Nexus One LYN Official thread V2, everything abt nexus one -Android
May 14 2010, 11:58 AM
673 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
http://lifehacker.com/5342237/five-great-r...r-android-phone Oh and another reason for rooting is that you can install apps to your sdcard rather the phone's internal memory. |
May 21 2010, 07:47 PM
May 21 2010, 08:05 PM
May 22 2010, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 22 2010, 09:35 AM) The Broadcom chip? The hardware is not activated for FM radio. And the new 2.2 API doesnt include any low level transmitter/receiver access. I/O keynotes didnt even mentioned about this feature. So, the 2.2 update most likely wont include any FM radio updates (well, we can never be sure until FroYo is actually released to the masses). |
May 22 2010, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 22 2010, 11:09 AM) That's partially true. A customized firmware is indeed a possible solution to this (say for example, a recompiled Desire source) but the problem lies in the hardware. It's interesting to note that the iPhone 3GS also faced a similar situation, FM hardware present but not activated. When you consider both situations, the 3GS and N1, there's only one reasonable explanation to this. The activation of the hardware is prevented by some weird US regulation. Perhaps enabling it would classify both devices as FM transmitter/receiver and they would need to get some approval or pay licensing fees to some US government body. Something that Google probably refuse to do for Android or it is not of their highest priority at the moment. The only way around this (if FroYo doesnt include an FM radio feature) is a customized firmware like the Desire port from Modaco. The early Alphas of that port doesnt include a working FM radio. This could be because of it was based on reverse-engineered Desire ROMs. As the kernel source for Desire has been recently released, I believe someone will come out with a way to enable FM radio for the N1. |
May 23 2010, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(shenmui @ May 23 2010, 12:12 AM) That would be this guy:-http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=1650 And BTW, LegenDroid N1 users have mostly updated to FroYo since last night. Now they havent woken up yet. Slept late from playing with their new toys I guess. |
May 26 2010, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(redzanime @ May 26 2010, 06:06 PM) Guys, any of you who updated to Froyo using stock rom, can access to paid apps? Or still dont have access to all free apps? That is not related to the FroYo or any other future Android updates. It depends on whether the phone carrier is granted access to paid market by Google. |
Jun 7 2010, 06:39 PM
Isnt swype under closed beta?
Jun 25 2010, 09:44 PM
I haz N1 now.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « (and of course, a Hero too) |
Jul 12 2010, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(chicaman @ Jul 12 2010, 08:38 PM) One is a clone of the other. QUOTE(lim_ryan @ Jul 12 2010, 10:31 PM) how do i get back from Kang-o-rama-0.9-SP3 rooted FRF91 to stock FRF91. Did you nandroid backup the stock FRF91? my camera not working keep on FC, reboot, black screen, damn piss any sifu can help my dilemma, really appreciate it |
Jul 15 2010, 06:59 AM
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jul 14 2010, 09:57 PM) to me its better, but i wish launcherpro can have the galaxy style app drawer horizontol style, really nice. but i like launcher pro's homescreen, can store more stuff on the dock bar ADW can store more stuff on its dock too. However, for the love of God, I cant figure out how to do it. They say to press the app drawer icon until a small arrow appears and then drop stuff onto it. But how??? (please Andrew enlighten me).So I defected to LauncherPro. until today.... when I saw the new ADW. Now I'm on the fence again. |
Jul 17 2010, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 16 2010, 11:39 PM) Pocketnow.com comparing browser between Samsung Captivate ( aka Galaxy S) and NexusOne and iPhone 4. In all tests, both NexusOne and Samsung interchangeably takes first and second place within less than 1 sec between them, while iPhone 4 is consistenly last , behind by 2-3 seconds Perhaps that's not the right way of browsing on iPhone 4. |
Jul 18 2010, 11:30 AM
Brand : Sandisk 8GB Mobile Ultra class 6
Write speed : 10 MB/s Read speed : 14 MB/s It says I have a class 10. |
Jul 18 2010, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(davidwyl @ Jul 18 2010, 07:58 PM) Sandisk is always the best. QUOTE(modskywalker @ Jul 18 2010, 08:49 PM) anybody can tell me whether this phone have any defects? tell me the bad things of this phone umm, if we hold it anyway we like, the signal wont drop. I think that's a defect because the latest superphone have that signal dropping feature (and a rubber band). Ok, jokes aside. One thing about the N1 is that you have to get used to the soft keys. It's not a defect per say, but that's one of the things people (including myself) have trouble transitioning to. Other than that, the speaker is not as powerful as a Hero. Perhaps it's due to N1's noise canceling feature. |
Jul 18 2010, 09:16 PM
Lag on FroYo? Are you kidding? I've been running FroYo for weeks and it's definitely faster than Eclair.
The battery would depend on your usage pattern and the applications you have running. I have 7 homescreens and around 8 widgets. With Live wallpaper on, it would last a day. With normal wallpaper, I can push it to 1.5 to 2 days. WiFi is a battery hog. Been experimenting with undervolted kernels, BTW. |
Jul 19 2010, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(myboo_1988 @ Jul 18 2010, 11:35 PM) Nope, havent had that luck so far. The most is one day for me. Then again, I'm using a .35 kernel which is not very stable (intersectRaven is updating it a couple of times a day). I'll probably go back to a .34.QUOTE(D.Sync @ Jul 18 2010, 11:55 PM) It's so hard to decide Nexus One over HTC Desire. Is the dual mic voice cancellation over none, trackball over optical track pad, faster OS update through Google itself over HTC server serve as the x-factor that might judge one purchase for HTC Desire over Nexus One? Better decide quick, bro. Soon you wont be able to get Nexus One from Google anymore. They're already on the last batch of N1.http://googlenexusoneboard.blogspot.com/20...changes-in.html |
Jul 19 2010, 08:44 AM
To be honest, I rarely use the trackball. So, mine is rather clean. It works well though.
You dont really need to view the event in order to dismiss the LED lights. You can just clear them through the status bar. |
Jul 20 2010, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(kentang_peranchis @ Jul 19 2010, 11:44 PM) Don't believe it even 4 a second. I'm sure anybody wt a common sense will realize dat thr is no other way google can say it. Imagine de uproar from all de Parts will be limited? You heard about HTC Desire? yes, the phone that you wanna trade with your lowly 3GS. Guess what? Desire is essentially Nexus 1 in HTC clothing. And BTW, Nexus 1 is manufactured by HTC, not Google. Google only provides software support. Your claim of 'parts will be limited and no longer produced' (I took the liberty of correcting your grammar there) is simply rubbish.geeks if they say no more support. Of coz now, wt google killing de nexus 1 nobody will be interested to get it, parts will be limited n no more produced In short, die a natural quick death. The level of ignorance in iPhone fanboys amazes me. But this dude here takes the cake. |
Jul 20 2010, 08:28 PM
Jul 21 2010, 09:46 AM