Beware the property trap, Chong tells owners

Zaypher
post Apr 20 2010, 04:24 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(hanif444 @ Apr 16 2010, 01:45 PM)
so if tenant dun pay rent..just leave it izzit? owner cant do anything? Our Law are sxxx
erm, our law aren't that sucky really. If you get a good lawyer to draft your tenancy agreement, you can include various clauses to protect your rights as the land owner. There are many ways you go compel a tenant to pay up. Like charging late payment interest, or right to terminate the tenancy or maybe disrupt the utilities.

Added on April 20, 2010, 4:27 pm
QUOTE(hpcp @ Apr 20 2010, 12:37 AM)
I had an experience of tenant not paying rent, went missing, couldn't be contacted, and with some of his belonging still in the house...

If you were me, what would you do?
if i were you, i would have commenced legal action. Enter judgment against your tenant for defaulting rental payment and also vacant possession of your land. Get the necessary forms and get a court's officer to enter the place, seize the tenant's belongings and sell it to satisfy the outstanding rental. (of course, there are certain items that are not seizable).

This post has been edited by Zaypher: Apr 20 2010, 04:27 PM

0.0139sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:31 AM