8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Hobbies The Bright Side V4, Malaysian Flashaholic Community

RookieDaddy
post Nov 5 2018, 04:56 PM

160 posts

v2 of S2R, the bigger brother of S1R II...

longer runtime... much longer runtime... like approximately 5 to 6 times longer runtime... flex.gif
RookieDaddy
post Nov 8 2018, 04:30 PM

160 posts

Manker U12 is nice little hand warmer, especially high in lumens per dollar value. I like that Manker often offer neutral white option besides the cool white. thumbup.gif Their machining has improves a lot over the years and being a young company, they are pretty dynamic. I love my E02Ti Nichia, but none of them is a light that I'll take with me when SHTF. Having to say that, same goes for most Olight and those newer Fenix and Surefire.

In terms of S2R Baton II upgrades, the devil is in the details... I gave away my review sample of S2R, but I'm definitely keeping this S2R Baton II due to the finer details. whistling.gif
RookieDaddy
post Nov 10 2018, 08:12 PM

160 posts

no worries mate, as the saying goes... "the best flashlight is the one you have with you when you need it most". you should go with which-ever that works for you.
as for the details, it's in the electronics and components used (although I still think there are improvements to be made).
for EDC/BOB, and for Olight's model that uses 18650 power source, between S2/S2R and S30RIII, I would recommend the S30RIII. between S30RIII and S2R II, I would recommend S2R II.

RookieDaddy
post Nov 26 2018, 03:08 PM

160 posts

my latest addition...
A Warm Winter...

RookieDaddy
post Dec 8 2018, 06:05 PM

160 posts

releasing soon...

RookieDaddy
post Jan 1 2019, 08:46 AM

160 posts

RookieDaddy
post May 4 2019, 12:14 PM

160 posts

Olight Seeker 2 Pro...

while I like some of the features, I really don't like the slow charging rate... doh.gif
RookieDaddy
post Jun 9 2019, 10:06 PM

160 posts

This was a tint comparison done 2 years ago for various lights. To date, for the task of colour comparison like the purpose built 3M Sun Gun II, only custom light builders and the exception of XTAR D08 (Nichia NV4W144AMT), none has come close to to the tint-less, accurate colour reproduction quality of Nichia 183 5000K, many has settled or prefer the 4000-4500K Nichia 219b/c but IMO they tend to overly compensate in the Red spectrum.

One can easily turn a throw light into a flood light by putting a good diffuser film on the front. For outdoor illumination, I like to shine my thousand-ish lumen light to a piece of white T-Shirt/table cloth and have a nice panel light illuminating a wide area. biggrin.gif

If your main objective is colour reproduction, you should head over to BLF and check out some modders who can help you with 5000-5500K High CRI LED options.

RookieDaddy
post Aug 22 2019, 11:23 PM

160 posts

just received a new Olight Seeker 2... first impression is good so far...

the 3 x OSRAM P9 LED tint is nice, much nicer than the Seeker 2 Pro.

RookieDaddy
post Aug 25 2019, 10:43 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Aug 24 2019, 07:17 AM)
Nice. Wonder if you use this in ur job or u love to collect flashlight? biggrin.gif
Olight sent some of their models for review and testing... this is one of them... so far, this Seeker2 has checked a few positive points for me compare to Seeker2Pro.

RookieDaddy
post Aug 28 2019, 03:09 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Aug 26 2019, 10:53 AM)
perhaps olight should release the seeker2pro without the mounting gimmick to reduce the price (probably not by much, but still a saving nonetheless)?
in my not so humble opinion, seeker 2 is a better model than seeker 2 pro.

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Aug 26 2019, 11:59 AM)
When can read review in BLF / CPF / TFL / etc... Can't wait!  rclxm9.gif
probably by end of the week or early next week. tongue.gif
RookieDaddy
post Sep 2 2019, 02:20 PM

160 posts

Just completed a quick review of Olight's newly release Seeker 2...

BLF: http://budgetlightforum.com/node/68797
CPF: https://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showth...P9-3000-lumens)

RookieDaddy
post Oct 31 2019, 09:25 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Oct 28 2019, 11:16 PM)
Hi guys, I'm new here. Please recommend me a light for day to day usage.
LOL! Welcome back mate. The Elektrolumen Kong and Elephant and those limited edition HDS says otherwise mate. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Oct 29 2019, 11:37 AM)
IINM, sifu RookieDaddy is the one of the most reliable to get more accurate advise.  icon_question.gif  thumbsup.gif
I'm honored and a little blush by your mentioning bro, but I'm really no sifu, just sharing what I learned from many friends in our local, BLF and CPF community. wub.gif

RookieDaddy
post Nov 8 2019, 04:40 PM

160 posts

received a review sample of Olight M2R Pro recently...

full review posted at:
(BLF) http://budgetlightforum.com/node/69890

(CPF) https://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showth...without-tailcap!

It should be available at local store soon...
RookieDaddy
post Nov 9 2019, 07:52 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Nov 9 2019, 01:18 PM)
Hey boss, message you many times on whatsapp never reply? I think I might have gotten the wrong number... hey never really left, just lurking!
LOL! I was a late to join the whatsapp revolution and I had a few incidents of number and ISP switch since our last flashaholic meet. You should get in touch with Dannie as he is the sort-a "unofficial-official" organizer for the meet... and he has a lot more poisons now than ever... sweat.gif

RookieDaddy
post Nov 20 2019, 05:08 PM

160 posts

was contacted by an old friend to do a review of these newly release headlamps...

full review available at:
[CPF] https://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showth...MOH15-and-MOH25

[BLF] http://budgetlightforum.com/node/70119

RookieDaddy
post Nov 29 2019, 01:46 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(WingNut @ Nov 28 2019, 10:56 AM)
[attachmentid=10364497]

akan datang... the i1r2 eos. what i find strange is that although it pushes 20l more, it seems to be a downgrade from its predecessor in the sense that:

(i) smaller battery capacity (70mah vs 80mah);
(ii) lesser throw (40m v 54m)
(iii) lesser light intensity (400cd v 730cd)
(iv) less stamina (@ max 15m v 20m; @ 5l 6h v 7h)
(v) fractionally heavier (13g v 12g)
(vi) fractionally bigger

so what gives???  confused.gif

(waiting for rookiedaddy's enlightenment)
Yes, on paper, it seems to be a step backwards, am waiting for local resellers to receive their stock to do a comparisons. The shorter runtime likely due to both power source and a different emitter being used, and likely causes of the lower lux and higher lumens as a result. The biggest improvement (yet to see in person) would be the "non-removable" head to address the biggest pain-point for lights of this form-factor. I believe they have also change the knurling for better grip (another yet to see...)

not sure about the Micro-USB cable though, the official reason they give is "For environmental protection..." sweat.gif but not everyone has a Micro-USB cable... so... confused.gif

oh... and a new RED edition of S1R Baton II...

This post has been edited by RookieDaddy: Nov 29 2019, 02:17 AM
RookieDaddy
post Nov 29 2019, 07:55 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(RookieDaddy @ Nov 29 2019, 01:46 AM)
Yes, on paper, it seems to be a step backwards, am waiting for local resellers to receive their stock to do a comparisons. The shorter runtime likely due to both power source and a different emitter being used, and likely causes of the lower lux and higher lumens as a result. The biggest improvement (yet to see in person) would be the "non-removable" head to address the biggest pain-point for lights of this form-factor. I believe they have also change the knurling for better grip (another yet to see...)
manage to get hold of the v2 i1R, everything on paper is true and I got to say that I like the older i1R a tad bit more...
Since I bought it as gifts due to the non-removable head, so that's that...
btw... the beam shape of i1R 2 ain't round, but squarish when you do a close-up white-wall hunting... that's a surprise... the bigger die of the new LED... LOL!

RookieDaddy
post Dec 24 2019, 07:17 PM

160 posts

sharing here for your references... these are my own testing results, all cables are bought from retail shops or online retailers...

the lower the reading, the better (which means it can potentially charges faster). the results are only testing the cable impedance, not durability in usage.

RookieDaddy
post Dec 30 2019, 03:00 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Dec 27 2019, 08:22 AM)
I'm surprised that the Aukey gold plated has lower charging than the normal Aukey non-plated cable.  shocking.gif
lower impedance meaning lower resistance thus faster charging as it allows more current to flow... if you are referring to the 2A testing, Gold Aukey cable reads 124 mΩ while the normal Aukey cable reads 144 mΩ, so the Gold plated cable is slightly better than the normal Aukey cable.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0780sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:29 AM