Study in The Netherlands/ Holland

feynman
post Apr 23 2010, 06:34 PM

4,781 posts

Yah, other European countries are good alternatives. However, one must be able to secure employment in Europe after graduation otherwise the investment is lost. Many of these European schools are good but they are hardly recognised outside of their respective countries/EU, so if you can't find a job and return to Malaysia or go elsewhere to work, you're pretty much screwed. This is particularly true if you're doing programs in business/commerce.

This post has been edited by feynman: Apr 23 2010, 06:35 PM
feynman
post Apr 23 2010, 07:02 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(meiiseenei @ Apr 23 2010, 06:46 PM)
feynman: It might be harder to get an interview in Malaysia as employers are not familiar with Dutch degrees (I think Dutch companies should be quite open to it, though!) but I'm pretty sure that once an interview is secured, a Dutch educated student will have no problems in getting the job (Dutch schools emphasize a lot on soft skills).

Once someone has worked in NL, there's a possibility of working in the UK/Belgium/other European countries without visa issues as well. After 5 years with a work permit (maybe less, not sure if years spent studying will be counted), a foreigner will receive PR for the entire EU. Can also apply for citizenship lah but have to give up your Malaysian passport lor.
Yeah, maybe but nothing is certain in the interview. We can't say because one is education in the low countries one will get a job. That's illogical. Not just Malaysia, if you go to any other country, you will encounter the same problems when applying for jobs. You might not even get called for an interview because you are from a relatively unknown university. That's why I said, it is very important that you find a job in Europe after graduation, otherwise it will be difficult to find a job that you want elsewhere. Once you break into Europe, then you are safe. As mid-career job hunts are way easier if you have the experience and have been working in Europe. You would have perfect mobility in Europe and can quite easily find jobs in HK or maybe North America. The crucial part is at the start of one's career.

feynman
post Apr 23 2010, 07:40 PM

4,781 posts

Sweden used to be free but no longer. But still affordable.
feynman
post Apr 24 2010, 01:24 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(imsushi92 @ Apr 24 2010, 12:02 AM)
i just find you this kind of ppl super arrogant and dont know how to be humble, sigh, you make the world a worse place
I just find you annoying. You butthurt is it? People got chance to go overseas, you don't have so you go on a trolling rampage ah? You actually make the world a shittier place.

Cannot meh? I'm also overseas, earn more money than you, know more people than you. You are poor so know your role and do what poor people do best. In chinese, 做下人。别吵。

QUOTE(Tom Welling @ Apr 24 2010, 12:17 AM)
come on...TS is just trying to share her experience in studying in Holland. What's wrong with you? >< Anyway, it is a cheaper destination as compared to countries like Aus/UK. When u meant 10k euro, is it per year?
It's usually the case for all European countries barring the UK and Ireland. Fees range from 5k to 15k, depending on what you do and where you do it. The living cost however will be quite high. Most would ballpark 1k per month.
feynman
post Apr 24 2010, 07:28 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(imsushi92 @ Apr 24 2010, 05:51 AM)
in blue: so does that make people that have went abroad look down at other people? remember you will be one day lose what you have, being so full of yourself, defending the wrong case. ts oneself not enough ar, need you outsider come ke po ke po.
in red: hohoho, someone so big i so scare sia. btw i hope when you are in other people's shoe, no one will ever help you. remember you said something like that. elite user, pui.
yadda yadda yadda.......I like to look down on poor and smelly people like you. Cannot meh? How do you know that I will lose everything one day, 做戏啊?I like to kaypoh, cannot ah? You blow meh?

I am elite, I can say things like that. You don't have money don't talk so much. Keep skin and go back to your village and grow rice lah. 吵到死!没钱就别说那么多话。

Added on April 24, 2010, 7:31 am
QUOTE(meiiseenei @ Apr 24 2010, 06:06 AM)
Medicine is in Dutch and quite difficult to get in. It's one of the few programmes with a quota. Tuition fee is around 15 000 euro per year (the 10k I mentioned is for my course+ all living expenses). I also couldn't find a Chem Engineering bachelor in English. There are masters available in English though (2 years). Tuition is about 8800 euro a year. More scholarships are available for Masters programmes.

Added on April 24, 2010, 6:10 am

Yes, it's 10k euro per year, including living expenses. This is for my course (business). Some courses are more expensive.

You can control the cost, especially in the 3rd and 4th year.

Ie.

3rd year (1 year=2 semesters)

Semester 1
Study Abroad (to save costs, choose a cheaper country like Thailand/Eastern Europe/Taiwan etc. instead of Stockholm, London or Sydney)

Semester 2
Internship (can do anywhere you want, incl. Malaysia)

4th year

Semester 1
School

Semester 2
Graduation Assignment (consultancy research at a company. Again, you can choose to do it a country of your choice).
That's really cool. Thinking of doing an MSc in Europe. France is in my radar. The fact that there is so much exposure to industry in Europe make programs in managemenrt/commerce so attractive.

This post has been edited by feynman: Apr 24 2010, 07:31 AM
feynman
post Apr 24 2010, 11:35 AM

4,781 posts

To digress. I wonder what's the average fees for popular courses at popular Australian universities. Say engineering and commerce at melbourne and Sydney. $30k?
feynman
post Apr 24 2010, 01:00 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Apr 24 2010, 12:38 PM)
hum well lets take MONASH University for example,according to their prospectus the annual tuition fee for Engineering courses is about 26,900 Aussie Dollars and their Business,Commerce and Economic Courses would cost around 24,160 Aussie Dollars annually.

University of New South Wales (UNSW) for example for a 4 years Chemical Engineering programme would cost a total 114,190 Aussie Dollars while their Bachelor of Commerce would cost about 87,720 Aussie Dollars for 3 years.

Those are just tuition fees haven't counted living expenses yet ^^"
It'l be cheaper in Adelaide,Perth,Canberra and especially Tasmania though but I think in the first three the tuition fees aren't much different just living cost would be lower.For example the annual tuition fees in ANU averages about 24,768 Aussie dollars across most of their programs including commerce and engineering.
Expensive and common. Don't know what's the value of a degree from there. Meh
feynman
post May 21 2012, 05:39 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(Alvan86 @ May 21 2012, 05:09 PM)
Ok. Just check it. However, tuition fees is a bit hefty, Euro 8500/yr.sad.gif
Initially, I was planning to study in Germany, given its attractive zero or little tuition fees charged on international students.
Expensive but considered one of the cheapest in the world already leh. Kenot get prices like that in the UK today. Certainly no way in the US and Australia.

0.0216sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:30 PM