7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)

nimrod323
post Jun 2 2010, 08:14 PM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(cyberixus @ Jun 2 2010, 08:01 PM)
Geez ... who would want a SIRIM sticker on their MBP?

I think the sticker would actually de-value the MBP.  tongue.gif
agree,the sticky residue left by the sticker is even worst
nimrod323
post Jun 2 2010, 09:38 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Jun 2 2010, 09:24 PM)
lol.. i don trust ebay! i bought it from Apple Store.

hmm.. what to do with the label?  hmm.gif
stick on your desk or something for posterity sake
nimrod323
post Jun 2 2010, 09:45 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Jun 2 2010, 09:39 PM)
Guys, thinking of setting up a time machine for my MBP. I am thinking a 3.5" desktop external HDD. Is it I need to buy those which is Mac compatible? Ie Seagate Or you have other better recommendation?
dont buy into the gimmick mac compatible, any HDDs are mac compatible, you just need to format them into HFS+ under disk utility and thats that
nimrod323
post Jun 2 2010, 10:21 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Jun 2 2010, 09:54 PM)
But the Seagate's firewire port is very tempting.
then by all means go FW, hehe how much is it here? am looking for an ext HDD as well
nimrod323
post Jun 3 2010, 08:49 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 3 2010, 02:44 AM)
Posting from my 15" MBP Core i7... tongue.gif

Need a little getting use to after downgrading from the mighty 8-core Mac Pro... doh.gif

Added on June 3, 2010, 3:13 ambtw, anyone here purchased and installed OptiBay for MacBook Pro to accommodate a second HDD...?

even stock 500GB macam tak cukup... doh.gif
is this a stock unit? hmm lol dont think u went for the higher end display or the 7200rpm HDD
nimrod323
post Jun 3 2010, 08:09 PM

2,664 posts

Harloo Harlooo new MBP 15 user reporting in!
nimrod323
post Jun 3 2010, 08:13 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 3 2010, 08:12 PM)
apa spec...? brows.gif

CTO ar...?
hehe standard unit saja UGPM
nimrod323
post Jun 4 2010, 03:39 PM

2,664 posts

okeh, for those of you guys whom own a macbook or MBP before the mid 2010 models can also have momentum scrolling on your macs, its called smartscroll but well its a share ware http://marcmoini.com/sx_en.html
nimrod323
post Jun 4 2010, 09:57 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jun 4 2010, 09:54 PM)
anyway i tried it myself dy... sometimes the scrolling is choppy n sometimes didnt work at all haha

rumours saying momentum scrolling will be in 10.6.4 *crosses fingers*
haha i used to use it in my MB white, yep its choppy not a complete solution tongue.gif 10.6.4? cool my mbp will have this functionality too yeah biggrin.gif
nimrod323
post Jun 4 2010, 11:56 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Jun 4 2010, 11:53 PM)
i called to machines and ask about the battery thingy.. they ask me to use for half month..if still dropping drastically, then need to claim warranty..but issit a must to leave my mbp there? can they change immediately?
maybe they have a long service related que, what about VR Tech or Sapura? these are purely service centers
nimrod323
post Jun 5 2010, 09:18 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Jun 5 2010, 12:03 AM)
not only US, singapore also got.
mayb the few days is they need to send to apple store and let them check then only they change for u..not change immediately.
[cool.gif
There is no such thing as an apple store in south east asia, closest one is in china and tokyo or australia. The way resellers here work is that either they have their own service centers like Machines, Epicenter, or Switch or they send to authorized service centers like Sapura or VR Tech. Service centers perform checks and repairs in their outlets, they dont outsource to Singapore or any other country, however spare parts do come from Singapore so yeah hence the delay, nothing can be done on the spot unless its a software related issue.
nimrod323
post Jun 5 2010, 01:12 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Jun 5 2010, 10:55 AM)
when are they realeasing the 10.6.4 update?
no1 here work for apple straight so just wait till Software Update notifies you
nimrod323
post Jun 6 2010, 11:41 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Jun 6 2010, 10:27 AM)
Anyone use SmcFancontroller.? normally u guys set min speed of fan is how many RPM??
i strongly suggest you not to use it because it'll ruin your fan, if you have to set it at 3000rpm
nimrod323
post Jun 6 2010, 01:00 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Jun 6 2010, 12:55 PM)
huh....but it seem my mb alu running on vista is quite hot.
that is your problem right there, smc cant help you on the windoze side anyway, its a mac only app if i remember correctly.
nimrod323
post Jun 6 2010, 01:28 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 01:06 PM)
Only...

But theoretically he can set the fan speed using SMCFanControl on Mac side, then reboot into windows without powering down his MB... (MazeLaughing my ass outL, read this, do not power down)... That should keep the fan speed on SMC-FC setting... I know it works on a Mac Pro, but since I don't Boot Camp on my MBP, I can't be certain if the same applies on portables...
ah thats a safe bet, eh kukunius, apasal want to trade your i7? trade with mine lah brows.gif
nimrod323
post Jun 6 2010, 01:37 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 01:32 PM)
duwan... tongue.gif  tongue.gif

wanted bigger screen and expresscard, but dunno if I should opt for Core i7 on it... doh.gif
i got this d tongue.gif too bad they dont make it anymore for 15inch tongue.gif, well you could always try mudah
nimrod323
post Jun 6 2010, 06:06 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Joyuan @ Jun 6 2010, 05:48 PM)
Hi all seniors. I am getting my MBP these two days. My dad told me that Pavilion Apple store accept trade in, Is that true?
There is no such thing as an "Apple Store" there are apple resellers, two different things. Only Macstudio,Switch,Machiens and Epicenter accept tradeins for now.

Added on June 6, 2010, 6:09 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 6 2010, 05:57 PM)
Hey guys,

My trackpad is not as responsive as before. I havent run the Apple Hardware Test yet. Will do that after this.

But since I bought my beloved MBP from the AppleStore, where should I send it for repairs? Will retail stores accept it or do I have to go to Jalan Yap Kwan Seng myself?
Any retails stores will accept it but there might be delays in the repairs, they might have service related queues in their repair departments, better to send to stand alone service centers like VR Tech at JLN Yap Kwan Seng or Sapura at Sec 14.

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jun 6 2010, 06:09 PM
nimrod323
post Jun 6 2010, 06:15 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 06:11 PM)
nimrod, does your MBP fan speeds up when copying files or watching media files over an external HDD using USB or FireWire...?
[cool.gif
EDIT: of course this question is also open to any current MB/MBP users with external HDDs...
hmm well so far on the integrated chip no such problem, the fans are silent havent tried on the dedicated if you know what i mean.
nimrod323
post Jun 6 2010, 07:52 PM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 06:25 PM)
Mine's plugged to a 24" display on clamshell mode, so it's using the dedicated one... whenever i play video or music over external HDD, fan speed goes up to 5200rpm, ph34r.gif pretty audible at this speed.. CPU temp went up, but I guess that's normal... but fan speed... sweat.gif

I'd just happened to open the lid without triggering any extended display mode (didn't know I can do that - System Profiler says internal monitor not connected), fan speed went down to 3400rpm... so clamshell mode does trap heat to a certain extent...?  doh.gif

EDIT: Fan speed at 3600+rpm watching a 480p video on external HDD, heavy downloading, and medium browsing...
your keyboard is where the heat dissipates lah bang tongue.gif

Added on June 6, 2010, 7:53 pm
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 6 2010, 06:21 PM)
Meh this means I'm gonna have to find a replacement machine for a while sad.gif
my gf's mbp trackpad has similar problem as yours, will be going to sapure tmrow, will let you the ETA of the repair aite?

This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jun 6 2010, 07:53 PM
nimrod323
post Jun 7 2010, 08:12 AM

2,664 posts

QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Jun 7 2010, 01:47 AM)
anyone here have try the app called cleanmymac...????how is it??? can tell how totally remove a application..i meant deleting out from my mac..
i use appzapper, its a shareware but it works wonders

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0474sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:47 PM