I've mention previously. I'm using GAIA thinner with Mr. Hobby paints. No problem so far. Just use it like Mr. Hobby Thinner.
Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3
Sep 24 2010, 02:35 PM
11 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
I've mention previously. I'm using GAIA thinner with Mr. Hobby paints. No problem so far. Just use it like Mr. Hobby Thinner.
Oct 5 2010, 12:12 AM
Anybody try this before?
http://www.hlj.com/product/TRS89602 Saw in the picture that the brush is soak straight into the bottle. Meaning the liquid is reusable even if it's totally dirty? |
Oct 31 2010, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(stanleysum @ Oct 31 2010, 03:07 PM) yup.. i actually willing to invest but may take few months of saving before i can afford one with all those necessary accessories Trust me ... once you start using your AB ... you wont be stopping at Top Coat only. You will be poised to start painting ur kits since I'm quite lazy and not into painting (at least not for now). the main purpose for the AB will be top coating only do u think it is still a wise idea? I even use my AB to clean my keyboard Once you have an AB, you will definitely not using it for top coating only. So conclusion, extremely wise choice |
Nov 30 2010, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(Bonchi @ Nov 30 2010, 08:49 AM) wanna ask.. will it be alright if i use tamiya acrylic and water as thinner for airbrushing? and for Mr.Color what thinner is suitable cuz it didnt work with alchohol :/ Please do some reading before asking :ive never used my airbrush for acrylic before http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=30089494 (This thread was pinned right on top) Arcrylic is not a very strong paint. You might end up with alot of paint chip easily if you are painting mechas. |
Dec 15 2010, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(lfcreds91 @ Dec 13 2010, 09:37 PM) hi there, i just ordered the 00 qan[t] kit......my 1st Your question is kind of vague here. Whether the tools are enough or not is totally up to you.just wanna know to complete assemble the kit, just snapkit........ i ordered the following tools, is it sufficient. or does it require anything else? 1. GM01 gundam marker fine tip 2. Mineshima D-4 SEIKO Side Cutter 3. Olfa 10B Art Knife so will this be enough? or is it unnecessary in your thoughts? Some people just use normal art knife + nail clipper is enough to snap fit a kit. And some uses tamiya side cutter, sand paper, xacto knife etc etc just to snap fit a kit. It all depends on preference. If it's your first, I would imagine a cutter from stationary shop and a nail clipper is more than enough. Gundam Marker for panel lining is fine. And this has been re-posted for the 2 million time, and I'm posting it again for the 2 million and 1 time: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/488910 |
Dec 18 2010, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(benedict1213 @ Dec 17 2010, 06:14 PM) hi sifu sifu, master master.. Hmm ... now where should we start.i'm new in modeling and i'm interested to get a compressor and air brush kit. but i am not familiar with that.. Please guide me and what compressor and air brush brand should i get? what is moisture trap about? how much would cost for those compressor and air brush set? thanks very much! Where to buy : 1. http://mgs2u.com/shop/browse.php?mode=a&atrfnbr=10 2. http://www.bbs.afhobby.com/viewthread.php?...&extra=page%3D1 Most of the compressor in our market are from china Simply put, compressor is the motor and pump air. Compressor got 2 types, oil and oil-less. The name are self explanatory in terms of their different. Most of the compressor nowadays are oil-less. So you dun have to worry about finding wat type of oil to refill. Then comes air tank. Some compressor sell with air tank and some don't. Air tank basically stores your compressed air. So you get a constance flow of air with a constance pressure. Better compressor will auto start pumping air when air tank is low, and auto stop when air tank is full or it has reach it's desire pressure. The pressure gauge controls the pressure that is coming out from the compressor/air tank. Usually for modelling, I use about 10~15 psi (pressure measurement). The higher you set, the stronger the air "burst out" (spray paint) from your air brush. Usually pressure gauge is a twisting nob, clockwise for higher pressure, anti for lower. Moisture trap is usually attached at the pressure gauge. It's a glass container that traps moisture, making the air that flows to your air brush nice and dry. So you paint wont get mix with water. Humid country like Malaysia, you will need a moisture trap. Then your airbrush. usually comes in 3 nozzle size. 0.5, 0.3 and 0.2 mm. The smaller the number, the thinner the spray line can be. For starters, 0.3 is good enough for a try out. It's not too big not too small. So conclusion, get a compressor that has sensor for auto stop, got air tank, pressure gauge, moisture trap. Most importantly, not too noisy. Ofcos, the final decision is still based on budget. Added on December 18, 2010, 1:10 am QUOTE(golbeza @ Dec 17 2010, 10:26 PM) guys, are there any conditions to spraying gold? So far I find GaiaNote Star Bright gold to be the best gold paint around. In fact, most of the metallic color from Gaia is very nice.is there any place where i can actually find "chrome" gold & silver color? thanks But if you got money, you can go for alclad II paints, cost you about RM60 for a bottle of 30ml ( I think Another method is try chrome powder. I see sample so far, very good result. Master Rayloke has demonstrated here before. Go dig back to some older post. You can get those powder from MGS, AFHobby, ICW. These are the places I know got sell. Application is a bit troublesome. You need a nice gloss black base. The gloss-ier the better. Then rub rub the powder on top. And taadaa, chrome. And i mean like those car bumper kinda chrome. Chrome till you can see your own reflection. (I'm not exaggerating) Then for gold, you can spray a layer of clear orange with clear yellow. This post has been edited by inquisytor: Dec 18 2010, 01:14 AM |
Feb 27 2011, 05:04 PM
Flat top coat does make the surface looks grainy. Tha's how it creates a matte finish.
But dunno how grainy your situation is, it might be also caused by too thick of coating. Show a picture and we can help you more. But generally, never do flat coating during wet weather. Spray approx. 30 cm away from your model. Try moving the spray can around so the liquid won't get accumulated at 1 spot. Most important, don't over do it |
Apr 24 2011, 12:27 PM
^ Moved to Fraser Business Park, last I check.
| Change to: | 0.0378sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:58 PM |