Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

dante3
post Dec 20 2010, 12:45 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Dec 18 2010, 02:51 PM)
anyone know where's the best price and best place to get pla plate? thanks.
plenty of it in timemachine berjaya times square. or order online in msg2u.com

wanna ask pros here, i want to get a very specific color skin tone, where can i get the color mixture chart? for example, 20% red 20% yellow, 10% white, 50% flesh? for reference?

dante3
post Dec 20 2010, 06:01 PM

167 posts

hehe, thanks for the answers bro rayloke. wink.gif

to advocado: paint peels off after heavy stretches/scratches. handle with care lor. Or, i once read in jin saotome's guide, the pro marvel legends customizer, he said he uses very thin layer of super glue to protect the paint and let it dry for few days especially the joints. he customizes transformers n marvel legends.

from my personal experience, glossy/matte/clear spray/paint also works. it makes your paint stick onto the surface

This post has been edited by dante3: Dec 20 2010, 06:43 PM
dante3
post Dec 20 2010, 07:25 PM

167 posts

IMHO, i think, the factory uses some kind of special chemical paint on some certain areas. i accidentally pour thinner onto my marvel legend figure. there are 2 section areas being spilled. 1st section is black, another section is yellow. the black color peels off completely, but the yellow color still stay onto the surface onmoved. so this led me to believe, the black color is acrylic, and the yellow paint is special chemical.

try pouring thinner onto your figures today, tell me your results. thanks.
dante3
post Dec 21 2010, 08:21 PM

167 posts

just try spray gloss paint onto ur toy la. the paint will stick onto the surface (from my experience). just do it!! smile.gif
dante3
post Dec 21 2010, 09:48 PM

167 posts

ooh !! u meant that !! haiz... that is very soft rubber la. its not even a plastic. biggrin.gif

never painted a soft rubber before, cant help u, sorry. smile.gif
but i still think gloss/matte will make your paint stick on rubber lor. why dont u try on rubber bands?

or send a complaint letter to rubber band company saying that u suspect the rubber band colors contain some chemical toxic, and ask them what paint do they use? who knows? maybe they will try 2 bribe u with a large sum of money and ask u to not to reveal the secret?

This post has been edited by dante3: Dec 21 2010, 10:03 PM
dante3
post Dec 23 2010, 07:04 PM

167 posts

hi, may i ask how to get the tiny silver dots effect on this awesome blue mecha?

This post has been edited by dante3: Dec 23 2010, 07:04 PM

0.0446sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:55 PM