Enquiries/Recommendations Acer Warranty Seal, Acer Laptop

TSukiya
post Apr 19 2010, 03:05 PM, updated 16y ago

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Recently i bought an acer laptop, wanted to upgrade the RAM from 2G DDR3 to 4G DDR3 , just add another 2G module.

Here's come the problem, whereby the Acer Seal is stick near the screw opening side, if open the case, it might damage d seal. But i wanted to add the ram as i do many graphic stuff... if the seal is damage, is my warranty will be really void? or is there any other way to add d ram without sending back to service center!?

Help icon_question.gif the RAm module is with me, i m don wan my 3years warranty squeeze down to zero bcoz of tat seal!
MISMan
post Apr 19 2010, 03:10 PM

719 posts

dun worry, just do it! Acer already know about this common issues.
myst3
post Apr 19 2010, 03:13 PM

142 posts

Ya, just install it. Last time i brought my lappie from shop, and instant upgrade to 4gb, the shop owner just break the seal to install the RAM. smile.gif
Ryou
post Apr 19 2010, 03:16 PM

866 posts

If not mistaken, only the warranty to the RAM is voided but other parts are still under warranty
Eugene91
post Apr 19 2010, 06:00 PM

6,109 posts

No i heard from an ex-highpoint service technician its just for within 7 days you shouldn't open it 1st.. smile.gif
TSukiya
post Apr 19 2010, 10:53 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

so its fine to open it now? i bought it from harvey norman last 2 weeks!

bit regret shud take i7 wif bluray instead...

trustgtr
post Apr 19 2010, 11:24 PM

87 posts

i was told same about the 7 days as they would replace the unit if any issues in the first 7 days..go figure..i opened mine already,now running 8gb ddr3..
soldierdude
post Apr 21 2010, 01:48 PM

no worry, seal broken is ok for Acer. they will still accept for warranty. BUT not breaking anything inside eg. the memory slot clip etc etc..
kronos_fir18
post Apr 21 2010, 02:09 PM

233 posts

it's kinda weird as my windows is a 64-bit version...got 4gb of ram...but still, it show only 3.80GB are usable..what happen if am adding 2GB of ram?
cjlio1
post Apr 21 2010, 02:26 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(kronos_fir18 @ Apr 21 2010, 02:09 PM)
it's kinda weird as my windows is a 64-bit version...got 4gb of ram...but still, it show only 3.80GB are usable..what happen if am adding 2GB of ram?
http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/show...ad.php?t=337271
nakTT
post Apr 21 2010, 08:50 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

Have the same nagging question when I get myself an Acer notebook because I upgrade the RAM upon purchasing the laptop. The salesperson said it is okay but I have never been able to find out if it is true or not since the notebook never die on me.
alex890628
post Apr 21 2010, 09:29 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(kronos_fir18 @ Apr 21 2010, 02:09 PM)
it is juz exactly same with Hard Disk, u buy 500GB Hard disk, but when u plug to PC juz 48x/49x GB space only. 4GB / 2GB RAM doesn't mean really 4096MB or 2048MB for the ram chip.
kronos_fir18
post Apr 21 2010, 11:02 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Apr 21 2010, 09:29 PM)
it is juz exactly same with Hard Disk, u buy 500GB Hard disk, but when u plug to PC juz 48x/49x GB space only. 4GB / 2GB RAM doesn't mean really 4096MB or 2048MB for the ram chip.
In the case of Hard disk,i know the remaining space is use for the 'hard disk' itself..but for ram it's different..As we all know the 64-bit Os should support adding a ram more than 4 GB..but if 4 GB wont detect as '4GB' in the windows,How could your explain this weirdness..
alex890628
post Apr 21 2010, 11:15 PM

739 posts

QUOTE(kronos_fir18 @ Apr 21 2010, 11:02 PM)
In the case of Hard disk,i know the remaining space is use for the 'hard disk' itself..but for ram it's different..As we all know the 64-bit Os should support adding a ram more than 4 GB..but if 4 GB wont detect as '4GB' in the windows,How could your explain this weirdness..
is it necessary really need 4GB RAM sharp to support the 64bit OS? As i know i dun think so, coz all of the notebook they selling is come with 64bit OS and juz 2GB RAM. if ur check with ur computer properties, i can assure that it won't be exactly 2GB. hmmm back to ur Hard Disk, is it true about wat u said? When u doing the partition, which means the space used by hard disk itself is 70GB+ for 1TB Hard Disk? it's ridiculous
kronos_fir18
post Apr 21 2010, 11:45 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Apr 21 2010, 11:15 PM)
is it necessary really need 4GB RAM sharp to support the 64bit OS? As i know i dun think so, coz all of the notebook they selling is come with 64bit OS and juz 2GB RAM. if ur check with ur computer properties, i can assure that it won't be exactly 2GB. hmmm back to ur Hard Disk, is it true about wat u said? When u doing the partition, which means the space used by hard disk itself is 70GB+ for 1TB Hard Disk? it's ridiculous
My laptop is shipped with 4GB of ram an it wont show 4GB as in the 64-bit windows..As in the past experience, Am buying a lot of External hard disk,thumbdrive and also hard disk itself, all of them are not in the correct capacity as stated. Example am buying a 320GB of hard disk and it only stated 280GB of available space..Going to check on other brands also the same..So i knew that, the remaining space is really used for 'hard disk' itself..The bigger the hard disk,the bigger the space that will be taken..lol.,.
alex890628
post Apr 22 2010, 12:14 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(kronos_fir18 @ Apr 21 2010, 11:45 PM)
My laptop is shipped with 4GB of ram an it wont show 4GB as in the 64-bit windows..As in the past experience, Am buying a lot of External hard disk,thumbdrive and also hard disk itself, all of them are not in the correct capacity as stated. Example am buying a 320GB of hard disk and it only stated 280GB of available space..Going to check on other brands also the same..So i knew that, the remaining space is really used for 'hard disk' itself..The bigger the hard disk,the bigger the space that will be taken..lol.,.
maybe same with Memory card, do u think a chip really exist with 512MB = 512 x 1024KB = 524288KB and x 1024 byte = 536870912 byte and x once again 1024 bit = 549755813888 bit? I dun think so. Hmmm it is hard to explain sometimes, and the hard disk case i duno whether it is true or not. i juz got to know when u buy a 500GB hard disk, and the usable space is only 48x.xxxxxx GB only. i meant the space hard disk use itself is not definately 1 or 2GB (exactly 2 x 1024MB x 1024KB x 1024 byte x 1024bit). hope u understand wat i'm trying to explain.
kronos_fir18
post Apr 22 2010, 12:21 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(alex890628 @ Apr 22 2010, 12:14 AM)
maybe same with Memory card, do u think a chip really exist with 512MB = 512 x 1024KB = 524288KB and x 1024 byte = 536870912 byte and x once again 1024 bit = 549755813888 bit? I dun think so. Hmmm it is hard to explain sometimes, and the hard disk case i duno whether it is true or not. i juz got to know when u buy a 500GB hard disk, and the usable space is only 48x.xxxxxx GB only. i meant the space hard disk use itself is not definately 1 or 2GB (exactly 2 x 1024MB x 1024KB x 1024 byte x 1024bit). hope u understand wat i'm trying to explain.
Lol..i hate numbers..haha...Btw,thanks for that explanation...space on disk is really complicated..use for prgram,hardisk system etc2.....haiya...y dont they make a 1.07TB of hard disk,then we can get approx 1.0 TB...lol...
alex890628
post Apr 22 2010, 07:47 AM

739 posts

QUOTE(kronos_fir18 @ Apr 22 2010, 12:21 AM)
Lol..i hate numbers..haha...Btw,thanks for that explanation...space on disk is really complicated..use for prgram,hardisk system etc2.....haiya...y dont they make a 1.07TB of hard disk,then we can get approx 1.0 TB...lol...
hahah.... yaya, why they dun do like wat u said?
mobio.dev
post May 19 2010, 03:17 PM

401 posts

2gb DDR3 more than enough what, if want do go for service center
BeastX
post May 19 2010, 04:00 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(trustgtr @ Apr 19 2010, 11:24 PM)
i was told same about the 7 days as they would replace the unit if any issues in the first 7 days..go figure..i opened mine already,now running 8gb ddr3..
Cost for these two 4gb modules (ddr3 for notebook)?

0.0194sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:31 AM