The suiting thread v2

netmatrix2
post Jun 30 2010, 12:17 AM

481 posts

The back looks like its another suit compared viewing from the front.
netmatrix2
post Jul 3 2010, 08:25 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 3 2010, 07:54 PM)
"Leng chai, ngo hoi chi cho sam lei tou mei chut sai ah!"
This one blurted by the tailor or u? whistling.gif
netmatrix2
post Jul 5 2010, 12:52 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jul 5 2010, 12:04 AM)
not yet..just use the normal dry cleaning at sect 13...and its a franchised dry cleaning svc with several branches in klang valley....only xcosts me rm12 persuit.....but i believe, Jeeves svc charge will be triple...
I concur. If Jeeves does use those newfangled cleaning agent, it will cost a whole lot more. Impossible they would charge the regular RM12 rate for suits.
netmatrix2
post Jul 5 2010, 09:48 AM

481 posts

The pockets do look very extremely slanted. But he can't do anything to change it. The suit seems more narrower on top than bottom. Hmmm....
netmatrix2
post Jul 5 2010, 10:09 AM

481 posts

Keeping the flaps inside would make it look much like those Korean things.
netmatrix2
post Jul 5 2010, 10:13 AM

481 posts

Hey i didn't even spot that! Why is a girly sole in there? hahaha.
netmatrix2
post Jul 5 2010, 10:21 AM

481 posts

I'm so tempted to say spank the monkey. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by netmatrix2: Jul 5 2010, 10:21 AM
netmatrix2
post Jul 5 2010, 04:49 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 5 2010, 04:45 PM)
Well, I like going into tailoring shops and asking questions no tailor has ever had to answer from customers.

Went into the T&B at Alpha Angle. They were selling these RM6k Zegna cloth suits. I asked the "tailor" there a few very basic questions about the internal construction of his suits. He knew nothing about them. All he could answer was that they are all "suiting materials".

The guy knows less about tailoring than me. All he does is take measurements, fill out a form, then fax that form to Wardrobe.
Standard operating procedure. Its like sub-contracting a job. Places like Spark manshop and such does that too. There are no cutting or stitching done there. just measure and wait. shocking.gif But its new thing la in Malaysia. Not like those single china man run shops. They do that all here. My place, the tailor does the measuring and cutting. But the stitching is done by Indonesians. unsure.gif
netmatrix2
post Jul 9 2010, 01:57 AM

481 posts

I was clearing off some images from my phone and i found this inside. I think this book was spotted in Time Bookshop in Pavilion.

netmatrix2
post Jul 10 2010, 11:43 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(pendekar111 @ Jul 10 2010, 10:59 PM)
Gentlemen,

Sorry to make an abrupt change in topic.

I'm seeking some advice on making a classic tuxedo for a close friends wedding. Have any of you had any experience ?

Does ALT (who seems to be quite the preferred tailor here) do dinner jackets (well)?

Also what would you suggest in procuring the material, e.g buying my own, if it is possible to find any. Or go with what the tailor has.
If you hunt for your own fabric, you get what you want. Shops generally have limited colors. They would have black, but the fabric quality would differ and the prices change. The color FusionEx mentioned is actually a weird blue black kind of color. With bright light its blue, and under low light its black. This is actually a politically correct color for tuxedo. But its very rarely seen. Black is the generally accepted one. I do not know if most tailors stock midnight blue fabrics. Its best you check out how midnight blue looks like first.

Or you could opt for ready made ones. I've seen the ready made ones from Louis Remogue (Spark Manshop) in Metrojaya Mid Valley. They cost RM850. I do not know if alteration charges are included. But if you want to go that way, this is an option. Or BONIA. But getting it tailored is WAAYYY much better. The only argument detractors could come up, is you won't get to wear it more than once, and they make you get off the rack ones.

Its not necessary to follow the flock in getting your stuff tailored. Sure you think that AL seems to be the choice awards here. But not necessary as this shop is actually accommodating politically correct stuff to some forumers here. If you live near BU its Bespoked. If you live near Mid Valley its Granoff. If you live in Subang its Kinslager. If u are in KL then you could opt for AL. But really its just to accomodate where its convenient for you. If you are finicky on details, then its AL. Even then AL might not accommodate you like they accommodate Kotmj or bloke1.

Good luck.
netmatrix2
post Jul 10 2010, 11:59 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 10 2010, 11:50 PM)
Now that you mentioned it netmatrix, I was at Isetan KLCC and saw the Sparkmanshop counter there doing a fitting on a real customer!!!!!!!! Today!

Muahahahahah!! Ahahahaha!

THE WORST SUIT I HAVE SEEN IN MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

......IN MY LIFE!!!

It didn't fit AT ALL, and two "tailors" were fussing over the customer who wore ......... a skinny fit T-shirt and looks totally clueless (as you have to be to use SparkMS).

Added on July 10, 2010, 11:53 pmIt was a black suit too.
Hey, i'm giving the guy options. Its not like i'm hard selling SMS to him. He could try. Don't like and move on. Like i said, if he was in some location that has tailors, he could look around for options.
netmatrix2
post Jul 11 2010, 01:16 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(mark2036 @ Jul 11 2010, 12:09 AM)
Quick question, anyone know where to get vests/waistcoats in Kuala Lumpur? I mean off the rack, not tailor-made?

Also looking for a good 3 piece grey suit (designer or whatever) off the rack. My experience with tailors are that the finished product tends to be rubbish, rather see what I'm getting when I buy it. But I can't find anywhere in KL that sells three piece suits?

Thanks guys if anyone can help!
I don't think its the correct month to find 3 piece stuff. Designer or otherwise. Its not fall or winter. The only place i could think off now to match 3 pieces off the rack is JUSCO of their in house SUAVE brand. i don't think even Emergildo Zegna or Canali has them. Unless you want to visit Brioni. Oh hell, go walk in Pavilion and see. hahaha.
netmatrix2
post Jul 11 2010, 11:09 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(mark2036 @ Jul 11 2010, 01:40 PM)
Thanks netmatrix, yep I did the Pavillion walk yesterday tongue.gif. Your right, Canali or any other designer shops i went to had no vests or 3 pieces sad.gif. But most do have summer sales which are tempting!

Will check out Brioni? Else bite the bullet and just go to Bespoke to get one made. Hope they are good!

Pictured below is what I was kinda aiming for....

I like the fabric and color. But i do not like the high vest. It seems like the vest is unattached to the suit. From what i know, the best it getting just 1 top vest button showing, so it does not seem the vest is trying to gain advantage over the suit jacket. The pic you show is more of modern kind of thing. I see a lot of Korean look like this. But if it works for you then go ahead. Maybe the tailor could show you how to do it. Because seriously stuff from pictures may or may not work for everyone. Good luck.

This post has been edited by netmatrix2: Jul 11 2010, 11:10 PM
netmatrix2
post Aug 21 2010, 08:41 PM

481 posts

I dunno. I added grid lines to it to get an idea. I think it would help for many to see where adjustments can be made for "their" own preferences and not Kotmj's. Based on reference from what i have seen, its a modern take on the traditional DB. If the vertical width of the second and third set of button is more nearer about 1-2 inch, you get slimming effect and you might even gain some visual height. I don't think there is any problem anywhere. Because i do not know what kind of reference material u guys are refering to.

The grey one posted earlier is an almost genuine take on the 1930's DB suit. On exception of the fabric.
netmatrix2
post Mar 2 2011, 07:03 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(pasquinel @ Feb 28 2011, 08:32 PM)
[attachmentid=2066878][attachmentid=2066879][attachmentid=2066881]

My first bespoke. My first suit really, gift to self for Xmas.
Unbranded wool, fused, non-working cuffs. Patch pockets, cos it reminded me of my 13-year old off-the-rack blazer gathering dust in the closet.

Made the jacket first, to be worn with jeans and thrown over a t-shirt. Hence the slightly long sleeves.
Made the pants as an afterthought. So that I would finally have a complete suit.
It looks not nice. There is no shape, (kind of like my daily dressing and bad choice of clothes hahaha). There are bunching here and there. I think the guy got a template from an el-cheapo off the rake suit and made it for u. Sorry honest opinion. sweat.gif The color is ok, kind of taupe, camel brown which we don't see everyday.

This post has been edited by netmatrix2: Mar 2 2011, 07:04 PM
netmatrix2
post Mar 19 2011, 09:54 PM

481 posts

Wow! someone is really going back to the days here. Looks great. drool.gif

Forged solid proof that money can't buy taste.

This post has been edited by netmatrix2: Mar 19 2011, 09:56 PM
netmatrix2
post Mar 29 2011, 06:27 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(jimmycth @ Mar 26 2011, 05:20 PM)
Hi all,

First of all I must state that I have no idea whatsoever on cloths, brands or anything about suits which was why I did a quick search it led me here. I'm looking to make a suit and a couple of extra pants for everyday use therefore a particularly high grade cloth would be of no purpose for me. The best is if the pants can be machine washed. Just a couple of questions for all the sifus here:-

1. Where is the best place for a budget suit with extra pants and what is the price of course?
2. What is the best full black cloth to use in Malaysia for everyday use in and outdoors and where to get it, again what is the price I am expected to pay?

I'm looking for a slim fit 'James Bond' look.

Thank you all in advance.
If you are looking for suits that allows the pants to be washed all the time and be worn as a separate, its a tough find. I have only seen once in the net of a polyster mixed with wool or some other material for the pants and with a wool coat. And both the fabric has the same color, but the weave is slightly different. The polyester one is more fine while the wool is a little coarse. But when worn together its hardly noticeable. Even if you do manage to make such a suit, the frequent washing of the pants can gradually change the color. If you do want something as a keeper rather than something u could work your wardrobe in, i do suggest u shop around for a ready to wear with minimal alteration. Some tailoring shops do stock some ready to wear suits that they will alter for free. Even then u still pay a handsome some for it.

For off the rack washable suit, the only good ones i have seen comes from Marks & Spencer. I do not know if other brands does mention machine washable on their tags. But M&S does. And from the look of the material, it does look like it could be machine washable. And i do not know how long it can stand being washed many times in a year. (I'm so tempted to buy one for a year as a wash and wear deal). Just don't expect it to be luxurious feeling like their higher range ones. U pay nearly RM1K for a suit there. And they have slim fit ones too. They do not have skinny ones like Topman does.

Whatever the case good luck in getting one.

netmatrix2
post Mar 30 2011, 04:55 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Mar 30 2011, 01:44 AM)
You need to lurk moar
I wonder why u spam yourself?
netmatrix2
post Apr 10 2011, 11:50 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(jimmycth @ Apr 9 2011, 10:23 PM)
So I should stick to half lined? I was guessing that he said mm leng due to the extra work he will be putting in for half lined jackets. Does it affect the drape?
Just like Ad Hominem said. Its all in how well he cuts& sew the fabric and how well the fabric does in being shaped. But having half lined also means, there is little room for error as there is nothing supporting the shell. So all the handiwork is shown. Its up to u to decide. But tailors usuall will tell u what can be done with this fabric and whats not.
netmatrix2
post Apr 10 2011, 11:50 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Apr 10 2011, 03:15 PM)
[attachmentid=2146613][attachmentid=2146632]
Very cool customization. I would expect something like this to show up in Austrian Trechten suit or even something that comes from 1970s' tv series worn by Roger Moore in The Pretenders. nod.gif

0.0422sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:20 AM