Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

zheyuen
post Sep 16 2011, 07:03 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 16 2011, 04:22 PM)
yes, gundam markers or even normal markers can paint anythg, any parts

even u wan paint whole kit with jz markers oso can, but at ur own risk la
not easy to get even paint layer over a large surface(ive learnt a hard lesson  sweat.gif )
n markers paint r very fragile, easily chip off
lol. will definitely NOT use marker to paint the entire gunpla. laugh.gif .
zheyuen
post Sep 18 2011, 11:43 PM

206 posts

anyone here knows how to recreate a vfin? lost my vfin for my f91.
zheyuen
post Sep 20 2011, 05:08 PM

206 posts

guys, which paint at tamiya underground is suitable for spray painting white on Gundams? i heard tamiya spray paints got various lines, i dunno which one is the right one.
zheyuen
post Sep 29 2011, 09:04 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Sep 29 2011, 08:52 PM)

what did u paint them with?
zheyuen
post Sep 30 2011, 10:18 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Sep 30 2011, 09:27 AM)
a mix of mr color and also no brand acrylic paints. white and metallic colors are done with mr color. the rest are acrylic
wow, mr color as in thinner based ones or water based ones?

that's some pretty steady hands u got there.
zheyuen
post Oct 7 2011, 08:11 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(ascentic @ Oct 7 2011, 06:08 PM)
Some nice spray cans to share smile.gif

Khameleon Spray
1K Top Coat
Putty Primer
Plastic Primer

Imagine this color in our gunpla  drool.gif  Gloosy!
omai where can we find these? lol.

This post has been edited by zheyuen: Oct 7 2011, 08:12 PM
zheyuen
post Oct 8 2011, 11:27 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(ascentic @ Oct 8 2011, 08:46 AM)
Khameleon Spray = Dunno how much.. never buy before
Candy Blue = RM 11 to RM 13 each
Mettalic = RM 10
1K Top Coat and Plastic Primer = RM 17 each.. smile.gif

is really big bottle~ I bought it at Prima Setapak, off Jln Genting Klang.
dun have it anywhere else ke? haha.

btw, is it easy to control like pylox?
zheyuen
post Oct 8 2011, 09:13 PM

206 posts

only place i can be around is amcorp mall that area lol. if u guys spot this khameleon spray there tell me. Lol.
zheyuen
post Oct 18 2011, 04:40 PM

206 posts

guys, any idea what white color spray can are best for gunpla and where can i get them?
zheyuen
post Oct 18 2011, 06:48 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(tytroum @ Oct 18 2011, 06:46 PM)
u can try use B-518 Mr.WHITE SURFACER 1000 (SPRAY) @ rm30.
wow. using surfacer as white? can work? then how bout surfacer as grey also. because the grey i have now is sub-par.

This post has been edited by zheyuen: Oct 18 2011, 06:48 PM
zheyuen
post Oct 19 2011, 12:42 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Oct 19 2011, 11:45 AM)
if you're looking at spray for modelling purposes only, can look at tamiya's. otherwise, lots of people have suggested pylox industrial paint. of course, the tamiya's is a lot more expensive, and in smaller quantity as well. but pigments are smaller..
iinm, mr white surfacer used as a coating to make the base color white before painting. as i understand, colors like blue, red, yellow all stand out better if you paint it over a white base. most primer are grey in color, so what mr white surfacer gives you is a coat after primer, to make it white, before putting on your bright colors.

i think the risk of using a white surfacer as paint is that the finish will be a lot rougher, so unless you wanna go for that look, best use specific paint..
i used pylox white, but pylox white is pretty bad for me. the other colors are actually very good. just white and grey isn't as nice as the rest either.

tamiya...i heard they have a lot of sub branches like aircraft etc. which should be the right one? what will be written on the bottle?
zheyuen
post Oct 22 2011, 11:27 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Oct 21 2011, 08:26 PM)
http://www.a2zhobbies.com/Badger-Propel-13...p/bad-50202.htm

the propel can
i wonder can get in Malaysia?
i will ask tkting about this
ask jor please inform us. haha.
zheyuen
post Dec 28 2011, 09:00 PM

206 posts

question guys, what brand industrial spray paint has the best looking gold color?
zheyuen
post Feb 2 2012, 05:54 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Kenero @ Feb 2 2012, 12:14 PM)
Got Citadel colour paint which is very nice as I saw the paints and also saw ppl using in midvalley. bought some but have not paint and have no skill in painting nor do i have my paint tools yet...
Malaysia got sell Citadel paints?
zheyuen
post Feb 4 2012, 04:40 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Feb 2 2012, 11:23 PM)
a black under coat doesn't dull the primer, but in fact gives it a heavier metallic feel. as for how long, as long as it is dry, you're good to put the second layer on already. perhaps you might wanna wait about 30 mins to be safe?

if you're looking for cheap, nothing beats industrial spray cans. i think there was discussion a few pages back on what brands are good. otherwise, if you're willing to spend more money, get tamiya sprays. cost a lot more tho.. if you're going for titanium finish, what noysan said of primer > black > silver>clear red would work..
got. i found some last time in midvalley, next to the gym. its a comic book store. sorry i can't remember the name of the shop tongue.gif
OH! the one with miniatures right?
zheyuen
post Feb 10 2012, 03:45 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Feb 10 2012, 01:10 PM)

LIGHT SENSOR?! WTH HOW HE DO THAT?! shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif .
zheyuen
post Feb 10 2012, 06:42 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Feb 10 2012, 06:40 PM)
That's a fake China brand CCTV i gave him. Basically all the circuit n wires r connected ady

just modify according to it......

because of that, he even scratch build the chest n shoulder; making it like formania....

check out malaysia modeller league facebook group.
wow... just wow. you guys have insane ideas. =D. epic.
zheyuen
post Jun 30 2012, 11:48 PM

206 posts

guys, do you know where to get large styrene sheets, around A3 size? Most of the time the ones I found are a4 or smaller... anywhere to get the larger ones? Quality lower nevermind, cheaper the better. haha.

0.0436sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:16 AM