XCOM Enemies Within, Full Reveal on 21st of August

xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 4 2012, 05:03 PM

15 posts

I'm liking the tactical sense of the game from the gameplay vid. Every movement may be your last XD
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 5 2012, 05:12 PM

15 posts

Engineers. Need them to keep up with the tech. Frankly after seeing the 1hr gameplay vid, I'm quite sold.

Positioning, abilities, RNG(enemies etc etc as well as missing in a 95% shot. Rare but it does happen.) and what's more random enemies, decisions and sacrificing other options. Straight classic difficulty then move on from there.
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 7 2012, 03:33 PM

15 posts

It's turn base tactics game. Civ 5 is more of a grand scale management but in XCOM, losing is common tongue.gif
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 12 2012, 06:04 PM

15 posts

Classic is freaking classic. Rookies just die like flies if they're not in heavy cover.
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 12 2012, 07:36 PM

15 posts

So far, the tip that I can give based on classic is that when there's a lull in combat, reload that gun. Better to have a fully loaded gun than a half empty one when you don't know what's gonna be behind that cover.
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 14 2012, 12:16 AM

15 posts

It is with sad regret to inform you commander that the A-Squad has been wiped out. Final details were contact reports of multiple mutons flanking them while they're tied up with with a cyberdisc.

LIF (losing is fun). Next classic ironman game go.
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 14 2012, 08:03 PM

15 posts

Another mission lost. Welp, time to start out another ironman. Losing is fun XD
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 14 2012, 10:46 PM

15 posts

the pistol saved my ass a few times. No ammo on primary and an xray in front but low on health? pistol time.
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 15 2012, 12:18 PM

15 posts

XCOM game classic ironman 15. Squads are looking good, so far no casualties, successful first month with 0 casualties. So far things are looking good. Just need to get more satellites up.
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 15 2012, 04:30 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ChaosXP @ Oct 15 2012, 04:22 PM)
Snipers. yes. unlimited range as long your buddy gives sight and in direct line of sight.

Added on October 15, 2012, 4:24 pmAnd dont build the hyperwave decoder when you are not ready with some firestorms.

Or you are going to get poorer ratings each month because of it.

Added on October 15, 2012, 4:27 pmWe better state the difficulty we are playing in before stating strategies. Different approach d if difficulty (or ironman mode) is different lol.
His actual range is increased but only available if the squad can see them.
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 15 2012, 04:55 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ChaosXP @ Oct 15 2012, 04:50 PM)
Yeah I said "when his buddies gives sight" tongue.gif

Added on October 15, 2012, 4:51 pm

No this is one of the bloody frustrating aspects of the new xcom.
Actually, there is still a max range. Just that the max range in just ridiculous that your squad members usually won't run pass that. I've seen it happen before XD
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 18 2012, 07:34 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(lordsapt @ Oct 18 2012, 07:27 PM)
If i buy xcom now would i b able to get civilization v for free? Anyone can confirm?
I think those are pre order bonuses.

xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 18 2012, 11:45 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 18 2012, 10:45 PM)
Ironman is definitely the right way to play XCOM,as that check box adds so much tension to the game. You have to man up to accept all your mistakes and move on from it. I am losing so many men now, because i do not have the opportunity to reload whenever someone dies.

Even Normal with Ironman is much harder than Normal without Ironman. Now, i am looking forward to Classic mode.

Firaxis, please bring out the additional map packs or any sort of good DLCs that will add to the game. I need more XCOM!
It has always been about the ironman. Where's the fun in not losing? smile.gif
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 20 2012, 10:54 PM

15 posts

From my numerous classic ironman playthroughs, I've noticed some of their behaviors, they will drastically focus down those who are caught out alone, over extended and basically cut off from a fallback position.

Knowing this has allowed me to move my squad in such a way that there will be alternate full cover and last ditch partial covers with supports around, ready to smoke that area. Survival rates went up however, the RNG seed threw me a large UFO with numerous mutons. Accidentally exposed another squad of them resulting in the death of a col assault (R.I.P "Ice" Anderson) as he attempted to close in and pretty much lock down the area from enemy movements with his CCS. Having 5 mutons raining death isn't fun. RNG be damned if they can afford to focus fire on him. 5 shots, a few of them has got to hit.

Edit : They also hate snipers. Keep them safe.

This post has been edited by xXAgent47Xx: Oct 20 2012, 10:54 PM
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 21 2012, 01:18 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Oct 21 2012, 01:15 AM)
he got my heavy first.

crit hit on the head  laugh.gif
And this is why I always wait a few moments to listen for the tell tale sound of it hovering XD. And my heavy plays like a heavy, suppression from far with rockets to hit and damage them (enemies with >6 hp and clumped up behind cover), only get in close when they decide to rush my line of assaults and supports.
xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 22 2012, 10:19 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 21 2012, 12:07 PM)
cyberdisc is quite OK leh. wait til you meet a Sectopod.

btw, is it just me or does the ending suck mega ass?

Well think about it, if you succeed,

xXAgent47Xx
post Oct 23 2012, 09:39 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Oct 23 2012, 10:59 AM)
I agree with you. First play through, just play and reload. 2nd play through, go for Ironman mode for the tension. Which is why Dark Souls (or rouguelike games) is so enjoyable because you never knew when you will die!
Ironman is the way to go. I plan on doing After Action Reports (AAR) for each mission on ironman impossible once I'm done with classic ironman.

0.0204sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:39 AM