Lenovo ideapad Y460/Y560 Thread, Gaming nerd in a business package
marcus20125
Dec 31 2010, 03:42 AM
QUOTE(faezfahmi618 @ Dec 30 2010, 11:38 AM) is y560 worth to buy 4 gaming purpose? QUOTE(LightningFist @ Dec 31 2010, 03:29 AM) No, because 5730 is found in other laptops too. I have no idea why the Malaysian price is so high. but the current retail = RM3888,is the cheapest notebook that come with Blu-Ray drive.i think still worth to invest into it This post has been edited by marcus20125: Dec 31 2010, 03:42 AM
LightningFist
Jan 15 2011, 12:22 AM
Minion of the Damned
Now there is a HD 6570 + Sandy Bridge i7 (2.0 turbo 2.9) laptop with 15.6 LCD, costing only RM2999.
If anyone is willing to risk the pains of owning a Lenovo, or you simply have got money to burn, this'd be a reasonable buy, considering it is all new and pretty powerful (compared to the RM4799 POS I bought the last time).
Trance4eva
Jan 20 2011, 03:45 PM
well i bought mine for RM3100. Come with a carrying case and an AVF bagpack
marcus20125
Jan 22 2011, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(deora @ Jan 18 2011, 01:04 PM) rm2999??..got so cheap meh..tat day i saw in midvalley still rm3699 if not mistaken that is old model with Intel Core i7-720QM/6GB RAM/500GB HDD/Radeon 5730(1GB)/Blu-Ray there is two new model now Intel Core i7-2630QM/4GB RAM/750GB HDD/Radeon 6570(1GB)/DVDRW/W7HP@RM2999 Intel Core i7-2630QM/8GB RAM/750GB HDD/Radeon 6570(1GB)/Blu-Ray/W7HP@RM3699
Dell2011
Jan 23 2011, 04:42 AM

oh my......look at all these problems Y560 users are having :| You all sound so miserable owning this laptop, and its not just on here, but the official Lenovo forum as well.....full of complaints about hardware malfunctions, bios errors, hardware incompatibility....the list goes on and on! I need to purchase a SB laptop thats affordable (below 4k) by the 28th of this month. and looks like the only options available for me are the Acer 5750G and the refreshed version of the Y560, the Y560p. What I want to know is, if I go for the Y560p, am I buying a 'big headache' in a stylish metal box? :\
karyaw
Jan 23 2011, 11:15 AM
lenovo will that bad?
wtm0325
Jan 24 2011, 01:06 AM
bought z460 rm1699 i5-480m, now testing stage
karyaw
Jan 24 2011, 11:10 AM
ok..good..tell me when u finsihed test ya..thanks!
wtm0325
Jan 24 2011, 11:53 PM
A short review of Lenovo Z460 (i5-480M, 4GB, 500GB, Intel HD)
Design: Simple, moderate slim (for 14" laptop) and clear cut, doesn't attract at first glance but the more I look at it, the more I like it
LCD Lid: Solid, doesn't flex, a sign of reliable
Screen: Contrast, brightness and viewing angle are good, doesn't reflect too much even it's glossy
Speaker: Loud and clear
Keyboard: One of the best, firm and solid, doesn't flex at all
Touchpad: Not much comment about it, just like any other touchpad
Performance: Excellent, DVD ripping was as fast as i7-720QM, haven't really try photoshop, illustrator and coreldraw, seems like can handle everything I throw. The bottleneck now is the HDD.
Gaming/Video: Everybody knows how bad Intel HD handle gaming but I dun play games even facebook/flash games. HD video sap sap water.
Heat/Noise: Left keyboard until palm rest and touchpad are a little warmer because CPU, HDD and ram are positioned at the bottom, but not until uncomfortable level. NOTE that I do not use coolerpad, and most of the time the fan is off (dead silent) when doing office work/browsing. The original HDD is Seagate Momentus 5400.6 which heat up pretty quick (47C under basic usage), change the HDD might solve the situation a little bit. UPDATE: The palm rest feels slight warm if the fan is off. When the fan starts to kick, NO uncomfortable sign at all.
Battery: Wifi with lowest LCD brightness (Quite readable) can fetch around 3.30hrs
Others: Webcam is very clear, E-SATA is a bonus, DVD drive is quiet, and the power adapter is tiny and portable.
Price: I paid RM1699 + RM70 (2GB) which is a steal for i5-480M
OVERALL: Asides the lousy graphic card and the slight heat on palm rest (I am very farcy about heat), this ideapad delivers more than its price. I sold my Asus A42DR (AMD P320, 3GB, HD5470, 320GB) due to my job starts to include design and video converting, and I am very happy with my purchase.
This post has been edited by wtm0325: Jan 25 2011, 12:07 AM
yinho
Jan 31 2011, 10:48 AM

Went over to lenovo dealer, they mention second generation i7 chip overcome the heating problem from existing Y560 laptop but now Y560 is selling so cheap now!
eugenechiuu
Jan 31 2011, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(yinho @ Jan 31 2011, 10:48 AM) Went over to lenovo dealer, they mention second generation i7 chip overcome the heating problem from existing Y560 laptop but now Y560 is selling so cheap now! what's ur point? Y560 of course selling cheap to clear stock since Y560p is only rm2999... The new sandy bridges laptop are all priced reasonably low compared to the 1st gen core i series last year... This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Jan 31 2011, 10:51 AM
yinho
Jan 31 2011, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 31 2011, 10:50 AM) what's ur point? Y560 of course selling cheap to clear stock since Y560p is only rm2999... The new sandy bridges laptop are all priced reasonably low compared to the 1st gen core i series last year... im just sharing the info i get scouting for ideapad. just that im deciding whether to get the older bluray version at 2688 or non bluray newer version at 2999. headache!
eugenechiuu
Feb 1 2011, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(yinho @ Jan 31 2011, 11:03 PM) im just sharing the info i get scouting for ideapad. just that im deciding whether to get the older bluray version at 2688 or non bluray newer version at 2999. headache! The newer version have way better specs.. The older Y560 have tons of problems in terms of their bios n stuffs.. If u have followed this thread u would notice it.. Anyways, 2.7k for a blu-ray 15 inch laptop is really bargain.. If u really need blu ray then go for it.. Btw, watching blu-ray on a HD resolution laptop is overkill.. Unless u connect it to a 40 inch tv
death_shaman
Feb 23 2011, 10:04 AM
hye guys can i ask for pros and cons for lenovo y460?
LightningFist
Feb 23 2011, 09:33 PM
Minion of the Damned
QUOTE(yinho @ Jan 31 2011, 10:48 AM) Went over to lenovo dealer, they mention second generation i7 chip overcome the heating problem from existing Y560 laptop but now Y560 is selling so cheap now! They are wrong. The new i7 quad CPUs have the same TDP (45W) as the old i7 quad CPUs. The only way to "overcome" the heating problem is to improve the cooling mechanism and design.
LY123
Feb 25 2011, 12:29 AM

Hi, May I know how to upgrade to extended warranty to 3 years? My Y460 Core I5 base warranty end on May 2011. Am I still eligible to buy the extended warranty?
^bAbym310n^
Feb 28 2011, 09:58 AM

Guys, may i know where can format my lenovo y460 outside? As SC charge rm120 jus to format it.....as i once formatted at outside which cause a lot of function cant be working properly especially the graphic card & etc Added on February 28, 2011, 9:59 amQUOTE(LY123 @ Feb 25 2011, 12:29 AM) Hi, May I know how to upgrade to extended warranty to 3 years? My Y460 Core I5 base warranty end on May 2011. Am I still eligible to buy the extended warranty? yup you can... just go 2 Lenovo SC to buy the warranty package..i asked b4...but forgotten how much per year This post has been edited by ^bAbym310n^: Feb 28 2011, 09:59 AM
eugenechiuu
Feb 28 2011, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(LightningFist @ Feb 23 2011, 09:33 PM) They are wrong. The new i7 quad CPUs have the same TDP (45W) as the old i7 quad CPUs. The only way to "overcome" the heating problem is to improve the cooling mechanism and design. Not really.. Same tdp doesn't mean hotter.. The new SB quad is much more efficient in their power consumption.. Idle is around 45-50 only, last time i7-720qm idle also around 55-60.. Battery life in i7-quad can achieve 4hours+ easily.. Last time i5-450m only manages 3hours+
jounin
Mar 12 2011, 11:08 PM

hi, bought a used unit of y560 few days back. wold like to ask if there's any 9-cell battery for this laptop or place where I can find a replacement battery  tq
faezfahmi618
Mar 27 2011, 04:52 AM
hey guys can someone give me the lenovo brochure? thx