Nexus One LYN Official thread V2, everything abt nexus one -Android

Cryptic
post May 14 2010, 11:38 PM

274 posts

hey guys, i got my nexus one quite a few months ago, now i am really into customizing it since I have the time to learn now,

firstly i wanna upgrade my micro SD card to 32 gig, the salesman advice me to check on whether the phone can accept 32gig smoothly and whether is it brand biased... so, does the nexus one accept 32gig smoothly and is it brand biased? what brand do you guys use and how is it so far?
Cryptic
post May 16 2010, 10:49 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(phelix @ May 15 2010, 10:38 PM)
i got mine 16gb class 4 RM150.
what the... i just ordered mine 16gb kingston 10mbps for 360! paid liaw =(

anyway, guys i finally flashed my CM v5.06 (enjoying it like hell!), now i wanna flash Modaco's custom ROM, do i have to wipe? if i wipe wouldn't all my apps go away too? is there anyway i can move my apps to my SD card? and yes i rooted my phone...

and is there a way we can enjoy paid market apps?
Cryptic
post May 16 2010, 01:32 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ May 16 2010, 11:13 AM)
For Flash to different ROM, It is better you wipe before flash. This is to prevent any boot cycle when first noot up.

For app on SDcard, do U have App2SD installed and enable? If yes, You can go to Settings -> Applications ->Manage Applications -> Click any app U want to keep at SDcard -> click move

For paid app, you can install Market Enable or Market Access.
thanks bro, and no i dont have app2sd, but i will get it =D
Cryptic
post May 17 2010, 12:03 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ May 16 2010, 11:46 PM)
Hey guys, I've been missing a lot on this thread..Been so busy lately..ughh..Whats the good word guys?

Yeah, these guys are right. If you just come to the forum to get newbie answers - which apparently are already specified, I think its just not fair to other expert users. We have made enough threads with information, guides and tutorials - in-depth with full explanation for your ease. All you have to do is just pick the threads - or search for it. Spare some time and read them up.

I totally second benny888's statement. He's one of my favorite Android users. He took his time, read guides, fully understand the environment before actually executing it. His questions were never frustrating and today, he is also a great Malaysian Android community builder.

We don't shoo newbies away. Really, we don't. We would love to answer as many questions as possible and solve for newbies. We would even retype stuff for you guys because strings like command lines can be a bit confusing sometimes for non-techie. But at this point, the basic information is available everywhere on the forum now. Information that we have typed over and over again. Least that you guys should do is at least read.

No one earns any money for doing this. We are doing this just because we are like you - users of this platform. Its open source and its built by community. Together.
word... but sometimes the frustrated noob like me are like computer illiterate, i took 4 hours to root my phone, 2 hours to find out how to flash a zip from my SD card(just that part alone)... how epic fail is that xD
Cryptic
post May 17 2010, 08:18 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 17 2010, 12:37 AM)
Good exercise, all new users shall follow this, and you will be more familiar with it then and the forum would not be spamming with repeating question.

You faster than me tongue.gif I only root it on day 3 or 4.
lol hehehe, but i saw your screen shots of your phone, very nice. mine still basic only, flashed the mod, now don't know what else to do besides app2sd and market enabler which so far no luck @.@
Cryptic
post Jun 1 2010, 11:38 AM

274 posts

hey sifus, when i browse forums with my Opera Mini app, this pop up saying

"this forum is android native! click ok to learn more about tapatalk" something like that and there are only 2 options, "ok" and "cancel" and when i press either, it will bring me to some error page and i know the forum is up cause i tested with my pc...

i tried tapatalk and i didn't like it, i want to continue browsing forums with my opera mini, how do i do so?
Cryptic
post Jun 2 2010, 07:36 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(Cryptic @ Jun 1 2010, 11:38 AM)
hey sifus, when i browse forums with my Opera Mini app, this pop up saying

"this forum is android native! click ok to learn more about tapatalk" something like that and there are only 2 options, "ok" and "cancel" and when i press either, it will bring me to some error page and i know the forum is up cause i tested with my pc...

i tried tapatalk and i didn't like it, i want to continue browsing forums with my opera mini, how do i do so?
btw i was trying to browse legendroid forum with opera mini... do help ='(
Cryptic
post Jun 3 2010, 01:43 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(epool86 @ Jun 3 2010, 07:42 AM)
Just to let everyone know that I just bought my own nexus one yesterday
awesome!! icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
Cryptic
post Jul 2 2010, 01:50 AM

274 posts

hey guys just asking how many here has an extra battery for their nexus one? I am thinking of getting 2 extra, the battery is a real issue for me.

This post has been edited by Cryptic: Jul 2 2010, 01:52 AM
Cryptic
post Jul 2 2010, 10:53 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(davidwyl @ Jul 2 2010, 10:50 AM)
still using CM5.0.7.1 now...
always be the biggest question on backup the apps.
i want to know the answer also actually.
astro file manager has backup apps, or if you want you can put apps2SD, transferring your apps to your SD card

@davidwyl it definately looks interesting, i will read up more on it, thanks bro =D
Cryptic
post Jul 3 2010, 03:27 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(devinz @ Jul 3 2010, 11:30 AM)
Froyo, froyo....where are you....
I am waiting too. Tried check-in and nothing happen too....
i know how you feel bro... i check my phone every hour to see for updates, i am like a lil girl waiting for her bf to text her xD
Cryptic
post Jul 14 2010, 08:17 AM

274 posts

hey guys, i still haven't got my Froyo update, should I be worried? =X

how do i check manually? i am using the cynogen mod, when i go to settings, there is no update there >.<
Cryptic
post Jul 16 2010, 09:38 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 14 2010, 09:41 AM)
Auto updates is not available for custom ROM, even it show you also cannot updates, it will error.

Cyanogen already got Froyo RC1 ROM. (It still beta so not all features include)

Or you may use others ROM like LeoFroYo 1.2.0 or Kang-o-rama 9.0 SP3.
dang no wonder lol... should i use a ROM or uninstal Cyanogen, update to Froyo then get the new Cyanogen or it wouldn't make a difference if i just use the new Cyanogen?

oooo new roms, thanks bro, let me check it out hehehe
Cryptic
post Jul 22 2010, 10:53 PM

274 posts

hey guys I am using kang o rama 1.0 and Google maps does not seem to be working. can't find my location. anyone else experiencing it? is there a way to fix it?
Cryptic
post Jul 22 2010, 11:58 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 22 2010, 10:57 PM)
GRAB IT - it is going to be a collector item !

Added on July 22, 2010, 11:01 pm

Did you try to download it again MAPS is the name at marketplace.

I'd suggest you google at forum XDA for Maps [brut] version 4.3.0-brut14 : this is specialized version for countries out of USA - with this you can have voice assisted navigation, It is a freeware
lol.thanks bro. I just checked market there is a lot of hits and none of them was maps so far, still looking though. ooo that would be nice, using voice assisted navigation he he he.
Cryptic
post Aug 5 2010, 03:21 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(myboo_1988 @ Aug 3 2010, 10:27 PM)
any nice rom uguys using??with sense but froyo?
I am using Kang-o-rama, not sure on it's status with "sense" but its doing good for me so far =D

Added on August 5, 2010, 3:22 am@Reventon I am using class 10 size 16gb memory card, so much better than the stock one, it hurt the pocket but its serving me well =D

This post has been edited by Cryptic: Aug 5 2010, 03:22 AM
Cryptic
post Aug 7 2010, 02:39 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(modskywalker @ Aug 7 2010, 01:02 PM)
wipe means restore to factory setting? lols im new to android previously im using winMO but since the android make such interested UI i can stop myself to get it haha...
i am not totally sure, i wipe mine, all the apps are gone, but the MOD was still there...

anyway guys i am still having problems with my maps, i installed the new google maps app and have the latest brut map. my map app keeps telling me unable to find my location. what other things i can try?

I am using kang o rama btw

This post has been edited by Cryptic: Aug 7 2010, 02:46 PM
Cryptic
post Sep 23 2010, 08:37 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 17 2010, 03:16 PM)
user posted image user posted image

For those requesting on my MOD apps, here you go:Instruction

• For root HDPI phone only, MusicMod v1.8.0 required Froyo (2.2).

• Download above file and send to your phone via USB cable or Bluetooth.

• Open Root Explorer, goto /system/app and click the Mount R/W button.

• Move your current .apk to /system/app if it is located at /data/app location.

• Copy the download .apk to /system/app via root explorer, overwrite the current one.

• Set permission to rw-r--r--

• Restart the phone.

damn dude I love your nexus one, I am like a beginer to you xD

guys why do we need to partition the SD card? I researched and heard it helps the apps2SD but I don't exactly understand what does it do.

Added on September 23, 2010, 8:38 pmwhy sell la bro?

This post has been edited by Cryptic: Sep 23 2010, 08:38 PM
Cryptic
post Sep 23 2010, 09:08 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(myboo_1988 @ Sep 23 2010, 08:48 PM)
i got BB,n1 and iphone 4...need to get ride few phone la...too many gadget already
haha good luck bro wink.gif
Cryptic
post Oct 15 2010, 11:39 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 10 2010, 11:33 AM)
i am on rodriguez miui rom. I try to do
su
a2sd check
a2sd reinstall
a2sd zipalign
a2sd cachesd

on terminal, but it says what my ext partition is not mounted. What can i do next? I wanna increase my phone memory by moving apps to sd..
how is the rom bro? I am downloading it now, giving it a try whistling.gif

0.0464sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:33 AM