156 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Intel LGA1155 P67/Z68/Z77, Sandy/Ivy Bridge Architecture

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 6 2011, 03:40 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(mezzi-quan @ Jan 6 2011, 10:53 AM)
theres no use buying sandy bridge processor nw............ivy bridge will come out dis december wif 22nm instead of 32nm..........32nm is old technology and sandy 
  bridge will b obsolete in 11 months time.........

its more worth to wait for ivy bridge ..........and intel said that ivy bridge will hav at least four cores and a maximum of 8 cores.......

Ivy bridge is rumored to be out q3 2010 but is expected to be out at CES2012... hmm.gif

In any case Ivy will still use socket 1155... the cheapest socket 1155 mobo is RM499... I'd go AMD on sandy for my money sake if i need to... hmm.gif
post Jan 6 2011, 06:46 PM

912 posts

let say i buy h67 now for its internal graphic card
if later i wan add in dedicated graphic card on h67 can work?
SSJBen
post Jan 6 2011, 06:51 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Jan 6 2011, 11:23 AM)
What about Intel Dual Core user? Do they hve to wait for ivy for its worthness too?
The better answer to this is, do dual-core users need the extra CPU power for their usage?
In all honesty, if not... then no upgrading is needed, be it Sandy bridge or Ivy bridge.

Users need to understand that they don't have to just upgrade and then be able to show off some e-peen on the internet to get some virtual cookies then end up doing nothing with all that extra power.

Of course, user's money... user's will.
My point is, upgrade if theres a need otherwise don't, unless you really have NBTD and have pockets so deep you can blow your nose with RM100 bills.
SUSromentheposmen
post Jan 6 2011, 07:44 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ Jan 6 2011, 06:46 PM)
let say i buy h67 now for its internal graphic card
if later i wan add in dedicated graphic card on h67 can work?
can, can't OC CPU and no dual x16 lane only. also can't use quick sync if you switch to discrete GPU.
post Jan 6 2011, 08:07 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(romentheposmen @ Jan 6 2011, 07:44 PM)
can, can't OC CPU and no dual x16 lane only. also can't use quick sync if you switch to discrete GPU.
but can switch between GPU right?
if buy 2300 or 2400 den no need overclock also since overclock not much also
right?
SUSromentheposmen
post Jan 6 2011, 08:17 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ Jan 6 2011, 08:07 PM)
but can switch between GPU right?
if buy 2300 or 2400 den no need overclock also since overclock not much also
right?
you'll have to pull out your gpu from the pcie slot to switch i believe. no nvidia optimus-ish solution here.

yea, if you're not going for the K processors nothing much to worry about, 2400 kicks i5 760 ass already.
huzzLEE_82
post Jan 6 2011, 08:35 PM

MHaF
1,301 posts

may i know wats the retail price of i7-2600K now? tq
Kizarh
post Jan 6 2011, 09:09 PM

797 posts

QUOTE(mezzi-quan @ Jan 6 2011, 10:53 AM)
theres no use buying sandy bridge processor nw............ivy bridge will come out dis december wif 22nm instead of 32nm..........32nm is old technology and sandy 
  bridge will b obsolete in 11 months time.........

its more worth to wait for ivy bridge ..........and intel said that ivy bridge will hav at least four cores and a maximum of 8 cores.......
One year later......theres no use buying Ivy bridge processor nw............Haswell will come out dis december wif ground up new microarchitecture technology and Ivy bridge will b obsolete in 11 months time......... doh.gif

Two year later.......theres no use buying Haswell processor nw............Rockwell will come out dis december wif 16nm instead of 22nm..........22nm is old technology and Haswell will b obsolete in 11 months time......... doh.gif

mehh I don't wanna play this waiting game, since we have supa good deal with Core i5 2500K, that's good enough for at least another 3-4 years.
ukimaro
post Jan 6 2011, 09:55 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(Kizarh @ Jan 6 2011, 09:09 PM)
One year later......theres no use buying Ivy bridge processor nw............Haswell will come out dis december wif ground up new microarchitecture technology and Ivy bridge will b obsolete in 11 months time......... doh.gif

Two year later.......theres no use buying Haswell processor nw............Rockwell will come out dis december wif 16nm instead of 22nm..........22nm is old technology and Haswell will b obsolete in 11 months time......... doh.gif

mehh I don't wanna play this waiting game, since we have supa good deal with Core i5 2500K, that's good enough for at least another 3-4 years.
Thats true.

If you keep waiting and waiting, u will end up not buying anything.
Ulysses
post Jan 6 2011, 10:21 PM

尤利西斯
2,822 posts

thats rite... haha.. thats how intel making money... they never sleeps
mezzi-quan
post Jan 6 2011, 10:42 PM

450 posts

One year later......theres no use buying Ivy bridge processor nw............Haswell will come out dis december wif ground up new microarchitecture technology and Ivy bridge will b obsolete in 11 months time......... 

Two year later.......theres no use buying Haswell processor nw............Rockwell will come out dis december wif 16nm instead of 22nm..........22nm is old technology and Haswell will b obsolete in 11 months time......... 

f*** intel! why cant they jz release new architecture and shrink the processor at the same time and release them every 2 years instead of their 'release new
architecture this year, but keep the processor size, then keep the architecture nex year but shrink the processor, then release another architecture for the
following year, but keep the processor size...........and keep repeating this for the years to come'

this is wat they call the 'tick tock' model adopted by intel to rip customers off......dont b fooled by intel.......they are bloody money suckers!

GO FOR AMD!! AMD ROCKS!
kevink82
post Jan 6 2011, 10:55 PM

1,134 posts

i c no reason to upgrade unless u r still in the core 2 era.... higher resolution gaming the advantages disappears ; ;
fadhfuad
post Jan 6 2011, 11:23 PM

248 posts

Just my RM0.02.

I game. A lot. On E8500. OCED to 4.0. Playing on 1680x1050. Max setting is a must. Uh oh. Low FPS! Bought a new GPU. FPS>60. Smiles. Continue gaming.
dlwl
post Jan 7 2011, 12:02 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(fadhfuad @ Jan 6 2011, 11:23 PM)
Just my RM0.02.

I game. A lot. On E8500. OCED to 4.0. Playing on 1680x1050. Max setting is a must. Uh oh. Low FPS! Bought a new GPU. FPS>60. Smiles. Continue gaming.
what gc are you using now? i think i should try oc my E8400 too tongue.gif
techmostwanted
post Jan 7 2011, 12:16 AM

515 posts

no use for fanboys either AMD side or Intel side to keep bragging of their platform superiority, what matters now is this:

-Intel dont mind to "force" user to upgrade the entire mobo+cpu if they wanna get sandy bridge, as there are entirely no competition from AMD, and ppl willing to buy sandy bridge. And Intel is making a huge profit from cpu and mobo(chipset) the same time, see the 1 bird kill 2 stone analogy? smile.gif No point for intel to keep the same platform upgradability from Clarkdale to Sandy bridge, if u stand on Intel's ground, u will make the same move too.

-AMD are forced to lower their profit margin, AGAIN, history repeating itself. But good for budget users, cheap quad core Phenom X4 available under RM250 very soon biggrin.gif cool2.gif cool2.gif cool2.gif

-AMD Bulldozer optimistically at best only match on Sandy bridge and not the Ivy Bridge@22nm. Even if AMD released Bulldozer as early as mid of this year(which I highly doubt doh.gif ), Bulldozer will be bulldozed away by Ivy Bridge 6months later.

-CPU technology advancement is not as great as it was used to be, thnx to AMD lacked of competition. which i hate it very much. doh.gif

This post has been edited by techmostwanted: Jan 7 2011, 12:17 AM
fadhfuad
post Jan 7 2011, 12:24 AM

248 posts

Off Topic Reply.
Using a 4870. Going to upgrade to 6870. Suddenly 6970 comes out. WTH?! Sambung menabung.
Based on my exp, a Wolfdate: OCs easy and cool enuff on air. Try it.

I upgrade based on these 2 articles from Tom's hardware.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming...ade,2803-7.html
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-c...-x4,2826-6.html

Back to topic.
Although I will not be upgrading to a Sandy for the time being, the i7 2600k is indeed a monster of a CPU. But have you guys read the reviews on the new Phenom X6? Even I am now considering of getting one of the 1090T.
SUSromentheposmen
post Jan 7 2011, 12:30 AM

66 posts

tungguuuuuuu, at least simpan duit sampai bulldozer debut if you're so keen on amd.

waffor wanna go for another 45nm.
techmostwanted
post Jan 7 2011, 12:46 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(fadhfuad @ Jan 7 2011, 12:24 AM)
Off Topic Reply.
Using a 4870. Going to upgrade to 6870. Suddenly 6970 comes out. WTH?! Sambung menabung.
Based on my exp, a Wolfdate: OCs easy and cool enuff on air. Try it.

I upgrade based on these 2 articles from Tom's hardware.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming...ade,2803-7.html
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-c...-x4,2826-6.html

Back to topic.
Although I will not be upgrading to a Sandy for the time being, the i7 2600k is indeed a monster of a CPU. But have you guys read the reviews on the new Phenom X6? Even I am now considering of getting one of the 1090T.
............... shocking.gif shocking.gif Thats different market segment!

Phenom X6 nothing really impressive actually, just additional two cores. thats it, if u didn use any heavily threaded apps. it is best to use X4 or even X2.
post Jan 7 2011, 01:53 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(fadhfuad @ Jan 7 2011, 12:23 AM)
Just my RM0.02.

try some CPU intensive game like flight simulator, dual core sure die liao.
i also using E8400 @4Ghz doh.gif
too much bottlenecking for GTX460 oc-ed summore
billytong
post Jan 7 2011, 04:33 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(techmostwanted @ Jan 7 2011, 12:16 AM)
-AMD are forced to lower their profit margin, AGAIN, history repeating itself. But good for budget users, cheap quad core Phenom X4 available under RM250 very soon biggrin.gif  cool2.gif  cool2.gif  cool2.gif

Well they have too, but the reality is nothing/nonews about any recent price cut, I still see the same old price on AMD cpu ,there is no reason to buy AMD right now if anyone is looking for price/performance. Sandy bridge has make buying almost all AMD CPU pointless. They even threaten 1156/1366 socket too. Only the highest end gulftowns are still ahead of Sandy, but thats way more expensive.

QUOTE(fadhfuad @ Jan 7 2011, 12:24 AM)

if check the benchmark in sites like tomshardware/anandtech 2600K is beating the faster amd cpu 1100T almost every single benchmark, no offence but I wouldnt want you to get cheated by AMD, the 1090T should not be selling @ those price anymore. Base on the performance/watt AMD need at least 30-50% price cut on almost all their CPU. On mobo side the different between the same spec amd and Intel mobo can go as low as 250 bucks or less. We are not even talking about overclock sandy bridge yet.

156 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0385sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:20 PM