Likimikuku Journey to Healthy Life, 75kg by Nov 2010 and i want six pack!!

cheezzzz
post Apr 14 2010, 06:48 PM

610 posts

first of all bro, congrats on quitting smoking biggrin.gif one dam big good step taken to lose weight and get healthier biggrin.gif

im not a pro or anything but.. may I ask hows your diet on normal days? I know you don have control over it, but we can always choose to not eat certain stuff. if can try to eat more meals, pack nuts as snack, or fruits biggrin.gif eat carbs like rice ONLY before workout if u feel rly tired half way thru workouts and after workout.also, are u still on the same workout plan u were on when u used to workout 4 yrs ago? May I know roughly what is the workout like?

Im no pro la.. but I would really suggest doing more compound movement exercises. Split your workout into 3 days - chest/tricep, back/bicep, shoulder/traps/legs

Chest/tricep - bench press, pushups
back/bicep - inverted rows, pull/chin ups, plank(prone bridges)
shoulder/traps/legs - overhead press, deadlift, squats

those workouts should be the main exercises, throw in another 1-2 isolation exercises if u have the time i.e

chest/tricep - skull crushers or tricep extension, decline/incline bench
back/bicep - lat machine, bicep curl
shoulder/traps/legs - lateral raises, calf raises

do 3-4 sets per workout, weight increases per set. How heavy? Use weights that allow u to lift ONLY 10-12 reps MAX on the first set, then heavier till u do 8-10 reps MAX on the next, then 6-8 on the next (u get the idea)

I think u probably already know all this since u work out last time. If time is a limiting factor, do the main compound exercises only. I wish u all the best bro, just hope I helped.

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 14 2010, 06:49 PM
cheezzzz
post Apr 14 2010, 08:50 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Apr 14 2010, 08:35 PM)
Hi, Cheesss

Thank for the advice.

As you know, i have no control on my food but i do eat as much meat and vege as possible. Now days mainly on 5- vege, 3-meat, 2- rice (portion) and trying to reduce the total intake. As i am not able to burn all the calories, it become fat. sad.gif

Nope, what i am doing now is not what i did 4 years ago. i was on the so-call 1 body part per day and 1 day full cardio.
As for now, my company medical advice me to take up more cardio as i am having hypertension and cut down on my weight 1st.
we get medical check every month and blood pressure test every week, if needed.

as i have limited time for my workout, i allocated most of my time on cardio total 30 min + -
remaining for weight training, i will try to do 1 workout for 1 part of my body.
i do hope this work.

i hope i can overcome this hypertension thing soon.

Again, appreciated for your advice and supports
icic.. thats a pretty good ratio for a start. hmm. I dont think so much time should be allocated on cardio.. 15-20 mins sud be enough, just make sure its moderately intensive. since ur doing cardio so often, u should consider doing HIIT, which also saves ALOT of time.

the general concept of it is just to do whatever cardio u were doing, ie running on mill.. but do it with high intensity

example:
do 10 seconds of running at your top speed, then rest for 50 seconds. this ratio is 1:5 as you can see. that would be 1 set. do 8 sets.

what you want to do is slowly reduce the resting time every work out day. this is possible because your body gets stronger, it has adapted. so you will need to reduce rest time to progress. this method of cardio is not just time consuming, it really works. so from 1:5, go to 1:4.5(45 sec), 1:4, 1:3.5, 1:3, take your time, you can reduce slower if u want to, but make sure u are going at a rate you can handle. if 1:5 is too much, you can also start with 1:9 or lower, its up to you. make sure u can make it thru all 8 sets, and u want that panting feeling too. but not too much.. cuz i understand u have a medical condition. so eventually making it to 1:1, then increase to 1.5 : 1, 2:1, so on. go easy, take it slow and progress bro biggrin.gif

do more bodyweight exercises i.e. pushups, situps, pull/chin ups, dips. u can do them anywhere so u dont feel that pressure of 'going to the gym', i dono u got anot but sumtimes i do haha.

i noe ur diet isnt in your control. but i hope u can do buy at least some snacks/fruits/yoghurt, healthy snacks. rice isnt exactly necessary haha. snacks will prevent u from feeling hungry.

i recently went on a really simple and easy detox which has saved some ppl from chronic diseases ie cancer n heart related issues.no pain involved n oso not expensive haha, im a student btw. i went on it for general health n better digestion, it basically cleans and strengthens your body. i know ur working which will make it tougher if u want to go on it,but if ur interested just pm me.. will b glad to help in any way possible.

all the best bro biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Apr 14 2010, 08:54 PM
cheezzzz
post Apr 15 2010, 03:50 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Apr 15 2010, 03:20 PM)
Thanks mate,

The 1:5 ratio cardio thing sound interesting, are going to try this out.

i also wish to cut down on cardio and get more weight training but Ms Kim (our pretty company korean nurse drool.gif ) told me that i have to do 30 min cardio a day till i lost some weight 1st. This is for reducing my blood pressure, and i am still on the 85kg range.

i hardly have time to sleep now day, work is always busy.
so, as for extra push up and sit up...might not be possible, unless i want to do it during my lunch time.. biggrin.gif
haha no worries bro. if u do HIIT cardio + weight training your total training time should not exceed 1 hour. and its dam effective from what I heard, I dont do cuz well.. too skinny. hahaha get fit again bro! later ur nurse will fall for u ahhahah kiddin bro.

all the best. most important if u plan to train, make sure u can get enough rest, or dont train so often. tho u need the cardio, its no point if ur drained out everyday, lack of sleep. ur 30 mins of cardio wont be effective also if u don rest enuf. training sessions should be 48 hrs apart, so if u dont get those 2 nights of sufficient rest, its np to take another 1 night to make sure u r ok, u dont want to overtrain and under-recover. u not coming bak to msia soon?

take care k?
cheezzzz
post Apr 20 2010, 08:10 PM

610 posts

keep it up bro! if ur limited to time, just do bodyweight exercises like push up, reverse crunch, plank bridge and pull/chin ups.

and in that 10 mins, u sud b doing 3 sets, instead of so many haha.

do them slowly, making sure ur doing with proper form, then u will truly get the burn ur muscles need. if u just blast through your push ups (without maintaining form) ur pushups wont be effective.

3-4 sets is enough. make sure u do until failure for bodyweight exercises. all the best bro! hope ur feeling better!
cheezzzz
post Apr 28 2010, 10:27 AM

610 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Apr 28 2010, 04:21 AM)
27th April 2010

Weight:

Bench press:

3x10x30kg
5x 8x50kg
5x 8x40kg

Progress of my feet: able to walk without pain, awaiting for my full recover.
bro isit sets x reps x weight?

thats a bit too much man.. or is the weight abit too light lol.

if ur gonna do 10 reps, choose a weight that allows u to do ONLY 10 reps, not more not less. and do about 2 sets for warm up, 15 reps, lighter weights. then do 3-4 sets of 8-12 reps for heavier sets.. pick the weight that allows u to do only 10 reps. keep it up bro!
cheezzzz
post May 2 2010, 07:04 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ May 2 2010, 06:30 PM)
1st May 2010

Cardio:

15min slow slow cycle... but stop at 10min ++ feel my feet not ready for it

Weight:

Incline press:

2x10x20kg *warm up
2x10x30kg
2x10x40kg
2x08x50kg
2x08x40kg
2x10x30kg

biceps hummer curls:

3x10x10kg (each side)
how is it coming along bro? weight loss and health relies a lot on ur diet, if u can, try a low carb diet. start to take less rice dinner.. then next day less rice on dinner and lunch.. progressively.. eventually u can make it to have rice only after workout. ull be surprise how much health problems start from eating rice. then again im not saying rice is evil or u shouldnt eat at all, or carbs are bad. just a suggestion on ur journey bro, u can do it!

ps: with your goals as weight loss and health, u can try intervals of burpees and bodyweight exercises. combine them, you can practically do them in your own room. i.e. as many burpees, crunches, air/split squats, pullups u can do in 1 set. do 3 sets.. when u can do 15 easily, start timing yourself for as many as u can in 30 secs.. rosstraining.com for more of these kind of exercises for fitness and functional training biggrin.gif im sure ur goal in every workout is to break a sweat rite? im sure if u do these u definitely will and ull get better at these exercises biggrin.gif
cheezzzz
post May 16 2010, 12:56 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ May 16 2010, 02:15 AM)
15th May 2010

Weight:

beach press:

1x20x20kg
1x20x40kg
1x10x50kg
1x10x60kg

incline press:

3x10x40kg
Will not have much time this week and the coming week, lot of OT coming to me.... mad.gif
your place got barbell? if got u can do the bear complex and save time. its a great almost full body workout.

other wise just do push ups, pull ups and crunches. you're looking for fitness and fat burning.. just do exercises for time. ie burpee for time. cuz doing 2 lifts in 1 day wont be as productive as you do bodyweight exercises that will require ur back or abs to stabilize when u perform them.

thats just my 2 cents since ur running short on time and cuz ur goal isnt to get bigger.well at least not too big.
cheezzzz
post May 31 2010, 07:09 PM

610 posts

got check ur blood pressure bro? hows it going?

i noe ur running low on time, i tink u sud lift moderately heavy weights (or body weight) that allow u to do 12 reps or so n do them for time. burpees, air squats, plank bridges/superman/crunches. if gym is really out of the question for u that is. good luck bro biggrin.gif
cheezzzz
post Jun 2 2010, 06:59 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Jun 1 2010, 05:32 PM)

Will it be not realistic or bad for my health by dropping weight that fast ?

Please Advice Guys
ur goal is still pretty realistic dude.. even if u dont achieve it.. at least u lost weight from ur previous weight! biggrin.gif self improvement is the best achievement we can ever get. don worry about it. as long as ur eating fine n healthy itll b good
cheezzzz
post Jun 16 2010, 09:30 PM

610 posts

hey bro,

i remember when u started it was 86.. now ur at 80!! CONGRATS BRO! U CAN DO IT biggrin.gif
cheezzzz
post Jun 17 2010, 01:42 AM

610 posts

remember, a goal is to motivate. its not meant for us to be disappointed if we fail to achieve it. instead, look how far you've come since day 1 (:

that way ull be more motivated to pursue your next goals. update yourself with more short term goals bro! all d best.

0.0148sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:08 AM