Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

Noysan
post Oct 20 2011, 09:27 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Oct 19 2011, 05:38 PM)
do liquid masking do better than normal tape one?
how to remove the liquid masking after dried?
They say its good for masking hard to reach/ tiny crevices on the figure. And also good if your masking curve edges since its in liquid form.I still haven't try it though. I need it coz I'm detailing my dmk02 bumblebee.

QUOTE(shauno @ Oct 19 2011, 05:41 PM)
liquid masking can be more convenient, but can also be more troublesome. easier in terms of applying, but more troublesome when it comes to removing.
Yup, this is what I've read after reading some forums. It's difficult to remove and if your not lucky, some portion of the paint will peel.
Noysan
post Oct 20 2011, 01:01 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Oct 20 2011, 09:53 AM)
It is actually not that difficult to remove, just use tweezer..
DO NOT leave it until the next day to remove maybe because that's why ppl complain...
About the paint being peel off as well, it never happen to me. If you have a layer of primer it won't happen..
You're suppose to remove it after a few hours but i remove it right after i finish painting.
If you leave it for a week, it'll harden therefore difficulty removing...
Just sharing my experience. smile.gif
nice share. smile.gif I'll try and copy your technique..

Noysan
post Oct 22 2011, 12:05 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Oct 21 2011, 07:17 PM)
Airbrush

hmm, i found this great deal
this one can run without compressor right? but still need propellant cans(whats that?)

i might buy it for top coat and surfacer use only
its that okay?
At the end of the day, you need to consider which one more economical.
How much would be the cost of compressed gas?Is it readily available?How long my hobbies gonna last?
These are the things you need to consider. If were talking term, i don't think these is a good idea. Better
invest on a good AB/compressor imho. smile.gif

Noysan
post Nov 30 2011, 11:45 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(naith @ Nov 28 2011, 11:07 AM)
For those of you who have used Mr. Resin Primer (Spray Can) before, is it suppose to appear transparent when applied? I bought a can a few months back but only used it today. When I sprayed it on the resin parts, it looks transparent, as if I was applying a top coat.
should be gray. did you shake before use???
anyway, I got q here. where did you bought your resin kits??? I want to build my first resin kits.

Noysan
post Nov 30 2011, 08:56 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(naith @ Nov 30 2011, 05:04 PM)
I just realized the gray was really light during the first coat. (couldn't see the color when I was spraying it at first)

I bought my kit from a fellow forumer here. I think his nick is agent man in pain.
Thanks, I saw his website... notworthy.gif

QUOTE(shauno @ Nov 30 2011, 05:09 PM)
after looking at some really poor quality resin parts, i highly recommend that you actually are able to look at the kit first before making a purchase.

you'll wanna look out for any poor detailing as a result of the mold casting too many times..

resin kits are already quite expensive. better make sure before buying..
Thanks for the heads up man.. smile.gif
really hard to find a physical shop here in Penang, so I have no other choice but to buy online.
found this site seems ok.
http://www.e2046.com/

Noysan
post Dec 1 2011, 02:37 PM

156 posts

Really nice info for those who wanted to start their resin kit hobby like me. nod.gif
I'll definitely try this for a change, looks kinda challenging.. sweat.gif

I've emailed modelland if they're providing resin kits, still waiting for the reply..
Mind sharing me the online store you bought your kits?

This post has been edited by Noysan: Dec 1 2011, 02:37 PM
Noysan
post Dec 1 2011, 03:25 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Dec 1 2011, 03:11 PM)
where are you from? tkting does carry resin kits, and they're of rather decent quality. he does post too, so much easier if you're not from kl..
Penang.. yeah, i saw his online store too. I'm thinking of getting a couple of kits from him.
I'll be outstation for Singapore next week till Jan, so definitely no time for resin builds. sweat.gif

Oh btw, mgs2u is having sale... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Noysan: Dec 1 2011, 03:32 PM
Noysan
post Dec 8 2011, 05:26 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(naith @ Dec 8 2011, 04:46 PM)
Just wondering, for those that apply paint using handbrush, is it ok to pour some Mr. Color Leveling Thinner directly into the Mr. Color bottle of paint and paint directly out of the bottle?
have you finish painting your gk?
Noysan
post Dec 8 2011, 10:35 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(naith @ Dec 8 2011, 07:00 PM)
Haven't really started yet. Sprayed it with the base color already (black). But now planning to touch up here and there smile.gif
i see, i see.. snap some pics after your done.. smile.gif
Noysan
post Jan 11 2012, 05:21 PM

156 posts

Anyone knows where to buy mini compressor in Penang. Please let me know, my tamiya basic spray work is dying.
Broken twice after doing this project of mine. I was able to fix it but I don't think it will last any longer. sad.gif

Anyway, here's my completed Spiderman Kit

Noysan
post Jan 12 2012, 01:11 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(gunpla student @ Jan 11 2012, 11:39 PM)
HI all the lovely guys, may I know where can I get top coat flat version for my Gundam?

Note: I've looked for it in Time Square, & E@curve.

Buying online need to wait for 55 to 60 WORKING DAYS due to the spray can is dangerous goods. =\

Added on January 11, 2012, 11:40 pm
Very nice work bro!
Better try LYN Trade zone for your top coat.
I've tried google, still no luck on finding mini compressor shop in Penang sad.gif

Noysan
post Jan 16 2012, 11:46 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Jan 14 2012, 05:23 PM)
This is seriously awesome work!!!! thumbup.gif
Thanks. notworthy.gif my compressor broked because of this.. sweat.gif
Noysan
post Jan 18 2012, 10:39 AM

156 posts

You've got enamel, unless your paint is flat you need to spray some flat top coat in it to blend with your figure. Your figure looks flat finish.
You may or may not, it depends if you want to heat the can or not. Just don't spray after rain or humid condition.
Yes, coating will definitely affect the surface.
Noysan
post Jan 23 2012, 09:14 AM

156 posts

just sharing my latest kits. smile.gif

Jim Lee's Cylops

This post has been edited by Noysan: Jan 23 2012, 09:15 AM
Noysan
post Jan 24 2012, 08:53 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jan 23 2012, 11:28 PM)
nice work bro.. you're really a big fan of Marvel..  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(Tiger I @ Jan 24 2012, 12:16 AM)
that brings back wonderful memories when i read the comic by brother bought
very nice detailed work notworthy.gif
Thanks guys. I'm a sucker when it comes to marvel especially Hulk and Juggernaut sweat.gif

QUOTE(copycat013 @ Jan 23 2012, 10:38 PM)
i hope i'm in the right thread . . .  sweat.gif

what i did so far for Assassin's Creed ( Ezio ) motif Gundam . . .

warning big sized image . . .
sweet mod. you nailed the enzio action posed.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Noysan: Jan 24 2012, 08:57 AM
Noysan
post Jan 29 2012, 09:37 AM

156 posts

wow, nice color scheme dude.. thumbup.gif there are rooms for improvement like the covering of seam lines but definitely your going in the right direction.
Keep painting, familiarize yourself on brush stroke and you'll be pro in no time. Repetition is the key nod.gif
Noysan
post Jan 30 2012, 09:15 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 29 2012, 05:16 PM)
this is the first and last kit i paint lol... this makes me rage hahaha during assembling and heck... i dont have time hehe ><
haha..I know, this kit is a pain in the butt to build. Snap fitting doesn't apply to this kit, needs super glue to hold it together. sweat.gif

Noysan
post Jan 30 2012, 01:12 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 30 2012, 11:04 AM)
got a lot cacat-ness there...even the tank didnt hold properlly for the top part there...lazy to redo ><
this kit is no bandai quality, not even close. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jan 30 2012, 12:05 PM)
Hi guys, I'm attempting dry-brushing for my MG Delta+ inner frame.

I have got this Mr. Color (28), gunmetal paint with me. If I try to dabbed my brush directly into the paint bottle and dry it on tissue, the paint gets dried up very fast and.. it's in pieces.

Should I dilute it first? I have got both Mr. Color thinner and levering thinner. Which 1 should I go with?

When I dry brush, I thinned my paint first.

Noysan
post Feb 2 2012, 01:32 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Feb 2 2012, 10:19 AM)
hi everyone, i'm rather new at this painting thing because so far i've only done straight build for gunplas biggrin.gif
so i decided to pick up some painting.. i recently found a vid on youtube painting a normal Sinanju into something of a titanium effect.. the person in the vid used paints i think from Games Workshop such as Mithril Silver, Burnished Gold, Chaos Black etc.. and for the red parts, the person used Mithril Silver on the bottom and coated with Tamiya Clear Red
well i don't think we have games workshop products here but any advice on good paint colors and where to find them? i would definitely like to try my hand at this, although i can only use handbrush as i don't have any airbrushes with me.
also i intend to do some reverse washing for the gold trims
spray might be an option too but i think handbrush would be cheaper? any advice on paint selections, technique and where to find paints for specifically an MG Sinanju for now would be very appreciated!
normal spray can can be used to achieve metallic effects.
used primer-->black-->silver-->candy red.. The more layer of candy red you apply, the darker tone it gets.
Noysan
post Feb 2 2012, 11:24 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Feb 2 2012, 05:37 PM)
thanks for your suggestion! but if i put black on the primer would it dull the silver coat? and how long do i have to wait in between the coats you suggested?
it won't, but you can straight away paint silver after primer if you prefer. I use anchor brand takes around 10-15mins to dry and safe to hold but not much to pressure because paint is not cured completely

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0538sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:21 PM