Hobbies The Bright Side V4, Malaysian Flashaholic Community

power911
post Jun 19 2020, 04:11 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Jun 19 2020, 02:51 PM)
Hopefully the delivery time is faster than Ali'not'Express
What to do le. Aliexpress too vast ady. Now everything is 90 days crazy slow.
My stuff from aliexpress shipped before MCO today 19 june only reach. Really ngam ngam 89 days before I file parcel missing haha.
China keep getting em virus damn kesian oso.
power911
post Jun 19 2020, 05:00 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Jun 19 2020, 05:51 PM)
Before Shopee and Lazada, used to buy lights from Banggood, Gearbest and Aliexpress.
But now, I'd rather wait for the lights to appear in Shopee and Lazada, for peace of mind
bangd00d is crappy now. Gearbest and Aliexpress is still fine imo. There are many other things I still can't get from Lazada or shopee though. Like LED parts/drivers. My LH351D at least can get from Aliexpress KDLitker. Gonna be my first time experiencing a samsung LED for sure rolleyes.gif
power911
post Jul 12 2020, 02:11 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Jul 11 2020, 11:15 PM)
Oh my, I've left this hobby quite some time ago but am still interested from time to time.
Can anyone recommend a good AA flashlight as well as a headlamp (with a 90 degree angle like the zebralight)?
Been out of the game too long.

Are the Chinese lights getting better? Just saw in the last page about Sofirn.
Anything else I should look out for?
Sofirn AA light is pretty good but I think the most famous AA light right now is still Lumintop Tool AA 2.0 notworthy.gif
Headlamp I don't know.
power911
post Aug 14 2020, 12:36 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 14 2020, 12:10 PM)
replaced my well worn Tini with the newer Tiki GITD aka glow in the dark...which doesnt glow that long tongue.gif

I've seen many in reddit who prefer rovyvon over this. What makes you chose this? hmm.gif
Though I'd still be tempted with the price despite the drama behind it laugh.gif innocent.gif
power911
post Aug 25 2020, 07:39 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 25 2020, 06:57 PM)
well depends on ur usage.
technically red / blue can preserve night vision...and of cos the white cri can use as emergency light for camping / blackout etc.
but imo, all the aux are just gimmicks...unless its the uv on the gitd version since it can then charge the glow.
only red le. the blue one will wreck your night vision in seconds haha laugh.gif

Me burning my eyes whenever I turn on my usb charger and it glows bright blue rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
All my rods and cones activated whistling.gif
power911
post Sep 10 2020, 03:56 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Sep 10 2020, 01:46 PM)
As this will be my first Samsung LED, I'm not sure what to expect of their tint, as my neutral white tints light are mainly Nichias 219B, 219C, XPL-HI and SST-40 emitters.
I just received a Jetbeam RRT03 with Nichia 219C 4000K and hopefully I can compare the tint of the Samsung and Nichia when the BLF combo arrived.
I got the single 5000k LH351D from kaidomain and my friend had the single 6000k I think from somewhere else. (I think intl outdoor but I'm not sure. Comes on noctigon board)
I couldn't really say they're outstanding 90CRI LEDs. They feel like a domed XPL to me but without rainbow tint shift.

The tint however is quite green imo. Very similar to the old XP-G2 cool whites from the 2 samples I see. Checking BLF and reddit everyone said the same about green.
Fine for me but not as pleased compared to the god led named nichia 219b rose tint doh.gif tongue.gif
My expectation too high.
But the output is very comparable to the XP-L2 I replaced on my Sofirn SP31. Milky green white with bigger hotspot goodings thumbup.gif
power911
post Nov 6 2020, 05:07 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 6 2020, 02:55 PM)
anyone use energizer flashlight before? i plan to buy TAC 1000 mdel.
I got the Vision HD 2xAA. My thoughts are based on Vision HD and not TAC 1000. Just take note of it because I end up ranting instead of giving advice.

If I'm not wrong the TAC 1000 is the same internals as the 6xAA Vision HD but with tailcap instead of side switch
If Energizer can't do right with their basic light I wouldn't trust their "tactical" series for what I experienced with my 1 light I tried.
I rather you go for their Energizer Hard Case series as those seemed to be praised well in the past.
Or Sofirn. It's a proper flashlight
power911
post Nov 18 2020, 10:26 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 18 2020, 05:32 PM)
any recommendation for model using AA battery?
Any specific needs in your light use? Assuming you are okay with the Energizer tac 1000 size I would recommend some 2xAA light for brighter use because single AA light generally won't hit more than 300 lumens unless you go special lithium ion batteries.

darosk choices are pretty solid for single AA light and they're well praised for many years too especially the Lumintop Tool AA 2.0 and the Thrunite T10 II
I'd go with Lumintop Tool AA 2.0 XP-L HD for max brightness if the Nichia LED was not an option (Though the Nichia LED will give a tasty beam color compared to the XP-L brightness)
I own the first gen Thrunite T10 and although these are amazing single AA light, I probably won't use it much due to the basic brightness output.

As for 2x AA light which is more convenient imo due to many rechargeable AA batteries sold as pair and way higher power without using lithium rechargeables
-Sofirn SF13 gets my first pick on cheap and bright LED light. While their UI is a 4 mode memory driver, it's plenty easy to use and long enough to poke people as weapon.
-Nitecore MT2A is an old light but they're still selling it due to it's usefulness in design. A light to consider.

And I see no reason why shouldn't we use rechargeables in our modern life. There are plenty good light and powerful to run as EDC for the budget given.
-Nitecore Tiki or Nitecore Tip SE is a very versatile keychain light bright enough to light up dark alleys and will never leave your keys.
-Or the pricier Rovyvon series keychain light that gets praised rclxm9.gif
power911
post Dec 19 2020, 03:19 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Dec 19 2020, 10:30 AM)
Hi guys, do u know where i can buy a battery level checker for the rechargeable batteries?

I tried search online, i don't know which one are good
Battery checker for lithium battery? I just use my liitokala lii202 charger to give me an estimate. Or if I want a full analyzer I use my Lii-500 to test.
Or a multimeter to check voltage to see estimate charge level

power911
post Dec 19 2020, 11:41 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Dec 19 2020, 04:22 PM)
For NiMH aa size battery...

Can it work??
Oh NiMH. Honestly those can use the cheap cheap tester will do.
I'm using one of this lazy man battery tester to give a quick test

Not accurate but always usable for rough estimate. Would still recommend to use a multimeter to test battery voltage as estimate. Can always get a cheap cheap multimeter from mr diy. These 2 are the only portable testers I know of.

For more accurate testers I'd still recommend a battery analyzers and charger something like the Liitokala Lii500 or the noisy opus bt-c3100

power911
post Dec 20 2020, 11:49 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Dec 21 2020, 12:05 AM)
How to use multimeter to test v charges? Just test the voltage?
Yup. Test voltage to see approx percentage. But just fyi it is unloaded so if placed with load may be different percentage.

like NiMH nominal is 1.2v then we consider 50%
1.5v can consider topped 100%
1.0v already close to 10%
power911
post Apr 2 2021, 10:22 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Apr 2 2021, 01:28 PM)
Is this good for home use? Battery if fully charged, what is the discharge rate? Should i take out the battery when not in use or just leave it there?

Should be plenty enough for home use. Though I would rather get a Sofirn SP33 for that price. Much better build with proper LED

If you insist on getting that then here are my thoughts.
-Zoomie head also means it is not waterproof so just beware in case you accidentally drop in some water if you decided to take it outdoors.
-Built-in rechargeable may incur risks since you are charging a highly reactive battery in a sealed aluminium bottle. Highly suggest getting an external charger like an XTAR SC1 just for safety reasons
-Aliexpress is a pain to wait. You might need to wait up to a month or two just for a single light. Might as well find something from local say Lazada or Shopee where shipping is faster even when seller is in China
power911
post Apr 6 2021, 09:26 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Apr 6 2021, 06:44 PM)

Say hello to FENIX FD41!  wave.gif  lol.gif  grin.gif
ini fenix brooo. That one is some slidey collar with aspheric lens le laugh.gif
power911
post Jul 6 2021, 02:44 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jul 5 2021, 03:30 PM)
wow.. lelong link! tongue.gif
haha yeah, reputable shop safer I guess.
TQ
ye man. Get from trusted seller le. I tried many shopee link all give low grade liitokala rebranded panasonic b cells trash.

While it is close to 3400mAh it can't even do any load more than 2 amp. Useless junk. Use for powerbank 4 parallel also keep shutting down.

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top

0.0891sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:32 AM