edited.
Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)
Apr 25 2010, 03:10 AM
889 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Seremban |
edited.
Apr 25 2010, 03:14 AM
2,729 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Gotham City |
QUOTE NTFS-3G is an open source cross-platform implementation of the Microsoft Windows NTFS file system with read-write support. NTFS-3G often uses the FUSE file system interface, so it can run unmodified on many different operating systems. It is runable on Linux, FreeBSD, NetBSD, OpenSolaris, BeOS, QNX, Windows NT[citation needed], WinCE, Nucleus, VxWorks, Haiku,[1] and Mac OS X.[2] It is licensed under either the GNU General Public License or a proprietary license. It is a partial fork of ntfsprogs and is under active maintenance and development. NTFS-3G was introduced by one of the senior Linux NTFS developers, Szabolcs Szakacsits (IPA: [ˈsɒbolt͡ʃ ˈsɒkɒt͡ʃit͡ʃ]), in July 2006. The first stable version was released on 2007-02-21 as version 1.0. The developers of NTFS-3G later formed a company, Tuxera Ltd., to further develop the code. NTFS-3G is now the free "community edition",[1] while Tuxera NTFS is the proprietary version. must ask sifus here.. this will let us use ntfs for mac rite? |
Apr 25 2010, 03:28 AM
1,903 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: ipohmali |
download it from here
http://macntfs-3g.blogspot.com/ it enables you to read and write NTFS formatted hard disk, dont download tuxera dl the second one. |
Apr 25 2010, 03:29 AM
bro, everything there is by texura. lol
Apr 25 2010, 03:34 AM
1,903 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: ipohmali |
yea but somehow the first one its like trial version, i always re-dl the second one when i format my mac
Apr 25 2010, 03:36 AM
LOL. thanks bro. I'm new to mac anyway. Any other things that I should install apart from that? I mean those essential ones. What bout those AppDelete prog. Do we really need it? and stuff like ONYX too
Apr 25 2010, 04:00 AM
263 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Apr 25 2010, 03:04 AM) By the way, I remember that we've got to format our drive to FAT32 so that we could use it on our mac. THe thing is, I think I read somewhere that it'll somehow limit us to transfer 3GB only right? Is there any ways to overcome this? In short:If you need to share disk on Mac and Windows use FAT32 or NTFS. FAT32 limitation is that per file can have only 4GB. No way overcoming that. NTFS trick is that you need to have another software installed as well as explained above. If you don't have the need to have the disk being shared on Windows then native mac all the way I guess For more info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_file_systems Added on April 25, 2010, 4:10 am QUOTE(Xirality @ Apr 24 2010, 08:15 PM) Can. In short anyone studying or working in education sector is eligible. You would fall under K-12 categoryThis post has been edited by viper-xs: Apr 25 2010, 04:10 AM |
Apr 25 2010, 04:16 AM
Aight. Thanks. Will install it later. Calibrating my MBP. (:
Apr 25 2010, 07:11 AM
1,938 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Bolehland |
Apr 25 2010, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(viper-xs @ Apr 25 2010, 04:00 AM) In short: Native Mac? Like how? I mean, if you wanna transfer files from a mac to another mac, you still need harddrive or pendrive right ?If you need to share disk on Mac and Windows use FAT32 or NTFS. FAT32 limitation is that per file can have only 4GB. No way overcoming that. NTFS trick is that you need to have another software installed as well as explained above. If you don't have the need to have the disk being shared on Windows then native mac all the way I guess For more info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_file_systems Added on April 25, 2010, 4:10 am Can. In short anyone studying or working in education sector is eligible. You would fall under K-12 category This post has been edited by sumtuckieeeee: Apr 25 2010, 10:50 AM |
Apr 25 2010, 11:04 AM
from what i understand,
if u want no 3rd party crap, then fat32 is the way to go for mac to mac transfer... meaning, format the drive to fat32 format not NTFS... the good thing is that fat32 can be read on mac as well as pc...so u wun hv compatibility issues... the bad thing is that u can transfer files bigger than 4gb on fat32... the option u hv if u transfer large files alot is using a NTFS format provided u use ntfs-3g on mac.. that solves the little bit of prob... |
Apr 25 2010, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Apr 25 2010, 11:04 AM) from what i understand, So you mean, if I format it into NTFS, I will be having compatibility issues? and yea. lets say I've finish calibrating my battery for the 1st time, should I continue plug my mbp with the adapter or I need to unplug it and use the battery instead? Can I plug it all the time? Cause I'll be using my MBP for a long time every day.if u want no 3rd party crap, then fat32 is the way to go for mac to mac transfer... meaning, format the drive to fat32 format not NTFS... the good thing is that fat32 can be read on mac as well as pc...so u wun hv compatibility issues... the bad thing is that u can transfer files bigger than 4gb on fat32... the option u hv if u transfer large files alot is using a NTFS format provided u use ntfs-3g on mac.. that solves the little bit of prob... This post has been edited by sumtuckieeeee: Apr 25 2010, 11:30 AM |
Apr 25 2010, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Apr 25 2010, 11:18 AM) So you mean, if I format it into NTFS, I will be having compatibility issues? and yea. lets say I've finish calibrating my battery for the 1st time, should I continue plug my mbp with the adapter or I need to unplug it and use the battery instead? Can I plug it all the time? Cause I'll be using my MBP for a long time every day. nt compatibility issue i guess...ntfs cant write if used in mac if im nt wrong.. i'll try out these things today..edit: i installed ntfs-3g on mbp, n reformat the drive to ntfs, read write on mac is nt an issue now... This post has been edited by harmeet15: Apr 25 2010, 11:57 AM |
Apr 25 2010, 12:49 PM
![]() I dont know what's with my battery. The capacity is small compared to others. |
Apr 25 2010, 02:51 PM
2,642 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
your one is alot compare to mine
my one read 4365 |
Apr 25 2010, 04:25 PM
62 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(wiraone @ Apr 24 2010, 08:29 AM) Roger, but yangz said that he changed from the short to long socket, so I thought when he said socket .. he meant power strip (aka extension) .. probably you're right, he might meant the plug instead.. sry for my limited knowledge! power strip is the one i was talking about Added on April 25, 2010, 4:35 pm QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Apr 25 2010, 12:49 PM) this is mine» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by yangz: Apr 25 2010, 04:35 PM |
Apr 25 2010, 05:04 PM
12,176 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
hey, if I want dual external monitor.
Which cable I should buy? The apple online store so many cable. Confuse |
Apr 25 2010, 05:44 PM
3,892 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Back on earth! |
Apr 25 2010, 07:06 PM
12,176 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Apr 25 2010, 07:52 PM
just bought this mdp-hdmi today...
![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0272sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:03 AM |