12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Bright Side V4, Malaysian Flashaholic Community

power911
post Oct 17 2018, 09:14 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 17 2018, 02:31 PM)
not sure, u'll have to check the nitecore site.
nowadays i stick to AA/AAA/14500 models... due obviously to the battery type.
not sure if I wanna invest on a 4xAA light just to use my unused Eneloops whistling.gif
power911
post Oct 17 2018, 10:12 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 17 2018, 10:27 PM)
thats what i did when i decided to get the jetbeam sra40...cos i got total of 16 AAs lying around...8x eneloops and 8x ikea...1 of those 4x ikea is still unopened...zzz.
used to be for camera flashes...but now i lazy...
thinking of getting another 4xAA model in the thrunite tn4a hi or the nitecore ea42...so at least i wont feel bad if only 4x unused as that can be backup spares tongue.gif
expensive man... it's like almost rm350+

I was thinking of Sofirn because it was no more than RM150 shipped console.gif

Haha maybe I'm just cheap but I wouldn't want it to be wasted like my direct driven XM-L2 U2 Convoy C8 sitting on my table unused
power911
post Oct 17 2018, 10:54 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 17 2018, 11:44 PM)
whats almost rm350+?
tn4a hi is rm215...ea42 is rm260.
sorry sweat.gif But still quite a heft to pay imo.
but if tn4a is rm215 not bad hmm.gif
comes in nw summore
power911
post Oct 22 2018, 08:57 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Oct 22 2018, 03:20 PM)
[attachmentid=10079439]
oh boi I've always dream to own the U12. Please do update us more if it is a practical light for daily use
power911
post Oct 23 2018, 10:43 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Oct 23 2018, 11:09 PM)
how much stuff u guys carry around la? torch, multitool, glass breaker...???
haha I used to be a sound technician for events sweat.gif
always carried my forward clicky sofirn sp12 for inspection use as well as 2 AAA lights (astrolux a01 on my car keys and hugsby xp-1 in my wallet)
When you're setting up in a ballroom it is always unpredictible and always dark.

Now that I think of it I need to reduce my daily EDC doh.gif
power911
post Oct 23 2018, 11:10 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 23 2018, 11:47 PM)
not alot in pocket.
victorinox climber or sometimes the explorer...
then on keychain is the victorinox classic, nitecore tini, nite glowring and the tube has rm20 in it just in case of anything... like if i go out buy breakfast and forget my wallet tongue.gif
very rarely do i need more light, more throw sometimes... if so like on trips etc i may just carry around a nitecore ea11.
[attachmentid=10082209]
hahaha I own that tube too and it only fits max RM20
wished it fit like RM50 at least because a crunched up RM20 made every cashier cringe.

This post has been edited by power911: Oct 23 2018, 11:11 PM
power911
post Oct 29 2018, 09:49 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Oct 28 2018, 11:56 PM)
oh, and did i mention that the neutral white is easier on the eye?
nice. thanks for in depth review. sounds like the ui is a problem for me then.

Always needed a simple ui like hi/lo knowing manker don't come with it so was curious if it is adaptable laugh.gif
power911
post Oct 30 2018, 10:33 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

Lumintop Tool AA
Lumintop EDC01

Meanwhile I'm just gonna put my wishlists here for 11.11

EDC01 is really tempting and I feel like changing my Astrolux A01 sweat.gif
power911
post Nov 11 2018, 01:14 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Nov 11 2018, 04:00 AM)
p.s. off topic but i succumbed to the dark side of 11.11 and got myself 3 more victorinoxs  mega_shok.gif
11.11 is a dangerous date now.
My wallet not as hurt as yours but I've purchased a Nitecore tube clear for about RM31 even when I don't need it doh.gif biggrin.gif
power911
post Nov 14 2018, 09:40 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

Today is a sad day
I dropped my new light on the 2nd day of purchase. cry.gif
It still works, just with some deep carvings.

user posted imageuser posted image

Energizer Vision HD PMMH21
Just a simple 2xAA light that anyone can buy in Ace Hardware for about RM52 +- I can't remember the exact price.
I bought mine from my nearby hardware store CSM and boy it is bright for a 400lm light.
It may not be practical in my use as it has huge body taller than my Solarforce L2M 18650 format.
It may not tailstand due to the rounded tail
Having only IPX4 may not matter to general consumers but it only resists rain and splashes only. No swimming pool fish tank diving with this.

But importantly the UI is fantastic.
Hi>Lo>Strobe electronic side switch UI. Switch modes by clicking within that first 1 sec frame. More than 1 sec any click will shut it down.
Featuring a gimmicky Vision HD Focus is a nice feat especially the triple TIR lens has 2 spot and 1 flood. Hold on the switch while its on will ramp from All 3 LED>Flood only>Spot

I like the flood feature as it provides a nice circular beam with no tint shift. But I don't think anyone will use this hidden feature as it is quite minmal.

For about RM50 it's definitely a bright light I can easily recommend any general user to buy without worrying about 18650 lithium cell dying from over discharging. Plus it is available to buy locally which I find it a huge plus rolleyes.gif
power911
post Nov 15 2018, 10:32 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 15 2018, 07:59 AM)
hah someone actually bout that energizer... i was looking at it before also to put in car... but it was just a bit too long for that empty slot beneath the handbrake.
well if we're into 18650 lights these are kinda meh.
but considering it being powerful for 2xaa it's definitely my current car light right now.
My P60 host with 2 cr123 is still working but it drains fast. Not sure why, maybe it is just malaysian heat killing the battery slowly. mega_shok.gif
power911
post Dec 5 2018, 11:15 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

"when you have a one light for all yet you still buy more that you don't need"

me
power911
post Dec 7 2018, 06:22 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 7 2018, 05:08 PM)
i also learnt not to put lights with lithium batts in cars... not so much that they will explode... but heat shortens the life.
but what about energizer ultimate lithium? It will never leak and I don't think it'll vent in my car so far.
power911
post Dec 27 2018, 09:55 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(K-o-E @ Dec 24 2018, 10:45 AM)
Any Led Lenser owner/enthusiast on board?
I miss my Led Lenser P3

Lost it while working in a ballroom. It wasn't bright but the Hi/Lo/Strobe interface was 300x better than any chinese led lights I've ever used. Especially the easy to press forward clicky
power911
post Jan 18 2019, 09:06 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Jan 18 2019, 04:26 PM)
wah... how come this thread so quiet? nobody got anything over christmas/new year? i got...but is not lights  sweat.gif
I bought batteries, but they're for my dying powerbank haha
power911
post Jan 19 2019, 11:33 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Jan 19 2019, 12:02 PM)
I bought https://thyrm.com/product/pyrovault-lighter-armor/ for edc only but not related to Flashlight. Haha.
No, I’m not a smoker šŸ˜‚
looks damn cool. How was the lighter experience?
Is it zippo size just shorter? I'm no smoker but I always carry lighter for birthdays hahaha but for a gas lighter they either get too big or not waterproof for me.
Currently using a fake china fire stash keychain. Good for emergency light but can never stay lit for 2 minutes before the whole lighter turn into a fireball mess sweat.gif
power911
post Feb 12 2019, 10:13 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

Finally something new in my collection

View post on Imgur.com

Kinda took too long to fix my dying P60. And was too afraid to try extra warm colors but overall I am very pleased with this tint.
Not the brightest. It's as bright as an ordinary XML T6 7A that I own and this LED finally had a partner to share its warmth biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
power911
post Mar 6 2019, 08:58 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

new toys!

I think I can slowly retire my 18650 lights with these
Sofirn SF13
Sofirn SF02
power911
post Mar 11 2019, 09:39 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

View post on Imgur.com

New project done biggrin.gif
power911
post May 3 2019, 08:57 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

Looking at nitecore tip, I think I am more hooked towards the Lumintop EDC05C

No sign of it in their official website but there's a BLF review of it.

Looks tiny for a AA light with XHP35 on 14500 only though.

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0634sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:00 AM