156 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Intel LGA1155 P67/Z68/Z77, Sandy/Ivy Bridge Architecture

mohdazuan
post Jan 4 2011, 07:34 PM

140 posts

like 860/870 and 875K, thats how they build 2600/2600K, with and without vt-d, but still has vt-x both of it.

can you guys tell me what is so important about vt-d? previously when i using 32-bit os as host, the only matter for me is only vt-x, since it allow 64-bit virtual guest os running on 32-bit host os using that instruction.
Hornet
post Jan 4 2011, 07:59 PM

What?
4,251 posts

Really envy those of you guys who held out an upgrade until Sandy Bridge

I jumped on the i7 930 only a year ago, now its completely outclassed in performance and efficiency by a new architecture

Oh well, at least our hardware is still way ahead of software tongue.gif
Cyclonechuah
post Jan 4 2011, 08:23 PM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

QUOTE(Hornet @ Jan 4 2011, 07:59 PM)
Really envy those of you guys who held out an upgrade until Sandy Bridge

I jumped on the i7 930 only a year ago, now its completely outclassed in performance and efficiency by a new architecture

Oh well, at least our hardware is still way ahead of software tongue.gif
i would wait until ivy bridge, but lightning spoilt my pc, so i've been forced to upgrade
owikh84
post Jan 4 2011, 08:34 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

This article is awesome:
http://www.maximumpc.com/article/features/...e_washes_ashore

All other processors cease to matter in the wake of Intel’s new high-performance CPU

When your only competition is yourself, what do you do when you have to introduce your latest and greatest CPU? Commit fratricide against your own chips? If you have the muscle and war chest of Intel, then yes.

At least, that’s what Intel’s new Sandy Bridge CPU family does to the company’s existing lineup of processors—lines them up on a cliff and pushes them off, one by one.

The stellar Core i7-870? Off you go. Core i7-975 Extreme Edition? Who needs your luxury-priced ass, anyway? Core i7-950? We’ll see you in hell!

In essence, Intel’s Sandy Bridge has rendered all previous quad-core and dual-core processors obsolete in both performance and price. Yes, the top chips in Intel’s Sandy Bridge family are that fast. And they’re pretty damn cheap, too. The fastest Sandy Bridge chip, for example, will outrun the $1,000 Core i7-975 Extreme Edition, yet it costs just three bills.

----

The top-end Core i7-2600K smashes every other quad-core Intel chip by healthy margins. This is aided by the new microarchitecture, the ring bus, and other magical stuff, we suppose, but we see no reason to buy any other CPU for the money. Even the once-powerful Core i7-975 Extreme Edition is flatly punched in the nose by the 2600K. While the 975 is long gone, you can extrapolate that the 2600K will outgun the Core i7-950, i7-930, and the poorly priced i7-960. Against non-Intel chips, it’s no contest. AMD’s hexa-core Phenom II X6 1090T, which was already getting beaten up by existing Hyper-Threaded Core i7 chips, also takes a serious thrashing from the Core i7-2600K.
mitodna
post Jan 4 2011, 09:11 PM

14,039 posts

All reviewer seems to recommend 2500K as best bang for buck, of course you can go higher to 2600K, if you happy with your Core i something right now, you don't need to upgrade, if you are on some Pentium 4, it is time to purchase it

On other fact, most motherboard hovering RM430 range, and 2500K around RM700, are you okay to purchase RM1100 range CPU and Board?
SUSromentheposmen
post Jan 4 2011, 11:36 PM

66 posts

the previous favorite p55 + i5 750 combo also rm1k+.

so it's a big why not.

but the premium extra rm300+ for 2600K performance over 2500K like a bit weak.

NEED MOAR BENCHMARKS.
mohdazuan
post Jan 4 2011, 11:45 PM

140 posts

if the available core is not a big thing, since speed is matter, then grab 2500K, value for a money.

when i first hear about new sandy bridge "K" model, my eyes become like this -> shocking.gif blink.gif
less than a day, i grab 2600K since how-many-threads is matter to me icon_idea.gif
kmarc
post Jan 5 2011, 12:07 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jan 4 2011, 08:34 PM)
This article is awesome:
http://www.maximumpc.com/article/features/...e_washes_ashore

All other processors cease to matter in the wake of Intel’s new high-performance CPU

When your only competition is yourself, what do you do when you have to introduce your latest and greatest CPU? Commit fratricide against your own chips? If you have the muscle and war chest of Intel, then yes.

At least, that’s what Intel’s new Sandy Bridge CPU family does to the company’s existing lineup of processors—lines them up on a cliff and pushes them off, one by one.

The stellar Core i7-870? Off you go. Core i7-975 Extreme Edition? Who needs your luxury-priced ass, anyway? Core i7-950? We’ll see you in hell!

In essence, Intel’s Sandy Bridge has rendered all previous quad-core and dual-core processors obsolete in both performance and price. Yes, the top chips in Intel’s Sandy Bridge family are that fast. And they’re pretty damn cheap, too. The fastest Sandy Bridge chip, for example, will outrun the $1,000 Core i7-975 Extreme Edition, yet it costs just three bills.

----

The top-end Core i7-2600K smashes every other quad-core Intel chip by healthy margins. This is aided by the new microarchitecture, the ring bus, and other magical stuff, we suppose, but we see no reason to buy any other CPU for the money. Even the once-powerful Core i7-975 Extreme Edition is flatly punched in the nose by the 2600K. While the 975 is long gone, you can extrapolate that the 2600K will outgun the Core i7-950, i7-930, and the poorly priced i7-960. Against non-Intel chips, it’s no contest. AMD’s hexa-core Phenom II X6 1090T, which was already getting beaten up by existing Hyper-Threaded Core i7 chips, also takes a serious thrashing from the Core i7-2600K.
Yeah, really powerful words that makes you convinced that only Sandy Bridge is the answer to the upgrade dilemma.

Thx for the link, gonna include that in my guide. thumbup.gif
Kizarh
post Jan 5 2011, 02:54 AM

797 posts

QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Jan 4 2011, 08:23 PM)
i would wait until ivy bridge, but lightning spoilt my pc, so i've been forced to upgrade

I was forced too blown mobo that can't even power on cry.gif , I'll better get surge protectors and UPS too my house
's Power supply is unstable, damn you TNB.

vergilocity89
post Jan 5 2011, 07:33 AM

72 posts

Just one noob question , let say OC-ed i7 920 4.0 GHz vs i7 2600K 4.0 Ghz , which one is better in term of preformance ?
willaw
post Jan 5 2011, 07:51 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(Kizarh @ Jan 5 2011, 02:54 AM)
I was forced too blown mobo that can't even power on  cry.gif , I'll better get surge protectors and UPS too my house
's Power supply is unstable, damn you TNB.
I highly recommend Belkin SurgeMaster series. Get those that has 1x1 exchange, lifetime warranty. Mine got burn once, and I changed it, no questions asked. biggrin.gif

I'm using one of this (just googled this, I'm in no way affiliated with this seller smile.gif):

http://www.lelong.com.my/belkin-8-socket-s...7-01-Sale-I.htm

This post has been edited by willaw: Jan 5 2011, 07:54 AM
jeopardise
post Jan 5 2011, 08:04 AM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

QUOTE(vergilocity89 @ Jan 5 2011, 07:33 AM)
Just one noob question , let say OC-ed i7 920 4.0 GHz vs i7 2600K 4.0 Ghz , which one is better in term of preformance ?
Sandy is better.

Refer here: http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/the-san...-i3-2100-tested

However I used i7-975 as reference clock-to-clock comparison ar 3.3GHz 2600K blow 3.33GHz 975 away. That's an expensive processor being kicked ass.
norazwan79
post Jan 5 2011, 09:38 AM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

most of reviews in the internet only using ES. how about the performance of retail cpu vs es?
don^don
post Jan 5 2011, 11:23 AM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

my god, i just got punched in the face by Intel sad.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jan 5 2011, 12:15 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(don^don @ Jan 5 2011, 11:23 AM)
my god, i just got punched in the face by Intel sad.gif
Don't worry, just buy another set of 2600K + GTX570/580 and put another freaking numbers to your folding thumbup.gif
SMP bigadv number should be very amazing shocking.gif
mezzi-quan
post Jan 5 2011, 10:49 PM

450 posts

sandy bridge jz made my new westmere comp feel 'OLD'...........

bloody money-ripper!

come out wif new architecture but dun wan shrink the processor , instead try to rip us off again wif ivy bridge nex year........

shuld wait for ivy bridge and dump dis 32nm shit!
don^don
post Jan 6 2011, 12:08 AM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

never wait for technology, because they never wait for you. smile.gif get the one that you can afford present, not the future.

intel just killed their own products. nicely phrased anandtech.
mezzi-quan
post Jan 6 2011, 10:53 AM

450 posts

theres no use buying sandy bridge processor nw............ivy bridge will come out dis december wif 22nm instead of 32nm..........32nm is old technology and sandy
bridge will b obsolete in 11 months time.........

its more worth to wait for ivy bridge ..........and intel said that ivy bridge will hav at least four cores and a maximum of 8 cores.......
bulibulizaimon
post Jan 6 2011, 11:23 AM

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

QUOTE(mezzi-quan @ Jan 6 2011, 10:53 AM)
theres no use buying sandy bridge processor nw............ivy bridge will come out dis december wif 22nm instead of 32nm..........32nm is old technology and sandy 
  bridge will b obsolete in 11 months time.........

its more worth to wait for ivy bridge ..........and intel said that ivy bridge will hav at least four cores and a maximum of 8 cores.......
What about Intel Dual Core user? Do they hve to wait for ivy for its worthness too?
Kizarh
post Jan 6 2011, 11:25 AM

797 posts

Intel will most likely going to remain socket and chipset for Ivy bridge anyway just like its predecessor, from Conroe/Wolfdale to Nehalem/Westmere

156 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:40 AM