Why should anyone be against having Swiftlet houses in Georgetown?
No Swiftlet Houses in Georgetown, Are Swiftlet Houses good for Georgetown?
Apr 20 2010, 06:03 PM, updated 16y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
360 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Why should anyone be against having Swiftlet houses in Georgetown?
Apr 20 2010, 06:06 PM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
deleted.
This post has been edited by cherroy: Apr 21 2010, 05:31 PM |
Apr 22 2010, 10:50 AM
6 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
I have commented twice on their blog. 1 the day before and another yesterday before I noticed tuckfook's posting on the reopening of this topic. My postings have yet to be published on the blog.
Apr 22 2010, 10:51 AM
1,346 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
they are noisy, rent they? alot of sh!t smell maybe....
Apr 22 2010, 11:04 AM
707 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Island of Borneo |
![]() |
Apr 22 2010, 11:26 AM
7,559 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
now only i learn this word.
Apr 22 2010, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(Ramlan @ Apr 22 2010, 10:50 AM) I have commented twice on their blog. 1 the day before and another yesterday before I noticed tuckfook's posting on the reopening of this topic. My postings have yet to be published on the blog. Yes, posting in their site is a real pain, don't know for sure if it will be published or removed. This method of discussion is un-democratic. Hardly conducive for a healthy discussion.Even my notice to the blog about the existence of this forum was not published. Well, I have posted again, let's see if they are man enough to engage. |
Apr 22 2010, 09:52 PM
445 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Unhygenic.
Apr 22 2010, 09:53 PM
1,691 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Probation? |
i always wish i can trap all the cats and UNLEASH them on those swiftlets.
Apr 23 2010, 10:23 AM
1,397 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(spacelion @ Apr 22 2010, 09:53 PM) Shame on you and what did the swiftlets did to you? You are just like a crazy person I know. He used a few large traps to catch cats and drown them all all because the cats disturbed his sleep. Are you the same type of people and do you believe in GOD, my friend? |
Apr 23 2010, 10:28 AM
2,834 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: here |
QUOTE(West Wing @ Apr 23 2010, 11:23 AM) Shame on you and what did the swiftlets did to you? Why so serious until involve God? he's unleashing the cats, NOT killing them. as for the swiftlets you concerned.... they can fly cant they? most probably many will survive, and avoid that area and fly away to somewhere else.You are just like a crazy person I know. He used a few large traps to catch cats and drown them all all because the cats disturbed his sleep. Are you the same type of people and do you believe in GOD, my friend? and also... rat population will oso be lowered. Shame on you for not looking at the big picture. The world is balanced without human intervention. Swiftlets shouldnt even be lured to such place in the first place. |
Apr 23 2010, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(West Wing @ Apr 23 2010, 10:23 AM) Shame on you and what did the swiftlets did to you? You are just like a crazy person I know. He used a few large traps to catch cats and drown them all all because the cats disturbed his sleep. Are you the same type of people and do you believe in GOD, my friend? Now where is Georgetown and gang meanwhile, we are being entertained by everyone else. |
Apr 23 2010, 12:21 PM
6 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Well, well,
Am still awaiting 1 more of my post to be published on their blog after 2 days. I agree it's better debated here as it's online and not upon 'moderator approval' |
Apr 23 2010, 04:17 PM
663 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Guess the blogger trying hard thinking how to answer point by point.
So, cannot answer point by point, easiest way, DELETE lah. Just hope these buggers dont bring in politicians and complicate matter further. Worst case scenario, Penang folks, learn to bend like David Beckam. Or best, KTK, like famous Penang KTK choo ceong fan or Feranggi coconut trees. Swing with the wind This post has been edited by Bobby C: Apr 23 2010, 04:21 PM |
Apr 23 2010, 04:42 PM
2,017 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
swiftlets? what are swiftlets?
Apr 23 2010, 05:00 PM
48 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
this swiftlet house is for bird saliva, which some race eats
Apr 25 2010, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(Ramlan @ Apr 23 2010, 12:21 PM) Well, well, Useless to post at the site as the moderator even edit your post.....removing part of your posting.....Am still awaiting 1 more of my post to be published on their blog after 2 days. I agree it's better debated here as it's online and not upon 'moderator approval' |
Apr 25 2010, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Apr 23 2010, 10:28 AM) Why so serious until involve God? he's unleashing the cats, NOT killing them. as for the swiftlets you concerned.... they can fly cant they? most probably many will survive, and avoid that area and fly away to somewhere else. I am looking straight at the posting when I comment on it. The exact wording, i always wish i can trap all the cats and UNLEASH them on those swiftlets and what that sound to you?and also... rat population will oso be lowered. Shame on you for not looking at the big picture. The world is balanced without human intervention. Swiftlets shouldnt even be lured to such place in the first place. It's the thought that matter cos there is no way he can do it but the bad thought of doing so is really unforgivable........Just like if I post that "I am going F*** you" and how do and can I do it////impossible but then the thought of doing so is seriously wrong. Forgive my bad manners and wordings as I never intended to do so but just to put what I was trying to emphasize, pls. Apologies if it hurt your feeling. This post has been edited by West Wing: Apr 25 2010, 11:43 AM |
May 11 2010, 07:02 AM
16 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(spacelion @ Apr 22 2010, 09:53 PM) Are u still consider human? A living being on top of the system? An inteligent living being? I doubt that... You must still not evolve and stay in the ice age or before that.... Now, I felt sad and pitty to you, for as not a human being, a inteligent being. |
May 11 2010, 07:10 AM
QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Apr 23 2010, 10:28 AM) Why so serious until involve God? he's unleashing the cats, NOT killing them. as for the swiftlets you concerned.... they can fly cant they? most probably many will survive, and avoid that area and fly away to somewhere else. Imagine youself in a situation and i unleash a few big muscle guy to you....by right you have 2 legs can run and 2 hands to fight back..dont u?and also... rat population will oso be lowered. Shame on you for not looking at the big picture. The world is balanced without human intervention. Swiftlets shouldnt even be lured to such place in the first place. I think you are jumping to conlcusion without having any sence or understanding what is swiftlet..do you know what is swiftlet? I think our country bird house owner do not (in my understanding) or capable to ask switflet to stay in their house although they dying to wish for it.....so what is the logic reason the birds still staying in the house? On the same hand, i do agreed that this world might be better if without human being....do agreed. So i think we can wait till the Amagendon to come and wipe us off... |
May 11 2010, 07:15 AM
QUOTE(tuckfook @ Apr 22 2010, 09:48 PM) Yes, posting in their site is a real pain, don't know for sure if it will be published or removed. This method of discussion is un-democratic. Hardly conducive for a healthy discussion. haha...Even my notice to the blog about the existence of this forum was not published. Well, I have posted again, let's see if they are man enough to engage. as uncle WW and you mentioned corectly, it may be no point to post the blog as it is seem not fair..they have the full access and approval to APPROVE the blog they may want it to be publish......into their interest...may be... |
May 29 2010, 02:55 PM
4,256 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
i agree, opening more thread like this only open up the discussion to people who have no clue about birds. can u imagine anarchist and even some jackass will simply make comments without thinking. people like west wing don't even share the same intelligent with these group . so i thnk the platform is still in the swiftlet thread. there are anti pet lovers everywhere and also anti swifltet . the one anti swiftlet were most probably losers and cannot afford to climb up to see the real world. Cockroach is best left at the bottom of the sewage.
May 29 2010, 10:51 PM
133 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
hi all,
i dont know much abt birds but my terrace house is just beside an empty house converted into a swiftlet house. alll i want to say is ban them as the swiftlet house is also a breeding place for mosquito. ever since it started the mosquito armies had multiplied by many many times. my house is a prewar house, now i cover the most open space with mosquito nets, even on the roof but also failed. pls ban them. |
May 30 2010, 12:07 AM
4,256 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(pskk @ May 29 2010, 10:51 PM) hi all, the mosquito multiplication has got nothing to do with the swiftlet . swiftlet feeds on pest and mosquito. u should be happy to hear swiftlet next to your house if i were u. maybe u haven't read much about swiftlet and maybe u should be ban in the first place for developing your house in their first house which were probably just jungle in those days. Well human being is not "tai sai" clearing lands away from animals and birds and than expect to be left alone , u might first want to clear away those big rodents like rats and cockroaches that live along with the dirty humans for the past century or so. Clean up the whole Penang beaches first la and don't shit into the sea lah for got sake.i dont know much abt birds but my terrace house is just beside an empty house converted into a swiftlet house. alll i want to say is ban them as the swiftlet house is also a breeding place for mosquito. ever since it started the mosquito armies had multiplied by many many times. my house is a prewar house, now i cover the most open space with mosquito nets, even on the roof but also failed. pls ban them. |
May 30 2010, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(hackwire @ May 30 2010, 12:07 AM) the mosquito multiplication has got nothing to do with the swiftlet . swiftlet feeds on pest and mosquito. u should be happy to hear swiftlet next to your house if i were u. maybe u haven't read much about swiftlet and maybe u should be ban in the first place for developing your house in their first house which were probably just jungle in those days. Well human being is not "tai sai" clearing lands away from animals and birds and than expect to be left alone , u might first want to clear away those big rodents like rats and cockroaches that live along with the dirty humans for the past century or so. Clean up the whole Penang beaches first la and don't shit into the sea lah for got sake. hackwire,i've no wish to argue with you....but just thk abt a swiftlet home that is not successful....an irresponsible owner that dont maintain hygiene...and the bowls of dirty water a breeding ground for mosquito.... human population had and always will be THE BIGGEST problem in this world and I dont deny that....the sad thing is even if all of us do our part, earth will still be destroyed...only slower. |
May 31 2010, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(pskk @ May 30 2010, 09:38 PM) hackwire, It is good to finally get some response, good or bad, whatever, but hopefully constructive in the end.i've no wish to argue with you....but just thk abt a swiftlet home that is not successful....an irresponsible owner that dont maintain hygiene...and the bowls of dirty water a breeding ground for mosquito.... human population had and always will be THE BIGGEST problem in this world and I dont deny that....the sad thing is even if all of us do our part, earth will still be destroyed...only slower. Swiftlet houses are strictly prohibited in residential areas. So, if you live in a designated residential area, make your complaints heard at the local council. Swiftlet houses are allowed in designated commercial areas, as according to the last guidelines. If you are living in a commercial area, as you should not be, you can make complaints to the local association that the noise is too loud, not according to the set guidelines. If you are in a mixed zone, ie commercial and residential, then you can try making complaints to both council and associations. If there is a real problem with hygiene, then the local council will take action upon complaints. You are absolutely correct in that a failed farm may become a breeding ground for mosquitoes, as would any dilapidated building. The council can issue a summons to the owner or fog the whole building. Either case will not be good for the errant farmer. On the other hand, if the farm is doing ok with a birds populating the farm, it is very unlikely that the house will be a breeding spot for mosquitoes as these birds will readily consume as many mosquitoes as the house can ever produce as it will take many times more to fill the stomach of a single bird. The bowls of dirty water inside a house, if there are, will not breed mosquitoes as the bird shit releases ammonia and this is poisonous to the mosquito larvae. There are some other specialized insect that are able to live in such dirty water. The Aedes mosquito breeds only in clean clear water ! You did not mention the area you are located , as otherwise I may have been able to offer more specific advice. |
May 31 2010, 09:31 PM
hi tuckfook,
thks for your response. i stay in lorong soo hong, near jalan masjid kapitan keling. |
May 31 2010, 09:34 PM
22 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
oh so this is like a complaining thread for poor people that cant afford to build swiflet houses and make multi millions profit?
Jun 1 2010, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(pskk @ May 31 2010, 09:31 PM) You are right in the middle of all the action ! This is an area where it is a mixture of residential and commercial. It is also right in the middle of the Heritage core zone. The problem began when the council did not follow clear directives and did not enforce the guidelines then stipulated thus allowing swiftlet ranches to flourish. That is history and it is now too late to change matters as there has been tremendous investments made in these swiftlet ranches which cannot be ignored. Swiftlet ranches cannot be re located as the birds once resident will always come back to their home. However there is hope for you, a resident as you can get MPPP to take action on hygiene and noise pollution. The local swiftlet association headed by Ms. Carole Loh (0174737678) may be able to assist in getting the swiftlet ranch owner to follow the guidelines. Soo Hong Lane is surrounded by many un occupied and dilapidated buildings. It is possible that the mosquitoes come from these places and the more insects there are, the more swiftlet there will be. This current rainy season will cause more mosquitoes to breed. Clogged drains, large leaves from the abundant Sea Almond trees etc. will also provide breeding areas for the mosquitoes. I am glad that you did not mention bird droppings being a health hazard as your area has the highest pigeon population in Penang. Pigeons and their droppings are well known health hazards. Regardless of the health hazards, this area is also the most popular for nasi kandar and arguably the best nasi kandar around is amongst the most pigeon shit. This post has been edited by tuckfook: Jun 2 2010, 10:35 PM |
Jun 2 2010, 10:47 PM
Develop, Not Strangulate the Swiftlet/Edible Birds' Nest Industry
Sign This Petition-HERE This petition was created before the recent minor cabinet reschuffle. The petition, once initiated, cannot be edited to reflect the new ministers. This post has been edited by tuckfook: Jun 2 2010, 11:00 PM |
Jun 2 2010, 11:17 PM
hi tuckfook,
thks for your adv and reply. the house belongs to my grandma but she alredi passed away. i will be shifting out soon as got my own apartment but my aunts still there. will feedback to them abt your adv. aunt is leaving the house to me n my bro in the future. wonder if the value is still good by then? |
Jun 3 2010, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(pskk @ Jun 2 2010, 11:17 PM) hi tuckfook, You lucky devil ; ) you are sitting on a Goldmine ! thks for your adv and reply. the house belongs to my grandma but she alredi passed away. i will be shifting out soon as got my own apartment but my aunts still there. will feedback to them abt your adv. aunt is leaving the house to me n my bro in the future. wonder if the value is still good by then? For as long as Swiftlet houses are allowed in your area, the price of that property will not go down. As soon as Swiftlet houses are prohibited in that area then there will probably be much less value for properties there. There are hardly any viable businesses there. The Swiss restaurant survives as long as the owners can keep subsidising. The Hainanese restaurant gave up. In your area, there are great limitations to the type of business possibilities as it is likely to have to be tourist and heritage orientated. Too small to turn into a boutique hotel and too many similar properties to compete with. Rentals will be low, which will drive down sale prices. Your best bet ? Go see Janet Pillai to see if she can introduce any Heritage property investor to take over your property. Next best bet, well, most swiftlet houses in that area have been successful, so you can consider that option whilst the Govt is still in a limbo. |
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0336sec
5 queries
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:30 AM |