Audio Technica Headphones/Earphones Fan Club V3, Bring it up all....AT Fans..

wawee
post Apr 24 2010, 02:37 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Apr 24 2010, 02:30 AM)
mwahahaa

clip+ (80% volume) -> PA2V2 (2/3rd knob) -> W1 (60%) -> ATH W10VTG..
got enuff juice to bring the bass down deep and highs clean..
but i dunno.. it sounded clean without distortion, but the sound representation seems to hurt my ears.. coz of double amping?
im listening at my comfort volume.. which is about.. dunno.. 30% lower than what yuheng would listen to his ms1 at jaben?
i think its triple amping including the clip+ amp..
neway, nice vintage.
wawee
post Apr 29 2010, 04:00 AM

227 posts

wow.. cool stand with a cool headphone.
thanks for the idea. never think of it before.. might buy it someday.
wawee
post May 4 2010, 08:20 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(feiraron @ May 4 2010, 07:43 PM)
hmmm, i thought burning did help just a tiny bit,
but its one of those cans that i enjoy straight out of the box, so i played music with it all the time
never even bother to count

the soundstage is always narrow with this one, but i never get talking about soundstage in headphones anyway
coz frankly, without some type of good crossfeed there are none, its all sounds inside the head no matter what kind of headphone
the correct term might be headstage?  sweat.gif

what im using right now is isone pro VST plugin to Winamp that simulate the sound as if it is coming from 2 channel speakers,
try that, superb sound and much much less fatiguing, but when i tried with hd650
big mistake, now i cant go back to es10, it sounds sooooo good
theres a sense of acoustic space now and the voices seems so real like listening to binaural recording..
es10 is only for the road now, but i still finds it to be very fun whenever i pick it up

so i suggest u to try that, it will improve imaging and gets you the soundstage you want..
about the harshness, i never found it to be harsh, es10 is warm.. much more warmer than hd650
dunno if the high is bright but i never find it to be an issue and i always thought that if the sound is tuned towards the low,
the high is sacrificed a bit...
thinking of buying es10. since u prefer hd650 more tak jadi la nak beli. will stick with my hd650. hmm.gif
wawee
post May 5 2010, 01:40 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(feiraron @ May 4 2010, 08:53 PM)
aiyah why take my word for it, hehe go out and try, its a two very different beast hehe
my comparison after quite an extensive use of both cans

one is for portable use, dont think hd650 is meant for portable
es10 more powerful bass, hd650 bass more neutral, can punch if amped well and more quality
es10 more musical, hd650 more neutral
without an amp, es10 > hd650 (this sound lifeless and weak flat bass)
with dekstop amp, hd650 > es10 but i still prefer es10 because it is more fun lol

with full setup + Isone Pro... no contest at all

my hd650 is the new silver screen version, with a transparent solid state amp, the sound is very fatiguing to me (believe it or not) despite many claiming the high is rolled off in hd650.. how fatiguing? i feel like taking them off after listening to couple of songs... so despite the darkness why is it so fatiguing.. its because of the in your face detail and voice, dont get me wrong i love clear voice, but not when it literally shout INSIDE my head..

with isone pro.... man what can i say, the best 20 euro (paypal!) i ever spent, the difference in sound is so huge that it outweigh the difference you'll hear from new amp and DAC by a mile... no more fatigue! and now i get what imaging is, and what real (perceived) soundstage is...
its a whole new level, and the difference between hd650 and es10 is huge, helped by the openness in sound

but you cant go wrong with es10 if you planning to go portable,
earbud only gives convenience not satisfaction for me
so its only between portable headphones vs IEM
es10 has a fuller sound than IEM, but i dont think it will beat customs
as for me, im not a fan of IEM, its like being underwater and i hate that feeling,
so es10 is the holy grail in portable for me (besides esw10), this is because ultrasone edi 8 is way out of my league + using an amp for portable is a big no no for the hassle it cause only for the tiny puny improvement in SQ..
thanks for the impression.. hmmm, last time i went to jaben they still dont have es10. i tried their esw9 n love its presentation. almost bought it but then i need to try es10 before making any decision.
yup im planning to get a portable headphone. its not that i dont like iems, but i cant wear iems more than an hour. this is all because when i came back from london, the airplane pressure damaged my right ear drum affecting me with vertigo. since then i cant stand iems.
my desicion now is either esw9 or es10. but then i kept comparing it with my hd650, afraid that they will not give me the kick hd650 gave me. hmm.. will see how it goes.
wawee
post Aug 16 2010, 07:26 PM

227 posts

got my es10 from feiraron..
really excels in modern music, pop, rock and hip hop. punchy bass..
can i join?? smile.gif
wawee
post Aug 17 2010, 04:42 PM

227 posts

thanks everyone..

need to find a mod/amp/cable for the es10 to bring out the mids.
i find it a bit recessed.
any suggestion??
wawee
post Oct 17 2010, 02:20 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Akabane@DrJackel @ Oct 16 2010, 08:02 AM)
This item is not brand new but the owner is a japanese did not listen to it less than 24 hours and this item keep in box all the time. condition is superb. I pay USD1.3K for this unit.
Waaa!! Exotic headphone n price.
Congrats on your new baby..

0.0474sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:05 AM