Jan 24 2011, 11:53 PM
1,796 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
A short review of Lenovo Z460 (i5-480M, 4GB, 500GB, Intel HD)
Design: Simple, moderate slim (for 14" laptop) and clear cut, doesn't attract at first glance but the more I look at it, the more I like it LCD Lid: Solid, doesn't flex, a sign of reliable Screen: Contrast, brightness and viewing angle are good, doesn't reflect too much even it's glossy Speaker: Loud and clear Keyboard: One of the best, firm and solid, doesn't flex at all Touchpad: Not much comment about it, just like any other touchpad Performance: Excellent, DVD ripping was as fast as i7-720QM, haven't really try photoshop, illustrator and coreldraw, seems like can handle everything I throw. The bottleneck now is the HDD. Gaming/Video: Everybody knows how bad Intel HD handle gaming but I dun play games even facebook/flash games. HD video sap sap water. Heat/Noise: Left keyboard until palm rest and touchpad are a little warmer because CPU, HDD and ram are positioned at the bottom, but not until uncomfortable level. NOTE that I do not use coolerpad, and most of the time the fan is off (dead silent) when doing office work/browsing. The original HDD is Seagate Momentus 5400.6 which heat up pretty quick (47C under basic usage), change the HDD might solve the situation a little bit. UPDATE: The palm rest feels slight warm if the fan is off. When the fan starts to kick, NO uncomfortable sign at all. Battery: Wifi with lowest LCD brightness (Quite readable) can fetch around 3.30hrs Others: Webcam is very clear, E-SATA is a bonus, DVD drive is quiet, and the power adapter is tiny and portable. Price: I paid RM1699 + RM70 (2GB) which is a steal for i5-480M OVERALL: Asides the lousy graphic card and the slight heat on palm rest (I am very farcy about heat), this ideapad delivers more than its price. I sold my Asus A42DR (AMD P320, 3GB, HD5470, 320GB) due to my job starts to include design and video converting, and I am very happy with my purchase. This post has been edited by wtm0325: Jan 25 2011, 12:07 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0152sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:03 PM |