Intel LGA1155 P67/Z68/Z77, Sandy/Ivy Bridge Architecture

G0blinTechies
post Jan 21 2011, 11:17 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jan 21 2011, 09:19 AM)
I was told there's stock left in Viewnet when I purchase my RAM
That day I visited 3 ViewNet stores and all of them told me they have stock. Until they really check their inventory then only tell me no stock.
Hence, no guaranty there. Really depends on your luck.

Some idiots from other stores lied to me i5 2500k no yet out and persuaded me to buy i5 2400. Luckily I did my homework. I really wanted to say f**k y*u at their face. mad.gif

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jan 21 2011, 09:55 AM)
The whole lowyat only have 1 unit left for i5-2500k, grab it else its on my hand!
If you want it then go grab it, why post this reply to him? doh.gif

QUOTE(konsama @ Jan 21 2011, 09:57 AM)
revised price.... increased??
One of the seller speculated higher price after CNY. Or maybe she were there to lure me to buy from her. whistling.gif
jeopardise
post Jan 21 2011, 11:29 AM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

I think after CNY there will be more stock coming.

As for the price it'll be more or less the same. Smart buyer will go to whom offers better price/deals.
travex
post Jan 21 2011, 11:38 AM

Thanks guys for your help. Here in Australia, we will have the i2600k ETA for shops in 27-january, so I think Malaysia stores would have i2600k restock at the same time or sooner. The price here however is much more expensive than in KL, for example the i2600k cost 400 AUD here, what a freakin rip off.
G0blinTechies
post Jan 21 2011, 01:06 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Jan 21 2011, 11:29 AM)
I think after CNY there will be more stock coming.

As for the price it'll be more or less the same. Smart buyer will go to whom offers better price/deals.
I hope you are right. If Intel plans to raise the price, then the dealers will have little choice but raise theirs too.

QUOTE(travex @ Jan 21 2011, 11:38 AM)
Thanks guys for your help. Here in Australia, we will have the i2600k ETA for shops in 27-january, so I think Malaysia stores would have i2600k restock at the same time or sooner. The price here however is much more expensive than in KL, for example the i2600k cost 400 AUD here, what a freakin rip off.
Wow. Really a rip off.

In the other hand, you might be able to make some profit by shipping a bulk of processors from Malaysia. hmm.gif
Go check Australia taxation rule. Maybe you can get some side income.
k!nex
post Jan 21 2011, 02:44 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

i dont think intel will raise the price of processors, so far never happen before. Only the distributors/dealers will raise price to take advantage of the high demand.
areszues92
post Jan 21 2011, 02:49 PM

168 posts

waliao, i want to buy my new rig liao then increase price..so unlucky
G0blinTechies
post Jan 21 2011, 04:39 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(areszues92 @ Jan 21 2011, 02:49 PM)
waliao, i want to buy my new rig liao then increase price..so unlucky
Is not that bad. Just like what k!nex said, it may not happen. If intel can flood enough Sandy Bridge processor to the market which usually is the case, then no need to worry lo. Intel intend to promote sandy Bridge after all. biggrin.gif
Kizarh
post Jan 21 2011, 04:45 PM

797 posts

Intel sure capable of flooding CPU to the market, they have at least 2 factories here, 1 at Penang another at Kulim lolz

This post has been edited by Kizarh: Jan 21 2011, 04:48 PM
areszues92
post Jan 21 2011, 07:03 PM

168 posts

Then supply should be plenty
owikh84
post Jan 21 2011, 08:05 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Ivy Bridge 22nm comes in 1H 2012

Maho Bay chipset, Panther Point PCH
According to the most recent roadmap Intel shows to its customers, it looks like the upcoming Ivy Bridge 22nm architecture is scheduled for 1H 2012. The production, if Intel's CEO is a reliable source, should start in Q4 this year, 2011, while availability should be expected in 2012. This is what Paul Otellini said back at IDF 2010.

You can expect to see Ivy Bridge roughly a year after Sandy Bridge January 5th launch. The desktop platform around this new CPU is called Maho Bay and the chipset that will power it is Panther Point PCH. Naturally there will be a mobile version as well.

The graphics is still a part of CPU and it is a DMI chipset and has FDI support. Last time we checked FDI standard for Flexible Display Interface, something that enables you two or more display outs.

Intel promises much better energy efficiency and this is natural as we are talking about 22nm transistors and a lot of optimisation.
SOS

==============================

Ivy Bridge 22nm sticks with socket 1155

DirectX 11 and three display support
The Ivy Bridge 22nm story gets even better. The new chip is socket LGA 1155 and it is socket compatible with the existing Sandy Bridge processors and Sugar Bay 2011 platform. Unfortunately we are quite sure that Cougar point PCH chipset of Sandy Bridge won’t support the new 22nm Ivy Bridge.

We are afraid that you will still need a new board. Even the Panther point PCH chipset is pin compatible with Cougar Point chipset of Sandy Bridge, but again this might help board manufactures to make boards faster, but end users will need to buy a new board.

The new platform officially supports USB 3.0 and its graphics can deal with DirectX 11. One additional news is that Maho Bay platform graphics now supports three independent displays, something that might come handy to a few, i.e. users in the financial business. Let's not forget the enhanced media performance as well as much better performance in both graphics and CPU area.

Sounds good, and the new platform comes roughly in a year's time, Q1 2012, most likely January 2012 if Intel doesn't hit any delays.

SOS

Kizarh
post Jan 21 2011, 08:50 PM

797 posts

Sh*t, can't upgrade my Sandy Bridge anymore, no matter I'm happy with historic Best Deal on Core I5 2500K and will live with it for very lllllloooonnnnnng time.
HiT-AbLe
post Jan 21 2011, 09:03 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jan 21 2011, 09:54 AM)
I heard bruceleestore said there will be new stock for K coming next week.
Yeah got the same msg from him. So is that mean most LYP PC shops will get the new stock as well since all of them are running out of stock currently?
areszues92
post Jan 21 2011, 11:12 PM

168 posts

Waliao,every year release one cpu, AMD mati liao lo
owikh84
post Jan 21 2011, 11:25 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Jan 21 2011, 09:03 PM)
Yeah got the same msg from him. So is that mean most LYP PC shops will get the new stock as well since all of them are running out of stock currently?
could be, 27th Jan is the rumored date.
some resellers said after CNY only get stock could be different distros/strategies whistling.gif
chong82
post Jan 22 2011, 02:01 PM

246 posts

I Just switch my pc from amd platform to intel platform using sandy bridge. Is the new intel proc more energy efficient compared to amd?

I'm hoping it will reduce my room temp. Haha
saturn85
post Jan 22 2011, 03:15 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Jan 22 2011, 02:01 PM)
I Just switch my pc from amd platform to intel platform using sandy bridge. Is the new intel proc more energy efficient compared to amd?

refer here: brows.gif
Efficiency Comparison: Sandy Bridge Vs. Intel And AMD CPUs
N33d
post Jan 22 2011, 05:55 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(chong82 @ Jan 22 2011, 02:01 PM)

that is also one of my concern when i am looking for new cpu
my ancient OC-ed e6320 could manage to heat my room to 35C during the afternoon while i doing stress test or gaming for long period.
kahjye
post Jan 24 2011, 12:43 AM

4,494 posts

Hello guys , i would like to need some expert help here.

my spec is

p8p67 LE , I know its rubbish sad.gif
8gb ddr3 1600mhz ram
hd5850
odin pro550w psu.

on the first day i bought , my pc can survive auto tuning into 4ghz and Performance mode in bios.

but starting from yesterday , whenever i set my bios to boot into Performance mode , drivers started to crash.

and also , my pc kept on and off then on back and runs normally whenever i on my pc.

i suspect the culprit is my PSU , Possible guys?

cause last time I oc my rig with this same PSU , my previous mobo already kong....
jeopardise
post Jan 24 2011, 09:03 AM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jan 21 2011, 08:05 PM)
Ivy Bridge 22nm comes in 1H 2012

==============================

Ivy Bridge 22nm sticks with socket 1155

SOS

hmmmm i think will skip Sandy Bridge, wait Ivy Bridge. Sure Sandy drop price also hahaha ...!

mcchin
post Jan 24 2011, 09:18 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(jeopardise @ Jan 24 2011, 09:03 AM)

hmmmm i think will skip Sandy Bridge, wait Ivy Bridge. Sure Sandy drop price also hahaha ...!
then when every one is happy using SB
you here wait for Ivy

then come 2012 (that's is >1 years away)
news come leang out of another new architecture, just around the corner

then would you play the wait game all over again?

remember first half of 2010 can be Jan, Apr or even June 2012

156 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:57 AM