Intel LGA1155 P67/Z68/Z77, Sandy/Ivy Bridge Architecture

OC4/3
post Sep 15 2010, 10:57 PM

4,746 posts

Hmm..really wondering how the on chipset die clock generator will affect bclk ocing sweat.gif
We will just wait and find out i guess biggrin.gif
OC4/3
post Feb 19 2011, 08:59 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(kakisemut @ Feb 19 2011, 07:16 PM)
if the new batch sandy bridge using with old chipset of mobo...
still there a problems right with the sata port?
Only problem with Sata 3 port
Sata 6 port work fine
OC4/3
post Jan 5 2012, 07:13 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Jan 1 2012, 09:17 PM)
ouch, i wish Ivy bridge will come next month, soo 2500k will be sold at lowered price..  biggrin.gif
They will probably just EOL 2500K once Ivy Bridge is out biggrin.gif
OC4/3
post Jan 8 2012, 12:14 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Jan 7 2012, 04:01 PM)
2500k is one of the top sellers (if not their top K series seller), they will not discontinue it unless there was a 2550k. Even so, they may not discontinue 2500k unless there's a cost benefit to push a different cpu.
Ivy Bridge K Series will have same priced replacement
Usually when there is something newer,they tend to not sell mid range processor
At least shop don't carry them anyway(After Ivy Bridge K Series launch)
OC4/3
post Jan 9 2012, 11:23 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jan 9 2012, 12:57 AM)
budget sweat.gif  ,  Corsair H100 cost more than > RM 400 and Noctua NH-D14 , I think too big to fit into the casing.
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
OC4/3
post Apr 25 2012, 11:40 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Apr 25 2012, 06:59 PM)
@Boldnut

Is it possible intel will release another stepping for IB? When will it be do you think?
Sure as heck there will be new stepping revision
As for when,that is tough to answer as it is up to Intel laugh.gif
The best stepping change have to be Q6600 era one,B3 to G0(If i remember correctly) gave it load of OC Headroom due to less heat thumbup.gif
OC4/3
post Apr 25 2012, 11:43 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Apr 25 2012, 12:32 PM)
90c are really warm. Trust me... I oc'ed my Phenom and when it's 90c, the air are warm. The main reason I still not buy SB is due to the temp issue. Unless, it's proven IB really have temp issue, then I'll go for SB. Just wait and patient.
Don't make sense to get SB now
Just get IB smile.gif
Clock per clock is better,that should offset the OC differences

OC4/3
post Aug 5 2012, 03:43 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Aug 5 2012, 02:12 AM)
sorry if this has been asked before but guys, is it really necessary to run Prime95 for 8 hours? It has been running almost to 2hours now and so far no errors and can i just assume my newly-OCed clock stable?

My setting's currently @4.2GHz 1.152Vcore (offset -0.065V). And any advices on improvement of my setting?

Thanks in advance all sifus here.  blush.gif
My usual procedure for testing an OCed system:
1.)Set Overclock Setting to the desired setting
2.)Use IBT 3 Loops,set to (Total memory GB-1GB,eg:4GB-1GB=3GB)
3.)Make sure it pass
4.)Than lower vcore
5.)Final setting run 20 loops IBT with same memory setting as 3 loops

If this pass,the system is quite stable already

OC4/3
post Sep 5 2012, 05:51 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(inv8de @ Sep 5 2012, 09:27 AM)
Hey, anyone know whether the spacing of the screw holes in socket 1155 is the same with spacing in socket 775? Like the holes for aftermarket HSF.
Nope
LGA775 is 72mm and LGA1155/1156 is 75mm
OC4/3
post Oct 10 2012, 11:23 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Oct 9 2012, 12:24 PM)
Hi, I hope that some sifu here can shed some light on my confusion I have.

Currently Im using i7 1st gen (860). Im a heavy gamers, and I think my current proc and mobo are bottlenecking my PC. So i was thinking upgrading my PC, when it come to processor, Intel i7 3770 and 3770K I have confusion.

I know that 3770K can OC more, but I dont usually OC my hardware (it just dont worth sacrificing my hardware lifespan for OC) it has less security (No intel TXT, Intel VT-d, Intel vPro). TBH I dont know if these Intel TXT, VT-d, vPro actually works for me. I do like more security on my PC to prevent intrusion. I dont like format my PC often, coz every time I format it took very loooooong time to install all things back.

My question is

1. Does the 3770k worth sacrificing the security for  speed?
2. Does this Intel TXT, vPro, VT-d, Intel SIPP really help boosting security on home PC?

IN my own opinion, I put security over speed, by buying a high end processor you already realise that the speed is more than enough for any games and software. That is what I think, what will you guys think if you guys are in my shoe??
I go mad.gif when i see people claim that oc will shorten pc lifespan sweat.gif
Even if it does,most of the time it is working fine and you would upgrade it for newer component
But not everyone like to overclock,that i can understand
It's more of a hobby than a practical thing for everyone to do
With that said,i go vmad.gif everytime when i see people claim oc will shorten lifespan
My pc had been running for more or less 60 months(got load of upgrade in between,current configuration 24 months or so) 24/7 oced with 1.7V on E8600 + water cooling before and 1.85V with dry ice yet it is still kicking ass now

OC4/3
post Oct 15 2012, 12:09 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Oct 14 2012, 11:57 PM)
Heat does shorten the lifespan to be exact. PLus it lowered the value of reselling the proc if you hardcore OC them.

Some ppl just prefer speed over their lifespan hardware. Its not that rare anyway
Who said??
Have you find out the price of a golden tested chip before??
Those golden tested chip that can take WR,OCer willing to pay a few times over new price for them

0.0448sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:29 PM