post Apr 21 2010, 03:00 PM

Professor
1,052 posts

CPU overheated ?
TSzulhelmi5195
post Apr 21 2010, 03:06 PM

479 posts

i dont know, im using core temp to monitor a heat..
busted85
post Apr 21 2010, 03:08 PM

87 posts

clockgen is not the proper tool to overclock

Firstly, you must know what clock generator your motherboard is using.
Don't try and auto detect, the software won't get it right.

You are asking for trouble if you overwrite your clock generator with the wrong info

Even then, its absolutely not the right tool.
TSzulhelmi5195
post Apr 21 2010, 03:10 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(busted85 @ Apr 21 2010, 03:08 PM)

You are asking for trouble if you overwrite your clock generator with the wrong info

DG965WH this is my mobo.. im using c2d 1.8.. can u tech me to oc... 1.8 is too slow and have no budget to upgrade..
digitalove_70s
post Apr 21 2010, 03:19 PM

ore-wa gandamu!
1,353 posts

im not a pro but ive managed to OC my proc
u can refer to my siggy below

u shud post this thread in Overclockers forum btw
bt i'll give u some tips

the proper way to OC ur system is to do it in BIOS mode

u will have to:
1. set the proc clock speed nad its multiplier
2. monitor the FSB. check the max supported FSB for your mobo. once u temper with the clock speed, the FSB rate will change too.
3. check the FSB:RAM ratio. the best ratio is 1:1
3. tweak ur Vcore accordingly.
toottut89
post Apr 21 2010, 03:22 PM

704 posts

go to bios to overclock. it's the best way
busted85
post Apr 21 2010, 03:23 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(zulhelmi5195 @ Apr 21 2010, 03:10 PM)
DG965WH this is my mobo.. im using c2d 1.8.. can u tech me to oc... 1.8 is too slow and have no budget to upgrade..
I was on the same boat as you.

Most Intel motherboard don't support overclocking. So, you cannot overclock from the BIOS, which is the right way to OC a system, by changing BIOS setting. Intel motherboard don't support this.

Clock generator is a very small chip on the motherboard that generates a clock signal that control the CPU speed. Clockgen attempts to override this clock generator to change its frequency

However, clock generator is not a specification that motherboard maker release, so you cannot find it in any manual, or know what generator model you are using from your motherboard model.

I tried it before, what I did was open up the casing and search for the chip. Its not easy, because there is so many chip. You have to find base on the model you see in the Clockgen list, they have different brand. Find for a chip that have a model number similar to those model number you see. Of course you cannot search for each model, but find base on the first 2 or 3 alphabet. Like CYxxxx, or ICSxxxx... you just look for a chip that got a serial number that start with CY or ICS, or other (see what is in the list)

They are very small chip

But this is just for fun. If you can find the exact chip, then only it will work. But its hard to OC much also by just changing the clock frequency.

Best is to find any cheap mobo that allow you to overclock from BIOS setting. Should be able to find around RM200 or so

This post has been edited by busted85: Apr 21 2010, 03:24 PM
TSzulhelmi5195
post Apr 21 2010, 03:28 PM

479 posts

hmm.. i plan t buy a gc lcd and psu first.. plan to change to amd aftr this but no budget yet

Added on April 21, 2010, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(busted85 @ Apr 21 2010, 03:23 PM)
I was on the same boat as you.

Most Intel motherboard don't support overclocking. So, you cannot overclock from the BIOS, which is the right way to OC a system, by changing BIOS setting. Intel motherboard don't support this.

Clock generator is a very small chip on the motherboard that generates a clock signal that control the CPU speed. Clockgen attempts to override this clock generator to change its frequency

However, clock generator is not a specification that motherboard maker release, so you cannot find it in any manual, or know what generator model you are using from your motherboard model.
I tried it before, what I did was open up the casing and search for the chip. Its not easy, because there is so many chip. You have to find base on the model you see in the Clockgen list, they have different brand. Find for a chip that have a model number similar to those model number you see. Of course you cannot search for each model, but find base on the first 2 or 3 alphabet. Like CYxxxx, or ICSxxxx... you just look for a chip that got a serial number that start with CY or ICS, or other (see what is in the list)

They are very small chip

But this is just for fun. If you can find the exact chip, then only it will work. But its hard to OC much also by just changing the clock frequency.

Best is to find any cheap mobo  that allow you to overclock from BIOS setting. Should be able to find around RM200 or so
yes this mobo dont have a oc features

This post has been edited by zulhelmi5195: Apr 21 2010, 03:30 PM
TSzulhelmi5195
post Apr 21 2010, 03:29 PM

479 posts

when i oc the cpu from 1.8mhz to 2.0 mhz it restart why.. im using a clockgen

ardiles
post Apr 21 2010, 03:32 PM

374 posts

Isn't ICS-name chip is for temperature monitoring, electricity stuff? Correct me if I'm wrong.
rickyslc
post Apr 21 2010, 03:35 PM

maybe ur power put no enough.. if no the power problem then will be the mhz that u adjust no suitable...
Hiruka
post Apr 21 2010, 03:37 PM

Game's Life
1,342 posts

The best still manually configure inside BIOS dude. Even im not trusting OC Tools that come inside my Mobo package.. whistling.gif
Sarbath
post Apr 21 2010, 03:43 PM

.:The Power Of Love:.
1,241 posts

QUOTE(zulhelmi5195 @ Apr 21 2010, 03:54 PM)
Basically OC failure can be more factor in it,unstable vcore also can cause your OC failure to stable.. Did u tweak your vcore b4 u hit 2.0 ? If minor OC dont change the vcore.. U use more multiplier setting or more FSB setting ? and remember also when you increased up your FSB, your ram FSB also increased up so be careful ^-^ , dont exceed your ram max ^-^

This post has been edited by Sarbath: Apr 21 2010, 03:48 PM
digitalove_70s
post Apr 21 2010, 03:44 PM

ore-wa gandamu!
1,353 posts

probably TS can spend a lil bit on proven OC mobo
my pick is from gigabyte, and lex prolly wud agree too
faizal87
post Apr 21 2010, 04:07 PM

piko piko pong pong
1,384 posts

mhz or ghz?
cultivate urself change in the value in bios,
using software usually lead to bsod
busted85
post Apr 21 2010, 04:24 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(ardiles @ Apr 21 2010, 03:32 PM)
Isn't ICS-name chip is for temperature monitoring, electricity stuff? Correct me if I'm wrong.
Maybe they produce a clock generator controller too?

I'm not sure, but there is ICS brand clock generator
http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:ICS_952018AF.jpg

kingkingyyk
post Apr 21 2010, 05:52 PM

15,694 posts

My choice to oc will be Asus board. happy.gif
bryanyeo87
post Apr 22 2010, 10:34 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(busted85 @ Apr 21 2010, 03:08 PM)

Why is it not a right tool?

QUOTE(ardiles @ Apr 21 2010, 03:32 PM)
ICS is an OEM manufacturer, they make alot of chips from pll clockgens all the up to intel integrated graphics.

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Apr 21 2010, 05:52 PM)
My choice to oc will be Asus board.  happy.gif
Why does fanboyism got to do with it now?

@TS, you wanna play on an Intel 945 based board? its a lil tough, but it is doable.but first i need you to download cpuz and run it, else we wouldnt know what cpu youre using no?

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Apr 22 2010, 10:35 AM
idigi
post Apr 23 2010, 01:52 AM

mintak tolong.. nak tahu.
mcm mana nak unlock AMD phenom II x2 555 BE ?
i guna Mobo MSI 785GM-E51. Ram ddr3 2GB , Graphic Ati 4860.. thumbup.gif
muhdhafiz
post Apr 23 2010, 01:53 AM

السلام شركات المؤسسة (PG0229187-X)
604 posts

buat poll utk apa?
set dalam bios.
enable mana yg patut
idigi
post Apr 23 2010, 01:54 AM

mintak tolong.. notworthy.gif nak tahu.

Operating System: Windows 7 ultimate 32bit
Processor: AMD phenom II x2 555 BE
Memory: kingston ddr3 2048MB RAM
Graphic Card name: Sapphire ATI 4860
Casing: EMAG black

boleh i unlock AMD phenom II x2 555 BE to AMD phenom II x4 ??
thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by idigi: Apr 23 2010, 02:08 AM
idigi
post Apr 23 2010, 02:14 AM

QUOTE(muhdhafiz @ Apr 23 2010, 01:53 AM)
buat poll utk apa?
set dalam bios.
enable mana yg patut
ops.. salah ... sorry2..
enable mana yg patut ?? mcm mana tu bro shakehead.gif
muhdhafiz
post Apr 23 2010, 02:22 AM

السلام شركات المؤسسة (PG0229187-X)
604 posts

unlock core [enable] <<< ada kot option ni
TSzulhelmi5195
post Apr 24 2010, 01:09 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(faizal87 @ Apr 21 2010, 04:07 PM)
mhz or ghz?
cultivate urself change in the value in bios,
using software usually lead to bsod
of couse ghz.. sory.. not mhz

Added on April 24, 2010, 1:12 am
QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Apr 22 2010, 10:34 AM)
Why is it not a right tool?
ICS is an OEM manufacturer, they make alot of chips from pll clockgens all the up to intel integrated graphics.
Why does fanboyism got to do with it now?
@TS, you wanna play on an Intel 945 based board? its a lil tough, but it is doable.but first i need you to download cpuz and run it, else we wouldnt know what cpu youre using no?
this is my result

This post has been edited by zulhelmi5195: Apr 24 2010, 01:12 AM
makoshark
post Apr 24 2010, 01:41 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(idigi @ Apr 23 2010, 01:54 AM)
mintak tolong..  notworthy.gif nak tahu.

Operating System: Windows 7 ultimate 32bit
Processor: AMD phenom II x2 555 BE
Memory: kingston ddr3 2048MB RAM
Graphic Card name: Sapphire ATI 4860
Casing: EMAG black

boleh i unlock AMD phenom II x2 555 BE to AMD phenom II x4 ??
thumbup.gif
ACC-enabled
firedemon
post Apr 25 2010, 12:27 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(zulhelmi5195 @ Apr 21 2010, 03:54 PM)
not stable at overclocking stage..
DaRkSyThE
post Apr 25 2010, 07:15 PM

4,809 posts

answer is simple, your overclock is not stable.
im gonna have to close this thread before more spam occurs. PM me if anything, if not refer to the relevant Intel/AMD threads.

0.0267sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:35 AM