? Yes and no. No because in Malaysia, I lived with my parents so whatever money I had was used for fun things like going out for dinner, holidays, buying stuff etc. Yes, because I think if we as a couple, were fully financially responsible in Malaysia (like now), we're definitely better off here. Plus, the work-life balance is great. I have cousins who have good jobs in Malaysia, working 9am-8p.m. (and those who are auditors/accountants sometimes even work til 2am gilaness). I mean, seriously, who wants to do that? It's more like no choice so have to lor. Here, family is very important so most people work 8.30-5.45p.m. (these hours are a bit longer than 8.5 hours because I'm talking about more challenging jobs here). Never on weekends. Part-time work is common too.
Anyway to get back to maldini's questions, it is not usual to negotiate (certainly not on prices or something for apartments) but I guess you can try. The problem is because house prices are unstable now, the rental market is pretty hot. I wanted to rent a house a few months ago and I tried to reserve a viewing about 3 hours after the advertisement was published but too late, habis already;) I did get a house eventually but the only reason why I got it was because the estate agent's advertisement was so bloody lousy (no picture, no description etc.). Try looking on Funda and if possible, try to avoid those rental companies which require you to pay crazy amounts of agency fees.
I would say the average is around 150-500 euro admin/agency costs and 1-2 months deposit (this one you can negotiate, depending on their policy). Furthermore, do not forget that most rentals here come with absolutely nothing- no floors, no paint (have la but ugly/dirty so must repaint), no lights etc. So you'll have to DIY. You can also choose to pay a premium for it. Prices also exclude gas/water/electricity/ council taxes (around 350 euro per year), water taxes (not sure, I think 100+ per year) etc. Also, just make sure that it's a place which can be rented legally (so that you can register yourself at that address. As a foreigner, you cannot take the risk of having unregistered property).
I think it will be a little difficult to negotiate from here, simply because the rental companies don't have to (unless you are willing to rent sight unseen). They have enough customers here at the moment. One month is a bit tricky. It IS possible, it depends on your luck (i.e. is the house already empty etc.). To give you an example, I contacted the agency of my current house for a viewing in mid-February and secured a viewing at the end of Feb. Viewing cancelled because the renters had not moved out. Viewing postponed to first week of March. Cancelled. Agent ill. Postponed to mid-March. Almost got cancelled (it's 2 hours away from where I lived and when she called, I was already in that city), so called back and said "don't you dare cancel". She said "OK, fine, but will be 1 houe late". Saw the house, liked it, sent the application to the company who actually owns the house(proof of income, declaration that we are good renters, work contract etc.) and it was only last week that we both (us and company) signed the contract. Now, granted, the agent in my case is flaky la but it's always possible.
Isn't your company going to help you with relocation (at least with advice or some suggestions of companies)?
Thanks for detail information. I'll be on local package, thus accommodation will be under my own. Of course HR can help but my location preference is a bit away from office. I'm hoping to secure fully furnished apartment since my stay won't be permanent. Only couple of years, not worth I think to invest with non-furnished accommodation. But reading your story seems tough to secure within 1 month.
You are right though. Common perception that life will be much better from purchasing power perspective living in Europe. I know life will be tough over there, right here I have pretty much comfortable life. But life is too short for one-dimensional experience, I seek some other adventures and experiences as well.