Is the max processor speed Core i5 520? or is there a i7 version?
Lenovo ideapad Y460/Y560 Thread, Gaming nerd in a business package
May 4 2010, 07:04 PM
38 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Manchester (uni) |
Is the max processor speed Core i5 520? or is there a i7 version?
May 4 2010, 07:05 PM
14,813 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
There's no i5 520M version...
only i5 430M@RM3299 and i5 540M@RM3599... |
May 4 2010, 07:53 PM
82 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Central |
a Y460 user here also...
js bought it 2weeks ago but d next day my HDD got some annoying sound... sent bac to the SC at SS14 & within 2days they already sms me to collect the lappie.... Changed a new HDD for me & helped me reformat so do do partition for me..as we al kno d factory partition is 460GB/40GB... so now 100GB/400Gb |
May 5 2010, 12:29 AM
541 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
@^bAbym310n^
Great to hear that. Btw, the new Lenovo SC at LYP is already open for "business". |
May 5 2010, 12:31 AM
8,545 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: 224.0.0.6 |
What do you meant by that bro?
-pWs- |
May 5 2010, 12:36 AM
May 5 2010, 12:41 AM
8,545 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: 224.0.0.6 |
I see. Which floor is that? Seldom go to Lowyat.
-pWs- |
May 5 2010, 09:23 AM
May 6 2010, 01:37 AM
Teach?? We can share our experience if you like to
I do found out an answer(I guess...) why some people complaint about heat especially during gaming if you're in for hours. I've played AC 2 just now for 2 hours+ with max temp I checked it's just 72C on GPU-Z(ave. 68C). The problem lies on the material of the glossy surface which do hold the heat w/o spreading fast enough thru the other parts like heatsink and causes you felt uncomfortable using the keyboard for longer period especially FPS gaming. I do amaze the max temperature it hit |
May 6 2010, 01:41 AM
1,793 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: UC Berkeley |
QUOTE(jotaro12 @ May 6 2010, 01:37 AM) Teach?? We can share our experience if you like to I'm still not convinced whether this y460 is a good buy. what do u think being a user. do u think it's a good buy?I do found out an answer(I guess...) why some people complaint about heat especially during gaming if you're in for hours. I've played AC 2 just now for 2 hours+ with max temp I checked it's just 72C on GPU-Z(ave. 68C). The problem lies on the material of the glossy surface which do hold the heat w/o spreading fast enough thru the other parts like heatsink and causes you felt uncomfortable using the keyboard for longer period especially FPS gaming. I do amaze the max temperature it hit |
May 6 2010, 07:33 AM
4,631 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
May 6 2010, 09:22 AM
@rubrubrub
No doubt Y460 still reign the best bang for the buck in 3k-4k range for these 2 months. If you can wait for others, it's fine, but how long would it be? I've been waiting to replace my old laptop since late March and I still think Vostro 3700 is an unbeatable laptop in terms of price/performance, too bad my order got postponed and I had to cancel it. It's good to know some specs do excel against Y460, but NONE of them officially make/selling it in M'sia atm. Technology will grow daily and you can't wait forever to get your decent laptop. Just pick what's available in the market, if no, go for desktop then lol. |
May 6 2010, 10:21 AM
136 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Melaka <-- -> Kuala Lumpur |
Hi There all!
New Lenovo Y460 user here... Just would like to inform u guys, did u all tried to update the BIOS for this model? just now i've found out that some user faced problem when updating their BIOS... below is the link address: Lenovo Y460 BIOS Problem .. after that, configure the laptop based on what gstoh suggested, tips on switching to super saver mode before you playing game UPDATE: sorry, just now i've found out that Lenovo website have restored back the BIOS to the previous version.. previous problem faced by 64bit user... BIOS 64bit version - 43 BIOS 32bit version - 47 link address to update Lenovo Y460 drivers: Lenovo Y460 Driver Update This post has been edited by Mie131085: May 6 2010, 10:43 AM |
May 6 2010, 11:08 AM
893 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
the i5-430m version still available?
May 6 2010, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(Mie131085 @ May 6 2010, 10:21 AM) Welcome to the club! I think the recent Y460s are already w/ the latest BIOS, so no need to flash. Mine manufactured @16th March and it's already on the latest BIOS version so you guys can use it as a guide. @marky I think you still can get the i5 430M, but you might have to go to LYP/DM to check with them to see whether stocks available. |
May 6 2010, 01:04 PM
wahahah, just get myself a wireless keyboard and mouse, cheap cheap one, but ok la
this weekend can enjoice liao |
May 6 2010, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(jotaro12 @ May 6 2010, 09:22 AM) @rubrubrub thank you for the invaluable advice. i'll be buying mine in June hopefully. until then i'll have more to post (mostly questions on how to operate the machine). hahah i regretted for not immersing myself into technology in the earlier years.No doubt Y460 still reign the best bang for the buck in 3k-4k range for these 2 months. If you can wait for others, it's fine, but how long would it be? I've been waiting to replace my old laptop since late March and I still think Vostro 3700 is an unbeatable laptop in terms of price/performance, too bad my order got postponed and I had to cancel it. It's good to know some specs do excel against Y460, but NONE of them officially make/selling it in M'sia atm. Technology will grow daily and you can't wait forever to get your decent laptop. Just pick what's available in the market, if no, go for desktop then lol. Added on May 6, 2010, 4:30 pm QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 6 2010, 07:33 AM) what lead to a good buy for you? and which other model you are comparing with? good processor, battery life, graphics and to sum it all up. a good all-rounder laptop. my budget is about 4.5k. do u have any suggestion? =)for me its a good buy for my budget This post has been edited by rubrubrub: May 6 2010, 04:30 PM |
May 6 2010, 05:02 PM
For the rm3599 version, the processor is very good already, especially for gaming, and when you are using applications that don't utilize quad core. I think for lappie below rm5k that's shud be the best dual core procsessor (might be wrong)
the GC is good too, but don't expect to play all games in max setting la battery life I don't knw, haven't try yet all in all, it's a darn good laptop for it price, other 14" competitor are the Sony CW and EA16, asus n82jv. Specs is almost the same, but more pricey, pay for brand name lo. Reliability I don't knw yet, still too soon to say. Those I mentioned are 14" la, if u want/don't mind bigger screen, then u got more option |
May 6 2010, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(jotaro12 @ May 6 2010, 01:37 AM) Teach?? We can share our experience if you like to sorry bro may i kno how 2 check d temp?I do found out an answer(I guess...) why some people complaint about heat especially during gaming if you're in for hours. I've played AC 2 just now for 2 hours+ with max temp I checked it's just 72C on GPU-Z(ave. 68C). The problem lies on the material of the glossy surface which do hold the heat w/o spreading fast enough thru the other parts like heatsink and causes you felt uncomfortable using the keyboard for longer period especially FPS gaming. I do amaze the max temperature it hit i tried 2 play wit it bt stil not familiar.... o ya...i din use tis laptop for heavy use... for tis moments js online & do paper works... so far tis Y460 is a good catch for my side as i ad surveyed for months for all models |
May 6 2010, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 6 2010, 05:02 PM) For the rm3599 version, the processor is very good already, especially for gaming, and when you are using applications that don't utilize quad core. I think for lappie below rm5k that's shud be the best dual core procsessor (might be wrong) yeah the last thing i want to do it pay for brand names. hahah i heard from a dude in MV, he said it's about 4 hours but he's selling the 540 at rm3799.the GC is good too, but don't expect to play all games in max setting la battery life I don't knw, haven't try yet all in all, it's a darn good laptop for it price, other 14" competitor are the Sony CW and EA16, asus n82jv. Specs is almost the same, but more pricey, pay for brand name lo. Reliability I don't knw yet, still too soon to say. Those I mentioned are 14" la, if u want/don't mind bigger screen, then u got more option |
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:59 PM |