DG Smart Plan For Android, "The smarter plan for smartphones"

davidmak
post Apr 23 2010, 12:44 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 23 2010, 08:56 AM)
Am waiting for desire too sad.gif
Yeah same here too. It has been far too long... no indication on announcements either. I wonder if it will be launched here.
davidmak
post Apr 29 2010, 04:15 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Apr 29 2010, 10:25 AM)
hmmm? blacklist because of?
havent clear outstanding balance?
I use CC auto debit btw..
hmmmm....
Or this is a tactic to 'intentionally and legally' bind their customers with their network. After all, it is easy to 'just blacklist' someone and the rest of the telcos will run away and that someone has no choice but to stick with Celcom?
davidmak
post Apr 30 2010, 10:36 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(shymx @ Apr 30 2010, 05:36 PM)
Cant i subscribe for Smart Plan but i dun wan the RM 68 broadband ?
But Smart Plan (RM68) is all about that data service. If you don't want the data service, then you shouldn't be considering Smart Plan. Maybe their D30 or D50 will do.
davidmak
post May 1 2010, 08:54 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Cannonfodder @ Apr 30 2010, 11:56 PM)
Maxis website for Android looks like a very sloppy cut/paste job from some other telco' website, so I wouldn't take what is shown there to be 100% accurate.

For instance, they're offering the Motorola Droid instead of the Milestone, and if it really is the Droid, I expect there will be a lot of pissed-off Maxis customers wondering why their CDMA phones aren't working here in Malaysia.
Yeah bloody sloppy cut and paste job. Their online marketing executive needs to be kicked at the arse. This kind of mistake is unacceptable.
davidmak
post May 3 2010, 09:16 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ May 2 2010, 10:15 PM)
Celcom increasing un reliable?
D way govermt 3G license shown un fair treatmt to digi (foreign-no-cronies)
Rewarding it to smaller n unproven telcos

If digi was given earlier,surely bcome leader in comm technology wit innovative service

Added on May 2, 2010, 11:20 pmmaxis change motorola droid to motorola milestone

and still mention about PAID apps in android market..
It is not important. Whats more important is Digi now has 3G capabilities. Next, it has to work on its coverage in other parts of the country. The fact that Digi still remains today is a testimony that its strategies are right. Government policies can only go so far.
davidmak
post May 3 2010, 12:39 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ May 3 2010, 12:04 PM)
Digi's should be running at 3.5G (a.k.a. HSDPA)
And, Yay! I got my Legend @ Pavilion yesterday...
Yellow camp FTW!
Agreed. But we usually identify it as 3G including all the extensions underneath it (HSPA, etc). Congrats on your new Legend.
davidmak
post May 4 2010, 08:11 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Say if I'm porting my number from another telco to Digi. What is the typical turnaround time for the porting to be completed and the Digi line to be activated? I understand the 24-48 hours expectation but I want to know about the typical turnaround time.

Can anyone help?
davidmak
post May 5 2010, 02:01 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(boonhoong @ May 5 2010, 11:39 AM)
I wasted a whole day trying to find out why I wasn't getting a data connection with DG after moving from MAXIS to their Smart Plan. After 4 calls to Digi with 4 incompetent service personnels offering various BS non-working solutions, I finally got lucky with the 5th guy who said that GPRS was not activated for my account.

At this point, I was thinking.. fine whatever. I'll still use data as soon as I get GPRS service, and just complaint kau kau if I get charged extra for pay as you use data on an unlimited data plan. By the way, according to him 3G is activated upfront. Just not GPRS and you can't get any data connection much less 3G if GPRS is not activated shakehead.gif

Will wait for my bill end of this month and see...
Sounds like my experience. I locked in my MNP request from Maxis to Digi yesterday 10am and I received SMS just like you did on today at 9am. Swapped SIM cards but no data connection. I'm on DG Smart Plan for Blackberry (RM68) but it doesn't matter because its the same plan (APN = diginet). I had to call 4 times because the first 3 gave me conflicting and inconsistent answers so I wasn't satisfied.

The 4th personnel told me that account transfer + voice activation and the data connection activation is done separately. They will need to port you over first and then activate your whatever plans you registered on (Eg DG Smart Plan). Normally this is within few hours and you will get a confirmation SMS when things are done. Before this, any data access will incur pay as you use charges.

The same thing happened to my wife when she initially subscribed for Digi 3G Internet RM58 bolt-on to her DG50. She assumed things were immediate because she could then access 3G. Then we check the charges over the Digi support line and a half-day access has accumulated to RM25 already. shocking.gif Not good. So yes... it will be pay as you use.

Then she got the confirmation SMS and things went smoothly.
davidmak
post May 5 2010, 02:15 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(lv1209 @ May 5 2010, 02:09 PM)
Hi all, i've some question here,

1. what's the rate for supplementary plan under smart plan? 0.15/0.10?
2. do i need to take another postpaid plan instead of smart plan only will do?
3. formnp, am i restricted to take up to 12 mths contract only?
I only know answer to Question 2:

You don't need to add on a voice plan. The DG Smart Plan is a fully integrated plan. Your RM68 will entitle you data access of up to 3GB/month (FUP applies). This plan includes voice, sms and mms but it will be as pay-as-you-use basis. Voice is RM0.15/min @ 30sec blocks. SMS and MMS charges as per normal.

Under this plan you have DG Save Smart (25%, 100%). How does it work? If your total accumulated bill is RM100 and more, you will be entitled to 25% reduction over the RM68 (charges for DG Smart Plan). Say to enjoy 25% reduction, all you need to do is accumulate voice+sms+mms = RM32++ to gain entitlement.

If total bill is RM200 and more, you will be entitled to 100% reduction over the RM68.
davidmak
post May 5 2010, 05:23 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Sigh... my line got activated this morning at 9am. Till now 5.20pm also no sign of any data activation. How long have to wait? Getting impatient tongue.gif
davidmak
post May 5 2010, 07:54 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(konholio @ May 5 2010, 05:52 PM)
On my phone it always show 'H' or 'E' is it normal? or it should show 3g?
On Digi it always fluctuate between H and E on some phones. So if you know H or 3G signals are strong, just set your phone to only connect to H/3G. Downside is... if you hit a spot without these signals, your phone won't be able to fall back to E or etc. In that case, you have manually reset back to auto.
davidmak
post May 5 2010, 09:36 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(emperor^10 @ May 5 2010, 08:50 PM)
Ask him to check digi website... In the FAQ got stated there all can be pay by credit card... wink.gif

Added on May 5, 2010, 9:03 pmQ32. Can I use my credit card to pay for the device, advance payment and first month upfront payment?
A32. Yes.
I got insisted to pay cash too. sad.gif Sucks. I knew they could accept credit card. I think this has something to do with 'circling' the money before it eventually reaches Digi. So they can make 'something' out of it.
davidmak
post May 7 2010, 07:52 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ May 6 2010, 10:47 PM)
I totally agree.
Happy digi user here. No problem what so ever on my Smart Plan.
Same here, no issues. The transition was smooth and within 24 hours. Digi was good in that they accepted my registration in advance because I still have a few more days with Maxis (on contract). I wasn't free all the time to go Digi Centre. So they hold the application and only lock it in after mine expires. Once locked in, it took less than 24 hours to activate the new line.

I picked this plan because it is compatible with both Android and BlackBerry phones (of course the data rate is cheap too). The speed is fast enough on my phone. I'm still waiting for the Desire so I'm using Bold 9700 now. I had issues with the data connection because the service books weren't sent and Digi thought I am using their Bold phone. After a few calls, a Digi personnel called me direct. I was already on the way to a Digi Centre to resolve the issue but you know what that person say to me? He asked to give him an opportunity to help me one last time so I won't be troubled to go all the way to Digi Centre.

He walked me through a few procedures and finally the service was activated. The service books were sent to my phone. He also guided me the procedures when I want to use a non-BB phone. This is what I call service. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by davidmak: May 7 2010, 07:53 AM
davidmak
post May 12 2010, 04:24 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ May 12 2010, 01:26 PM)
Thanks for the link.  Looks like both my home and work place has no 3G coverage.  My home dun even have edge.  sweat.gif  Need to wait until Digi upgrade the network then only I can switch.
If you plan to use the phone as a tethered modem then yes. Otherwise, your phone doesn't stay at home mah. It go places with you so you can enjoy 3G coverage whenever you go.

QUOTE(kanethesun @ May 12 2010, 03:05 PM)
where your place eh?
I actually quite surprise because my house is under HSDPA, which my phone connecting to Facebook, is faster than my Poor AMAX sweat.gif
Its a matter of available bandwidth. Probably AMAX is congested hehehe...
davidmak
post May 12 2010, 05:26 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(SweetPuff @ May 12 2010, 04:59 PM)
Video calls are the same rates as voice calls. Across the board for all digi plans. Bear in mind that video calls to other networks are currently not supported.

So if calls to supp lines are free, then vid calls are free too lor...
Ah... that is something new to me. I didn't know Digi's video call infrastructures are 'not connected' to other networks.
davidmak
post May 27 2010, 05:19 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Cannonfodder @ May 27 2010, 03:13 PM)
Maxis has locked in the Desire for a month, so looks like those waiting for it on Digi Smart Plan have to keep on waiting for at least that long.

But I can't see Digi not offering it in at least some package, given how highly rated the Desire is.

Plus Digi has proven it's not averse to sloppy seconds as it's shown with the iPhone smile.gif
I just hope Digi would get the iPhone 4G exclusives first as a 'screw gesture' to Maxis hehehehe...

0.0377sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:38 PM