Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

General_Nic
post Aug 29 2011, 08:31 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Aug 29 2011, 05:59 PM)
what type of markers do you use for panel lining? Do you prefer water based or oil based markers?
both also use
oil based creates darker n more prominant lines, but harder to clean up excess ink than water based
water based create fine lines, good for ppl for hate thick panel lines, but tends to fade over time if no topcoat applied

IINM, the water based Gundam marker only comes in set with other colours in a box, not sold separately
so its kinda hard to get

QUOTE(Fattyman @ Aug 29 2011, 08:23 PM)
anyone here have using Gundam Paint Markers???...what different with other normal markers???...the price of Gundam markers so expensive...have any special???...thx...
nod.gif
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 29 2011, 01:33 AM)
the colour choices different lor
normal red, blue, gree, yellow markers, wont be similar to Gundam Red, Gundam Blue, Gundam Yellow, etc  tongue.gif
of cos got Metallic Colours oso where normal markers dont have

IINM, normal markers cant squeeze out the ink like Gundam Markers when u wanna touch up small area using brush
This post has been edited by General_Nic: Aug 29 2011, 08:32 PM
zheyuen
post Aug 29 2011, 08:53 PM

206 posts

guise, i was spraying my gundam without goggles on (bad idea) and suddenly to wind changed and the mist flew towards my right eye. It stung for a moment and i flushed it for awhile immediately and it's fine now. is it okay or do i need medical attention?
Tiger I
post Aug 29 2011, 09:51 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Aug 29 2011, 08:53 PM)
guise, i was spraying my gundam without goggles on (bad idea) and suddenly to wind changed and the mist flew towards my right eye. It stung for a moment and i flushed it for awhile immediately and it's fine now. is it okay or do i need medical attention?
Good thing I and short sighted, always have to wear specs. But in your case, I reckon you might need to clean your eye under tap of flowing water. If any symptoms arises, do seek out medical attention.
kumanosuke
post Aug 30 2011, 10:36 AM

717 posts

guys,

i just used a Mr. Hobby lacquer thinner to wipe away the paint on Zeta's ankle and some of my putty had been wiped away by the lacquer thinner.

Do i need to re-putty again ? (I know lacquer thinner thins putty)

how do you find out whether the putty within the seamline still there after i wipe the part with lacquer thinner ?

This post has been edited by kumanosuke: Aug 30 2011, 10:37 AM
amduser
post Aug 30 2011, 07:06 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 26 2011, 12:41 PM)
im still confused whether Mr. Color clear paints needed to mix with thinner  rclxub.gif
cos i c on the web ppl paint directly out of bottle
i find that mr color gloss paint is quite watery out of the bottle, but i still pour 1 or 2 drop out then mix thinner to it for easier painting

semi gloss and flat might need to add more thinner since they are very thick when out of the bottle

metallic is the same as gloss, not sure about clear type paint, i guess is same as gloss too

Added on August 30, 2011, 7:20 pmi think the industrial top coat that i used has corrode my kit, i tried to remove the top coat on the kit include the base paint (i soak in lacquer thinner and rub it), i found that the kit surface is damage, it does not appear as smooth as it used to

then after that i tried to paint on it again, it is very hard to paint because the surface is not smooth anymore, then after done painting, the corroded part seem to dry faster than other part

anyone has experienced this before? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by amduser: Aug 30 2011, 07:20 PM
General_Nic
post Sep 1 2011, 04:01 PM

3,508 posts

guess adding thinner may make the paint last longer

what kind of industrial topcoat u used? ive used Nippon Pylox clear n no problem for me

btw, was thking issit possible to use Pye Puttyfilla to substitute hobby putty? hmm.gif
rayloke
post Sep 1 2011, 11:45 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 26 2011, 12:41 PM)
im still confused whether Mr. Color clear paints needed to mix with thinner  rclxub.gif
cos i c on the web ppl paint directly out of bottle
hmmm..... i think many people, mebbe they r outta school for too long or something, think this hobby thinner thingy too complicated.

Bro, whether to thin or not to thin, imagine this: remember water color or poster color in school? When u open up one bottle buncho poster color, do u mix water with it? if the poster color in the bottle is still watery, u dont mix with water. If the poster color has become dry or too thick for yourbrush to paint on paper, then u thin it with water.

Yes, it might sound like i m using a very stupid example, but yes, hobby paint (including clear) applys to this theory too.

Again, thin enough, no need add thinner. Not thin enough, add thinner.
General_Nic
post Sep 2 2011, 12:14 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Sep 1 2011, 11:45 PM)
hmmm..... i think many people, mebbe they r outta school for too long or something, think this hobby thinner thingy too complicated.

Bro, whether to thin or not to thin, imagine this: remember water color or poster color in school? When u open up one bottle buncho poster color, do u mix water with it? if the poster color in the bottle is still watery, u dont mix with water. If the poster color has become dry or too thick for yourbrush to paint on paper, then u thin it with water.

Yes, it might sound like i m using a very stupid example, but yes, hobby paint  (including clear) applys to this theory too.
Again, thin enough, no need add thinner. Not thin enough, add thinner.
thx for the example, i can understand
though it doesnt reli apply for me, cos all the water colour ive used r tube squeeze types, definitely must add water laugh.gif
daydreaming
post Sep 2 2011, 08:24 AM

555 posts

for coating....which one is better, water or oil based? :| for oil, i scare very messy. ahhahaa

my gundam panel line marker somehow cacat already the tip. cannot work properly and the tip acts like a paintbrush now. so big and not suitable for panel lining at all. sad.gif my grey one still okay though. aih. bought one 0.1 black marker from art shop but i think that might not b permanent type. coz it gets wiped off very easily. sad.gif
immpulse
post Sep 7 2011, 09:27 AM

Anyone here can take commission work for my MG Astray Blue Frame? The box start collecting dust already.. hehehe..

This post has been edited by immpulse: Sep 7 2011, 09:33 AM
golbeza
post Sep 9 2011, 11:37 PM

58 posts

guys, where can i buy this marker? heard it's better than normal gundam panel lining marker icon_question.gif

akoxix
post Sep 10 2011, 12:27 AM

QUOTE(golbeza @ Sep 9 2011, 11:37 PM)
guys, where can i buy this marker? heard it's better than normal gundam panel lining marker  icon_question.gif

Hi. Try search tytroum. He sell this.. and lots more.. haha.. but, he sell 0.02..
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1938419&hl=
That's his thread.. smile.gif tq..
shauno
post Sep 10 2011, 06:55 PM

249 posts

otherwise, tkting also has stock.
akoxix
post Sep 11 2011, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(shauno @ Sep 10 2011, 06:55 PM)
otherwise, tkting also has stock.
haha.. that's also true.. rclxms.gif
zoidiect
post Sep 12 2011, 02:22 PM

yangkuo
post Sep 15 2011, 11:32 AM

90 posts

i plan to use a combination of Tamiya spray paint (synthetic lacquer according to their website) and Gundam markers (lacquer?) to paint a SD Sangokuden Gundam

i thought i might need to handpaint a little using the paint from the markers so i decided to get some Lacquer Thinner (T-06s BRUSH MASTER).

now if i were to get some Tamiya bottle paints for painting touch-ups or panel lining should i go with Acrylic or Enamel ? can i use the same thinner for both these types of paint ? how about the color bottles from Mr.Hobby line ? can they work with that thinner too ?

appreciate any suggestions thanks ! newbie here *hehe*

This post has been edited by yangkuo: Sep 15 2011, 11:38 AM
shauno
post Sep 15 2011, 11:53 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(yangkuo @ Sep 15 2011, 11:32 AM)
i plan to use a combination of Tamiya spray paint (synthetic lacquer according to their website) and Gundam markers (lacquer?) to paint a SD Sangokuden Gundam

i thought i might need to handpaint a little using the paint from the markers so i decided to get some Lacquer Thinner (T-06s BRUSH MASTER).

now if i were to get some Tamiya bottle paints for painting touch-ups or panel lining should i go with Acrylic or Enamel ?  can i use the same thinner for both these types of paint ?  how about the color bottles from Mr.Hobby line ?  can they work with that thinner too ?

appreciate any suggestions thanks !  newbie here  *hehe*
ok, you've got half of that right. tmaiya has acrylic and enamel paints, and they have their own thinners. acrylic you can use either water of an acrylic thinner, whilst enamel's thinner is turpentine, so you can use tamiya's enamel thinner or zippo fluid.

the thinner you have is a lacquer thinner, so it works fine on either mr color or gaia paints. they're the same base, so no worries there.

as a rule of thumb, panel line paints should be weaker than the base coat. so for instance, if you've painted the kit in enamel colors, you shouldn't use lacquer paints to wash it.

lacquer is the strongest of the lot, but unsure if acrylic is stronger than enamel or otherwise.

General_Nic
post Sep 15 2011, 02:53 PM

3,508 posts

jz bought a Krylon Matte Clear spray frm Ace MV at rm29.90
definitely way more worth getting than Mr Super Clear Flat as it is double the volume but cost less

only problem its very rare, n today its the 1st time i saw it on shelf
n the 1 bought was the last can summore, lol
zheyuen
post Sep 15 2011, 02:56 PM

206 posts

hey guys, a question, i used basic nippon pylox spray cans to spray my gundams and everything turns out great except for the white gloss paint.

i realized the the edges of the part is still primer greyish. any idea how to prevent this?
General_Nic
post Sep 15 2011, 02:58 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(zheyuen @ Sep 15 2011, 02:56 PM)
hey guys, a question, i used basic nippon pylox spray cans to spray my gundams and everything turns out great except for the white gloss paint.

i realized the the edges of the part is still primer greyish. any idea how to prevent this?
i had the same problem(using same brand too)
i only know to solve it by spraying more layers, but that is wasting paint sweat.gif

guess the other way to solve it is to use expensive hobby white primers sad.gif

125 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:48 PM