Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

geckookceg
post Jan 3 2013, 11:31 PM

26 posts

hello sifus, not sure if its the right thread..

im planning on doing dioramas for my figurine collection.. need help with some things..

1) base of diorama
- i read plywood is strong enuff, can get from popular..

2) building material
- saw/read that foam core is usually used besides other materials.. Juz wondering where can i get these foam? I tink normal Styrofoam is not able to the same... Foam Core

- for making trees, found some alternative where you can make own trees.. juz wondering if woodlands scenic materials can be obtained in malaysia? Can recommend me?
- another component for the trees sifu, this material, where can find in malaysia? I tink its called polyester fibre... Tree making

- for water effect, there is realistic water material.. but seems expensive.. can i know where to get the sealant as in the link provided? something that takes bit time to dry, about 1-2 hours.. so that can sculpt a bit.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IFOpc8Q6a7M

- white glue that is normally used, is it pva glue?

3) paint/coat material
- water colour should be ok i tink.. but is acrylic paint good for dioramas? Is it expensive for diorama purposes? What is a good acrylic paint brand?
- noticed some people sprayed their finished dioramas with varnish... there is no harm right sifus?

appreciate any recommendations/suggestions..

0.0394sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:49 AM