Which Type Of Foundation Is Best, For YOU...

TSshadowprincess
post Mar 21 2005, 06:51 AM, updated 21y ago

228 posts

Which Foundation Type is Best for You
by Paula Begoun

When you're shopping for a foundation, it is important to be familiar with, and understand, your overall skin color. The goal is to find a foundation that matches it, regardless of the underlying tone. For the most part, foundation (like skin) should be some shade of neutral ivory, beige, tan, dark brown, bronze brown, or ebony, with a very slight undertone of yellow (but without any orange or pink).

Why a slightly yellow undertone? Because skin color usually has a yellow undertone: that's what the natural color of melanin (the pigment in the skin) tends to be. There are a few exceptions to this rule. Native North American or South American women, a tiny percentage of African-American women, and some Polynesian women do indeed have a red cast to their skin. Women with these skin tones need to look for foundations that have a slight reddish cast to them-but that's only a hint of brownish red, and not copper, orange, or peach.

An attractive makeup application must begin with a light-textured foundation that blends impeccably; otherwise you will look as if the makeup is wearing you. Even if you feel that you need a foundation that provides good coverage, obvious coverage is a big mistake and can negatively affect your entire makeup application. Of course, foundation is about providing coverage, but it is also your personal key to enhancing-not masking-your complexion.

Oil-free and matte liquid foundations

These almost always contain oils or ingredients that act or feel like oils, such as silicones. These oils and oil-like ingredients are not necessarily bad for any skin type, but their presence demonstrates that the term "oil-free" is another cosmetics industry contrivance that won't necessarily help you find the best product for your skin type. Keep in mind that what most of these foundations have in common (when they are well formulated), is that they dry to a matte finish, with no shine or dewy appearance. On the skin, oil-free, matte foundations look like a traditional liquid foundation, although they are often thicker in appearance and have no shine.

Pros: These foundations are the best choice for women who want balanced coverage with no shine at all, and who like a smooth, matte look. They last much longer on oily skin or oily areas than most other foundation types (except for the ultra-matte foundations).

Cons: There aren't many disadvantages to using this kind of foundation. Some of them can make the skin look or feel dry and flaky, but this is usually only true for those that contain talc or other absorbent ingredients.

Examples: Clinique Stay-True Makeup Oil-Free Formula ($16.50), Almay Wake Up Call Energizing Makeup SPF 15 ($11.99).

Ultra-matte foundations

These are an amazing group of products that truly stay put. Most have a very liquid consistency and are blended on like any other foundation, though precision blending is key. You have to be very careful about using a moisturizer under ultra-matte foundations. If you use too much or if you don't allow it to be adequately absorbed, it can make the foundation streak.

Today's ultra-matte foundations are less tenacious than earlier versions, but are also noticeably easier to blend and more forgiving of mistakes. The tradeoff for this added convenience is they do not wear as long as they used to, but most women will appreciate the extra "play" today's ultra-matte formulas have.

Pros: These foundations are a superior option if you have seriously oily skin, have trouble with makeup slipping or disappearing as the day goes by, live in a humid climate, exercise but still like having your makeup stay put, or like a completely matte finish. Ultra-matte foundations will outlast any other foundation, with no slippage or movement. If you have very oily skin, these are an absolute must to try.

Cons: There are many disadvantages to using ultra-matte foundation. Primarily, most of them go on rather heavy and look masklike, leaving the skin feeling very dry and taut. In order to get this makeup on evenly, you must blend quickly or it will dry in place before you know it, and then it can be difficult to blend further. Ultra-matte foundations have less movement than more emollient foundations, which means eyeshadow and blush have a tendency to stick to them; that can make blending and correcting mistakes a bit irksome.

Women of color should be careful when choosing ultra-matte foundation. Even if it is the right color, these foundations can tend to look gray and ashen after being applied to darker skin tones.

Ultra-matte foundations are also the most difficult type to remove. The number of ultra-matte foundations is dwindling, as women have undoubtedly had problems with them. This is unfortunate, as these ingenious formulations can work so well for truly oily skins.

Examples: Maybelline EverFresh Makeup SPF 14 ($7.49), Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay in Place Makeup SPF 10 ($28.50), BeautiControl Color Freeze Liquid Makeup SPF 12 ($20).

Water-based and standard liquid foundations

Water-based does not mean oil-free, even if the label says so. What it does mean is that the first ingredient is water and the second or third ingredient is some kind of oil or slip agent. These foundations look like a somewhat thick liquid and pour slowly but easily out of the bottle. They are perfect for women with normal to dry skin and the number of foundations fitting this description and performance abound.

Pros: Most water-based foundations are best for those with normal to dry skin. The oil or emollient part of these foundations gives them good movement, which allows blushes and eyeshadows to blend on effortlessly and evenly over the face. Mistakes are easily buffed away with the sponge.

Cons: If you have oily or combination skin, this is not the foundation type for you. Even the little bit of oil or emollients in a water-based foundation show shine almost immediately if you have oily skin. For those with breakout-prone skin, the small amount of oil or emollients in this cosmetic may make you nervous. I personally don't feel there are any disadvantages to using water-based foundations and I recommend them wholeheartedly. Water-based foundation is also a great option for women of color. The slight amount of emollient these contain helps create a nice glow on the skin, preventing darker skin tones from appearing dull or ashen.

If you are concerned with the small amount of shine that water-based foundations leave behind on the skin, try adding a light dusting of loose powder after you've blended the foundation in place.

Examples: Laura Mercier Moisturizing Foundation ($38), L'Oreal Visible Lift Line-Minimizing Makeup SPF 12 ($9.99).

Oil-based foundations

Oil-based foundations have oil as their first ingredient and water usually as their second or third ingredient. Oil-based foundations feel greasy and thick, look and go on greasy, yet can blend out quite sheer.

Pros: Oil-based foundations can be very good for women with extremely dry skin or wrinkled skin. The emollient ingredients help the skin look very dewy and moist, which can minimize the appearance of wrinkles.

Cons: Oil-based foundations tend to be very greasy and thick and can look that way on the skin unless you are very adept at blending. They also have a tendency to turn orange on the skin because the extra oil in them affects the pigments in the foundation. This can be true for women of color, too, and it explains why oil-based foundations can look orange after they are worn for awhile. The typical recommendation for applying an oil-based foundation is to add water to your sponge so that it goes on thinner, but that can be tricky to gauge and can cause the makeup to streak. Why not just use a water-based foundation in the first place and skip the negatives of the oil-based foundation? Additionally, if you wear face powder over this type of foundation, the oil grabs the talc and the face can appear coated and heavily made up. The same is true for blushes and eyeshadows-they will go on more heavily and will also become darker once applied. Traditional cream blushes tend to work best over this type of foundation.

Examples: Alexandra de Markoff Countess Isserlyn Cream Makeup ($47.50), NARS Balanced Foundation ($38).

Pressed powder-based foundation

These foundations come in a compact and perform much like any pressed powder, which is what they really are, only with a bit more coverage and ability to stay put. Almost all of them have a superior creamy, silky feel, but when applied to the skin they blend on as easily as any pressed powder.

Pros: Powder-based foundations are great for women with normal to oily or combination skin. They blend on easily, last all day, generally don't change color, and feel light on the skin. They are best for those who want a minimal feel and appearance from their foundation. They also work very well over sunscreens, and can help take down the shine some sunscreen ingredients can leave on the skin.

Cons: This is not a good option if you have any amount of flaky skin. The powder content makes this type too drying for someone with dry skin. Also, women with very oily skin might want to be cautious, because powder-based foundations can get a thickened, pooled appearance as oil resurfaces on the face during the day.

Examples: Laura Mercier Foundation Powder ($38), Chanel Double Perfection Makeup SPF 8 ($45), M.A.C. Studiofix Powder Plus Foundation ($22).

Cream-to-powder foundations

These foundations are an interesting cross between a pressed powder and a creamy liquid foundation. They come in a compact and have a very creamy, almost greasy, appearance. When you blend them, the creamy aspect disappears and you are left with a slightly matte, powdery finish. Cream-to-powder foundations provide much better coverage than pressed powder-based foundations.

Pros: Cream-to-powder foundations blend on quickly and easily and provide a semi-matte, medium coverage. They work well for someone with normal to slightly dry or slightly combination skin. The consistency doesn't require powdering after you apply it. If you wish to use powder, make sure you apply it as lightly ads possible to avoid a caked, heavy look.

Cons: Cream-to-powder foundations can blend on slightly thick, providing a made-up look. They don't work well for someone with oily skin because the cream components can make skin look more oily, and they don't work well for dry skin because the powder element can be too powdery looking and cause more dryness. They are best for normal skin types.

Examples: Clinique City Base Compact Foundation SPF 15 ($21), Maybelline True Illusion Liquid to Powder Makeup SPF 10 (despite the name this is definitely a cream-to-powder makeup) ($6.99).

Liquid-to-powder foundations

These liquidy powders with a gel-like wet feel, apply easily and dry to a satiny-smooth, slightly matte finish. They typically contain water as the first ingredient, along with a slip agent such as glycerin. In contrast to cream-to-powder foundations, liquid-to-powder foundations feel lighter on the skin. They also tend to last longer over combination or oily skins since the creamy, waxy ingredients are either decreased or absent.

Pros: Liquid-to-powder foundations blend on quickly and relatively easily and provide a semi-matte to matte finish with sheer to medium coverage. They work great for someone with normal to oily or slightly combination skin. The consistency doesn't require powdering after you apply it.

Cons: Liquid-to-powder foundations dry quickly and can blend on choppy. This type of foundation does not work well over dry skin, as the water portion tends to cling to dry areas, leaving a powder finish that is not easily moved. The product itself must be kept tightly closed, as the water component will evaporate if it is left exposed to air. Some of the compact liquid-to-powder makeups can break apart if you are not careful.

Examples: Vincent Longo Water Canvas ($45), Aveda Cooling Calming Cover Sheer Face Tint ($18), Cover Girl AquaSmooth Makeup SPF 15 ($8.50).

Stick foundations

These foundations are essentially cream-to-powder foundations in stick form, and the application, pros, and cons mentioned in that section apply here. The main difference between stick and cream-to-powder foundations is the variety of coverage available from sticks. Whereas cream-to-powder makeups provide medium coverage, stick foundations come in formulas that range from full to sheer coverage with either matte or creamy coverage. Many stick foundations also feature effective sunscreens, making them a great all-in-one option. In addition, they can do double duty as concealer, and most product lines offer a wide selection of shades.

Pros and Cons: Refer to the section for cream-to-powder foundations.

Examples: Elizabeth Arden Flawless Finish Stick Makeup SPF 15 ($18), Trish McEvoy Foundation Stick ($38), L'Oreal Quick Stick Long Wearing Foundation SPF 14 ($10.99)

Foundations with shine

A definite trend in the world of makeup is having your entire face shine, either with a makeup primer, a foundation or a powder that shines. In real life it tends to look sparkly or extremely artificial, and if you have normal to oily skin, it looks like the oil you were trying to do away with. It works better as an evening look than for a classic daytime look.

Pros: For dull, lifeless skin, the foundations with shine can indeed add a subtle glow to the face, but the more product applied, the more the glow turns into sparkly shine or looks somewhat greasy.

Cons: In a word, shine. There's a lot variation when it comes to how much shine you'll get from these products, so pick and choose based on whether you want a subtle glow or high-wattage shimmer.

Examples: Revlon Skinlights Diffusing Tint SPF 15 ($11.99), Giorgio Armani Fluid Sheer ($42).

Self-adjusting foundations

These foundations supposedly stop oil production and also prevent moisture loss. I've yet to see one perform as promised, but it would be great if someone ever came up with one that could!

Custom-blended foundations

If a foundation is made for you and you only, will that get you the best shade? The premise is that there are only so many ready-made shades and you might be better off having one custom-blended. Unfortunately, the idea sounds better than the reality. The major problem with custom-blended cosmetics is that the success of the match depends on the expertise of the salesperson-and there are huge variations in skill.

As nice as custom-blended foundations sound, the formulations are not necessarily superior to (or sometimes even as good as) standard products. The foundation may be too greasy or too dry and it might turn too rose or peach as you wear it. With so many off-the-shelf foundation products available, in many excellent colors, custom blending turns out to be more an expensive gimmick than anything else.

When should you try a custom-blended product, particularly foundation? When you have tested many standard foundations and are still frustrated with the color of your foundation.

source MUP
Silent_scream
post Mar 21 2005, 07:41 PM

147 posts

Wow! That's super informative. Thanx. I'm gonna save it for future references
Zoe
post Mar 21 2005, 08:05 PM

shadowprincess: awesome job for here and you-know-where \^o^/

This post has been edited by Zoe: Mar 21 2005, 08:06 PM
mandymaze
post Mar 22 2005, 05:56 PM

26 posts

awesome! that's a great tip! thanks.
mandymaze
post May 20 2005, 06:26 PM

26 posts

i wonder how long does your makeup lasts? sometimes i wear it from morning when i to work right up to late at night (if i hang out).
i know it's not really good to wear it for too long, cos it's supposed to last for about 8-12 hours only. but i would have to wash my face and re-apply my makeup in the office then.... too troublesome to bring everything along.
so just have to make do with facial blotters and re-powdering.
dpegasus
post May 26 2005, 05:13 PM

108 posts

FYI, normal makeup will last abt 4hrs, even the best makeup is abt 6hrs. So you should touch 1 probably once a day.
babykaeru
post Aug 27 2005, 09:16 PM

165 posts

do we apply concealer first then foundation or vice- versa ...
can we apply concealer without foundation?
lucifah
post Aug 27 2005, 09:19 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

//offtopic: shadow, can u please edit a lil bit ur topic, like say... foundation (for makeup) like tat...

coz i clicked this thread because i was thinking mebbe the guy was discussing about building foundation, such as deep pile, raft footing, line, pads and such...

and i came to this? help me~

thanx for reading my bullcraps... thumbup.gif
DaBytch
post Sep 9 2005, 07:12 PM

I recommend MAC Selective SPF 15
good coverage and looks natural~
Lancome Teint Idole is not bad too. biggrin.gif
Maggie_K
post Oct 6 2005, 02:51 PM

opps..just now entered a reply at a wrong topic. tongue.gif

anyway, u guys know of any good oil-free two way cake foundation?

i have oily face... even in super cold air cond room.. sweat.gif

appreciate it if u guys can roughly tell me the price too biggrin.gif
rayanne
post Oct 10 2005, 09:31 AM

196 posts

hahah me too..thought wrong thread..
looking for right foundation for my sister,she just came back from UK.

Mac selective sp5 15 noted.
what else great foundation???
normal/oily skin she has. sweat.gif thx
simonne
post Oct 16 2005, 08:49 PM

dear babykaeru,

i normally apply foundation first folllow by the concealer then loose powder.
I think it stay on my face longer this way.
rourou
post Oct 18 2005, 12:12 AM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

hrm... nowadays i'll always put on my cream spf 25... concealer and then loose powder.. yeah face colour looks more even and smoother
fraulein
post Oct 18 2005, 03:33 PM

510 posts

Hmnn.. I have a problem here. I had use two-way foundation for quite some time. Since I have combination/oily skin, the 2 way foundation does a great job when I'm outdoor. But since I started to work, I'm always in office or air conditioned room for long hours, my foundation looks ugly. Should I switch?
zen_yingyang
post Oct 30 2005, 12:24 PM

mmm... i have the problem of applying foundation too... doh.gif
basically, my skin is combination/dehydrated skin and i have tried Shu Umera 2way foundation before. No doubt that this is a good foundation but it can't control my T-zone oil and conceal some pimple scar. Later, i switched to Loreal Sheer Cashmere Cream-Powder and Maybelline Wonder Finish Liquid-Powder foundation. Both of the product doesn't give matt look too after long hours in office.
Now i'm using Yves Rocher Hydrating Make-up cream, the product is not bad but still the same, it can't control my oily T-zone!!
So.... any recommendation of foundation product???

smellyocheese
post Nov 15 2005, 03:12 PM

Quack
2,599 posts

I'm allergic to foundation.... but Artistry's foundation is pretty good. blends well.
reynna
post Dec 19 2005, 06:53 PM

31 posts

my all time favorite is Lancome Photogenic and Loreal Translucide. but both already and going to be discontinued, so sad sad.gif lucky i'm the one who always stock up things that i lurve...

4evalove
post Dec 26 2005, 06:13 PM

using ettusais liquid foundation... thumbup.gif
gd for acne prone skin type... cos it prevents pimples from popping up... as well as gd control for oily skin...
jassicaskylpm
post Dec 28 2005, 09:50 PM

373 posts

i recomember MAYBELLINE clear SMOOTH (2-way foundation)21...
it has a smooth n transparent complexion...
no stickness n shine...
nice product thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
reynna
post Jan 3 2006, 12:37 AM

31 posts

Just wanna share with u gurls;

SexyDemonique
post Mar 6 2006, 05:43 PM

reynna, where to get NARS in malaysia? is it in KL? So far i din see it anywhere....

Could you provide some infos about NARS?

Thanks in Advance!
inotqiqi
post Mar 21 2006, 08:03 AM

241 posts

where can test what's your skin type ah?
Zoe
post Mar 22 2006, 07:09 PM

QUOTE(SexyDemonique @ Mar 6 2006, 05:43 PM)
reynna, where to get NARS in malaysia? is it in KL? So far i din see it anywhere....

Could you provide some infos about NARS?

Thanks in Advance!
I heard that it's available in KL now. at this shop called Kensapothecary, which they have outlets in 1U new wing.

QUOTE(inotqiqi @ Mar 21 2006, 08:03 AM)
where can test what's your skin type ah?
you can go to shiseido counter to test. according to the SA, it's FOC. and i'm not sure if it's available at every counter, but i know the one at midvalley jusco has the machine. wink.gif
ShiroPetto
post Aug 17 2006, 02:46 AM

i use maybelline stick foundation for everyday outings. I apply them on imperfections only not the whole face, so sweating doesn't feel so uneasy. it doesn't come off when playing water activities too, as long as you dont rub it.

On big occasions, then I use it with translucent powder, which looks more natural, not so thick.
pinkbee
post Aug 31 2006, 03:32 PM

i just bought Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse. I find it quite easy to use and it blends easily. I just use my finger to apply tongue.gif
purplepenguin
post Nov 17 2006, 03:30 PM

girls go and get CD AIRFLASH easy to use & cepat siap.
no need to spend few hours for make up b4 work...
and some tips for oily skin..
try to put Dr. Feelgood by benefits (rm129) kind of invisible balm to reduce oil on ur face after u put foundation or two way cake...
this product can save ur make up & money beacuse no need to touch up...
can long last about 8 hours...
Ariane
post Nov 27 2006, 07:19 PM

Make up base like the one you can get from MAC also helps control shine before you put on your foundation. Problem is, it's so dead pricey.

For those on a tight budget, I'd say, stick to the drugstore brands for now. ^^; That's unti lyou can splurge on a real good foundation - and at that time, make sure you get pelnty of help!

You wouldn't want to walk away wit hthe wrong choice. Ack.
snoopy88
post Nov 28 2006, 03:16 PM

21 posts

may i know which kind of foundation is suitable 4 oily skin? i mean after applying it, face wont look oily..
chloelew
post Dec 27 2006, 05:53 PM

Mr.Dependable
677 posts

QUOTE(snoopy88 @ Nov 28 2006, 03:16 PM)
may i know which kind of foundation is suitable 4 oily skin? i mean after applying it, face wont look oily..
use oilfree or matte liquid foundations or u can apply mattifying cream/gel b4 applying foundation. bring a oil blotter pack with u lo.... anything can go to ladies and use....
d3stiny
post Jan 10 2007, 03:13 PM

22 posts

any recomment for super oily skin? i tried a lot but non of it works on me! sad.gif loreal..maybeline...skinfood...revlon...etc :'(
ranchu
post Jan 10 2007, 04:39 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(d3stiny @ Jan 10 2007, 03:13 PM)
any recomment for super oily skin? i tried a lot but non of it works on me! sad.gif loreal..maybeline...skinfood...revlon...etc :'(
i think all foundation are the same.. they serve the same purpose.. if u wanna overcome the problem: oily skin.. mayb u can tackle from the basic.. ie: applying toner + moisturizer (look for specific product tat can cure oily face) after washing ur face.. then oni apply foudation... will b much more better i guess.. juz my 2 cents.. smile.gif

EnPoiNte
post Jan 21 2007, 04:27 PM

96 posts

I have oily + combo skin.. chanel double perfection compact works well on me rclxms.gif
miumiu
post Feb 14 2007, 10:54 AM

31 posts

if have oily face, better use mattifier first before applying foundation. I think shiseido have good mattifiers.

I used to like Chanel Double perfection fluid, but after using 3 bottles, i felt that my skin becomes dry already.

now i use Loreal true match + clinique loose powder. Love it smile.gif))

My skin combination anyway
Elephant^^
post Feb 18 2007, 05:05 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(reynna @ Jan 3 2006, 01:37 AM)
Just wanna share with u gurls;

i usually use revlon biggrin.gif
fairlady
post Feb 22 2007, 10:07 AM

MAC 2 way cake is gud.. very smooth effect,, BOBBI BROWN not bad too..
glitz2z
post Mar 2 2007, 01:32 PM

61 posts

I've been using Loreal makeup for almost 5 years now.

And I have tried all Loreal foundations and I would say the best is True Match.

I'm using True Match foundation in G1 and the colour it matches my skin perfectly!
littlediana
post Mar 5 2007, 12:52 PM

498 posts

i use loreal and shiseido very nice ^___^
sE_vIxEn
post Mar 5 2007, 05:13 PM

lo-1337-ta
4,436 posts

i'm using Clinique Perfectly Real Makeup, RM100. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sE_vIxEn: Mar 5 2007, 05:15 PM
JeslynLee
post Mar 18 2007, 12:08 PM

pressed powder good or loose powder?
cutiepie
post Mar 20 2007, 05:50 PM

Anybody is using Shseido's Dual Balancing Foundation? need reviews on it ...~~ thanks...
ColorsOfLove
post Apr 5 2007, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(JeslynLee @ Mar 18 2007, 12:08 PM)
It really depends on individual liking. For me, I like loose powder as I feel its texture is smoothers, softer and lighter. And more softer finishing.
chilicandy
post Apr 5 2007, 06:38 PM

sweet and spicy
1,389 posts

i hav just switched to maybelline white stay mousse. it works okay for me.
Sometimes will dab on some maybelline Pure Stay 2 way foundation.
shannon_e
post May 13 2007, 07:12 PM

im using Cyber Colour - cyber snow foundation got spf26++..
bought from sasa...
its like a pressed powder or 2-way cake?
but i don't know it is for what type of skin??
anybody knows?
feeling
post May 19 2007, 04:15 PM

i heard make up can protect the skin from dust....is it???

Added on May 19, 2007, 4:19 pmI'm lazy person...but i wanna care of my skin...any easier way to protect skin from dust???

anyone know the eyelash repair can longer the lash??? is it true??

This post has been edited by feeling: May 19 2007, 04:19 PM
ColorsOfLove
post May 24 2007, 12:43 PM

feeling,
I am using Shu Uemura lash repair.. I notice my lashes drops lesser on longer. can't really feel the difference but I think if it drops lesser maybe it will grow longer
ladymys2001
post Jul 29 2007, 03:19 AM

QUOTE(babykaeru @ Aug 27 2005, 09:16 PM)
actually both way works, depending on your skin condition and the texture of the foundation or the concealer. this go the same for your second question.

it's important to select different concealer texture for different skin area. eg, the concealer for your eyes should be different from your scar.

first of all, i would like to explain the main purpose of the foundation. it should be used to even out your face complexion, choosing the colour tone nearest to your skin tone and correct your skin's tiny flaws (such as tiny pores).
The finish of the foundation should be seen as 'without wearing any foundation' is the prefect.

for the concealer, it is mean to conceal any blemishs, dark circle, broken cappilaries, pimple scars and others. Therefore, the texture and colour should be go accordingly to the need of it.

If you are interested to know more details about it, you may messenger me by lady_mys2001@yahoo.com or pm me.
I'm a make up artist.

nixon
post Aug 15 2007, 04:28 PM

30 posts

I USED NA-MEE FOUNDATION AND NAMEE MAGIC CREAM
catherinekpy
post Aug 24 2007, 12:17 PM

I want to try Maybelline Foudation, anyone used it before? There are many types, i dunno which type suitable for me? I have oily and acne prone skin le.. Pls give some comment? Thanks
glitz2z
post Sep 19 2007, 10:31 AM

61 posts

i like loreal true match foundation.

really match my skin tone.

my makeup regimen takes 15 minutes and i love using my new make up brushes to apply my make up esp. the foundation brush!

i can't live w/o makeup... tongue.gif
SUSbabygirl81
post Sep 21 2007, 09:49 AM

I recommend Missha BB Cream - Natural looking & does not damage the skin.
coffeelover
post Sep 21 2007, 09:12 PM

53 posts

any recommendation on loose powder...i want to get one...
dun like liquid and pressed powder as i think they r very sticky and thick...
ladymys2001
post Sep 24 2007, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(coffeelover @ Sep 21 2007, 09:12 PM)
any recommendation on loose powder...i want to get one...
dun like liquid and pressed powder as i think they r very sticky and thick...
There's few recommendation here that I had explored so far:
1) Anna Sui. They got compact and loose powder, silky and very smooth. comes in a beautiful packaging and different shade. The shade is quite suitable for Asian gals.

2) Chanel. I prefer their compact powder (I'm using it currently)

Added on September 24, 2007, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(JeslynLee @ Mar 18 2007, 12:08 PM)
Actually there's no much different between pressed powder (also known as compact powder) and loose powder.
Pressed powder, just as the name said, is a pressed form of loose powder. You can use a powder brush on pressed powder and the result is the same as loose powder, this method is better if you are applying after the foundation. if you use a sponge, then it might create a patchy effect and your face will look powdery.

This post has been edited by ladymys2001: Sep 24 2007, 11:04 PM
CiiMouMou
post Sep 24 2007, 11:05 PM

Validating

hi i have this problem
when i apply foundation on, my face look a lil bit fairer (not very visible) and when i take a picture with a camera with flash i appear so so fair inside the pict! until it look so fake!
anyone experience this before?
does this mean my foundation doesn't suit my skin tone?
ladymys2001
post Sep 24 2007, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(zen_yingyang @ Oct 30 2005, 12:24 PM)
mmm... i have the problem of applying foundation too... doh.gif
basically, my skin is combination/dehydrated skin and i have tried Shu Umera 2way foundation before. No doubt that this is a good foundation but it can't control my T-zone oil and conceal some pimple scar. Later, i switched to Loreal Sheer Cashmere Cream-Powder and Maybelline Wonder Finish Liquid-Powder foundation. Both of the product doesn't give matt look too after long hours in office.
Now i'm using Yves Rocher Hydrating Make-up cream, the product is not bad but still the same, it can't control my oily T-zone!!
So.... any recommendation of foundation product???

Have you try applying oil control cream on you T-Zone (oily) area? This cream normally falls in skincare catagory. This cream will absorb the access oil that your skin have. I can't remember which cosmetic brand have it tongue.gif

For your information, I do not recommend combination/dehydrated skin to use 2way foundation. For your case, I recommend that you may use a concealer to cover your scar and a sheer foundation. The problem for dehydrated skin is, after applying medium - heavy coverage foundation, will appear 'crack' (especially you are in a air-conditioned closed environment)

Try this method:
1) apply a hydrating cream before putting on cosmetic everytime.
2) dap tissue over your face and use a brush to do touch-up. (u may use sponge, but do it carefully to avoid patchy)
3) never use foundation to cover pimples, scar, or whatever blemishes

Added on September 24, 2007, 11:25 pm
QUOTE(CiiMouMou @ Sep 24 2007, 11:05 PM)
hi i have this problem
when i apply foundation on, my face look a lil bit fairer (not very visible) and when i take a picture with a camera with flash i appear so so fair inside the pict! until it look so fake!
anyone experience this before?
does this mean my foundation doesn't suit my skin tone?
I have this experience!!! I hate it because just like what u said, it look so fake.

I think it's the foundation is reflecting the flash light, therefore it appear brighter. I use shadowing to make use of the reflection. Apply a slightly darker shade of foundation at your jawline and nose-line (I mean the side-of-the-nose). This will create an effect that my face look smaller laugh.gif

Another point is, the foundation shade is too light. It shouldn't be visible.

This post has been edited by ladymys2001: Sep 24 2007, 11:25 PM
moonriver0
post Jan 19 2008, 02:03 PM

14 posts

highly recommend dermalogica satin smooth, looks v natural like no make up~~ smile.gif
muiya
post Jan 23 2008, 05:36 PM

Revlon ColorStay is very good and affordable. It last long and blends well. I won't go for Maybelline tho.

Added on January 23, 2008, 5:39 pm
QUOTE(catherinekpy @ Aug 23 2007, 09:17 PM)
I want to try Maybelline Foudation, anyone used it before? There are many types, i dunno which type suitable for me? I have oily and acne prone skin le.. Pls give some comment? Thanks
No, don't use Maybelline!! It's sticky and not light at all. Trust me, i've tried it before.

This post has been edited by muiya: Jan 23 2008, 05:39 PM
dingdongding
post Feb 16 2008, 07:05 PM

Oh yes, maybeline one is quite sticky ......
blax3
post Feb 26 2008, 02:54 PM

38 posts

paul & joe ~...it contain 9 colours tone in the base,i can even ur skin tone and looks very natural after applyin...love it~
kittykit
post Feb 28 2008, 09:25 PM

23 posts

If you're unsure which products suit you the most, I'll suggest drop by the makeup counter and the makeup artists will be more than happy to help you out.

I personally love Bobbi Brown and MAC.
MysticJewels
post Mar 2 2008, 03:52 PM

52 posts

Just dust loose powder after foundation to have flawless skin and also to control oil esp at t zone part! I have super oily skin even eyelids are oily, but my loose powder settles it for me biggrin.gif Yes averina satin smooth by dermalogica managed to solve my oiliness for me smile.gif maybe the shade i bought is not right, the shade abit too dark for me , now changed to shu uemura, brighther but seems like more oily hehe i gotta dust more loose powder den! biggrin.gif
rayanne
post Mar 3 2008, 11:35 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(MysticJewels @ Mar 2 2008, 03:52 PM)
Just dust loose powder after foundation to have flawless skin and also to control oil esp at t zone part! I have super oily skin even eyelids are oily, but my loose powder settles it for me biggrin.gif Yes averina satin smooth by dermalogica managed to solve my oiliness for me smile.gif maybe the shade i bought is not right, the shade abit too dark for me , now changed to shu uemura, brighther but seems like more oily hehe i gotta dust more loose powder den! biggrin.gif
oh,averine satin smooth is from averine paris it self.
leonard drake carries dermalogica,bioxil,eve taylor and averine make care products. nod.gif
Princess001
post Mar 18 2008, 10:55 AM

hi hi, anyone tried the new brand RMK yet? heard its pretty good
midnight_plue
post Mar 18 2008, 11:32 AM

283 posts

rmk is definitely good
always being recommended in magazine
but it's kinda pricey~ >_<
moonriver0
post Mar 22 2008, 11:34 PM

14 posts

where is rmk from ya?
midnight_plue
post Mar 24 2008, 09:13 AM

283 posts

rmk if not mistaken from japan smile.gif
syaz11
post May 19 2008, 05:06 PM

I am using Armani Luminuous Silk Foundation. The best! thumbup.gif
Used to like Stila Natural Finish Oil Free Makeup - but not anymore. Too thick for me.
Oh.. I also like Lancome Adaptive nod.gif
yinyum
post Jun 22 2008, 05:21 PM

357 posts

i'm a loyal fans of RMK~! got their make up base, liquid foundation, sunblock (super nice!), lip gloss & lip stick, eyeshadow and skin care products! the staff from The Garden Isetan counter was frenly and willing to suggest suitable products for ur face~! Their foundations are really really really good~~happy.gif
wongb03
post Jun 27 2008, 10:43 PM

I heard the best is Sk-II spray on foundation but it is mega-expensive like 600RM or something I think.

I use MAC - good price and very natural
chibimiaka
post Jun 28 2008, 12:25 AM

how much does MAC usually cost yea?
katzicouture
post Jul 3 2008, 12:08 PM

Hi Gals...

I used Shiseido (oil control foundation) and Chanel before. I love Chanel, because I look natural with it, and it cover open pores with just 1 thin layer thumbup.gif

----

Katzi Couture -E-Boutique for Gorgeous You~*
sbux
post Jul 13 2008, 03:47 AM

225 posts

Benefit Dr Feel Good!!!

covers what i want to cover... and very light!!!

don't feel like having make up at all...

less pimples after use.. i wonder why...

Yukaeshi
post Jul 14 2008, 11:50 PM

417 posts

I'm a lover of Shiseiso Supplist Poreless Foundation biggrin.gif Either that or The Body Shop loose powder is enough for me. If I need heavier coverage I'd just use both laugh.gif
poshyas
post Jul 24 2008, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(wongb03 @ Jun 27 2008, 10:43 PM)
I heard the best is Sk-II spray on foundation but it is mega-expensive like 600RM or something I think.

I use MAC - good price and very natural
for MAC which one u use......liquid/compact.
Syrian
post Jul 28 2008, 04:09 PM

2,761 posts

Liquid foundation - Maybelline
Loose powder - bought from Cosway.
sukkimi
post Jul 29 2008, 11:00 AM

14 posts

Nowadays i'm using concealer on eye area , sunblock + loose powder .

MisSHa_08
post Jul 30 2008, 07:06 PM

After my sunblock, I used MK mineral powder foudation. It's weightless powder that blends effortlessly for a natural, flawless look. It;s a skin perfecter tht makes lines, wrinkle and othe imperfections seem to disappear. But i dun think so it's have SPF lo......

Then the save thing is no need to put any foundation n loose powder lo...
The best result is use back the powder foundation brush lo....
AdrianaFaith
post Aug 2 2008, 12:39 PM

20 posts

I've been meaning to try bronzer but the ones I've seen are a tad too pricey. Any recommendations and cautions that I should take note of for bronzer application? I'm currently using Maybelline AngelFit foundation btw. Thanks in advance.
yeelin04
post Aug 6 2008, 09:56 AM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

i have a problem..

1. i tried using liquid foundation but also sensitive...

2. used two way cake foundation also cannot

after using there 2 at the end i will get lots of pimples at my forehead... vmad.gif

how?
pigglet_1011
post Aug 12 2008, 10:48 AM

mk,mary kay is from us

i am interested in their mineral powder a~~~~~~~
MisSHa_08
post Aug 13 2008, 01:15 PM

QUOTE(pigglet_1011 @ Aug 12 2008, 10:48 AM)
mk,mary kay is from us

i am interested in their mineral powder a~~~~~~~
Yup, MK is MARY KAY from US.
Please PM me if you interested, thanks!

ellora
post Aug 13 2008, 10:39 PM

i think i need to change my foundation...
im using johnson compact powder since i was in college that was like years ago. but now, it seems that everytime i use it, my face seems like flaky and pale... but i love j&j oil blotting
any recommendation? i have oily skins..
~Curious~
post Aug 17 2008, 01:04 AM

1,744 posts

if u go swimming once a week for abt two hours,then might get a tan.will myfoundation be ok to use or do i need to get a new one?
fashionista
post Aug 28 2008, 05:44 PM

45 posts

it depends on how dark you get...
slushie
post Oct 23 2008, 03:21 PM

257 posts

im using MAC foundation and also its primer..so far so good..
laksaUTARA
post Oct 26 2008, 11:32 AM

59 posts

i also have oily skin.... i've tried Clinique foundation ..the latest product..
very good ... u dun feel oily yet ur skin is moisturise... i very recommanded to all gals & girls who have oily skin..
hahaha M.A.C also very gud....yet to try B.Brown thumbup.gif
baobei16
post Oct 28 2008, 09:29 PM

is Maybelline angel fit flawless natural foundation good?any recommendation or feedback??
me_barney
post Nov 1 2008, 11:28 PM

39 posts

for me it's za..i luhrve it..
princess_baby
post Nov 9 2008, 01:17 AM

Maybelline angel fit flawless liquid 1 i duno, i tried the pressed cake b4 seems okie for me but, i prefer loreal true match

i wonder all u guys only use foundation? w/o make-up base or what?

btw i use both liquid and pressed powder

This post has been edited by princess_baby: Nov 9 2008, 01:20 AM
Yukaeshi
post Nov 10 2008, 01:37 AM

417 posts

I tried different types of foundations- cream, liquid, powder, mineral... I still love powder foundation and am using pressed and loose powder foundation.

For me my current Holy Grail foundation is Shiseido The Makeup Supplist Poreless Foundation (O60, because I'm very tan) and Make Up For Ever Super Matte Loose Powder to set smile.gif
meez_titie
post Nov 18 2008, 04:18 PM

i have oily skin too. used maybelline liquid foundation before (the one in green bottle) but it made my face look cakey.
now i'm using dior snow sublissime whitening liquid foundation and love every bits of it. it's light and make ur face looks naturally flawless. as said in the leaflet, it'll also give ur face a 'glowing' effect.
baobei16
post Dec 1 2008, 10:46 PM

personally i love sasa's cyber colours..it really works good for me
makeUup
post Dec 16 2008, 11:41 PM

for budget product.. get l'oreal true match~~ long lasting wei... cheap also.. rm49.90 if i'm not mistaken smile.gif

*p.s: gal.. never buy 1 tone lighter than your skin tone unless u r using as highlight.. and never buy lighter colour to cover dark circle.. WRONG.. that part will turn grey..
use ur ori skin tone concealer to cover it..

Hope can help u guys a bit.. for those who dunno la
Shan0407
post Dec 21 2008, 10:46 PM

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 22 2008, 05:21 PM)
i'm a loyal fans of RMK~! got their make up base, liquid foundation, sunblock (super nice!), lip gloss & lip stick, eyeshadow and skin care products! the staff from The Garden Isetan counter was frenly and willing to suggest suitable products for ur face~! Their foundations are really really really good~~happy.gif
Average how much oh the RMK Liquid foundation,make up base?
Which liquid foundation r u using?
i'm combination to oily skin..which i should use?
mineralcafe
post Dec 26 2008, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(Shan0407 @ Dec 21 2008, 10:46 PM)
Average how much oh the RMK Liquid foundation,make up base?
Which liquid foundation r u using?
i'm combination to oily skin..which i should use?
Have you tried mineral makeup ? It is the latest trend in foundation and it's suitable for all skin types.
So many benefits.

No chemicals, SPF protection, sweat & water resistant, anti-inflammatory...good for acne, NON-PORE CLOGGING, very light, not cakey, recommended by dermatologist, no expiry date...

Found and bookmarked this link while I was searching for good foundation. Check it out !

A Comprehensive Review of Mineral Foundations I've Tried

This post has been edited by mineralcafe: Dec 26 2008, 05:55 PM
babymiki
post Jan 12 2009, 01:49 AM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

wut brand of mineral foundation is good?

im currently using benefit one. very good for combination skin
milleu
post Mar 11 2009, 05:36 PM

431 posts

i like the mineral foundation. i use the benefits line.

it reduce my redness and my skins doesn't feel cakey.

but for better coverage i think la mer has the best. their tinted moisturized works great
milkytime
post Jun 12 2009, 03:31 PM

25 posts

hi girls.. i have sensitive skin, last time i used Za powder foundation, but it gets sticky and i grew more pimple after that. any recommendation? Will MAC or Estee lauder be better? Is the liquid based type will prevent pimples?
shu li
post Jun 30 2009, 12:35 AM

181 posts

erm...i personally feel that mary kay mineral powder fpundation very good..control oil..very light..summore onli apply very little enuf for whole day...very good...summore hav little concealer effect...anyhtin can contact me

princess_autumn87
post Jul 1 2009, 09:05 AM

Glamorous diva-Ghetto arse
597 posts

mac coverage is way too thick and hardly can create nude look. recommend skin79 bb cream to create flawless nude look for normal day. im using it too. if for foundation would def go for shu uemura!!!
SUSbrtc
post Aug 17 2009, 07:35 AM

Try BRTC BB Creams. They are a multi functional foundation, concealer, moisturizer, lightener, SPF and blemish reducer all in 1.

Available in 4 different kinds.

www.brtcstore.com

y_owez
post Aug 26 2009, 09:45 AM

1,745 posts

oily skin
pimple scars
pimples
blemishes
my cheeks usually red ( hot weather or cold -not in malaysia now )
dark circle
kinda round face

when using foundation, what kind of color should i get,
i went to revlon girl and she recommend me number 8 for colorstay revlon foundation.
but i feel its kinda dark when i try at home on face and hand.
should i get no 6 or 7? but dont want to waster it.buy so exp somemore
mrsnan
post Aug 28 2009, 01:31 PM

if the budget permits, you should get the giorgio armani foundation. the coverage is FANTASTIC!

bobbi brown isn't bad too.
misstrezzz hermanazzz
post Sep 1 2009, 01:32 PM

33 posts

hey ya..currently using rmk liquid foundation,it's more to combination skin especially those with oily skin,it give full coverage too and wont cakey even after long hours
Jocey05
post Sep 4 2009, 02:18 PM

I have tried Cosway moose type of foundation, not bad, and does not smear. Can tahan quite long hours too and good to use with sponge when apply.
y_owez
post Sep 20 2009, 11:56 PM

1,745 posts

which is better? liquid or mineral powder?thanks
and how to choose the color suitable for me?
princess_autumn87
post Oct 27 2009, 11:17 AM

Glamorous diva-Ghetto arse
597 posts

usually choose right foundation is to choose one shade lighter than your skin tone.

for asian is highly recommended for yellow based tone rather than pink tone.

recommend shu uemura depsea foundation which will not make yr skin dry or oily while wearing it. giorgio armani coverage is good too !
Cas
post Nov 10 2009, 01:12 PM

262 posts

Mineral foundation all the way!
jazziegal
post Nov 19 2009, 01:10 AM

QUOTE(mandymaze @ May 20 2005, 06:26 PM)
i wonder how long does your makeup lasts? sometimes i wear it from morning when i to work right up to late at night (if i hang out).
i know it's not really good to wear it for too long, cos it's supposed to last for about 8-12 hours only. but i would have to wash my face and re-apply my makeup in the office then.... too troublesome to bring everything along.
so just have to make do with facial blotters and re-powdering.
i recommend bb cream more than foundation.coz it will last longer and still keep ur face look good. u'll get better result when u compare to foundation, coz bb cream is mild too ur face and it's juz like a moisurizer/toner touch, not oily, can last for whole day. the longest i wore from 8am to 12am.. it's still look good. so i prefer more on bb cream. u can check this out www.mollamolla.blogspot.com for more information. very good quality bb cream.
jessand
post Dec 22 2009, 01:36 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(makeUup @ Dec 16 2008, 11:41 PM)
for budget product.. get l'oreal true match~~ long lasting wei... cheap also.. rm49.90 if i'm not mistaken smile.gif

*p.s: gal.. never buy 1 tone lighter than your skin tone unless u r using as highlight.. and never buy lighter colour to cover dark circle.. WRONG.. that part will turn grey..
use ur ori skin tone concealer to cover it..

Hope can help u guys a bit.. for those who dunno la
is it suitable for oily skin? how is the coverage? thanks
g r a p e k e y
post Mar 30 2010, 02:14 AM

483 posts

very useful article.. smile.gif thanks for sharing

Added on March 30, 2010, 2:16 ambtw can i ask questions?

I have a REVLON powder base(Medium) .. & my skin type is oily..

Any recommendation for thin skin type? Thanks in advance

This post has been edited by g r a p e k e y: Mar 30 2010, 02:16 AM
samantha88
post Mar 30 2010, 11:22 AM

114 posts

i prefer liquid foundation, it's easier to blend on the skin,
but my friend told me liquid foundation usually clogs pores, and is better to use press powder.
I tried but i dun like, coz very difficult to blend and very flaky, can see the pwder barely hanging on the skin and will drop off. Is it my skill or it's normal for powder foundation to be like that?
ginsw
post May 31 2010, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(samantha88 @ Mar 30 2010, 11:22 AM)
i prefer liquid foundation, it's easier to blend on the skin,
but my friend told me liquid foundation usually clogs pores, and is better to use press powder.
I tried but i dun like, coz very difficult to blend and very flaky, can see the pwder barely hanging on the skin and will drop off. Is it my skill or it's normal for powder foundation to be like that?

do you have a daily skin routine to moisturize your skin?
i have tried powder foundation before when i first started makeup but never face the problem like yours.
interested in knowing the brand of makeup u using..

try applying in in small amount on your powder puff for the whole of your face. Too much of it will make your face look cakey and powdery..
you can build up the layers if you think you need more coverage.

But, if you are looking for stronger coverage for blemishes and scars, liquid foundation will be a better choice.
and not all liquid foundation clog pores la...depends on skin.
try putting on non-silicon makeup base first/ use bb cream for pore clogging problems.. smile.gif

bunny1901
post Jul 26 2010, 06:07 PM

I'm using MAC liquid foundation. So far's been good to me but I have one problem: my nose sweats. When it sweats my foundation on my nose area will run. Dab on loose powder it looked worse.

Anyone suggestions? I've applied primer before foundation too, but did not help much.
jessteong
post Sep 2 2010, 12:25 AM

58 posts

i have combination (more to oily side) and acne prone skin
light medium skin tone and easily tanned
my shade is bobbi brown 3.5 =)

i'm using dior skin nude mineral liquid foundation (021)
it doesn't cause acne on my skin,
goes very natural and build-able, moisturizing and light

sometimes i will just use powder mineral foundation
i find lumiere mineral foundation(light medium warm) works for me especially i used with its silk finishing powder, help to control my facial oil =)

i carry ZA skin beauty foundation compact powder (22) with me when i go out for touch up. the power is smooth and fine and the price will not puncture a hole in my pocket =)

(revlon photoready is provide good coverage and make ur skin look smooth for the whole day but it causes acne on my skin, those acne that lies deep down into my skin! gosh)

This post has been edited by jessteong: Sep 2 2010, 12:31 AM
SUSkathylim
post Dec 30 2010, 09:21 AM

wanna share with u all..

Blockbuster RM 168.00

METTALOGY LINER RM 48.00 RM 43.20

PRECISION LINER RM 48.00 RM 43.20

FLUID LINER RM 30.00 RM 27.00

HIGHBROW RM 30.00 RM 27.00

IVOLUXE LIPSTICK RM 42.00 RM 37.80

SPARKLE LINER RM 35.00 RM 31.50

LIP TREAT RM 48.00 RM 43.20

LIP POLISH RM 45.00 RM 40.50

LIP DEFINITY RM 25.00 RM 22.50

MEGALIPS VELVETSHINE RM 50.00 RM 45.00

Added on December 30, 2010, 9:28 amwanna share with u..
inuovi foundation~~
rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by kathylim: Dec 30 2010, 09:28 AM
Cottoncandyclouds
post Jan 11 2011, 12:01 PM

374 posts

I use fasio. Best foundation for me so far. It doesn't look as if I'm wearung anything on my face! Just flawless skin. And it lasts very long and super waterproof.
mizz sharon
post Feb 10 2011, 09:44 PM

22 posts

Revlon Colorstay is my pick. The BEST I've used so far =)

I have mild acne+ slightly pimply+ red and sensitive skin. Basically u name it, my skin has it =.(

Revlon has awesome coverage. last me whole day without retouching much. and absorbs really quick as well.

Highly recommend those who have sensitive skin like mine too.
crystabell
post Apr 4 2011, 07:10 PM

I don't agree with Liquid foundation will clog pores as nowadays there are so many brands mineral based liquid foundation. And cosmetic will not cause any pore clogging unless you're not doing good cleasing/makeup removing's job.

Day time usually I will use mineral based liquid foundation (Arissa Studios ALM501 - RM68.90) touch up with Bobbi Brown loose powder ( Soft Sand No.5 -RM 130) and dinner I love to use Lancome Teint Miracle ( RM130 also ^^ ) then touch up with Bobbi Brown loose powder as well cause Lancome's liquid foundation makes my skin look fawless on photo biggrin.gif
Kirei Fuku Boutique
post Apr 16 2011, 11:52 AM

i would say that Revlon Colorstay is fantastic !! it doesnt budge and lasts right up to 12 hours and above depending on how you apply it. Truly it is really up to your skin and how it takes makeup. There are so many ranges now adays catering for all skin types and you can easily choose from budget buys and high end make up.

Im a make up junkie, so ive tried everything but nothing really kept up to revlons'colorstay foundation. My only gripe about it is that you have to blend it really really fast or it dries up.
LazyTongue
post May 10 2012, 03:47 PM

150 posts

Anyone know the price for Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk and how many ml? where can i buy it in malaysia?
RiasAnggun
post May 27 2012, 11:20 AM

To find more information about the best foundation that suitable for all skin types..i reccomnd u to go to this website smile.gif

http://riasanggunbeautyconcepts.blogspot.com
I have bought this foundation and i'm so happy that my acne & acne scares also my eyebag can cover 100%..I feel like a beautiful girl..

furiouz_spidey
post May 30 2012, 09:47 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Maggie_K @ Oct 6 2005, 02:51 PM)
opps..just now entered a reply at a wrong topic. tongue.gif

anyway, u guys know of any good oil-free two way cake foundation?

i have oily face... even in super cold air cond room..  sweat.gif

appreciate it if u guys can roughly tell me the price too  biggrin.gif
Hi there,
I guess u should try makeup forever matt velvet plus liquid foundation. it works well for my oily skin and i live in super humid hot weather , Malaysia. 2 way cake foundation can be use to set the foundation. For that im using makeup forever hd powder and i don't even need to touch up myself more than 12 hours. Need to find good color match pls check out makeupalley.com

Finelady.i
post Jun 3 2012, 03:34 PM

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=318...&type=3&theater

Try out :

::Mary Kay® TimeWise Luminous-Wear™ Liquid Foundation
::Mary Kay® TimeWise Matte-Wear® Liquid Foundation

TzeThon
post Jun 12 2012, 11:00 PM

213 posts

Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer works like a normal foundation. Natural look. Not oily. It has minty feeling so suitable for oily skin.

Anna Sui has really good foundation as well. Not too thick and good coverage.

If you want natural finish can try Benefit or Bobbi Brown as well.
anilin
post Sep 2 2012, 08:28 PM

240 posts

I like this Revlon Colorstay.. but...

Revlon Colorstay 200 NUDE
Jacksyn
post Oct 17 2012, 10:52 PM

Vote for Clinique! smile.gif
leyassi
post Jan 3 2013, 02:17 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(RiasAnggun @ May 27 2012, 11:20 AM)
To find more information about the best foundation that suitable for all skin types..i reccomnd u to go to this website smile.gif
http://riasanggunbeautyconcepts.blogspot.com
I have bought this foundation and i'm so happy that my acne & acne scares also my eyebag can cover 100%..I feel like a beautiful girl..
My friend used this and yeah, it works wonder. I'm satisfied with it. But buying it online would be a problem since I don't know the type that'll suit my skin tone. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by leyassi: Jan 3 2013, 02:18 AM
Alfredkuok01
post Jan 24 2013, 02:43 AM

Chanel cc creams quite gud Abd easy make up.....somemore price is reasonable:)
RikaaLika
post Apr 11 2013, 10:09 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Alfredkuok01 @ Jan 24 2013, 03:43 AM)
Chanel cc creams quite gud Abd easy make up.....somemore price is reasonable:)
I jusy test the product from chanel..
I mean on the spot try..
Service is fabulously nice..
They basically clean up whole face n start with moisturizer n then cc cream n setting powder..
Problem is..
It's now alrdy 2hr prior to application..
Face start to shine..oily bit..t zone specially..

I really hopeless...

I need primer/fondation that can control this combination oily skin for at least 4hr..

I tried MAC..benefit..now chanel..
little_apple
post Apr 28 2013, 12:30 AM

I vote for BOBBI BROWN and RMK make up base and liquid foundation . love them so much , I'm using my third bottles of RMK now
lovelyangelic89
post May 7 2013, 11:21 AM

Can try these foundations:-

Revlon Colorstay
Revlon Photoready
Mary Kay Matte Wear Liquid Foundation
Tavia Lee
post May 15 2013, 06:18 PM

I also vote for Bobbie brown 👍
anis007
post May 29 2013, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(RikaaLika @ Apr 11 2013, 10:09 PM)
I jusy test the product from chanel..
I mean on the spot try..
Service is fabulously nice..
They basically clean up whole face n start with moisturizer n then cc cream n setting powder..
Problem is..
It's now alrdy 2hr prior to application..
Face start to shine..oily bit..t zone specially..

I really hopeless...

I need primer/fondation that can control this combination oily skin for at least 4hr..

I tried MAC..benefit..now chanel..
I had the same problem. But found the perfect solution. Now my makeup stays on from 8am - 5pm without needing to blot or touchups, except slightly on my nose because i'm super oily. the rest of my face stays matt.

this is basically my routine

1 - normal skincare. i use clinique's 3 step. cleanse>tone>moisturize>sunblock
2 - spray De-Slick Oil-Control Makeup Setting Spray by Urban Decay
3 - foundation : MUFE Mat Velvet+, set with clinique's blended face powder
4 - optional steps which most time i skip: eyeliner>eyeshadow>blush>bronzer>lip balm
5 - spray again with De-Slick Oil-Control Makeup Setting Spray by Urban Decay
DONE
madxmag
post Oct 4 2013, 05:40 PM

98 posts

[color=blue]Looking for primer or foundation? Here's we bring Korean Cosmetic to you with affordable price ! rclxms.gif

HOT Items in KOREA NOW! All products can be found in GET IT BEAUTY a korea TV show!

https://www.facebook.com/madxmagcosmoholicAttached Image

This post has been edited by madxmag: Oct 4 2013, 05:41 PM
cutelildonna
post Oct 30 2013, 04:27 PM

24 posts

Hi girls, i wonder if anyone have heard kokuryu (also known as bedak arab). I have tried one before it looks and feels amazing. Quality value like mac, i couldn't compare with others like bobbi brown or revlon coz i never tried it. Bought it last time at rm50 if im not mistaken.

If you know anyone who sell this can pls recommend? smile.gif
Ana admi
post Nov 28 2013, 05:57 PM

I love revlon colourstay, revlon photoready,lauramercier and also rmk foundation, it works wonder to my skin, the good foundation doesn't mean it wil good to your skin, determine your skin type first and then you would easy to find one.
felicia goh
post Dec 9 2013, 10:48 AM

I vote for Revlon colour stay!
However, the shade (#150) I'm using is not available in Malaysia or Singapore...
I tried MUFE matte velvet, pretty expensive but it doesn't work as good as Revlon colour stay for me... =(
hsifoong
post Jan 11 2014, 12:01 AM

I just started using Tarte foundation and bb cream as well as the whitish powder forgot the name but damn amazing. All the products are made from Amazonian clay and pretty much natural. Supposed to control oil and shine for fry egg face like mine. And it does amazingly well. I have never tried anything like this line before. Last time I used to use Bobbi brown. Still cannot control my shine like Tarte. The other bestest thing is..... Drum rolls.... It looks soooo natural while being able to cover all my uneven skin tone. You ladies can get them at sephora now.

On normal working days I just use the 12 hour something bb cream with 30 SPF which is tinted. Comes in 4 shades. Doesn't even oxidise. I put this on after my normal skin care routine and finish off with the whitish Amazonian finishing powder I think that is the name. And I am soooo beauty for the rest of the day.

Went with my colleague to go buy when finished the samples given by sephora and they asked me, you got put one meh?! I was like thinking inside.... YES!!!! Wearing great coverage while looking natural and not oily. Seriously la. I thought all fry egg face like me were doomed for eternity to look like the base of the wok of Chinese restaurant.

So the bb cream is great for daily coverage for me and the foundation is great for bad days or dinners where I wanna look like Megan fox photoshopped. And the texture rolls on like silk so very little can go a long way. I use a big foundation brush or fingers la.

So far no break out for me. Will continue to monitor and update if there is break out la. But I try not to put too much coverage and feel I should let my face breath most the time.

Sorry for the long post. Hope this helps. rclxm9.gif
spidergirl
post Mar 27 2014, 11:24 AM

144 posts

I have tanned, yellow-ish skin, and hands down, Bobbi Brown is the best for my skin color and not have the white-ish geisha after effects. I've tried Makeup Forever foundation out of recommendation from Sephora sales girl..regrets!

If you girls decide to go for Bobbi Brown, please bring your girlfriend(s) along, especially if you are dark skinned. I don't know why, sales assistant tend to give me darker or lighter shades for my skin....ugh!
uma689
post May 1 2014, 06:17 PM

Nothin beats Bobbi Brown.. Awesome
nobipika
post Sep 20 2014, 05:22 PM

25 posts

For me is Liquid ^^
sab2106
post Jan 16 2015, 11:26 PM

44 posts

I've recently change from laura mercier to kose bb cream, kose bb cream is pretty good, very light and gives me a very healthy complexion. I have oily skin and so far oil control seems good, my make up last all day.
Ahli.lowyat
post Jan 21 2015, 08:56 PM

i suggest tia amelia foundation RM30

bananabomb
post Oct 5 2015, 10:48 AM

46 posts

Hi guys. I have a bc stick from Korea by the yeon.

I had my friend to buy from Korea. But she got me the wrong colour. It is 02 natural beige. Because i have very fair skin, im Selling off for RM 75.

Pls pm me! Serious buyer pls !

venice1127
post Oct 20 2015, 04:04 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(reynna @ Jan 3 2006, 12:37 AM)

Thanks for your iformation! laugh.gif
springfll39
post Oct 21 2015, 02:29 PM

wow, thank you for sharing this good informational post!! I like the oil-free and matte liquid foundation.
Banila Co Malaysia
post Mar 9 2016, 08:29 PM

I am using this Cover 10 Perfect cushion by Banila co. They just launched in Genting highlands in feb and i got some goodies to try out. So far, they suit my skin perfectly and looking forward to buy it now since the one i am using is about to finish soon. here is there fb page: www.facebook.com/banilacoinmalaysia

You can order online too. Just pm them.
Favful
post Jun 14 2016, 03:52 PM

If you have combination to oily skin, it's best to use a product that offers a light to medium coverage and matte finish. For people with dry skin, we would suggest you to use a cream-based foundation or BB cream that will help to moisturize your skin.

Anyway, this is a product that we highly recommend: Make Up Forever Ultra HD Foundation

This post has been edited by Favful: Jun 14 2016, 04:32 PM
nfmbf
post Jun 14 2016, 06:14 PM

68 posts

I have combo skin. Dont like to touch up.

My fave for daily usage: bourjois healthy mix foundation

For fuller coverage, i use nars sheer glow

Really like these two because dont grow pimples on me wink.gif
clushie
post Jan 17 2017, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(babykaeru @ Aug 27 2005, 09:16 PM)
Depends on your skin situation.
Sometimes i use concealer only.
If its enough to cover your dark eyes and acne scars I think better use concealer only
because i think foundation is to heavy if you use it everyday
sukkimi
post Mar 17 2017, 02:27 PM

14 posts

use cushion foundation more natural looking
neuroneuster
post Mar 17 2017, 03:07 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(nfmbf @ Jun 14 2016, 06:14 PM)
I have combo skin. Dont like to touch up.

My fave for daily usage: bourjois healthy mix foundation

For fuller coverage, i use nars sheer glow

Really like these two because dont grow pimples on me wink.gif
Bourjois made my face color so odd.

Now I have breakout everytime I feel hot. The face will be red.

Not sure which makeup is good for me now.

Now I am using kate foundation, not sure if it is culprit for my breakout.
LinF
post Apr 25 2017, 10:29 PM

I just joined today and I have learnt so much in the last 25 mins! I'm off to look for a cushion foundation. Up till 10 mins ago I have been using Boots Stay Perfect foundation with SPF15 which has been a great colour match but it tends to disappear after 4 hours. Does the cushion foundation stay on OK???

I live in the UK but born in Singapore so my skin type is very similar to you ladies. Any help will be gratefully received.
rachelwong88
post Apr 19 2019, 02:35 PM

54 posts

Tried liquid before but didn't see much difference to buy again. Maybe skin very sensitive and have learnt the hard way to be more careful with this type of products!
winxclubcheese
post Aug 28 2021, 03:08 PM

39 posts

nice infor, thanks !!!

0.1006sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:58 AM