Jun 17 2011, 11:30 PM
124 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Here you go gents. 3rd fitting at Kwong Fook Wing.
Trousers are not that long, it's just that I forgot to pull my pants up to my waist before I took that picture. I habitually wear my trousers on my hips, something I can't shake from wearing jeans 365 days a year. Mr.Kwong overlooked my request for garters and gave me loops instead. Will be changed to garters and pants shortened a little. Will have slight break though cos I'm not a fan of the no-break look. Mr.Kwong has reduced the curve of the lapels but didn't want to make it straight all the way. He says a curved lapel looks grander. I can live with it. Mr.Kwong's being extremely cautious with the open quarters (his quarters are closed by default, I think). I asked him to open it up more and he said maybe a quarter of an inch. I asked for more and showed him a picture of a Huntsman so he's gonna open it up accordingly. He's also gonna clean up the creases on the back right caused my dropped shoulder as well. This post has been edited by pasquinel: Jun 17 2011, 11:43 PM |
Jun 19 2011, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jun 18 2011, 11:04 PM) I had the most surreal experience today. Really. Most of the time my life is damned boring. Then sometimes, I discover something unexpected. Like today. MBT. Men's Bespoke Tailor? Mystery Bespoke Tailor? Malaysia's Best Tailor? When will the phantom forummer appear and reveal the nation's deep, dark sartorial secrets?I have been going to MBT because the guy came across as something special. There are hundreds of tailors in KL, why use him for shirts and trousers? Why have I been following him? Why not try out Mr Kwong? So I was sipping tea he brewed for me while we chatted about life when a customer walked in. A retired major (Intelligence), Indian, at least 150 kg. About as far from proportionate as you can be. He was there to try on a sports jacket. It was a train wreck. Totally did not fit. But MBT was cool. He nipped here, inserted pins there, ripped the shoulder seam and repinned it, redrew the armhole, etc. It was the most thorough and methodical fitting session I have ever witnessed. Took off the collar, repinned the neckhole. Ripped out the sleeve. 20 minutes and about 2 dozen pins later, I beheld a basted jacket with nary a ripple. I have finally met a masterful fitter in Malaysia. I told the Major, "MBT is the best fitter I've seen in Malaysia." MBT said, "Oh, hahaha, thank you." He also managed to refine my trouser fit. Here is what I picked up today, a Loro Piana based on Zegna No. 1's cut (ALT+kotmj) then improved upon by MBT. ![]() Added on June 19, 2011, 12:18 amForgot to mention I also picked this up today... ![]() |
Jun 19 2011, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jun 19 2011, 02:05 AM) btw this is what AL made for the capitalist... not perfect, but notice the clean sleeves and clean back... this is what KFW should deliver as a minimum... Can't fault AL's handwork. The excessive skirting bugs me though.![]() Added on June 19, 2011, 2:12 amthe rear side body seam is not oversuppresed... this is key |
Jun 27 2011, 04:42 PM
Jun 27 2011, 05:50 PM
Quarters will be opened up more. I wouldn't mind a 3 button suit myself someday. Waiting anxiously for the final fitting.
Jun 28 2011, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jun 27 2011, 09:53 PM) In the test jacket I'm making, changing the shape of the lapels and the quarters at this stage would cause me to cry. I'd have to remove the 2 lines of hand felling on the front edge tape, remove lots of hand padding on the lapel, re-pad portions of the lapel, replace the tape, refell the tape. Not to mention removing the facing. Major surgery. He doesn't. His coatmaker does I don't know how Mr Kwong deals with that. |
Jul 8 2011, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 7 2011, 09:06 PM) bought a blazer suit from Topman(slim fit as i m skinny) If it reaches your palm, you have to cut it. It cant be any worse than it is now.everything fine but i just dun like the length of the arm. is too long until it reach my hands' palm. plan to cut it shorter(from 4 buttons to 3 buttons) but i worry it will make it more ugly any solution? |
Jul 10 2011, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 9 2011, 05:19 PM) I recently took a jacket with non-working cuffs to Kwong Fook wing to have it shortened about half an inch. Mr.Kwong removed all the buttons, shortened the sleeves, hand stitched all the fake buttonholes and replaced the buttons again.If you have working cuffs it's gonna be a lot more complicated. |
Jul 17 2011, 06:03 AM
Jul 17 2011, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 17 2011, 10:37 AM) Did he say he'll call you once done? No tailor has actually called me even when they said so. Then I'd call them them and they'd say it was done a long time ago and yes please come collect. That has been my experience with Mr.Kwong. I called him about 3 weeks ago though, then a week later and he said he was still working on it. Didn't call him last week though cos I was busy. Will probably give him a buzz this week. |
Jul 23 2011, 11:32 AM
Jul 23 2011, 04:36 PM
Jul 27 2011, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(PIMPIN @ Jul 27 2011, 02:54 AM) Hi, I think you should go make a new suit. You deserve it.Not sure if this is the right thread for my question so apologies in advance if I'm going too far OT. I've recently lost a fair bit of weight so the suits that I have are now obviously too big. I know that most people would probably go for an entirely new wardrobe but I'd like to know if I should try go back and see what can be done. Basically, I'm keen to find out what others have done in the event of weightloss since suits can't exactly be replaced overnight. Thanks in advance. |
Aug 2 2011, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(h11g @ Aug 2 2011, 09:41 AM) went to Jalan Sultan last Sunday to scout for KFW and found out that it's close, bro Pas how long did he complete your suit? Cause I'm in a tight schedule, my suit must be completed in 2 months time, i wonder whether KFW can do it anot. He doesn't open on sundays. I seriously doubt he can complete a suit in 2 mths. It's coming to 3 mths now and mine's still uncompleted. |
Aug 4 2011, 10:23 AM
Aug 4 2011, 05:16 PM