Hobbies The Bright Side V4, Malaysian Flashaholic Community

power911
post Oct 31 2017, 09:13 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(xenith @ Oct 30 2017, 11:17 PM)
I think you can easily afford to buy another one. haha. Or perhaps wait for few months later. last i bought was around 12.99 in Aug this year. But price at usd 10 is definitely worth the price and i just bought one for spare.
Just received my SP31 today. I'm liking the shape a LOT

I've been wanting a dual switch light like Fenix PD35 ever since I saw one in Mount Xplorer.

With the SP31 although the side switch isn't very tactile and can misclick at times, I'm really liking the light so far.
Bought the light along with battery and charger since I'm out of battery and I needed a portable charger so this is great.

Though the Zanflare F1 could save me less in space and convenience but oh well SP31 is my to go now laugh.gif rclxm9.gif
power911
post Nov 8 2017, 09:16 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Kim Bi Jan @ Nov 8 2017, 06:15 PM)
gadgetwork2u is doing sales on alot of lights..mostly jetbeam and a couple fenix/nightcore/olights...but take note its zero warranty provided.... nod.gif
really? they changed?

I claimed my fenix product from them tho
but that was long ago
power911
post Nov 9 2017, 11:27 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 9 2017, 06:50 PM)
for olight, i only got 2 i3e...alu and cu...both also hardly used now...both also quite worn out with nice patina tongue.gif
for batts i just use the ikea ladda 900mah ones...rm39.90 for 4.
I can only find the AAA ones. Most of my AAA lights are all with laddas
You think they still have AA size?
power911
post Dec 10 2017, 10:54 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Colinlim75 @ Dec 10 2017, 06:39 PM)
I plan to buy nitecore tm06, any comment on this flashlight. The problem with nitecore is their rechargerable battery is really expensive.
4 pcs Panasonic NCR18650B shouldn't break your bank and it should provide adequate power for it.

To play safe you can go cheaper with 4 pcs LG HE4 and they pack a punch for its price still. Though the capacity isn't too impressive in my case.

There is no need to buy protected as they restrict the amp flowing through but I'd go for it due to safety
power911
post Dec 19 2017, 09:49 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Colinlim75 @ Dec 17 2017, 11:16 PM)
Really?

please recommend few models...
can't get enough the of the lumens LOL...
bro pls buy this and let me try man flex.gif

or this one omg

This post has been edited by power911: Dec 19 2017, 09:50 PM
power911
post Dec 23 2017, 08:41 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Colinlim75 @ Dec 22 2017, 05:40 PM)
12000 LM police can tangkap bor? haha...
you go tankap polis with this la
power911
post Jan 25 2018, 08:39 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Nanabhai @ Jan 25 2018, 09:07 PM)
Hi Guys, Need your advice & Help.

I am planning to buy a good quality Flashlight/torch, Around 400Rm max and at least 1000Lumens, where can i buy it in Malaysia? Lowyat plaza? any other good shop in KL? I live in Chow kit area in KL.
KL I'm not sure but if PJ then there's Radiant Den

Tons of selection there and with that budget easily can get 1000 lumens. Just need to know what you're gonna use the light for.
I would recommend Thrunite TN12 bundled along with Nitecore F2 charger and a pair of Panasonic NCR18650B batteries
Or if you don't mind learning you can buy Manker MC11 which comes with a battery that has a charger.

Online has more selections for a cheaper price but its easier to just buy there without waiting
power911
post Jan 31 2018, 10:09 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Jan 31 2018, 10:58 PM)
Good catch on the Convoy L6.
Convoy can really makes affordable lights at budget prices, without sacrificng the quality.
My 2 Convoy S2+ have been dropped so many times by my wife and kid, but they are still working fine and the anodizing are still pristine.

Where did you get the 2 protected 26650 batteries for your L6?
Used to get my Li-ion batt from Banggood, HK Eqpt, eBay and even Gearbest before they stop shipping the batt to Malaysia
Convoy s2+ never failed me.

I used to work for sound and light and my convoy s2+ fell from KLCC ballroom ceiling height (12m i think?) and hit the carpeted floor.
and only a minor dent but still working like a charm... until I lost it somewhere in KLCC bangwall.gif

Now I have more convoy products rclxm9.gif

Gearbest no longer ship to malaysia? I can still buy it though hmm.gif

power911
post Feb 1 2018, 10:28 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Jan 31 2018, 11:54 PM)
this little fella is seriously "TINI"... I'm still having trouble believing its size...
well that's TINI
I thought it was somewhat nitecore tube size

QUOTE(widget @ Feb 1 2018, 12:45 AM)
I’m talking about Li-Ion batteries.
The Utorch U2 I bought it from Gearbest, but I couldn’t order the 26650 batt from them
yup. my batts came from gearbest recently though. blink.gif
power911
post Feb 2 2018, 08:34 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Feb 2 2018, 07:01 PM)
continue from post above...

Lotsa glow tape buddy biggrin.gif
power911
post Feb 2 2018, 10:45 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Feb 2 2018, 10:32 PM)
LOL! Can't help it... I get  rclxm9.gif  when I see things that glows...  tongue.gif
hahaha same here m8

My TIR installed lights all had glow material so it glows when I shut the light off biggrin.gif
power911
post Feb 8 2018, 11:03 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Colinlim75 @ Feb 7 2018, 10:43 AM)
Hi guys,

Do you know where to buy Emisar D4 locally in Malaysia?

Can't find this flashlight on Lazada also. I know Dao Bao have the items but I do not have account.
don't think anyone's going to sell such exquisite light here in Malaysia.
I hope you can find a hobbyist locally to help you import one.

meanwhile you can order one here
Just one of the sites I trust but it takes a while to ship to Malaysia
power911
post May 6 2018, 05:57 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(BakChoy @ May 2 2018, 03:28 PM)
Hi guys, I'm looking for penlight for mechanics inspection purpose

Any good recommendation ?

Single to tri mode will be preferred. Also single or duo AAA batt will be preferred

Was looking on thrunite ti4t but I dun like the fact that it will start in Firefly mode.
Can't go wrong with Lumintop Tool AAA.
And since inspection needed both free hands you can even buy the magnet tailcap for handsfree stick on lights. (provided your field isn't magnetic sensitive)

I like the Tool AAA but I'm leaning towards the bigger AA version though.

If I'm not wrong it'll start with medium>low>high which I find very useful interface for quick inspection.

It's a single AAA light though. Not a penlight as you requested but if needed RookieDaddy's suggestion of Lumintop IYP365 works

This post has been edited by power911: May 6 2018, 05:58 PM
power911
post Jul 17 2018, 12:05 AM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(XiLiang @ Jul 16 2018, 11:25 PM)
Currently using Fenix PD35 2014 model.
Fail twice from drop test. Below 3meter. Too so long to claim warranty.

Plan to buy new flashlight.
My preferred >>>>
- less than 14cm
- use 18650 battery
- there is a mode between 80-180 lumen
- must pass drop test.

Any recommend?
you okay with ordering online?

-Convoy S2+ XP-L HI with Biscotti Firmware (preferred)
-Sofirn SP31 or SP32

Maybe your fenix failed from just loose connections? Tried tightening the brass rings yet? Maybe that will revive your light.
power911
post Jul 30 2018, 08:56 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Jul 30 2018, 10:35 AM)
Rofis

This is the light in my car glove-box and to be honest, I've never of this brand at all last year but that doesn't stop me from trying this brand for the 1st time.
woah king light.

how are you brave enough to put li-ion in car. Isn't it a little too spicy hot for it?

btw hows the light?
power911
post Aug 23 2018, 08:44 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(seankeith90 @ Aug 23 2018, 10:50 AM)
Hi, just wondering is it safe to put LED flashlight with normal energizer battery in the car under normal malaysian weather?
I'm doing that with my LED modded maglite.

No harm other than the random alkaline battery leak. Just do weekly checks if can.

If you are using commom AA batteries you can invest on Energizer Ultimate Lithium. Theyre not as dangerous like rechargeables and can withstand car heat.
power911
post Oct 8 2018, 09:14 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Oct 8 2018, 01:37 PM)
Any deals for these? Also recommend where to buy ?

Other than these 2 got any similar one, but black body ah?

Tqvm..
Convoy
Sofirn

I'm not too familiar with deals for these. Rarely lurk around BLF nowadays.

But if you want better lights that are similar to these you can consider Jaxman Hi CRI lights (for better color)
Jaxman E2L with Nichia 219C

power911
post Oct 9 2018, 08:58 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Oct 8 2018, 11:33 PM)
I think one LED enough ba
Sofirn seems good to me got side buttons, the C8A and SP32 / 2.0

Btw, can import 18650 back in Malaysia ah? East Malaysia. Customs will block? Cuz bundle with battery and charger seems like a better deal as i dont have to buy extra charger for 18650 batteries liao  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
My sofirn sp31 arrived with charger n batteries when i ordered it in mid 2017

Its a hit or miss thing when its batteries. 2/10 of my lazada battery orders didn't arrive. 7/13 of my batteries from aliexpress arrived which is very odd.
None of them got custom tax though.

But most of my rejected orders do get refunded so I'm cool with it. Give it a try. Sofirn shipping is quite fast but china is kinda on holiday right now so your orders may get pushed back
power911
post Oct 10 2018, 09:04 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Oct 10 2018, 01:00 AM)
Ordered SP32 v2.0 at last, hows the maximum distance lightened up on your SP31? Cuz its the same LEDs inside right?

Im new in these tho.. Bought for RM98 with chargers (1.5USD Aliexpress shipping)

Messaged the courier, he replied battery is ok.
Should be the same led and reflector I guess.
Well to me it's like many other tube lights so the performance is close.
Its a mix of floody convoy s2+ with the throw of convoy s2
I'm getting good illumination across a football field from goal post to another.(It's about 120m distance away) Visible colors and detail without target being a silhouette.

I'm not sure how your LED tint will be but if they're the same it's Daylight color of about 5000K
Call it slightly yellowish white. I would rate it a 2B to 3A tint if you know how Cree color chart is. The color isn't very good in my unit compared to photography class Nichia LEDs but at least it won't make skin color looked zombie dead.

I can say my SP31 is my favorite work light as I use it almost everyday be it under stage or some dark ballrooms. They're great light for technicians like me and easy to use.
Yours may be different user interface but if we're comparing just the beam pattern it is a very safe all rounder beam. Definitely not for boat fishing light imo. It doesn't do pencil beam throw light but more of a widespread illumination flex.gif
power911
post Oct 11 2018, 08:56 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Oct 11 2018, 01:27 AM)
I see.. thanks for the input..

Also, if future wanna get 7000K color temperature lights, will it be too white to blind other people?

Oh ya, got any charger recommend? For the time being i will use the stock charger first

I will use the torch for walking around my campus at night only, should be ok i guess.
7k is damn blue man. don't even bother lol. You won't even feel comfortable using it

I can recommend Liitokala Lii-S1. Basic and simple single cell charger. But stock is good enough. I'm using it all the time even when my Fenix ARE-C2 charger is right beside me
Although stock charger can be super slow to fully charge, I doubt you'll drain it almost everyday. Just go find a good usb charger (like ivon charger from mr diy) that can deliver 1A enough d

This post has been edited by power911: Oct 11 2018, 08:58 PM

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0786sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:03 AM