Photography Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V2, Panasonic G/GH/GFx & Olympus E-P/E-PLx

kevafk
post May 13 2010, 11:31 PM

209 posts

New E-PL1 user reporting in smile.gif
kevafk
post May 31 2010, 10:26 PM

209 posts

i would like to share my first macro shot tongue.gif

some sort of bee tongue.gif

kevafk
post Jun 1 2010, 01:04 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Jun 1 2010, 12:57 AM)
nice wor..camera?
E-PL1 bro smile.gif
kevafk
post Jun 1 2010, 01:41 AM

209 posts

you could see them in properties@flickr if im not mistaken, still new in this kinda things tongue.gif
kevafk
post Jun 1 2010, 03:38 AM

209 posts

been looking at ur poisonous photos tongue.gif.. yea, its been doing great for me.. awaiting my 20mm panny biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
kevafk
post Jun 8 2010, 02:30 AM

209 posts

dunno for me b4 buying e-pl1.. friends told me to wait for sony's nex but when i look at it.. design kinda ugly, honestly i like the silver metal looks but it looks too small/slim to hold em.. well im not sure coz i have not tried it... so far e-pl1 does all the job for me even with standard kit lens.. cant wait for my 20mm panny.. smile.gif
kevafk
post Jun 8 2010, 02:50 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Jun 8 2010, 02:31 AM)
Edited my comment -kytz- smile.gif sorry for that

APS-C sensor does directly mean better image quality, but it doesn't mean it will downright beat M43 camera. For example, NX10 doesn't really directly prove that its image quality is superior over Oly/Panny camera

Here's a little comparison between NX10, NEX and E-PL1
http://dpreview.com/reviews/SonyNex5Nex3/page13.asp
My friend told me while it doesn't look ergonomic, the grip is quite stable when you hold it  on hand. The shape does look sort of weird though tongue.gif

I think for normal shooters like me I'm happy with GF1 at least for the next 1-2 year  thumbup.gif
yea, kinda hard to keep up eh haha.. NEX does keep those new buyer thinking... but i doubt people would give up gf1 or pen series.. judging from your gf1 pictures doesnt seem to have any more room to improve hahaha.. soooooooo nice~~~ DAMNIT i want 20mm panny already!

This post has been edited by kevafk: Jun 8 2010, 02:51 AM
kevafk
post Jun 18 2010, 08:49 PM

209 posts

i just love 4/3 because it is stylish, alot of add-ons to play with.. might be expensive to play with these add-ons.. both gf1 and pen series looks great and small enough to carry around..

as for Sony NEX... i just love the silver body with silver lens thats about it.. but cmon how to beat E-PL1 + 20mm panny haha.. or GF1 itself tongue.gif
kevafk
post Jun 29 2010, 02:15 PM

209 posts

I got my e-pl1 for RM2650 and whats come with it :-

1. E-PL1 + dual kit lens *available in black only sad.gif*
2. 2x 8gb memory card
3. Tri-pod
4. Chapalang UV filter, which i threw it away *for temporary ok lars*
5. Screen protector *by default should comes with it, changed with better ones after*
6. 1 year warranty (optional to extend)
7. Olympus bag

I wish it was abit better like.. 16gb single card, better UV filter, extra battery and other color options :/

Oh and im planning to get an EVF over panny 20mm first.. since i have 2 lens to play with, any opinion? and E-PL1's lcd kinda pixel-ish compare with GF1, really like the GF1's lcd :/

This post has been edited by kevafk: Jun 29 2010, 02:26 PM
kevafk
post Jun 29 2010, 04:19 PM

209 posts

Here is a pic of my E-PL1 with 40-150mm lens smile.gif

This post has been edited by kevafk: Jun 29 2010, 04:22 PM
kevafk
post Jun 29 2010, 05:17 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(kari_convention @ Jun 29 2010, 04:47 PM)
wow! very cunlah black with white half case leather.. how much you buy the half case+strap?
i got it off a friend in hong kong and got him send to me.. quite cheap RM80+ not ori tho but its very well build and good quality stuff
kevafk
post Jun 29 2010, 10:03 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(masahito @ Jun 29 2010, 09:36 PM)
epl1 looks ugly, maybe i go with ep1
EP-2 or EP-1 definitely have alot of things to play with.. like leatherettes, nice leather half case etc.. unlike E-PL1 but i like e-pl1 because has better grip, lighter and cheaper tongue.gif so.. if you got the money go for EP-2 instead smile.gif
kevafk
post Jun 30 2010, 01:03 AM

209 posts

Hey faidz85,

May i ask you something regarding about evf-2? like does it come off easily?
kevafk
post Jul 9 2010, 07:48 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Jul 9 2010, 06:47 PM)
urm, why does my ep-2 screen goes very dark when I change to manual focus mode? I tried taking pic using manual focus and it came out everything black.
u gotta put lower shutter speed correct me if im wrong.. i fink
kevafk
post Jul 13 2010, 05:37 PM

209 posts

Got myself an EVF VF-2.. 2 days ago.. i would say well worth.. after using VF-2, i never use the LCD anymore to take photos except for picture preview.. I dont know wat to say but when you look into it, its like another different world soooooooooooooo pweeettttyyyyyyyyyy.. is all i can say. But this is an expensive upgrade due to E-PL1's sucky LCD with only 230k pixel and VF-2 its with 1,440,000 pixel if im not mistaken..

will post a picture of the VF-2 with the camera with it soonish !
kevafk
post Jul 17 2010, 05:49 PM

209 posts

no worries la bro, the longer u wait the better offer you get usually.. but! by the time you wait and wait and wait buy at cheap price then newer model comes out.. then lagi regret haha.. or just buy the new model with early price! actaully pretty hard to catchup with gadgets :/...

What do you guys think about m4/3 going to improve? like what should they add? or tweak?

Olympus really needs to upgrade the LCD..
kevafk
post Jul 19 2010, 04:39 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ Jul 19 2010, 03:12 PM)
the best lens collection would be:
20mm pancake + 45-200mm tele + 7-14mm wide zoom.
but they gonna cost me an arm and a leg T.T
i would be happy with 14-150mm + 20mm pancake and 9-18mm wide lawls.. which also cost me an arm and a leg
kevafk
post Jul 19 2010, 05:14 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Jul 19 2010, 05:02 PM)
no need macro lens meh?

insect is so cute  cry.gif but no macro cannot make it
haha, i heard the zuiko 35mm f3.5 is pretty good is as sharp as the 50mm f2.0 macro but u gotta go real close with the object.. and its cheap too.. RM750+ i fink
kevafk
post Jul 21 2010, 02:03 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jul 17 2010, 07:10 PM)
Yeah I agree. Just buy whenever the situation allows. Just do some price search and maybe you will get a good deal. Like in my case, I just happened to stumble upon a good bundle at Boeing. I was prepared to pay RM25xx for the standard kit but who knows.

Regarding m43 improvements? Hmmm... I would say upgrade the LCD too. High time they catch up now. A larger with higher resolution LCD display. Include a touch interface while they're at it. A swivel would be nice but it may increase the volume of the product. Below are my recommendations:

- Scrap the kit lens and introduce a better replacement
- Improve or add a new AF algorithm more suited for video capturing
- Add IR/Light for AF focusing
- A slimmer overall design
ya honestly i dont mind paying abit more for better LCD, in fact i have already upgraded using VF-2 cost me RM800+.. RM2650 + RM800 = RM3450 :/.. viewing with vf-2 its sooo pweetttyyyy biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kevafk: Jul 21 2010, 02:05 AM
kevafk
post Jul 31 2010, 07:47 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(xdw3irdxd @ Jul 31 2010, 01:45 PM)
Hi all,

I'm newbie here. I'm a canon dslr user. However, due to too bulky, i decided change to mirco 4/3. I'm planning to buy olym EP2 + pana 20mm f1.7 + EV2. May i know the pricing in msia right now?

not sure how much is EP-2 full package but 20mm f1.7 i got quoted RM1360... should be able to get around RM1350 or lesser i think its a very good price already...

0.0424sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:16 AM