Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v5, Share your joy and your pain here ;)
nimrod323
Jun 6 2010, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Jun 6 2010, 12:55 PM) huh....but it seem my mb alu running on vista is quite hot.that is your problem right there, smc cant help you on the windoze side anyway, its a mac only app if i remember correctly.
Eithanius
Jun 6 2010, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 6 2010, 01:00 PM) that is your problem right there, smc cant help you on the windoze side anyway, its a mac only app if i remember correctly. Only... But theoretically he can set the fan speed using SMCFanControl on Mac side, then reboot into windows without powering down his MB... (MazeL aughing my ass outL, read this, do not power down)... That should keep the fan speed on SMC-FC setting... I know it works on a Mac Pro, but since I don't Boot Camp on my MBP, I can't be certain if the same applies on portables...
nimrod323
Jun 6 2010, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 01:06 PM) Only... But theoretically he can set the fan speed using SMCFanControl on Mac side, then reboot into windows without powering down his MB... (MazeL aughing my ass outL, read this, do not power down)... That should keep the fan speed on SMC-FC setting... I know it works on a Mac Pro, but since I don't Boot Camp on my MBP, I can't be certain if the same applies on portables... ah thats a safe bet, eh kukunius, apasal want to trade your i7? trade with mine lah
Eithanius
Jun 6 2010, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 6 2010, 01:28 PM) ah thats a safe bet, eh kukunius, apasal want to trade your i7? trade with mine lah  duwan...  wanted bigger screen and expresscard, but dunno if I should opt for Core i7 on it...
nimrod323
Jun 6 2010, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 01:32 PM) duwan...  wanted bigger screen and expresscard, but dunno if I should opt for Core i7 on it...  i got this d  too bad they dont make it anymore for 15inch  , well you could always try mudah
Joyuan
Jun 6 2010, 05:48 PM

Hi all seniors. I am getting my MBP these two days. My dad told me that Pavilion Apple store accept trade in, Is that true?
Syd G
Jun 6 2010, 05:57 PM
Mom. Servant of God.
Hey guys,
My trackpad is not as responsive as before. I havent run the Apple Hardware Test yet. Will do that after this.
But since I bought my beloved MBP from the AppleStore, where should I send it for repairs? Will retail stores accept it or do I have to go to Jalan Yap Kwan Seng myself?
nimrod323
Jun 6 2010, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(Joyuan @ Jun 6 2010, 05:48 PM) Hi all seniors. I am getting my MBP these two days. My dad told me that Pavilion Apple store accept trade in, Is that true? There is no such thing as an "Apple Store" there are apple resellers, two different things. Only Macstudio,Switch,Machiens and Epicenter accept tradeins for now. Added on June 6, 2010, 6:09 pmQUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 6 2010, 05:57 PM) Hey guys, My trackpad is not as responsive as before. I havent run the Apple Hardware Test yet. Will do that after this. But since I bought my beloved MBP from the AppleStore, where should I send it for repairs? Will retail stores accept it or do I have to go to Jalan Yap Kwan Seng myself? Any retails stores will accept it but there might be delays in the repairs, they might have service related queues in their repair departments, better to send to stand alone service centers like VR Tech at JLN Yap Kwan Seng or Sapura at Sec 14. This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jun 6 2010, 06:09 PM
Eithanius
Jun 6 2010, 06:11 PM
nimrod, does your MBP fan speeds up when copying files or watching media files over an external HDD using USB or FireWire...?
EDIT: of course this question is also open to any current MB/MBP users with external HDDs...
This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jun 6 2010, 06:13 PM
nimrod323
Jun 6 2010, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 06:11 PM) nimrod, does your MBP fan speeds up when copying files or watching media files over an external HDD using USB or FireWire...?
[  EDIT: of course this question is also open to any current MB/MBP users with external HDDs... hmm well so far on the integrated chip no such problem, the fans are silent havent tried on the dedicated if you know what i mean.
Syd G
Jun 6 2010, 06:21 PM
Mom. Servant of God.
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 6 2010, 06:06 PM) Any retails stores will accept it but there might be delays in the repairs, they might have service related queues in their repair departments, better to send to stand alone service centers like VR Tech at JLN Yap Kwan Seng or Sapura at Sec 14. Meh this means I'm gonna have to find a replacement machine for a while
Eithanius
Jun 6 2010, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 6 2010, 06:15 PM) hmm well so far on the integrated chip no such problem, the fans are silent havent tried on the dedicated if you know what i mean. Mine's plugged to a 24" display on clamshell mode, so it's using the dedicated one... whenever i play video or music over external HDD, fan speed goes up to 5200rpm,  pretty audible at this speed.. CPU temp went up, but I guess that's normal... but fan speed...  I'd just happened to open the lid without triggering any extended display mode (didn't know I can do that - System Profiler says internal monitor not connected), fan speed went down to 3400rpm... so clamshell mode does trap heat to a certain extent...?  EDIT: Fan speed at 3600+rpm watching a 480p video on external HDD, heavy downloading, and medium browsing... This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jun 6 2010, 06:43 PM
Ojimaru
Jun 6 2010, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 06:25 PM) Mine's plugged to a 24" display on clamshell mode, so it's using the dedicated one... whenever i play video or music over external HDD, fan speed goes up to 5200rpm,  pretty audible at this speed.. CPU temp went up, but I guess that's normal... but fan speed...  I'd just happened to open the lid without triggering any extended display mode (didn't know I can do that - System Profiler says internal monitor not connected), fan speed went down to 3400rpm... so clamshell mode does trap heat to a certain extent...?  EDIT: Fan speed at 3600+rpm watching a 480p video on external HDD, heavy downloading, and medium browsing... 5200 rpm? Wow... At this point I'd first ask about the ambient temperature and the location of the MBP.
Eithanius
Jun 6 2010, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Jun 6 2010, 07:05 PM) 5200 rpm? Wow... At this point I'd first ask about the ambient temperature and the location of the MBP. Room temperature high moisture with table fan... MBP is on a table behind my external display... This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jun 6 2010, 07:14 PM
nimrod323
Jun 6 2010, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 06:25 PM) Mine's plugged to a 24" display on clamshell mode, so it's using the dedicated one... whenever i play video or music over external HDD, fan speed goes up to 5200rpm,  pretty audible at this speed.. CPU temp went up, but I guess that's normal... but fan speed... I'd just happened to open the lid without triggering any extended display mode (didn't know I can do that - System Profiler says internal monitor not connected), fan speed went down to 3400rpm... so clamshell mode does trap heat to a certain extent...? 
EDIT: Fan speed at 3600+rpm watching a 480p video on external HDD, heavy downloading, and medium browsing... your keyboard is where the heat dissipates lah bang  Added on June 6, 2010, 7:53 pmQUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 6 2010, 06:21 PM) Meh this means I'm gonna have to find a replacement machine for a while  my gf's mbp trackpad has similar problem as yours, will be going to sapure tmrow, will let you the ETA of the repair aite? This post has been edited by nimrod323: Jun 6 2010, 07:53 PM
Eithanius
Jun 6 2010, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 6 2010, 07:52 PM) your keyboard is where the heat dissipates lah bang  it's a good thing to know the MBP display can be turned off even with the lid open...
Jing-leBelle
Jun 6 2010, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 07:55 PM) it's a good thing to know the MBP display can be turned off even with the lid open... MB white can be open the lid too but first u ve to close it clamshell mode until the display switch off and only u can open it back.
Eithanius
Jun 6 2010, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 6 2010, 05:57 PM) Hey guys, My trackpad is not as responsive as before. I havent run the Apple Hardware Test yet. Will do that after this. But since I bought my beloved MBP from the AppleStore, where should I send it for repairs? Will retail stores accept it or do I have to go to Jalan Yap Kwan Seng myself? Just curious... how do you define unresponsive...?  I'm not sure if this happens to you guys, but mine has a half second delay in single finger tap... double finger tap to right click is ok, so does trackpad clicking...
Syd G
Jun 6 2010, 10:18 PM
Mom. Servant of God.
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 6 2010, 07:52 PM) my gf's mbp trackpad has similar problem as yours, will be going to sapure tmrow, will let you the ETA of the repair aite? xie xie ni QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 6 2010, 08:48 PM) Just curious... how do you define unresponsive...?  I'm not sure if this happens to you guys, but mine has a half second delay in single finger tap... double finger tap to right click is ok, so does trackpad clicking... Hmm.. it's 'sticking' when I move the pointer around but working well when I use a mouse. Sometimes it clicks without me clicking - which can be very annoying. Only experienced this since yesterday. Summore my warranty is expiring next week  (but lucky I hv ACPP  )
IceXenz
Jun 6 2010, 10:38 PM
Hi. I was just wondering whether it is useful to invest in a Laptop Cooler, since my MBP gets quite warm and the fans are quite loud when I'm converting videos etc. Also, I'm using a Speck case, so would it help if I took it out? (though it would defeat all purposes of protecting the base T_T)
Another thing : Does using the disc drive often "spoil" it? I'm quite paranoid, since the last MBW I used started randomly rejecting discs after a while. Thanks for all answers. ^^
This post has been edited by IceXenz: Jun 6 2010, 10:47 PM