Comments/feedbacks Apple Resellers Service, Discussion

dvlzplayground
post Apr 17 2010, 09:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

lol, luckily i never bought a mac from machines.. only bought a pair of headphones only tongue.gif

i've accompanied sum1 buying an iMac at Czone at lowyat plaza, surprisingly they entertain us very good. much better than most apple resellers biggrin.gif about service i dunno lah

Added on April 17, 2010, 9:31 pmwow if i get RX8 for my 19th birthday i sure brag kaw2 one wahaha

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Apr 17 2010, 09:31 PM
dvlzplayground
post Apr 17 2010, 09:54 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

well about the 'judging people' part i think all of us did that at one point or another..

i remember once i saw this high school kid i think...arnd that age lah. his style very 'kampung' one.. worn out clothes, tshirt with stupid graphics, dirty jeans, worn out slipper, hanging out with similar folks like him... then some1 called, and from his pocket he took out an iphone sad.gif

i think my clothes all more expensive than him, but i still use a SE dumbphone.. haha
dvlzplayground
post Apr 18 2010, 12:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(omega-lynx @ Apr 18 2010, 07:17 AM)
No, it's not. I didn't apply for ACPP in the first place. Quite silly of me really  sweat.gif

For the amount they're asking for a new logic board, and with the stuffs that needs replacing, it would amount to just a shade under 4k. So it's just more economical to buy a new laptop since the logic board only comes with a 3 month warranty
and the worst thing is, u cant just get any logic board, has to be from the same generation of ur old mac as well. so spending 4k today for a 3-year-old spec (was it? forgot ;p) is a very very bad choice!

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Apr 18 2010, 09:00 AM)
@omega-lynx
The reason that Machines s/b is still here and still like that is that their main target market, doesn't know and doesn't care what the forumers say or do.

they have 7 stores in all the major shopping malls in KL (1 in JB) ... the people who shop in Gardens, KLCC, 1 Utama, MidValley, Lot 10, Sunway Pyramid & City Square hardly even know what the heck is LowYat.net.

you're right about 2 things, though... they do hire incompetent people... and they do not provide sufficient training in customer service & technical knowledge...
no lar..depends on how much of a trouble for a person to get a mac i think. rich ppl, morning decide wanna buy mac, afternoon can go buy. less rich ppl, today decide wanna buy mac, read reviews and follow forums etc and after 6 months baru buy tongue.gif

staff lack of technical knowledge i can forgive, we cant expect all the staff to be as pro as an average mac user in this forum. plus, some of them do part time only, so sure the managers malas wanna train byk2. but if zero knowledge but act very smug, different story lah. even IF u consider apple to be high-end, luxury product....there's nothing luxury about working at machines with less than 1k (i think?) salary, how to be smug? unless they personally own all the products there maybe can la~ same goes to those salesperson working in designer boutiques, some tend to judge people not afford to buy their products, but i dun think they themselves can afford one tongue.gif

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 18 2010, 11:09 AM)
but 'somebody' failed to understand that simple fact and instead went rattling around how his dad bought him rx8 on his bday  rclxms.gif
no la, i get his point. juz bcuz some1 is from a country that has higher per capita than us, doesnt mean that individual person is richer than us. per capita is just an average. so if average salary is rm3k in malaysia, but in singapore is $3k...doesnt mean everyone in malaysia the salary is 3k and singapore is $3k right? what about malaysians with rm30k salary compare to singaporeans $2k salary?
dvlzplayground
post Apr 19 2010, 12:37 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

yea yea, if me i'd rather buy from online store..can get education discount summore biggrin.gif

but then dunno how will i feel when i buy MBP next time with my own money lah haha
dvlzplayground
post Apr 19 2010, 03:41 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

yalah, im still student, part time job also cannot buy MBP lol. looking forward to my 1st hard earned MBP tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Apr 21 2010, 02:41 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ HAHHAHAHAA

that one memang suka hati hentam laa!!!

one story from my gf. went to machines KLCC with her MBP...a malay staff treat her like she's some random poor kid lost in a 'premium' store. even after she took out her MBP also still treat like that. then he saw her wallpaper, a picture of her vacation in london...suddenly treat so nice +_+
dvlzplayground
post Apr 21 2010, 10:55 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

any notebook same case... all-in-one im not sure
dvlzplayground
post Apr 27 2010, 11:07 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 27 2010, 10:49 PM)
But the problem sometimes lies with consumers who think that Apple Resellers, actually works for Apple. From here they'll start to compare services rendered locally and abroad.
they do represent apple though. they have the 'premium reseller' badge, which apple awarded (am i right?). so bad experience in their storees = bad impression on apple inc.

the only time i see machines staff become friendly is during discoveryweek tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Apr 28 2010, 03:15 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Apr 27 2010, 11:17 PM)
no they dont necessarily represent apple. The premium reseller badge is for have turnover rate, Epicentre and Switch has it too. Your representatives of Apple are apple malaysia themselves, located at Bukit Damansara. Your logic flawed, bad experience at an apple reseller = still is bad experience at an apple reseller, bad experience at an Actual Apple Store = Bad Experience with Apple Inc, as they come under direct control/QC. I cannot say im dissapointed at BMW if Auto Bavaria suxks can i?
agreed. i think i need to rephrase. wut i mean was since machines, epicentre, switch etc got the premium reseller badge, i guess ppl would think their service are 'approved' by apple. if they give bad service, ppl would think "lousy service also apple can approve?". something like that lar i guess.

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 27 2010, 11:17 PM)
That one is up to Apple Malaysia or Apple South Asia to decide, but that doesn't mean Apple has jurisdiction over Apple Reseller employees' conducts. Whatever services that requires Apple's intervention, especially replacements of parts, it is all under the purview of Apple. Even Apple Authorised Service Providers like VR Tech, Sapura, and Machines - require clarification from Apple before any major parts are to be replaced under warranty... hence the red tape...

But if there's any misconduct out of any staff concerned, it is solely the responsibility of that particular Apple Reseller.
i thought someone mentioned here if we get bad treatment, can complain to apple?
dvlzplayground
post Apr 28 2010, 12:06 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Apr 28 2010, 11:26 AM)
@OmniAtlas
Apple doesn't work like Samsung et. al. To open an Apple store, you'd need to contact the local office and explain your business plan, at the very least. Basically, you'd be looking at becoming a local partner with Apple, and that's why you will not see Macs at Harvey Norman or Best Denki smile.gif
there are some PC stores selling macs... Czone for instance

anyway it's true though... i've worked at an apple reseller myself... when orang putih buy macs they never ask if got freebies got discounts etc. well maybe that's because they're rich la tongue.gif

nothing wrong with PC user working at machines. not ideal of course, but if dunno anything about macs but stil want to be smug, problem la dat
dvlzplayground
post Apr 28 2010, 05:15 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Apr 28 2010, 01:59 PM)
@dvlzplayground
CZone is an Apple-authorised partner, but IINM, they do have a separate Mac-only space, right?
oh really? didnt notice that tongue.gif

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Apr 28 2010, 04:32 PM)
i sort of agree with this too, customers should be given some space to fiddle or fondle the products as much as they want.
we fiddle2 fondle2 but the staff keep staring at us with "you wont afford that" face not nice also...
dvlzplayground
post Apr 30 2010, 11:31 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ shud be:

Bought few stuff from Machines.
1) MBP cos got 50% off from my maybank treatpoints
2) 2 3gs casing
3) coffee for cute machines staff tongue.gif

yeap so far i get good treatment from epicentre.. even if i ask something they dunno also, they'll go find someone who knows, n get back to me. the stuff they have are better imho...better choices.

if one day i can afford buy mac pro.. i'll wear tshirt, shorts n slippers... go see see accessories 1st, then ask got mac pro in stock or not.. haha. i wonder how they respond
dvlzplayground
post May 2 2010, 01:54 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ May 2 2010, 12:42 AM)
Well you normally either install RAM yourself, or get the shop to install it. It would be reasonable to assume that if you didn't know enough to install RAM, you wouldn't know which type or model of RAM to buy anyway, so you'd depend on the shop for these things, and you'd get them installed when you bought them. maybe you can change it to "test RAM" instead.

I had my specs fixed for free once. I was on my way somewhere when the screw dropped out. Walked into an optician's shop, he found that the screw was stripped, found a screw and nut, and bolted the thing together long enough for me to find a replacement. I didn't know who he was, but he didn't charge a thing.

I don't have a PC shop, but if I had one and we weren't too busy, I'm sure we'd be more than happy to help anyone install RAM, reformat or whatever, even if they didn't buy anything.
screw is cheap, n easy to do anyway, so no problem. we're talking about installing RAM or formatting here. any shop will charge you, they wanna make money ma. maybe if u buy RAM or OS from them, they can install for free. if that's the shop u bought ur computer from, yea maybe they can do it for free too, in the hopes that u'll come again for ur next purchase

any business need to make profit. installing RAM or formatting costs time and effort that could've been directed at somewhere else. you'll have a bunch of computers waiting for be repaired and paid for, no way u format some strangers computer for free right?

maybe in overseas it's different lah, i dunno, but we're talking about malaysia here. wanna get a salesperson to treat u nice also very hard... wanna get someone to install RAM or format for free...aiyo

Added on May 2, 2010, 1:56 amoh ya wanna add... that's why it's always a good idea to buy ur stuff from a place that gives good service smile.gif can always come back later n they may help u with something for free. the place i bought my MBP from even teach me how to change HDD etc smile.gif

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 2 2010, 01:56 AM
dvlzplayground
post May 2 2010, 02:40 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ no experience doesnt mean dunno how to treat customer nicely sad.gif that's the main issue here i think... technical issues they dunno nevermind, we have apple byte biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 3 2010, 03:03 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

well, no matter if this thread is going to boycott machines or not... i'm just glad we have a 'warning' here in apple byte. i always thought im the only one who hates machines staff n really like epicentre...found out that i'm not alone smile.gif.

n very true...when an average customer see machines branch everywhere, that person would simply assume machines is the best in the business. but when he/she get bad treatment from machines, he/she might assume that other apple resellers are worse sad.gif

in miri, the only apple reseller (optiprimus) only the manager actually knows about macs. the rest of the staff are very clueless. but so far none of them are snobbish etc. if they dunno, they will find the manager 1st, if cannot they try to google or find out some other way, until they really try they'll say they dunno. somehow i appreciate that
dvlzplayground
post May 4 2010, 10:16 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(impedance @ May 4 2010, 09:45 PM)
They did not do any checking to say whether my warranty is voided, only after taking in the iPod they claim the iPod warranty is voided after checking for the indicator.
so did they check or not? what i know is this indicator is like a sticker inside the ipod (most phones n laptops got this thing too). it will change colour when it comes into contact with water. this is so technicians can determine whether ur gadget is faulty or it's the user's fault. so i guess we can say that in order to check, they need to open up ur ipod 1st. if they didn't, probably they didn't check at all

but i rmember someone mentioned earlier that due to malaysia's humid weather, the indicator sticker can still change colour even though u never dropped it in water or got it wet by rain before

EDIT: i'd like to add that im not familiar with any other kinds of moisture indicators

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 4 2010, 10:22 PM
dvlzplayground
post May 4 2010, 11:05 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ May 4 2010, 10:29 PM)
If someone were to suggest Malaysia's weather can trigger such instances then how come people who use their ipods for running and all that involves sweat dont come running to service centers to claim foul?
ah yes, there were complaints about that as well sad.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 21 2010, 02:53 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

wow, sorry 2 hear that astard. however u're very lucky that the other person decided to return ur 32gb ipod. he might have just ran away with it
dvlzplayground
post May 24 2010, 04:55 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i bought a screen protector from machiens during discoveryweek last time. i asked if they can apply for me, they said they would (for free) but cannot guarantee no bubbles. to me that's a good answer smile.gif

but then i prefer to do it myself anyway lah. i dun like strangers touch2 my mbp hehe
dvlzplayground
post May 24 2010, 05:56 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

nimrod is correct. imagine u bought SP, asked them to do it, but they didnt do a good job. since u paid for it, ofcourse u want them to compensate for you

any reseller (im msia at least) wouldn't want that to happen. so "i can apply for u but i cannot guarantee anything" is a better answer than "no i cannot do for u" or "ok sure no problem!"

so if u want them to apply for u... juz dun be so strict la. sometimes u do ur best also still got bubbles etc. juz accept it

0.0297sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:45 PM