Comments/feedbacks Apple Resellers Service, Discussion

impedance
post May 4 2010, 02:42 PM

166 posts

Well well, not surprised to hear this. I have an iPod touch with spots on my LCD.

I sent my iPod touch once to Machines at 1 Utama. So I wanted to see if warranty covers it. So I handed over my iPod to them, and got a call from them. They say there is some indicator in the iPod showing that the device is moist, therefore they will not cover under warranty. I don't see why they need to be rude to some questions.

However the charges to diagnose the device and resetting the indicator would cost RM80. I don't see why I should be charged merely to ask if my warranty covers this fault. They insist that I pay, so I made a call to Apple, and the apple representative called the shop and said I have to pay for it. I asked to speak to someone with higher authority and they kept forwarding me here and there until one of them finally decided to listen.

The whole call once not a pleasing experience either, the whole call plus forwarding took about 1 hour, but I am still determine. and they say they would not charge me RM80.

Conclusion, they have arrogant technician and have no idea how to be polite, not unless you are purchasing something from them. Just like any other stuff these days, try not to break it, warranty is a terrible experience.
impedance
post May 4 2010, 09:45 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ May 4 2010, 07:43 PM)
Was your ipod under its initial warranty? because service charge is applicable if your warranty is expired or void. The indicators will straight away say whether or not you are applicable for warranty claims, this is entirely up to the Apple Service side to decide, if they say the warranty is void then you'd have to pay for the inspection. They write this clearly at the glass display near the Helpdesk, where the charges are displayed. Its very subjective at this point to put a blanket statement that they are at fault if the ipod was indeed put in its current situation by your actions, there are many indicators that the tech people have to look through before its confirmed that its a faulty part.
Yes, my iPod is still under warranty when I sent it to them. They did not do any checking to say whether my warranty is voided, only after taking in the iPod they claim the iPod warranty is voided after checking for the indicator. Since they claim to have such indicator, what can I say. One thing for sure is that the iPod did not submerge under water otherwise I would know all to well that I shouldn't send it in.

Anyway the indicator has spark a lot of controversy http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/news/comm...isture-sensors/ and I didn't know about it until they diagnose the device for 1-2 days.

The point is I hand over my device to check if it is covered under warranty for such fault, and if it is not covered then fine. I don't expect to be charged to get my device back after telling me that my warranty is voided by the indicator. I really don't see any reason why I should purchase an extended warranty if other Apple products are using such mechanism for fault detection.

This post has been edited by impedance: May 4 2010, 09:47 PM
impedance
post May 4 2010, 10:09 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(realpesky @ May 4 2010, 09:50 PM)
If you insist that you're not going to pay does it mean that they won't return the device to you?
I didn't insist that I am not going to pay, but since they mention about charges when I want to collect, I can only expect that it is charged to me. They didn't back down easily, even if I try to understand why I should be charged. It was only after talking to one of Apple Marketing guy, that they agreed that I should not be paying for this.
impedance
post May 4 2010, 10:27 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ May 4 2010, 10:05 PM)
Thats the thing, its a help desk not a real tech person, they always send the cases back to the Machines HQ to check and validate your case. There is a lot of diagnostics that would be run to determine the cause, thats why its called a diagnosis, a through one should take 1 to 2 days, because as any other company they wouldnt want to blindly incur extra costs on to themselves for customer negligence. Is the same for any electronics manufacturers to do this, its not something new. You buy the applecare to extend the warranty of genuinely broken parts that is not directly caused by you, immersion indicators and such is to cover human error possibilities. There is no honest person that would willingly admit that hey i whacked it a few times and its spoilt right? You should have asked them before sending it in whether or not items not covered under warranty is chargeable under inspection, plus its already present on every help desk tables for all to see. Again, i would like to reiterate that, warranty claims are not decided by Machines or any service center, its decided by Apple. I wouldnt want to imply anything was there any instance where the ipod wasnt used by you? placed it to near a spill? its very hard to say, cause how to remember all the variables right? Even if you were to go to Epicentre, Maccity, Sapura, Switch, Vr Tech, it would all also incur charges, theres no difference.
No, I don't really agree that I should ask. They should ask or inform me before charging because I went to them with my ipod still under warranty. First they void my warranty, second they said there will be charges incurred. Doesn't that just piss you off?

And so far, all service centre do inform upfront that they are charging. Call that plain laziness to deter me from sending stuff in for warranty, but at least they inform me about it. But as a result, it is a clear indication that I should not buy from brand X for providing such warranty.

And even if you say it is not their fault, at the end of the day, they should have listened and discussed if there's any way to solve the problem. But they didn't and acted rather arrogantly. I said I will talk to Apple and they said something like go ahead, as if it cannot be solved. The call was not only between me and Apple, they claim they called them up to understand the situation while I was on hold. I don't know what is going on behind, but after all that, Apple agreed that I should not be charged.
impedance
post May 4 2010, 10:39 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ May 4 2010, 10:29 PM)
Wah, what are you talking about man, no device is perfect and no user is perfect either, there is a reason why companies create safe guards like water immersion sensors and other means to find out what actually happened, are you insinuating that Black Boxes are also faulty and shouldnt be used to gauge what actually happened in a crashed plane's cockpit? We are talking about an aircraft worth millions here. Even BMW and Mercedes benz cars have sensors in them that are downloadable to a diagnostic machine that can ascertain whether its a parts error or human error, how else would they know what happened? If someone were to suggest Malaysia's weather can trigger such instances then how come people who use their ipods for running and all that involves sweat dont come running to service centers to claim foul? Warranty claims has always been decided by the manufacturer who knows their device best, trust me just check out the many views on service that has been posted by forummers here in the mac servicing thread, they even exchanged a battery for my macbook even though its waaaay out of warranty and the exchange program has ceased to exist a year back,when they could have said sorry pal, we cant help you. if you feel that its not fair for companies to decide service then better to build one yourself ey?
I agree that it is not necessary to go to such extend, although some may not. Personally I am only unhappy with the lack of professionalism by the service team. Instead of trying to solve my problem, they approach the situation with arrogance. Today my ipod touch is still with the spots at the LCD, and I rest my case.
impedance
post May 4 2010, 10:43 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ May 4 2010, 10:39 PM)
No sir, i think its your right to ask anyway, to maaany bad experiences with mechanics, they'll say they'd check your car and all and assure you there wont be charges but when you come back the'd already charge you for everything. This exists everywhere, even in retail, dont expect them to tell you all the details, you should take your own initiative, to avoid being overcharged or manipulated. An informed customer can never be fooled.

The thing with your case is, they already found out that your ipod still has warranty, thats why they check the serial number just in case. But like all help desk they have to send it back to the service center for tests, once they established that its human error, they have no avenue to plead your case to Apple service, and they would have to charge you for tests, but from what i can understand they only informed you at the point of collection. This i feel is wrong, they should have told you on the phone when they mention that your ipod is due for collection. For this reason alone, you shouldnt be charged.
Yes, I know a perfect scenario would be that I asked in the first place, but I can't be at fault for not asking, right? smile.gif As for cars, after dealt with many bad experience, it is usually the norm to give a stern warning to get them to inform, whenever, they are doing something which incurs cost.

I guess such bad experience requires me to be more vigilant for my 2nd time, but I would want to avoid such encounter all together.

Added on May 4, 2010, 10:47 pm
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ May 4 2010, 10:39 PM)
No sir, i think its your right to ask anyway, to maaany bad experiences with mechanics, they'll say they'd check your car and all and assure you there wont be charges but when you come back the'd already charge you for everything. This exists everywhere, even in retail, dont expect them to tell you all the details, you should take your own initiative, to avoid being overcharged or manipulated. An informed customer can never be fooled.

The thing with your case is, they already found out that your ipod still has warranty, thats why they check the serial number just in case. But like all help desk they have to send it back to the service center for tests, once they established that its human error, they have no avenue to plead your case to Apple service, and they would have to charge you for tests, but from what i can understand they only informed you at the point of collection. This i feel is wrong, they should have told you on the phone when they mention that your ipod is due for collection. For this reason alone, you shouldnt be charged.

Added on May 4, 2010, 10:42 pm

well folks here always recommend Sapura and VR tech as the foremost professional service centers. But since they established that your ipod is not covered under warranty, perhaps pm-ing wei, might solve your problems, but well there will be charges.
Thanks for the suggestion, would probably take that route the next time. I'm used to seeing the spots now, that I think it may be uncomfortable seeing a clear screen. Anyway, I enjoyed the discussion.

This post has been edited by impedance: May 4 2010, 10:47 PM

0.0151sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:59 PM