Comments/feedbacks Apple Resellers Service, Discussion

OmniAtlas
post Apr 16 2010, 03:41 PM

946 posts

Machines has terrible service. I screamed at one of their technical support persons because of their incompetent -- 'don't really want to talk to you' service.

Your best bet would be to

1. Call Apple care and get a service ID from them
2. Go to Sapura (they are listed on the apple web site) in PJ (near Digital mall) and they will fix your laptop usually within 1 or 2 days. The guy you need to talk to is Chong See Khien, really nice guy -- he fixed the cracks in my laptop, and cleaned the inside of it as well.
3. Complain directly to Apple about Machines. Machines is a direct representative of Apple so their bad service puts Apple in a bad light.
4. Boycott Machines, and try out the other mac stores. Mac City had really good service but I don't know if they are still around.
OmniAtlas
post Apr 16 2010, 05:17 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 16 2010, 03:56 PM)
While I suggest 1 and 2, VR is also a good service provider themselves. On the approach of AppleCare, be warned that I assume TS' MBP is out of warranty...? That could costs even if you call AppleCare.

I've been out of warranty for the last 3 years and I haven't been charged anything. Might as well give it a go, since you have nothing to lose.

As for number 3, why do you say Machines is a direct representative of Apple...?

Number 4, no comment... You can call Apple Malaysia to complain as well, but nowadays even complains fall into deaf ears, so I really question the competence of Apple Malaysia. Personally, I'll write straight to Apple South Asia in Singapore...
Machines is an official reseller of Apple, they have a direct relationship with them, and therefore I would consider them a direct representative of Apple. I haven't seen any other stores selling Apple products unless they are an official reseller, so I would call Machines a direct representation of Apple in Malaysia, just like Epicenter in KL and Singapore would be a direct representation of Apple.
OmniAtlas
post Apr 16 2010, 11:37 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(^prion^ @ Apr 16 2010, 11:21 PM)
Any idea how to complain?
Ordered a iMac 27", still waiting after 3 months.
Email, call - no layan. Like don't want to do business.
I will not buy from Machines anymore.
Esp now that they changed the membership terms.
Place a stop-order on your credit card? Hopefully you haven't paid for it already.

Next time it might be better to order direct from Apple, or from stores with stock.

Boycott Machines?
OmniAtlas
post Apr 17 2010, 09:30 AM

946 posts

I don't know about you, but the tech support guy I spoke to from the Gardens was rude. So it all depends on who you talk to.

The company has terrible management and professionalism -- they probably don't care about training their staff.
OmniAtlas
post Apr 17 2010, 01:44 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(LaminatedButterfly @ Apr 17 2010, 12:51 PM)
The problem is they hire a bunch of stuck up college snobs who think they're all cool and hip to be the front liners.. Most of the time they don't even  know their stuff..Just babbling and rattling away nonsense...
I really cannot stand Machines. My friends and I tend to avoid it. That's the very reason I ordered straight from the online store. How about you send an email straight to sjobs@apple.com haha or perhaps APPLE SOUTH ASIA in singapore
One of you should try writing to the Star or a major news publication. That should get them to get their act together. They had bad service like 3 years ago. They still have bad service? Its like noone in management really cares!

OmniAtlas
post Apr 21 2010, 12:46 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 21 2010, 08:52 AM)
Lol.... Funny shit.. Should send that email to complaint department as what wei suggested....

Haha dvlz, they memang always discriminate poor ppl wan la.. They always think that apple products are like gucci/LV/chanel etc which they arent =P
they discriminate base on how people look don't they? (according to the accounts I've read here).

Thats kind of funny, because I'm sure I've gotten better service at Gucci/LV/Channel when I walk in with my GF even though I'm dressed like a complete slack. lol.

Warren Buffet, one of the richest man alive, drives a simple car -- so if the staff at Machines are so judgemental just because of looks, then they will probably be losing a lot of sales!

Its probably not as simple as that -- I think their staff is just incompetent because of well, their incompetent management. They seriously need to devote more time to the training of their staff.

As previously resonated here, if any of you are having problems with Machines, try calling up Apple and complaining to them, don't shop at Machines anymore, and pass the word around.

OmniAtlas
post Apr 27 2010, 10:23 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Apr 24 2010, 09:56 AM)

nimrod323 is right, even the Apple Retail store (like 5th Ave. & Beijing etc.) don't exist for the 'long-lasting' bond where everybody knows your name. If the staff are rude, then write to info@machines.com.my, and they (the rude staff) should have to explain to their bosses what happened.

The reality is, as long as the customers want & expect freebies and/or cheap pricing, the customers will get cheap employeees as well, cos there's not enough to go around sad.gif
Xaw5126, I rather take good service anyday then freebies. Machines can take a lesson or two from Apple retail -- here is my experience from the Apple retail store in Atlanta and Boston, USA.

1. Ordered an aluminum Powerbook 12" (I still have sentimental feelings for this laptop although I eventually sold it!) online -- shipping was taking forever so I stepped into the Apple store, they kindly cancelled it for me, and I walked out with a brand stinking new powerbook the same day smile.gif
2. Buying the powerbook allowed you to get an ipod for a really cheap price (it was a deal for students), so I sent in the barcodes and receipts, and got cash back a few weeks later. The ipod was practically free.
3. Later went back to the store a few days later because I found out that I was also suppose to get a free printer with the laptop. Apple apologized, gave me the free printer, and gave me an ADDITIONAL $100 USD cash back into my credit card (!!).
4. ipod got wet (not my fault, friends decided to throw me in into a river); took it to the Apple store and they gave me a refurbished unit ON THE SPOT.
5. Multiple problems with my 1st generation black intel macbook -- logic board failure, battery charging problems, cracked top case, and recently hard drive failure -- all replaced even though my macbook has been out of warranty between 2-4 years (yes I know its Apple Care and not Apple retail taking care of the problem, but still I thought I'd mention it).

Apple retail has fantastic service. Machines service juxtaposed again Apple retail is just appalling, especially since they are the largest operating "Apple" retail store in the country.
OmniAtlas
post Apr 28 2010, 10:03 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 28 2010, 03:15 AM)
agreed. i think i need to rephrase. wut i mean was since machines, epicentre, switch etc got the premium reseller badge, i guess ppl would think their service are 'approved' by apple. if they give bad service, ppl would think "lousy service also apple can approve?". something like that lar i guess.
i thought someone mentioned here if we get bad treatment, can complain to apple?
Yes, I would think that most consumers would believe there is a strong association between Apple and the resellers because of their premium reseller badge, and their strong presence in the city. Even the interior modelling of the reseller store, Machines and Mac City included, closely resembles an official Apple store.

Their rude staff can lead an undesirable impression that *all* Apple stores are like that for the uninformed. I don't know how much jurisdiction or say Apple has in QC of the staff at Machines, but since Machines is a distributor of almost all products exclusively Apple, it would be wise if they said a word to them. I would think that to resell Apple products, you would have to officially file to Apple to become one, otherwise, why aren't there more Mac selling stores in Low Yat? Or are Apple products really that expensive and exclusive?

This post has been edited by OmniAtlas: Apr 28 2010, 10:07 AM
OmniAtlas
post Apr 28 2010, 10:20 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 28 2010, 10:10 AM)
Actually if an apple reseller were to be established in overseas lets say UK/Australia instead of the Apple Store, Im sure their services would definitely be much better based on their culture which really emphasizes on customers satisfaction comes first. Its just thats our Malaysian culture to not emphasize on good and friendly service. Thats my opinion.
Well, I'm in Australia at the moment and 'Next Byte', an Australia reseller replaced my hard drive within 1 day. They are pretty good with their service when you can get hold of their sales person, they are just understaffed (in Brisbane).
OmniAtlas
post Apr 28 2010, 10:38 AM

946 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Apr 28 2010, 10:21 AM)
Yet when foreigners enter an Apple reseller they only get what they want, and know what they are buying instead of asking questions like, hello got freebies arrr, discount arrr, 24 months installment arrr without even asking how the mac works etc etc. Our customer etiquette is also marred by sense of entitlement too.

Added on April 28, 2010, 10:27 am

reason being to startup you'd have to have  a startup capita that runs i millions,thats just for setting up the store, to buy stocks and products you would need to have an account filled with millions.
I ment smaller stores selling a range of diversified products -- e.g. Sony, Acers, Asus, etc, so why not macs? You might be right though, the market is just too small at this time. However, I've never seen a mac being sold outside an official reseller store, which is why I question if resellers are the only ones entitled to sell mac products.

OmniAtlas
post Apr 28 2010, 12:12 PM

946 posts

I think people expect more from Apple stores (resellers or not) because they will probably buy another Apple product because of the ecosystem. Since my initial powerbook purchase I've bought direct from Apple :

Intel Macbook, macbook power adapter, Apple LCD, Apple Keyboard, Apple Mouse, iPhone, Mac OS. Thats at least over 3000 USD going directly to Apple. I'll probably continue to buy apple products in the near future because of their excellent Apple care and retail service, but thats only because I've experienced it on the other side (USA, Australia, phone centers).

I've also grown to love Mac OS X because of its reliability (the same couldn't be said for Windows).

OmniAtlas
post Apr 30 2010, 10:25 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Apr 30 2010, 06:25 PM)
yeah can follow apple mini store style where everything is self service, there's a terminal for you to swipe ur card, a drawer with paper bags.. everything is self service. there's only one employee in the store.  rclxms.gif
You know, in Japan you can buy ipods in vending machines??!
OmniAtlas
post May 1 2010, 10:41 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ May 1 2010, 08:19 PM)
Im sorry, Resellers like Machines,Epicentre and Switch are Gold Service providers too, they do have in house service and are not dictated by stand alone service like VR tech or Sapura.
Yes, thats right. I remember going to the Machines service center (its in the office building next to mid valley) to pick up my macbook after they couldn't fix it.

OmniAtlas
post May 3 2010, 09:13 AM

946 posts

My experience with the store in 1Utama (I think its Mac City) has been pretty good -- back in the day I had m iphone 2g (recessed earphone jack) and I was looking for an adapter that would fit. Found an extension in the store, and the sales man was kind enough to let me open it to try it on the spot. It didn't fit, but at least they let me try it out first before I would have made a purchase.

I was also looking for earphones that did fit (v-moda at that time) and they had a look in their database to see when stock was coming in, and said they would hold one for me if they want.

Theres a difference between ACTIVE service, and service from Machines from what most of you are describing, sounds very passive, or non-existent at all.

I agree with the others that they should let us browse without bothering us, but a once in a while, "can I help you?", would be nice. I've gotten use to the passive service in Machines even when I do ask for help.
OmniAtlas
post May 24 2010, 11:00 PM

946 posts

11,000 views and this thread is still going strong!

lol @ neverending complaints, maybe someone should sticky this.

BTW, just went to the official Apple store in Melbourne and they had excellent service. My aunt ended up buying a macbook and getting a free printer/fax/copier.

The guy was pretty good about explaining everything to my aunt who is a technophobe.

0.0273sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:01 PM