The suiting thread v2

netmatrix
post May 13 2010, 09:49 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,728 posts

QUOTE(alfredfx @ May 12 2010, 12:03 AM)
what is navy zegna and black armani fabric ? where to get them ? how much ?
if you send them to armani, how much they charge for workmanship ?
Almost all designer brands have their own in house fabric. But some of these fabric could be made by another factory for one reason or another. The fabrics like Zegna can be bought at Euro Moda or Gulatis. These shops are in Jalan TAR KL. You cannot just send a fabric to any Armani store or Zegna store and ask them to make suits out of them. Usually they have times in a year for special fittings from highly select tailors using their own in house fabrics. Priced run from few thousand to five figures. During this times, you can see the big spenders come for fittings. Unless you have a lot of 5 figures to spare for a few suits, its definitely out of reach to most people.

Zegna, Armani and such does not do tailoring in the boutiqes. But if you are in the country where the main store is, they do accept orders. But then you aleady paid a few thousand to fly there. Or you would like to pay more to fly them here? rclxub.gif

netmatrix
post May 14 2010, 11:20 AM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(sliver2c @ May 13 2010, 11:57 AM)
Zegna do tailoring but they would not accept fabrics, you got to use their own they have an in house tailor which is well trained . another store that has an in house tailor is Canali,They are both Malaysians and they do have some excellant quality in them. price starts from RM9000 for a suit and RM 5000 for a sport jacket, if you have more money to burn you can wait for Angello Petrucci from Brioni's who should be down in September, prices start from RM 25000 for a suit and if you are lucky he might throw in a shirt or a tie. It would take between 2 weeks to 2 months for a complete suit it depends on how much they love you! simply means how much you have burn there!
Ahhh.... i forgot about Zegna in KLCC. I almost always forgot they have a bunch of tailored stuff hanging back there for clients. Say... Silver2C, didn't you asked us to group tailor some suits in Zegna or Brioni way back last year?
netmatrix
post May 15 2010, 12:22 AM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ May 14 2010, 09:32 PM)
Do you guys actually go into these severely expensive boutiques? I feel hesitant to do so because I know there's no way I'll be buying anything there.

I mostly just look at their window displays.
Depends. if they have something i really really want. I shall skip the suits as i can say, i will never ever look good in them since i don't have mannequin body. rolleyes.gif
netmatrix
post May 16 2010, 11:27 PM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ May 16 2010, 08:31 PM)
Gentlemen, I went to the much anticipated afternoon wedding reception today.

Almost every suit was black.

Never wear a tie to a banquet like this. I dipped mine in a very nice sauce. Thankfully, it's only a Daiso number.

People asked me about my pocket square. They wanted to know what it was. "What is that in your pocket?" I had to demonstrate to a table how to stuff a PS a la Michael Alden.

My jacket made an impression on all. "How many suits do you actually have?" I was asked. "Here comes the Man of the Year" said another. "Very nice," said the groom. I did not hear remarks made about the other suits, and almost every male was wearing one.

My jacket did not rumple as much as i would like. It still looks kinda tame.

Thankfully, nobody there reads this thread. I live in fear of someone coming up to me and asking, "Excuse me, are you kotmj?"
Stalker alert.
netmatrix
post May 18 2010, 10:09 AM

6,728 posts

This ones for this thread.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNOG3XIX4Xg&feature=fvsr

netmatrix
post Jun 22 2010, 12:51 AM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jun 21 2010, 10:43 PM)
Is there ANYONE here who isn't gay?
Happy and gay. Not just gay. laugh.gif laugh.gif
netmatrix
post Jul 2 2010, 01:38 PM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jun 30 2010, 12:38 AM)
Greetings, Agent Smith No.2. I see you have cloned yourself. What happened to your original copy?
I'm in the process of cloning myself quietly. So until i become uncontrollably cloned then LYP admin named NEO can come and beat me up ala Dragon Ball style fight and save the day. But i got my reasons to do this. And its not anything illegal. Its just to circumvent some stupid features in LYP. wink.gif
netmatrix
post Jul 14 2010, 01:15 PM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(pendekar111 @ Jul 12 2010, 08:25 PM)
Dear all,

Thanks for the prompt replies. I figured maybe a tuxedo might not be worth the investment due to possible one-time wear.  I have just a couple more questions:

1) Where is a good place in the Klang valley to buy material for a suit? I am assuming that I should buy the accompanying buttons as well?

If you want to hunt for fabrics, Jln Tuanku Abdul Rahman. But for suiting fabrics, its really limited to your imagination. But once you reach that section, be bombarded by white, grey, blue and black, the general color. From there on, you just look at the fabric you want. If you like the color, and how it feels then proceed to use some more info gathered from the internet. Like polyester vs wool. Linen vs cotton and such. But really is you are first timer it is very difficult. Unless you have gone and make clothes with your own fabrics before, its kind of tough. Most fabric shops does not sell buttons. You need to find tailoring supplies shop for that. Jln TAR has some but most close on Sundays. If its difficult, you could use their in house stuff and save the shopping time.

2) Are the tailors always ok that you use your own material. Would I have to check with them 1st?

Most of the time they will be ok with it. Unless you bring them fabric that is hard to work with, they might turn you down. Or make you pay more.

3) Has anyone has any experience with Kinslager?

This shop actually is being told first by Lanatir another forummer. He didn't have anything made there before. I think neither of us have too. But at times their promo prices look pretty good. Last time they advertised a tuxedo for only RM12xx something, forgot already. But its really just a tailor shop option closes to anyone living in Subang Jaya. We don't know their workanship level too. The ones that are experienced by some forummers here are the ones you hear everytime. Bespoke, AL and such. Why not you be the first? tongue.gif

Thanks yet again!
This post has been edited by netmatrix: Jul 14 2010, 01:16 PM
netmatrix
post Jul 17 2010, 11:10 PM

6,728 posts

Lanatir does awesome Macro shots. I think he will only be happy until he lands a nanoscope. brows.gif

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Jul 17 2010, 11:11 PM
netmatrix
post Aug 17 2010, 09:26 PM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 16 2010, 10:28 PM)
The best made in Malaysia jacket (contemporary, not vintage) I've seen was a display suit of a pathetic little tailor in Campbell Complex. I believe it is better made than any ALT stuff. It is fused, of course, but it was very structured and beautiful. Just beautiful. To die for, really. I spent an afternoon looking at many dozen suits in many shops, and this one suit stood out amongst them. But the shop was a hole-in-the-wall and the proprietor was unkept, had a wispy little mustache, wore a worn T-shirt and shorts and sandals. The carpet was threadbare, the cutting board was melamine laminate with large pieces broken off.

I asked to see that display suit, and he gladly handed it to me.

"But this isn't from your shop, is it? The label says it isn't," I remarked.

"No, it isn't mine. A tailor friend of mine loaned it to me to see if I can sell it. He says he rarely wears it."

I noted down the label, and I looked up the shop many times in the internet. They are supposed to have 2 branches, but one was in a shopping mall that crumbled upon itself and the other somewhere else. I called the numbers given but both lines were no longer active. Sigh.

Added on August 16, 2010, 10:30 pm
I have Daiso hooks at home.

Added on August 16, 2010, 10:48 pmOh yeah: First fitting of FC DB is tomorrow evening.
As it was mentioned it was for sale. Didn't you ask to buy it off his hands?
netmatrix
post Oct 2 2010, 07:22 PM

6,728 posts

The conversation went on for almost 2 hours, and towards the end, when they have relaxed, one of them remarked, "When I started working I thought I made a lot of money. Compared to being a student it was a ransom they were paying me each month. Until I went out to shop in the city. I never suspected suits could be so expensive. Or good shoes for that matter." When he was saying "suits" his eyes wandered between my lapels. When he was saying "good shoes", his eyes glanced down at mine. Hmmm. Was he trying to hint at something?

U better be lying low buddy. hahaha
netmatrix
post Oct 26 2010, 12:55 AM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(azman_ariff @ Oct 24 2010, 01:18 PM)
i hav prom soon n oredi read most all the page here cuz got follow dis thread.... topman suit niceee..goin to buy coz custom make xpensivvvvv n i c some u guys suit out of fashion like kotmj collar so big... eww
Hell that is funny in a weird way. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Added on October 26, 2010, 1:00 am
QUOTE(azman_ariff @ Oct 25 2010, 11:20 PM)
anybody know is uniqlo suit better or topman better??? uniqlo open soon....my prom in disember
wat troll troll?? i say my opinion kenot?? more than 1k suit i prefer hav brand like armani xchange
I do not think Uniqlo would be bringing suit in. From what i red in papers and saw at their site, it seems like they do a lot of street wear. The only suit i see currently from their online catalog seems to be the Jill Sander colaboration. If buying that, i would rather spend a little more and get Marks an Spencer. If you want to buy Topman, you should check out Marks & Spencer first. Marks & Spencer not outdated design anymore. There are already slim fit ones there.

If no money, then its Reject Shop or some of the shops in Pertama that sells suits cheap starting from RM199.

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Oct 26 2010, 01:00 AM
netmatrix
post Oct 26 2010, 01:23 AM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(Cheenoo @ Oct 26 2010, 01:07 AM)
Apparently, the Uniqlo here would be the biggest in SEA. So they should have some suits..But I don't think they would be cheap.
From what i see in the S'pore shop pictures. There isn't any. If the stocks there would reflect here, i think there won't be any. But then again they might bring in to clear stocks. Or they fat forward autumm/ winter line. Seriously i can't think of a street wear going all straight edge as easily.
netmatrix
post Oct 27 2010, 03:21 PM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(azman_ariff @ Oct 26 2010, 04:56 PM)
wat price is mark spencer?? i wan get single row button suit... dowan two row button one like some ppl here tailor make... like old uncle style...somemore the front is thick wear in msia not hot?
sounds cheap....got include pants?? wool can wear in msia?
I saw that KLCC branch wan, there is no 2 row button wan. All 1 row 2 button or 3 button. Got choice regular or slim cut. Got short and tall also. Pants from size 28 to 44 also got mang. The price cannot talk talk from RM499 above. Plus pants pay close close to RM700 liao. Veli OK for brand from UK like Topman. Topman also pay same money, but lesser cloth. They got thick thick guni sack cloth, in brown and and little arrow shape cloth one. U don wan la. That one old style wan. Only uncle buy only.
netmatrix
post Nov 17 2010, 09:19 PM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Nov 13 2010, 09:52 PM)
I just walked into Granoff.

They had a fashion show some weeks past and the suits can be fingered by potential customers. I took one of these off the rack: A three piece with a pink linen shirt. I placed in on the counter and began inspecting it while engaging in conversation with the pretty young Malay girl (cool down, Tan Sri, no point changing tailors over such a matter).

The jacket was very convincingly made. I would say it is the best I've seen of all tailors (for a fused construction).

The armholes were high (as high as AL's). It was very waisted, in a way that I like: a sharp nip. Even at that waisting the jacket hung well, the sleeves hung gracefully.

The pick stitching is done quietly, no high tension in the thread. The lining is attached to the jacket entirely by machine sewing, no hand work there. The buttonholes are entirely machine sewn. They are identical to what lanatir took pics of, and lanatir was mistaken. Even the lady there said they were machine sewn.

The jacket has this very perfect, very regular look to it. Unlike AL's which has this pervasive organic-ness to it, where evevryhting seems to have been put together by hand (and with some haste), Granoff's jacket has a RTW quality about it. It was synthetically perfect.

But the jacket was rather stiff. The shoulder padding was not excessive.

They charge 1.2K if you bring your own cloth. I do not know if this includes extras like working cuffs. At this price, I would prefer them over Lord's.

Their shirts are factory made, probably the same factory as Lord's.
So u met the malay girl too eh? I think she is very cheerful and quite helpful. And Granoff made a good impression on me based on sales staff alone. Less can be said about some other shops.

netmatrix
post Nov 18 2010, 11:11 AM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Nov 18 2010, 01:20 AM)
That malay gal must be drop dead gorgeious..going to check her out myself...  drool.gif
She ok looking, but not drop dead gorgeous la. doh.gif
netmatrix
post Nov 19 2010, 06:14 PM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(seyuripa @ Nov 19 2010, 04:52 PM)
Not sure this is the right place to ask my question,but I just wanna know that will it be too formal if I'm going to wear my suit and vest for my annual dinner tonight......
There will be alot pf professors attending the dinner and I do hope I can look good in front of them during dinner and if I'm wearing too formal compare to them/others ,I would feel kinda weird......
Well in such an event, i might think that going with the norm is ok. Like just the suit. 3 piece? hmmmm..... even them professors here don't do 3 piece much. Maybe u want to hint at them u are a professor? hahaha.
netmatrix
post Mar 31 2011, 12:01 AM

6,728 posts

Oh no! don't bring cannon fodder here!!!

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Mar 31 2011, 12:02 AM
netmatrix
post Apr 9 2011, 09:53 PM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(jimmycth @ Apr 9 2011, 06:45 PM)
One more question. Half lining or full lining? Does lining affect the overall structure of the jacket? AL said half lining "mm leng". What should I do?
I get what he says by no nice. When odd body not nice. But its meant to be worn. Half lined seem to be more confortable than fully lined ones. Logically speaking. But some would say other wise. The weight of the suit would be lighter too. Lining also cover some faults of either us or the suit.
netmatrix
post Jun 20 2011, 05:07 PM

6,728 posts

QUOTE(Cheenoo @ Jun 19 2011, 09:45 PM)
More on the cheap jacket.

I found the tag
[attachmentid=2283682]

Front pockets still stitched together
[attachmentid=2283683]

The jacket makes me look several pounds heavier than I am. The cloth is so thick.
[attachmentid=2283691] [attachmentid=2283700] [attachmentid=2283701] [attachmentid=2283703]

The jacket is unstructured. There is no padding or canvassing. I think the weight of the cloth is giving it a better drape(for lack of better word) compared to thinner and lighter fabrics. I think it's quite a good find, for less than parking at pavilion. I have no idea when I will be able to wear this though. =/
Skeleton lining!!! The labels indicate its a company much like uniqlo but they sell a lot of brands. Well skeleton lining, its a lost are really. But a great find for RM10. I think Uniqlo had the same type of jacket i saw last month.

0.0464sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:21 AM