Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)
nimrod323
Jun 9 2010, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(LYW @ Jun 9 2010, 10:28 AM) i am really kinda suprised... i didnt get that when i was converting files and using word, excel and presentation togetheron my old envy 15. Im just wondering, if it can warm up that easily, can it crash or hang easily?? processor are like car engines, they need to get to a certain temperature for optimum operation. Its nothing new 60-70 Celcius are normal, my 13 Macbook, 13inch MBP and 15inch MBP all hover at 60-70 with Photoshop, Aperture, FCE and Dreamveawer on at the same time.
nimrod323
Jun 9 2010, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(milky @ Jun 9 2010, 02:22 PM) guys will there be any 13" MBP coming on i3 or i5 or i7 model ? becoz 15"model is very heavy for me.. thinking of getting the 13" but that is old processor.. there is a reason for that processor to be implemented for the MBP 13, if you google a bit you'd know. They managed to put an Nvidia 320m card inside, so its still more powerfull then an i3 with intel HD graphics
nimrod323
Jun 9 2010, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jun 9 2010, 07:39 PM) it's good that u can feel the heat. meaning the aluminium body is doing it's job in dissipating the heat. u dont want the heat to collect inside ur MBP let me ask u back. does ur mbp crash or hang easily? if no, then no problem lah. simple  . juz dun do something stupid like blocking the vents etc. probably later, but maybe next year i guess. the MBP 13" size cannot fit a dedicated GPU, but if Apple choose to go for i3, i5 or i7, then they have to use Intel HD graphics, which is much worse than the 320M. the 2.4 and 2.66 c2d is a midrange c2d processor, should beat i3 anytime i dun care if the next update still dont have i3, but a 3.06 c2d instead! ;p
cannotlah it'll push the thermal envelope higher and since the MBP 13 only has one fan, will kaput easily.
nimrod323
Jun 10 2010, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(milky @ Jun 10 2010, 09:24 AM) huh? C2D beat i3 anytime? WTH.. my computer friend told me i3 can tapao c2d any range..the screen on 13"MBP looks not go glossy as 15" one right? If you bothered to read our replies, dvlzplayground did say its a md range c2d, the differences are minimal, intel i3,i5,i7 cant be paired with the integrated nvidia 320m because intel is suing nvidia for this, would you rather have an i3 and ridiculous intel HD graphics?
nimrod323
Jun 10 2010, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jun 10 2010, 01:43 PM) hi dude, i planning to upgrade my macbook 13 to mbp 15 when i travel to UK ltr\ can anyone tell me the UK retail apple store hav mbp with US keyboard layout? or all is UK layout? order online thru apple online store UK u can customize US keyboard.
nimrod323
Jun 10 2010, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(cscheat @ Jun 10 2010, 09:19 PM) guys what is your mbp 13" battery health after used 2 months ? the battery you guys need to see your usage frst, the 10-9 hours have to be gauged from these settings: - screen brightness at 20% - just surfing - word documents only
nimrod323
Jun 10 2010, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(lancefire @ Jun 10 2010, 09:54 PM) Actually Apple based theirs on 50% brightness. Which is what I did also. And I meant just firefox and finder open. And also flash is disabled unless I wanna view Youtube. from my experience the apple recommendation cant be trusted, plus if you notice the battery time fluctuates at time, just my observation it also depends on your room ventilation and air flow, never put your mac on a bed while doing testing, restricts air flow.
nimrod323
Jun 10 2010, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(cscheat @ Jun 10 2010, 10:06 PM) Thanks guy ! what about your capacity health ? mine is drop to 98%  Both my macbook 13 and MBP 15 are currently at 100%, i use coconut battery to check its health, use that its free.
nimrod323
Jun 10 2010, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(cscheat @ Jun 10 2010, 10:13 PM) i wonder why mine dropped to 98% ... only 14cycle have you done calibration before? the thing with batteries is that they overtime get worn out. The good way of taking care of them is that, if you are at home its best to leave them on power cord, and when you are on battery its best to use it until below 10% to charge, charging at 70%, 50% or 30% is pointless. heres teh link http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1490
nimrod323
Jun 10 2010, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(ginolo @ Jun 10 2010, 11:04 PM) guys, do you think acpp for mbp15" @RM900 with full set box is a worth purchase? just received that quotation from a seller  wrong thread but i think that is quite good, btw make sure you get an official receipt for verification purposes and also make sure the box is sealed and unopened.
nimrod323
Jun 10 2010, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(ginolo @ Jun 10 2010, 11:15 PM) hmm, i think post it here is suitable since it is about macbook pro user oh, w/o the official receipt, even with the box(sealed and unopen) also like nothing diff compare to those ebay one?
at times some sellers tend to place this codes inside refurb boxes, thats the issues, but that is highly unlikely, if you dont mind care to share the link with me? have a mbp 15 that needs acpp and i dont trust the ebay sellers, the prices are cheap but very dodgy
nimrod323
Jun 11 2010, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(ginolo @ Jun 11 2010, 02:21 PM) Whew  problem gone after i add on the long extension cable! it has the proper earth cable bro, thats the plus point used to face that problem with the smaller head.
nimrod323
Jun 11 2010, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(keepme88 @ Jun 11 2010, 10:47 PM) do you even bothered to do a proper search in this thread? i have explained the reasons just a few pages back, http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1391606/+1860#
nimrod323
Jun 12 2010, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(keepme88 @ Jun 11 2010, 11:16 PM) im already know abt calibrating the batt..done mine 3days past, with 96% batt health..always using power adapter after knew tht mine drop to 96%..today, im using the batt without adapter till 20% left with doin my progrmming asggmnt via bootcamp..wen i plugged it back, i check my coconut, then it shows than mine ady 93% now..really sad la..is it battery problem..wht should i do? -7 in 2 months? that is really weird, how old is your mac, and how come you max your cycle count to 24? Do you charge it during 80%, 60%, 40%, 20%? my recommendation is 15% and below. Again this is also ikut ur usage lah, see how you take care of it, just for comparison sake take a look at mine. Attached thumbnail(s)
nimrod323
Jun 12 2010, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 12 2010, 12:07 AM) i got this for almost half a year on the static issue, but when everytime i m in US problem is GONE ! weirdo...so in KL have to use the long power cord : / our earth grounding not so good, blame poor urban planning. sheesh
nimrod323
Jun 12 2010, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(keepme88 @ Jun 12 2010, 12:17 AM)  im also shocked with mine..mine latest MBP 13", bought 1 1/2 month past..im always taking care of it, like a husband taking care of his wife..he.. dun know what to do la..do you know how to reach apple customer service by online for me to state n ask about this to them?? i didnt buy accp yet.. best thing is to ask a proper technician to check your issues, i suggest sapura at Section 14 look for Chong or Khairul. Sapura Synergy (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd - (Authorised Service Provider) - Service Center 116 Jalan Semangat, Section 14, 46860 Petaling Jaya Tel: 603 7958 8802 Fax: 603 7958 8100 Email: axispj.support@sapura.com.my Web: http://www.sapura.com.myOperating Hours: Mon - Fri @ 8.30 am to 6 pm just beside Challenger sport complex, near Axcess tickets
nimrod323
Jun 12 2010, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(inachi @ Jun 12 2010, 02:04 AM) mine 2months,32cycles..95%..seems like got prob as well.. mine 2 months,32cycles..i usually charged it at 6%..btw, ur batt capacity is low..50**..how come ar?
well mine is KOFF KOFF 3 year old MB white hahaha Added on June 12, 2010, 9:49 amQUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jun 12 2010, 05:57 AM) oh i see, i thought the momentum scrolling only works with the trackpad ;p wah, 3 cycles in 43 months?
not only in KL... probably whole malaysia  nolah this battery was exchanged by apple to me 3 months back because of the battery expanding issue lol, but still im the lazy person who rarely takes this MB out of the room, hence the always on power cord  , but anyways this macbook is going to retire soon This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jun 12 2010, 09:49 AM
nimrod323
Jun 12 2010, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Jun 12 2010, 03:57 PM) any of us here use Invisible shield or Bodyguardz for our MBPs? err better not, the sticky stuff attracts dusts, looks ugly, better naked or speck casing.
nimrod323
Jun 13 2010, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(Xirality @ Jun 13 2010, 02:18 PM) Im not rich like you Or do you think I have to wait at the time Im going to college then get the latest MBP?
whats the point getting it then? better get it ow and familiarize with it rather than facing problems when you have an assignment here
nimrod323
Jun 14 2010, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(lexcorp @ Jun 14 2010, 08:29 PM) MBP 13''Core 2 2.4ghz and MBP 15'' i5 2.4ghz processors , what is the different oo? both also 2.4ghz the core i-sereis has Turbo Boost and also is best for multi threaded apps like FCP for example, and best partis the dedicated GC for the 15inch, look up at apple.com and compare