Can i DIY interior design, Outsource very expensive...

TSlaut
post Apr 11 2010, 03:40 PM, updated 16y ago

450 posts

Hi to all,

im thinking of doing interior design by myself
since by outsource it is very2 expensive
maybe by looking at the show house i can get some ideas
but is it possible, or need to creative enough
how are the materials, where can get
especially those that are custom made one
surely they get raw material and built it according to our design

tq
accitzone
post Apr 11 2010, 03:52 PM

399 posts

1st u nedd a hell of a Skill on wood works....
2nd u need at least 2 power tools. a. Power Drill
b. Power Jigsaw
CHIP CN
post Apr 11 2010, 04:10 PM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

yes.... design urself better.... tp kena kretif.... tgk anjung seri....
TSlaut
post Apr 11 2010, 04:29 PM

450 posts

the problem is where can i get raw material
never see it in hardware shop

err, how they put the cabinet on top eh
cause didnt see the screw penetration from inside
or they already cover it?

This post has been edited by laut: Apr 11 2010, 04:30 PM
antzan
post Apr 11 2010, 05:35 PM

185 posts

that the skill u pay for ...nothing is free...but still u can get the info from net itself..but hands on is still the best...cheers..
TSlaut
post Apr 11 2010, 06:05 PM

450 posts

yes
but sometime is not the skill thats the prob
its the material
i'm wondering where can get
edyek
post Apr 11 2010, 07:46 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 11 2010, 04:29 PM)
the problem is where can i get raw material
never see it in hardware shop
That is why you pay them. They know where to source materials. Not all the things are from hardware shop, nowadays many things can be custom made.
IGax2000
post Apr 11 2010, 10:34 PM

641 posts

even u can get the material, i wonder how u r going to puzzle it? Do u have the skill otherwise also a waste of $$ if u mess around.

Leave it to pro as long as the charge is reasonable
tpleong
post Apr 23 2010, 04:07 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 11 2010, 03:40 PM)
Hi to all,

tq
Designing & getting someone to do it , is 2 different thing! When u get a ID, they charge u for their design. They also get someone (contractor) to do it for u ! The ID normally constitute about 10 to 30 % of the total cost.

What I do is, I design & get someone to do it. That way, can save !

p/s U can buy some magazine to get ideas
SUSwankongyew
post Apr 24 2010, 11:56 AM

1,177 posts

Trying to actually do the physical work youself would probably be impossible if you lack the skills. You're likely to spend more on fixing mistakes than you save in hiring specialists. If you want to save money consider not hiring ID consultants at all. Just buy some magazines for ideas and then talk straightaway to experienced contractors to get more information and practical advice.
pilotHans
post Apr 24 2010, 04:45 PM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

yup, its possible....

with the right tools, material, patience and good observation anything is possible......... smile.gif

but you must know ur limits......... blush.gif
ycs
post Apr 24 2010, 06:12 PM

4,239 posts

it depends on what kind of projects you want to do.

the only viable project really, is painting.
pilotHans
post Apr 24 2010, 06:15 PM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Apr 24 2010, 06:12 PM)
it depends on what kind of projects you want to do.

the only viable project really, is painting.
i think need a lot of study + know how to read plans , then even a garden table or chair would be easy to make wink.gif

DIY is good, but u need to know ur limits..........that what i said in my early post smile.gif
lainux
post Apr 25 2010, 12:27 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 11 2010, 03:40 PM)
Hi to all,

tq
what r u trying to do? the design or everything? I don't think u can do everything urself, and it is time consuming.

i have however done the bedframe, table, minor piping... damn time consuming. unless if you don't have a job, or have a lot of free time, it is easier to just hire someone to do the job for you. u can save the other way...
blasto
post Apr 28 2010, 12:58 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 11 2010, 06:05 PM)
yes
but sometime is not the skill thats the prob
its the material
i'm wondering where can get
Mind sharing some skills you got ?
I just started put display rack in my kitchen. (kasi jalan sudah)
Cost me rm200 each from careffour MV ...
It end up something like this ... im the kiamsiap type.
Sometimes my godfather buy ikea, i took mesurements & pass to wood fella, pieces of wood are cheap but kena saw, sand, grill, paku & gum.

ah... materials like what ... wood ?
there is a wood shop at PJ old town same row as the bomba. icon_rolleyes.gif

zeese
post Apr 28 2010, 08:31 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Blasto, we cannot see your picture..
did you zoom in very close like 1' from the camera lense? tongue.gif
4n5 Workshop
post May 1 2010, 04:02 PM

23 posts

I would advise TS to look for contractor instead of DIY because you are lack of materials (can be obtained easily), equipments (you need alot equipments to cut plywood and frame), knowledge (how many timber frame are needed to reinforce the entire kitchen cabinet) and skills or workman ship (how do you hide the joining line)

If you have further inquiries, pls pm me or email me on 4n5.workshop@gmail.com
blasto
post May 6 2010, 10:23 AM

1,139 posts

opps sorry... here is the picture. nod.gif

& i found a outa this world DIY site .... http://ikeahacker.blogspot.com/
enjoy.

edit... not rm 200 it's rm 150 inclusive delivery. stocks always out, see the supervisor only, pay 1st & wait till stock arrive.

This post has been edited by blasto: May 6 2010, 10:29 AM

vvn0vvn
post May 6 2010, 01:18 PM

51 posts

hi all,

will it be difficult to DIY putting up a wall paper? since we only want a small section with wall paper, so it would be too expensive to pay the usual 1 time installation cost. where can i find good quality and variety of wall paper? thanks
flight
post May 9 2010, 08:27 AM

1,567 posts

lolz... i know where to goe chengai and balau wood.. but expensive
darylchan
post May 10 2010, 10:46 AM

79 posts

As the other guys have said, you can do the design yourself, but you probably want to get a professional to build it. Especially for the big jobs.

You will also need some decent tools to get the job done, which is expensive.

If you need design ideas, there are plenty on my website: dxyn.net

0.0234sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:56 AM